DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges the following data:
Parent data
18588969 filed 02/27/2024 Claims Priority from Provisional Application 63493968, filed 04/03/2023.
Child data
PCT/US24/22645 filed on 04/02/2024 is a of 18588969, filed on 02/27/2024
Information Disclosure statements
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted and filed on 09/27/2018. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karlsson et al (US 20120099621) in view of Fu (US 2022/0248282).
Regarding claim 1, Karlsson et al discloses user equipment (UE) (fig. 1, item 120, user equipment (UE)), comprising:
a transceiver configured to enable wireless communications (The radio base station 110 communicating over a radio carrier with a UE 120 being present in the radio cell 115, [0032], lines 1-3); and
a processor communicatively coupled to the transceiver and configured to (The determining unit 1203, the scheduling unit 1204, the retrieving unit 1207, the positioning unit 1208 may be parts of one or more processing unit, [0150], lines 1-2):
receive, from a serving cell, a list of one or more neighbor cells with respective positioning information (The distance range may be determined by a sorted list stored at the radio base station 110. The sorted list comprises the first UE 120 together with its distance 125 to the radio cell boundary 127 and the second UE 128 together with its distance 129 to the radio cell boundary 127. The sorted list indicates which UE is closest to the radio cell boundary 127. This sorted list may be used to schedule UEs being closest the radio cell boundary 127; thus is seen as determining (receiving) a list stored from the radio base station 110 (serving cell), where the list comprises the first UE 120 together with its distance 125 to the radio cell boundary 127 and the second UE 128 together with its distance 129 to the radio cell boundary 127 of one radio cell 115 (one or more neighbor cell), [0037], lines 1-4);
calculate respective distances between the UE and the one or more neighbor cells using the respective positioning information (The radio base station 110 may calculate the distance 125 between the UE 120 and the radio cell boundary 127 (one or more neighbor cells) in order to determine how close the UE 120 is the radio cell boundary 127 (one or more neighbor cells) using data received from a positioning node, [0035], lines 1-4);
sort the list of the one or more neighbor cells based on the respective distances to generate a prioritized list that orders the one or more neighbor cells based on the respective distances (This sorted list may be used to schedule UEs being closest the radio cell boundary 127. For example, the radio base station 110 comprises ten receivers with higher receiving sensitivity and it is determined that the UE 120 is positioned a distance of 200 meters from the radio cell boundary 127 of the radio cell 115 (one or more neighbor cells). The UE 120 may be scheduled a receiver with higher receiving sensitivity if there are less than ten UEs within the radio cell 115 positioned 200 meters from the radio cell boundary 127. However, if there are fifteen UEs within a distance of 200 meters to the radio cell boundary 127 the UE 120 will be scheduled a receiver of less receiving sensitivity, [0037], lines 4-9);
Karlsson et al does not specifically disclose concept of sequentially perform a synchronization and measurement process with the one or more neighbor cells according to an order of the prioritized list; and
establish communications with a target cell from the prioritized list based on the synchronization and measurement process.
However, Fu specifically teaches concept of sequentially perform a synchronization and measurement process with the one or more neighbor cells according to an order of the prioritized list (second starting time offset corresponding to the neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list included in the first measurement configuration (measurement process) is an initial value, which needs to be continuously adjusted (sequentially perform a synchronization) according to the second adjustment period and the second adjustment step corresponding to the neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (according to an order of the prioritized list) subsequently, [0133], lines 5-7, [0134], lines 1-2, [0136], lines 1-5); and
establish communications with a target cell from the prioritized list based on the synchronization and measurement process (performing modulo operation on the determined sum with the first window period, and determining an obtained numerical value as a starting time point of an Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) receiving (establish communications) window corresponding to the target neighboring cell; determining the first window period as a period of the SSB receiving window corresponding to the target neighboring cell, and determining the first window duration as duration of the SSB receiving window corresponding to the target neighboring cell. Further, when a neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (prioritized list) and the current serving cell are of inter-frequency or inter-system, the UE also performs the following operations: for a target neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (prioritized list), determining a sum of a second starting time offset corresponding to the target neighboring cell and the second window starting offset, wherein the target neighboring cell is any neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (prioritized list), [0168], lines 4-7, [0169], lines 1-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Karlsson et al with concept of sequentially perform a synchronization and measurement process with the one or more neighbor cells according to an order of the prioritized list; and establish communications with a target cell from the prioritized list based on the synchronization and measurement process of Fu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve communication services to terrestrial users, (Fu, [0003], line 1)
Regarding claim 2, Karlsson et al discloses UE (fig. 1, item 120, user equipment (UE)), wherein the respective positioning information includes position, velocity, or timing information (UE 120 is positioned a distance 125 from a radio cell boundary 127; the radio cell boundary 127 being the part of the radio cell boundary closest to the UE 120, [0032], lines 3-4).
Regarding claim 3, Karlsson et al discloses UE (fig. 1, item 120, user equipment (UE)),
Karlsson et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein to sequentially perform the synchronization and measurement process, the processor is further configured to:
identify a subset of the one or more neighbor cells based on the order of the prioritized list and a predefined number of neighbor cells; and
perform the synchronization and measurement process for each neighbor cell in the subset.
However, Fu specifically teaches concept of wherein to sequentially perform the synchronization and measurement process, the processor is further configured to (second starting time offset corresponding to the neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list included in the first measurement configuration (measurement process) is an initial value, which needs to be continuously adjusted (sequentially perform a synchronization) according to the second adjustment period and the second adjustment step corresponding to the neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (according to an order of the prioritized list) subsequently, [0133], lines 5-7, [0134], lines 1-2, [0136], lines 1-5):
identify a subset of the one or more neighbor cells based on the order of the prioritized list and a predefined number of neighbor cells (performing modulo operation on the determined sum with the first window period, and determining an obtained numerical value as a starting time point of an Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) receiving window corresponding to the target neighboring cell; determining the first window period as a period of the SSB receiving window corresponding to the target neighboring cell, and determining the first window duration as duration of the SSB receiving window corresponding to the target neighboring cell. Further, when a neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (prioritized list) and the current serving cell are of inter-frequency or inter-system, the UE also performs the following operations: for a target neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (prioritized list), determining a sum of a second starting time offset corresponding to the target neighboring cell and the second window starting offset, wherein the target neighboring cell is any neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (prioritized list), [0168], lines 4-7, [0169], lines 1-4); and
perform the synchronization and measurement process for each neighbor cell in the subset (performing modulo operation on the determined sum with the first window period, and determining an obtained numerical value as a starting time point of an Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) receiving window corresponding to the target neighboring cell; determining the first window period as a period of the SSB receiving window corresponding to the target neighboring cell, and determining the first window duration as duration of the SSB receiving window corresponding to the target neighboring cell. Further, when a neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (prioritized list) and the current serving cell are of inter-frequency or inter-system, the UE also performs the following operations: for a target neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (prioritized list), determining a sum of a second starting time offset corresponding to the target neighboring cell and the second window starting offset, wherein the target neighboring cell is any neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (prioritized list), [0168], lines 4-7, [0169], lines 1-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Karlsson et al with concept of wherein to sequentially perform the synchronization and measurement process, the processor is further configured to: identify a subset of the one or more neighbor cells based on the order of the prioritized list and a predefined number of neighbor cells; and perform the synchronization and measurement process for each neighbor cell in the subset of Fu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve communication services to terrestrial users, (Fu, [0003], line 1).
Regarding claim 4, Karlsson et al discloses UE (fig. 1, item 120, user equipment (UE)), the processor is further configured to (The determining unit 1203, the scheduling unit 1204, the retrieving unit 1207, the positioning unit 1208 may be parts of one or more processing unit, [0150], lines 1-2): perform Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP), Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ), or Signal to Interference & Noise Ratio (SINR) measurements (Another principle for interference cancellation recognizes that the interference cannot normally be modeled as white noise, neither in the temporal, channel model tap, domain, nor between antenna elements. GRAKE+ and chip equalizer receivers therefore build up a model of the interference followed by cancellation, [0119], lines 1-3).
Karlsson et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein to sequentially perform the synchronization and measurement process.
However, Fu specifically teaches concept of wherein to sequentially perform the synchronization and measurement process, (second starting time offset corresponding to the neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list included in the first measurement configuration (measurement process) is an initial value, which needs to be continuously adjusted (sequentially perform a synchronization) according to the second adjustment period and the second adjustment step corresponding to the neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (according to an order of the prioritized list) subsequently, [0133], lines 5-7, [0134], lines 1-2, [0136], lines 1-5):
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Karlsson et al with concept of wherein to sequentially perform the synchronization and measurement process of Fu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve communication services to terrestrial users, (Fu, [0003], line 1).
Regarding claim 5, Karlsson et al discloses UE (fig. 1, item 120, user equipment (UE)), wherein the processor (The determining unit 1203, the scheduling unit 1204, the retrieving unit 1207, the positioning unit 1208 may be parts of one or more processing unit, [0150], lines 1-2) is further configured to calculate the respective distances in response to determining that a serving time corresponding to the serving cell is below a threshold (The radio base station 110 may calculate the distance 125 between the UE 120 and the radio cell boundary 127 in order to determine how close the UE 120 is the radio cell boundary 127. A parameter, to be used to determine whether a UE should be scheduled a receiver with higher sensitivity to Ues, is defined as the distance 125 of a position of the UE 120 relative the radio cell boundary 127. [0035], lines 1-2, [0036], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 6, Karlsson et al discloses UE (fig. 1, item 120, user equipment (UE)), wherein the processor is further configured to (The determining unit 1203, the scheduling unit 1204, the retrieving unit 1207, the positioning unit 1208 may be parts of one or more processing unit, [0150], lines 1-2):
Karlsson et al does not specifically disclose concept of receive a second list from a second serving cell, wherein the second list includes a set of neighbor cells for the second serving cell;
determine that a service time corresponding to the second serving cell is above a threshold;
sequentially perform a second synchronization and measurement process with the set of neighbor cells according to an order of the second list; and
establish communications with a cell from the set of neighbor cells based on the second synchronization and measurement process.
However, Fu specifically teaches concept of receive a second list from a second serving cell, wherein the second list includes a set of neighbor cells for the second serving cell (second starting time offset corresponding to the neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list included in the first measurement configuration (measurement process) is an initial value, which needs to be continuously adjusted (sequentially perform a synchronization) according to the second adjustment period and the second adjustment step corresponding to the neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (according to an order of the prioritized list) subsequently, [0133], lines 5-7, [0134], lines 1-2, [0136], lines 1-5);
determine that a service time corresponding to the second serving cell is above a threshold (Act 402: determining a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) receiving window corresponding to the neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list according to the first configuration information of the first measurement window corresponding to the frequency point to be measured, the first starting time offset corresponding to the neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list, and the first adjustment period and the first adjustment step corresponding to the first starting time offset, [00236], lines 1-5);
sequentially perform a second synchronization and measurement process with the set of neighbor cells according to an order of the second list (second starting time offset corresponding to the neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list included in the first measurement configuration (measurement process) is an initial value, which needs to be continuously adjusted (sequentially perform a synchronization) according to the second adjustment period and the second adjustment step corresponding to the neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (according to an order of the prioritized list) subsequently, [0133], lines 5-7, [0134], lines 1-2, [0136], lines 1-5); and
establish communications with a cell from the set of neighbor cells based on the second synchronization and measurement process (performing modulo operation on the determined sum with the first window period, and determining an obtained numerical value as a starting time point of an Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) receiving window corresponding to the target neighboring cell; determining the first window period as a period of the SSB receiving window corresponding to the target neighboring cell, and determining the first window duration as duration of the SSB receiving window corresponding to the target neighboring cell. Further, when a neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (prioritized list) and the current serving cell are of inter-frequency or inter-system, the UE also performs the following operations: for a target neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (prioritized list), determining a sum of a second starting time offset corresponding to the target neighboring cell and the second window starting offset, wherein the target neighboring cell is any neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (prioritized list), [0168], lines 4-7, [0169], lines 1-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Karlsson et al with concept of sequentially perform a synchronization and measurement process with the one or more neighbor cells according to an order of the prioritized list; and establish communications with a target cell from the prioritized list based on the synchronization and measurement process of Fu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve communication services to terrestrial users, (Fu, [0003], line 1)
Regarding claim 7, Karlsson et al discloses UE (fig. 1, item 120, user equipment (UE)), wherein the processor is further configured to (The determining unit 1203, the scheduling unit 1204, the retrieving unit 1207, the positioning unit 1208 may be parts of one or more processing unit, [0150], lines 1-2) calculate the respective distances in response to a determining that a distance between the UE and the serving cell is above a threshold (The radio base station 110 may calculate the distance 125 between the UE 120 and the radio cell boundary 127 in order to determine how close the UE 120 is the radio cell boundary 127. A parameter, to be used to determine whether a UE should be scheduled a receiver with higher sensitivity to Ues, is defined as the distance 125 of a position of the UE 120 relative the radio cell boundary 127. [0035], lines 1-2, [0036], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 8, Karlsson et al discloses UE (fig. 1, item 120, user equipment (UE)), wherein the processor is further configured to (The determining unit 1203, the scheduling unit 1204, the retrieving unit 1207, the positioning unit 1208 may be parts of one or more processing unit, [0150], lines 1-2):
Karlsson et al does not specifically disclose concept of receive a second list from a second serving cell, wherein the second list includes a set of neighbor cells for the second serving cell;
determine that a distance between the UE and the second serving cell is below a threshold;
sequentially perform a second synchronization and measurement process with the set of neighbor cells according to an order of the second list; and
establish communications with a cell from the set of neighbor cells based on the second synchronization and measurement process.
However, Fu specifically teaches concept of receive a second list from a second serving cell, wherein the second list includes a set of neighbor cells for the second serving cell (second starting time offset corresponding to the neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list included in the first measurement configuration (measurement process) is an initial value, which needs to be continuously adjusted (sequentially perform a synchronization) according to the second adjustment period and the second adjustment step corresponding to the neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (according to an order of the prioritized list) subsequently, [0133], lines 5-7, [0134], lines 1-2, [0136], lines 1-5);
determine that a distance between the UE and the second serving cell is below a threshold (Act 402: determining a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) receiving window corresponding to the neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list according to the first configuration information of the first measurement window corresponding to the frequency point to be measured, the first starting time offset corresponding to the neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list, and the first adjustment period and the first adjustment step corresponding to the first starting time offset, [00236], lines 1-5);
sequentially perform a second synchronization and measurement process with the set of neighbor cells according to an order of the second list (second starting time offset corresponding to the neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list included in the first measurement configuration (measurement process) is an initial value, which needs to be continuously adjusted (sequentially perform a synchronization) according to the second adjustment period and the second adjustment step corresponding to the neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (according to an order of the prioritized list) subsequently, [0133], lines 5-7, [0134], lines 1-2, [0136], lines 1-5); and
establish communications with a cell from the set of neighbor cells based on the second synchronization and measurement process (performing modulo operation on the determined sum with the first window period, and determining an obtained numerical value as a starting time point of an Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) receiving window corresponding to the target neighboring cell; determining the first window period as a period of the SSB receiving window corresponding to the target neighboring cell, and determining the first window duration as duration of the SSB receiving window corresponding to the target neighboring cell. Further, when a neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (prioritized list) and the current serving cell are of inter-frequency or inter-system, the UE also performs the following operations: for a target neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (prioritized list), determining a sum of a second starting time offset corresponding to the target neighboring cell and the second window starting offset, wherein the target neighboring cell is any neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (prioritized list), [0168], lines 4-7, [0169], lines 1-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Karlsson et al with concept of receive a second list from a second serving cell, wherein the second list includes a set of neighbor cells for the second serving cell; determine that a distance between the UE and the second serving cell is below a threshold; sequentially perform a second synchronization and measurement process with the set of neighbor cells according to an order of the second list; and establish communications with a cell from the set of neighbor cells based on the second synchronization and measurement process of Fu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve communication services to terrestrial users, (Fu, [0003], line 1).
Regarding claim 9, Karlsson et al discloses UE (fig. 1, item 120, user equipment (UE)), wherein the processor is further configured (The determining unit 1203, the scheduling unit 1204, the retrieving unit 1207, the positioning unit 1208 may be parts of one or more processing unit, [0150], lines 1-2) with a cell type priority designation and wherein the processor is further configured to calculate the respective distances in response to determining that the one or more neighbor cells do not match the cell type priority designation (A priority of UEs with a requested high end data rate may be used in combination to the distance between the UE 120 and the radio cell boundary 127, [0141], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 10, Karlsson et al discloses UE (fig. 1, item 120, user equipment (UE)), wherein the processor is further configured (The determining unit 1203, the scheduling unit 1204, the retrieving unit 1207, the positioning unit 1208 may be parts of one or more processing unit, [0150], lines 1-2) with a cell type priority designation and wherein the processor is further configured:
Karlsson et al does not specifically disclose concept of receive a second list from a second serving cell, wherein the second list includes a set of neighbor cells for the second serving cell;
determine that a neighbor cell from the set matches the cell type priority designation;
perform a second synchronization and measurement process with the neighbor cell; and
establish communications with the neighbor cell having the matching cell type priority designation.
However, Fu specifically teaches concept of receive a second list from a second serving cell, wherein the second list includes a set of neighbor cells for the second serving cell (second starting time offset corresponding to the neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list included in the first measurement configuration (measurement process) is an initial value, which needs to be continuously adjusted (sequentially perform a synchronization) according to the second adjustment period and the second adjustment step corresponding to the neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (according to an order of the prioritized list) subsequently, [0133], lines 5-7, [0134], lines 1-2, [0136], lines 1-5);
determine that a neighbor cell from the set matches the cell type priority designation (Act 402: determining a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) receiving window corresponding to the neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list according to the first configuration information of the first measurement window corresponding to the frequency point to be measured, the first starting time offset corresponding to the neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list, and the first adjustment period and the first adjustment step corresponding to the first starting time offset, [00236], lines 1-5);
perform a second synchronization and measurement process with the neighbor cell (second starting time offset corresponding to the neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list included in the first measurement configuration (measurement process) is an initial value, which needs to be continuously adjusted (sequentially perform a synchronization) according to the second adjustment period and the second adjustment step corresponding to the neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (according to an order of the prioritized list) subsequently, [0133], lines 5-7, [0134], lines 1-2, [0136], lines 1-5); and
establish communications with the neighbor cell having the matching cell type priority designation (performing modulo operation on the determined sum with the first window period, and determining an obtained numerical value as a starting time point of an Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) receiving window corresponding to the target neighboring cell; determining the first window period as a period of the SSB receiving window corresponding to the target neighboring cell, and determining the first window duration as duration of the SSB receiving window corresponding to the target neighboring cell. Further, when a neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (prioritized list) and the current serving cell are of inter-frequency or inter-system, the UE also performs the following operations: for a target neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (prioritized list), determining a sum of a second starting time offset corresponding to the target neighboring cell and the second window starting offset, wherein the target neighboring cell is any neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (prioritized list), [0168], lines 4-7, [0169], lines 1-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Karlsson et al with concept of receive a second list from a second serving cell, wherein the second list includes a set of neighbor cells for the second serving cell; determine that a neighbor cell from the set matches the cell type priority designation; perform a second synchronization and measurement process with the neighbor cell; and establish communications with the neighbor cell having the matching cell type priority designation of Fu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve communication services to terrestrial users, (Fu, [0003], line 1).
Regarding claim 11, Karlsson et al discloses UE (fig. 1, item 120, user equipment (UE)),
Karlsson et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the cell type priority designation identifies a geostationary orbiting (GSO) satellite, a terrestrial network (TN) cell, or a non-GSO satellite with a fixed earth cell.
However, Fu specifically teaches concept of wherein the cell type priority designation identifies a geostationary orbiting (GSO) satellite, a terrestrial network (TN) cell, or a non-GSO satellite with a fixed earth cell (According to an orbital height, communication satellites may be categorized into LEO satellites, Medium-Earth Orbit (MEO) satellites, GEO satellites, High Elliptical Orbit (HEO) satellites, and so on. Nowadays, the third Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) mainly studies LEO satellites and GEO satellites, [0045], lines 1-3).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Karlsson et al with concept of wherein the cell type priority designation identifies a geostationary orbiting (GSO) satellite, a terrestrial network (TN) cell, or a non-GSO satellite with a fixed earth cell of Fu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve communication services to terrestrial users, (Fu, [0003], line 1).
Regarding claim 12, Karlsson et al discloses apparatus (fig. 1, item 120, user equipment (UE)), comprising:
a memory (memory unit 1206, [0147], line 1); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to (The determining unit 1203, the scheduling unit 1204, the retrieving unit 1207, the positioning unit 1208 may be parts of one or more processing unit, [0150], lines 1-2):
receive, from a serving cell, a designation of a backup cell for the serving cell, wherein the designation of the backup cell corresponds to a specified time (The distance range may be determined by a sorted list stored at the radio base station 110. The sorted list comprises the first UE 120 together with its distance 125 to the radio cell boundary 127 and the second UE 128 together with its distance 129 to the radio cell boundary 127. The sorted list indicates which UE is closest to the radio cell boundary 127. This sorted list may be used to schedule (specified time) UEs being closest the radio cell boundary 127; thus is seen as determining (receiving) a list stored from the radio base station 110 (serving cell), where the list comprises the first UE 120 together with its distance 125 to the radio cell boundary 127 and the second UE 128 together with its distance 129 to the radio cell boundary 127 of one radio cell 115 (backup cell), [0037], lines 1-4);
designate the backup cell as having a cell priority at the specified time (This sorted list may be used to schedule UEs being closest the radio cell boundary 127. For example, the radio base station 110 comprises ten receivers with higher receiving sensitivity and it is determined that the UE 120 is positioned a distance of 200 meters from the radio cell boundary 127 of the radio cell 115 (one or more neighbor cells). The UE 120 may be scheduled a receiver with higher receiving sensitivity if there are less than ten UEs within the radio cell 115 (backup cell having a cell priority) positioned 200 meters from the radio cell boundary 127. However, if there are fifteen UEs within a distance of 200 meters to the radio cell boundary 127 the UE 120 will be scheduled (specified time) a receiver of less receiving sensitivity, [0037], lines 4-9);
Karlsson et al does not specifically disclose concept of perform a synchronization and measurement process with the backup cell at the specified time; and
establish communications with the backup cell based on the synchronization and measurement process at the specified time.
However, Fu specifically teaches concept of perform a synchronization and measurement process with the backup cell at the specified time (second starting time (specified time) offset corresponding to the neighboring cell (backup cell) in the whitelist neighboring cell list included in the first measurement configuration (measurement process) is an initial value, which needs to be continuously adjusted (perform a synchronization) according to the second adjustment period (specified time) and the second adjustment step corresponding to the neighboring cell (backup cell) in the whitelist neighboring cell list subsequently, [0133], lines 5-7, [0134], lines 1-2, [0136], lines 1-5); and
establish communications with the backup cell based on the synchronization and measurement process at the specified time (performing modulo operation on the determined sum with the first window period, and determining an obtained numerical value as a starting time point of an Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) receiving (establish communications) window corresponding to the target neighboring cell; determining the first window period as a period of the SSB receiving window corresponding to the target neighboring cell, and determining the first window duration as duration of the SSB receiving window corresponding to the target neighboring cell. Further, when a neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (prioritized list) and the current serving cell are of inter-frequency or inter-system, the UE also performs the following operations: for a target neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (prioritized list), determining a sum of a second starting time offset corresponding to the target neighboring cell and the second window starting offset, wherein the target neighboring cell is any neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (prioritized list), [0168], lines 4-7, [0169], lines 1-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Karlsson et al with concept of perform a synchronization and measurement process with the backup cell at the specified time; and establish communications with the backup cell based on the synchronization and measurement process at the specified time of Fu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve communication services to terrestrial users, (Fu, [0003], line 1).
Regarding claim 13, Karlsson et al discloses apparatus (fig. 1, item 120, user equipment (UE)), wherein to designate the backup cell as having the cell priority, the at least one processor is further configured to (The determining unit 1203, the scheduling unit 1204, the retrieving unit 1207, the positioning unit 1208 may be parts of one or more processing unit, [0150], lines 1-2):
designate the backup cell as having a higher priority than a list of one or more neighbor cells received from the serving cell (The distance range may be determined by a sorted list stored at the radio base station 110. The sorted list comprises the first UE 120 together with its distance 125 to the radio cell boundary 127 and the second UE 128 together with its distance 129 to the radio cell boundary 127. The sorted list indicates which UE is closest to the radio cell boundary 127. This sorted list may be used to schedule (specified time) UEs being closest the radio cell boundary 127; thus is seen as determining (receiving) a list stored from the radio base station 110 (serving cell), where the list comprises the first UE 120 together with its distance 125 to the radio cell boundary 127 and the second UE 128 together with its distance 129 to the radio cell boundary 127 of one radio cell 115 (backup cell), [0037], lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 14, Karlsson et al discloses apparatus (fig. 1, item 120, user equipment (UE)),
Karlsson et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the backup cell corresponds to a geostationary orbiting (GSO) satellite or a terrestrial network (TN) base station.
However, Fu specifically teaches concept of wherein the backup cell corresponds to a geostationary orbiting (GSO) satellite or a terrestrial network (TN) base station (According to an orbital height, communication satellites may be categorized into LEO satellites, Medium-Earth Orbit (MEO) satellites, GEO satellites, High Elliptical Orbit (HEO) satellites, and so on. Nowadays, the third Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) mainly studies LEO satellites and GEO satellites, [0045], lines 1-3).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Karlsson et al with concept of wherein the backup cell corresponds to a geostationary orbiting (GSO) satellite or a terrestrial network (TN) base station of Fu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve communication services to terrestrial users, (Fu, [0003], line 1).
Regarding claim 15, Karlsson et al discloses apparatus (fig. 1, item 120, user equipment (UE)),
Karlsson et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the serving cell corresponds to a non-geostationary orbiting (non-GSO) satellite with an earth moving cell, a GSO satellite, or a non-GSO satellite with a fixed earth cell.
However, Fu specifically teaches concept of wherein the serving cell corresponds to a non-geostationary orbiting (non-GSO) satellite with an earth moving cell, a GSO satellite, or a non-GSO satellite with a fixed earth cell (The cell measurement method may be applied to the above implementation environment shown in FIG. 1, and is mainly executed by the terminal. Here, an example in which at least one of the current serving cell and the neighboring cell to be measured of the UE belongs to the non-GEO scene is taken for illustration, that is, the satellite is in a moving state, and the method may include the following implementation acts, [0113], lines 2-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Karlsson et al with concept of wherein the serving cell corresponds to a non-geostationary orbiting (non-GSO) satellite with an earth moving cell, a GSO satellite, or a non-GSO satellite with a fixed earth cell of Fu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve communication services to terrestrial users, (Fu, [0003], line 1).
Regarding claim 16, Karlsson et al discloses method (fig. 5, method), comprising:
receiving, at a user equipment (UE) and from a serving cell, a list of one or more neighbor cells with respective positioning information (The distance range may be determined by a sorted list stored at the radio base station 110. The sorted list comprises the first UE 120 together with its distance 125 to the radio cell boundary 127 and the second UE 128 together with its distance 129 to the radio cell boundary 127. The sorted list indicates which UE is closest to the radio cell boundary 127. This sorted list may be used to schedule UEs being closest the radio cell boundary 127; thus is seen as determining (receiving) a list stored from the radio base station 110 (serving cell), where the list comprises the first UE 120 together with its distance 125 to the radio cell boundary 127 and the second UE 128 together with its distance 129 to the radio cell boundary 127 of one radio cell 115 (one or more neighbor cell), [0037], lines 1-4);
calculating, by the UE, respective distances between the UE and the one or more neighbor cells using the respective positioning information (The radio base station 110 may calculate the distance 125 between the UE 120 and the radio cell boundary 127 (one or more neighbor cells) in order to determine how close the UE 120 is the radio cell boundary 127 (one or more neighbor cells) using data received from a positioning node, [0035], lines 1-4);
sorting, by the UE, the list of the one or more neighbor cells based on the respective distances to generate a prioritized list that orders the one or more neighbor cells based on the respective distances (This sorted list may be used to schedule UEs being closest the radio cell boundary 127. For example, the radio base station 110 comprises ten receivers with higher receiving sensitivity and it is determined that the UE 120 is positioned a distance of 200 meters from the radio cell boundary 127 of the radio cell 115 (one or more neighbor cells). The UE 120 may be scheduled a receiver with higher receiving sensitivity if there are less than ten UEs within the radio cell 115 positioned 200 meters from the radio cell boundary 127. However, if there are fifteen UEs within a distance of 200 meters to the radio cell boundary 127 the UE 120 will be scheduled a receiver of less receiving sensitivity, [0037], lines 4-9);
Karlsson et al does not specifically disclose concept of sequentially performing, by the UE, a synchronization and measurement process with the one or more neighbor cells according to an order of the prioritized list; and
establishing, by the UE, communications with a target cell from the prioritized list based on the synchronization and measurement process.
However, Fu specifically teaches concept of sequentially performing, by the UE, a synchronization and measurement process with the one or more neighbor cells according to an order of the prioritized list (second starting time offset corresponding to the neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list included in the first measurement configuration (measurement process) is an initial value, which needs to be continuously adjusted (sequentially perform a synchronization) according to the second adjustment period and the second adjustment step corresponding to the neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (according to an order of the prioritized list) subsequently, [0133], lines 5-7, [0134], lines 1-2, [0136], lines 1-5); and
establishing, by the UE, communications with a target cell from the prioritized list based on the synchronization and measurement process (performing modulo operation on the determined sum with the first window period, and determining an obtained numerical value as a starting time point of an Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) receiving (establish communications) window corresponding to the target neighboring cell; determining the first window period as a period of the SSB receiving window corresponding to the target neighboring cell, and determining the first window duration as duration of the SSB receiving window corresponding to the target neighboring cell. Further, when a neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (prioritized list) and the current serving cell are of inter-frequency or inter-system, the UE also performs the following operations: for a target neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (prioritized list), determining a sum of a second starting time offset corresponding to the target neighboring cell and the second window starting offset, wherein the target neighboring cell is any neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (prioritized list), [0168], lines 4-7, [0169], lines 1-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Karlsson et al with concept of sequentially performing, by the UE, a synchronization and measurement process with the one or more neighbor cells according to an order of the prioritized list; and establishing, by the UE, communications with a target cell from the prioritized list based on the synchronization and measurement process of Fu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve communication services to terrestrial users, (Fu, [0003], line 1).
Regarding claim 17, Karlsson et al discloses method (fig. 5, method), wherein the respective positioning information includes position, velocity, or timing information (UE 120 is positioned a distance 125 from a radio cell boundary 127; the radio cell boundary 127 being the part of the radio cell boundary closest to the UE 120, [0032], lines 3-4).
Regarding claim 18, Karlsson et al discloses method (fig. 5, method),
Karlsson et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein to sequentially perform the synchronization and measurement process, the method further comprises:
identifying a subset of the one or more neighbor cells based on the order of the prioritized list and a predefined number of neighbor cells; and
performing the synchronization and measurement process for each neighbor cell in the subset.
However, Fu specifically teaches concept of wherein to sequentially perform the synchronization and measurement process, the method further comprises (second starting time offset corresponding to the neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list included in the first measurement configuration (measurement process) is an initial value, which needs to be continuously adjusted (sequentially perform a synchronization) according to the second adjustment period and the second adjustment step corresponding to the neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (according to an order of the prioritized list) subsequently, [0133], lines 5-7, [0134], lines 1-2, [0136], lines 1-5):
identifying a subset of the one or more neighbor cells based on the order of the prioritized list and a predefined number of neighbor cells (performing modulo operation on the determined sum with the first window period, and determining an obtained numerical value as a starting time point of an Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) receiving window corresponding to the target neighboring cell; determining the first window period as a period of the SSB receiving window corresponding to the target neighboring cell, and determining the first window duration as duration of the SSB receiving window corresponding to the target neighboring cell. Further, when a neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (prioritized list) and the current serving cell are of inter-frequency or inter-system, the UE also performs the following operations: for a target neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (prioritized list), determining a sum of a second starting time offset corresponding to the target neighboring cell and the second window starting offset, wherein the target neighboring cell is any neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (prioritized list), [0168], lines 4-7, [0169], lines 1-4); and
performing the synchronization and measurement process for each neighbor cell in the subset (performing modulo operation on the determined sum with the first window period, and determining an obtained numerical value as a starting time point of an Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) receiving window corresponding to the target neighboring cell; determining the first window period as a period of the SSB receiving window corresponding to the target neighboring cell, and determining the first window duration as duration of the SSB receiving window corresponding to the target neighboring cell. Further, when a neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (prioritized list) and the current serving cell are of inter-frequency or inter-system, the UE also performs the following operations: for a target neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (prioritized list), determining a sum of a second starting time offset corresponding to the target neighboring cell and the second window starting offset, wherein the target neighboring cell is any neighboring cell in the whitelist neighboring cell list (prioritized list), [0168], lines 4-7, [0169], lines 1-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Karlsson et al with concept of wherein to sequentially perform the synchronization and measurement process, the method further comprises: identifying a subset of the one or more neighbor cells based on the order of the prioritized list and a predefined number of neighbor cells; and performing the synchronization and measurement process for each neighbor cell in the subset of Fu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve communication services to terrestrial users, (Fu, [0003], line 1).
Regarding claim 19, Karlsson et al discloses method (fig. 5, method), wherein to sequentially perform the synchronization and measurement process, the method further comprises (The determining unit 1203, the scheduling unit 1204, the retrieving unit 1207, the positioning unit 1208 may be parts of one or more processing unit, [0150], lines 1-2):
performing Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP), Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ), or Signal to Interference & Noise Ratio (SINR) measurements (Another principle for interference cancellation recognizes that the interference cannot normally be modeled as white noise, neither in the temporal, channel model tap, domain, nor between antenna elements. GRAKE+ and chip equalizer receivers therefore build up a model of the interference followed by cancellation, [0119], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 20, Karlsson et al discloses method (fig. 5, method), wherein calculating the respective distances occurs in response to determining that a serving time corresponding to the serving cell is below a threshold (The radio base station 110 may calculate the distance 125 between the UE 120 and the radio cell boundary 127 in order to determine how close the UE 120 is the radio cell boundary 127. A parameter, to be used to determine whether a UE should be scheduled a receiver with higher sensitivity to Ues, is defined as the distance 125 of a position of the UE 120 relative the radio cell boundary 127. [0035], lines 1-2, [0036], lines 1-2).
Conclusion
/FRANTZ BATAILLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681