Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 11, 12, 15, 17-20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Groene (USP 2,319,451).
Regarding claim 1, Groene discloses a broaching tool for rifling a gun barrel comprising: a shank (11); a body (45); a cutting head (12); an axis of said broaching tool extending from a rearward end of said broaching tool at said shank to a forward end of said broaching tool at said cutting end, said axis extending through said shank, said
body and said cutting head (figures VII and IX); said body (45) positioned forward relative to said shank (11); said cutting head (12) positioned forward relative to said body (45); said cutting head (12) comprising at least a first rake face, said first rake face comprising a first cutting edge (52), said first cutting edge comprising a first cutting corner at a forward end of said cutting head (figures IX-X); said first rake face configured such that upon rotating at least one of said broaching tool and said gun
barrel about said axis of said broaching tool and advancing said tool along said axis of said broaching tool in a forward direction relative to said gun barrel, said first corner travels in a first circular helix pattern (page 2, right column, lines 2-14), each point on said first circular helix pattern spaced from said axis of said broaching tool by
a distance that is greater than a distance that any point on said shank or said body is spaced from said axis of said broaching tool (figures IX and XIII show that the cutters project beyond the supporting portions).
Regarding claim 2, Groene discloses wherein: said cutting head comprises at least two rake faces; said at least two rake faces each comprising a respective cutting corner at said forward end of said cutting head (figure IX shows multiple cutting edges 52).
Regarding claim 3, Groene discloses wherein said respective cutting corners of
said at least two rake faces substantially uniformly spaced about said forward end of said cutting head (figure X).
Regarding claim 6, Groene discloses wherein: said broaching tool further comprises a pilot portion (48), each point on said pilot portion is spaced from said axis of said broaching tool a distance that is less than a distance that each point on said first circular helix pattern is spaced from said axis of said broaching tool.
Regarding claim 8, Groene discloses wherein said cutting head (12) is removable from said body (cutting head/disc cutter 12 is removed and replaced).
Regarding claim 11, Groene discloses wherein said body (45) is removable from said shank (11) (i.e. utilizing threaded connection 46, page 2, right column, lines 19-22).
Regarding claim 12, Groene discloses wherein: said body (45) has a region with external threads, said shank (11) has a region with internal threads, and said external threads of said body are capable of being screw-threaded into said internal threads of
said shank (reads on the claim since 45 threads into 11).
Regarding claim 15, Groene discloses wherein said shank (11) comprises at least a first indexing region (i.e. key 26 is engaged with notch 27 of shank 11, page 2, left column, lines 46-51).
Regarding claims 17 and 19, broadly reading the claims, Groene discloses wherein said indexing region comprises at least a first groove (examiner defining notch 27 as groove/ non-cylindrical, non-conical, non-frustoconical recess).
Regarding claims 18 and 20, broadly reading the claims, Groene discloses wherein said indexing region comprises at least a first rib (examiner defining key 26 as rib/ non-cylindrical, non-conical, non-frustoconical protrusion).
Regarding claim 23, broadly reading the claim, Groene discloses, wherein said indexing region comprises at least one protrusion and at least one recess (examiner defining key 26 as rib and notch 27 as groove).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 9, 10, 13, 14, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Groene (USP 2,319,451).
(Original) A broaching tool as recited in claim 1, wherein:
said cutting head further comprises a second rake face and a third rake face;
said second rake face comprises a second cutting edge;
said second cutting edge comprises a second corner at said forward end of said cutting head;
said second rake face is configured such that upon rotating said broaching tool about said axis of said
broaching tool and advancing said broaching tool along said axis of said broaching tool in a forward
direction, said second corner travels in a second circular helix pattern, each point on said second
circular helix pattern spaced from said axis of said broaching tool by a distance that is greater than
said distance that any point on said shank or said body is spaced from said axis of said broaching tool,
said third rake face comprises a third cutting edge,
said third cutting edge comprises a third corner at said forward end of said cutting head,
said third rake face is configured such that upon rotating said broaching tool about said axis of said
broaching tool and advancing said broaching tool along said axis of said broaching tool in a forward
direction, said third corner travels in a third circular helix pattern, each point on said third circular
helix pattern spaced from said axis of said broaching tool by a distance that is greater than said distance
that any point on said shank or said body is spaced from said axis of said broaching tool.
21.
(Original) A broaching tool as recited in claim 15, wherein said indexing region comprises at
lcast two protrusions.
Serial No. 18/589,063
Page 6 -
22.
(Original) A broaching tool as recited in claim 15, wherein said indexing region comprises at
least two recesses.
13.
(Original) A broaching tool as recited in claim 1, wherein:
said shank comprises at least a shank first ramp portion,
in a sequence of at least first through tenth shank imaginary planes that are perpendicular to said axis
of said broaching tool and that are spaced evenly, respective dimensions of said shank first ramp
portion decrease as said distance from said cutting head increases.
Serial No. 18/589,063
Page - 5 -
14.
(Original) A broaching tool as recited in claim 1, wherein:
said body comprises at least a body first ramp portion,
in a sequence of at least first through tenth body imaginary planes that are perpendicular to said axis
of said broaching tool and that are spaced evenly, respective dimensions of said body first ramp
portion increase as said distance from said cutting head increases.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Groene discloses cutter head (12) is securely mounted to body (45) by pressing it against the body utilizing nut (54) (page 2, right column, lines 32-36). Furthermore, Groene discloses nut (54) has an internal threading which engages the external threading on portion (55) of body (45) (figure IX). Therefore Examiner takes Official Notice that it would have been obvious to provide internal threading on the cutter head (12) to engage external thread of body (45) for the purpose of allowing the cutter head to be directly secured to the body without a separate retaining nut , hence reducing the number of parts being handles during replacement.
Conclusion
/SARA ADDISU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722 10/17/26