DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oehring et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0145918) in view of Kaminsky (US Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0085079) and Yeung et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0079851).
In reference to claim 1, Oehring discloses a gas source system for supplying a gas to a plurality of turbine engines 832 by fracturing manifold equipment (Fig. 8), comprising a gas supply device 812, a gas delivery manifold 818 or 824, a filtering device 826 (par. 0064, “gas filtering, including the use of a first three phase separator 814 upstream from the pressure regulator skid 816, and a second three phase separator 826”), a plurality of connecting devices (Fig. 8, any of the gas lines extending from the gas delivery manifold 828 to the turbines 832), wherein:
the gas delivery manifold 818 or 824 and the filtering device 826 are integrated to form an integrated assembly (Fig. 8) to reduce on-site routing (the reduced on-site routing is an inherent feature of said integration);
the gas supply device 812 is connected to the gas delivery manifold 828 through the filtering device 826 (Fig. 8);
the gas delivery manifold 828 supplies the gas to the plurality of turbine engines 832 through the plurality of connecting devices in parallel (Fig. 8).
Oehring fails to disclose a gas detecting system.
Kaminsky discloses that a gas detecting system 218 (par. 0082, “automatic gas chromatography analyzers”) can be provided to determine the composition of a gas prior to the gas being used to generate power (Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a gas detecting system integrated into the gas delivery manifold so that the composition of the gas can be determined.
Oehring also fails to disclose a fracturing fluid manifold integrated with the gas delivery manifold; or that the fracturing fluid manifold supplies low pressure fracturing fluid to a plurality of pumps connected to the plurality of turbine engines and collects high pressure fracturing fluid delivered from the pumps.
Yeung discloses a fracturing fluid manifold 24 integrated with a gas delivery manifold 92 (Fig. 7);
the fracturing fluid manifold supplies low pressure fracturing fluid (par. 0040, “slurry may be discharged through low-pressure hoses, which convey the slurry into two or more low-pressure lines in a frac manifold 24”) to a plurality of pumps 18 connected to the plurality of turbine engines 20 (par. 0039) and collects high pressure fracturing fluid delivered from the pumps 18 (par. 0042, via pump discharge lines 26).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a fracturing fluid manifold integrated with the gas delivery manifold with a reasonable expectation of success so that a single piece of equipment can be used to deliver both fracturing fluid and the gas supply.
In reference to claim 9, Oehring discloses that the filtering device 826 is disposed away from higher-pressure regions of the plurality of turbine engines 832 (Fig. 8).
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oehring et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0145918) in view of Kaminsky (US Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0085079) and Yeung et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0079851) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gay et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0032702).
In reference to claim 2, Oehring fails to disclose a guard, the guard being integrated on the fracturing manifold equipment and being used to isolate the gas delivery manifold from the fracturing manifold on the fracturing manifold equipment.
Gay discloses a guard (par. 0037, “a physical enclosure to protect the components from the weather and environment”), the guard being integrated on the fracturing manifold equipment (par. 0037, Fig. 8) and being used to isolate the gas delivery manifold from the fracturing manifold on the fracturing manifold equipment (par. 0037, the enclosure isolates the fracturing manifold system 82 from everything else).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a guard to isolate the fracturing manifold system from other components to ensure that the fracturing manifold is not damaged.
In reference to claim 3, Gay discloses an enclosure (par. 0037) that constitutes “an isolating board”.
In reference to claim 4, Gay doesn’t disclose a material for the guard/enclosure (par. 0037). However, the examiner takes Official Notice that steel is well known for use in constructing enclosures. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to construct the enclosure/guard out of steel as steel is known to be effective for this purpose.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oehring et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0145918) in view of Kaminsky (US Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0085079) and Yeung et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0079851) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Minto et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0204239).
In reference to claim 5, Oehring and Kaminsky fail to disclose that the gas detecting system comprises a laser gas detecting system.
Minto discloses a laser gas detecting system (par. 0069). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a laser gas detection system in place of the gas detection system disclosed by Kaminsky as it amounts to a substitution of known equivalents to perform the same function, which is in this case to detect gas composition.
Claims 8, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oehring et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0145918) in view of Kaminsky (US Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0085079) and Yeung et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0079851) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lawson (US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0223801).
In reference to claim 8, Oehring fails to disclose that each of the plurality of connecting device comprises a connecting pipeline, a valve and a quick-connect interface, the valve being used for an on-off control of gas flow in the connecting pipeline, and the quick-connect interface being used for a fast connection between the connecting pipeline and one of the plurality of turbine engines.
Lawson discloses connecting devices comprising a connecting pipeline 106, a valve 110 and a quick-connect interface (par. 0124). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a quick-connect interface on a pipeline so that that pipeline can be quickly connected or disconnected as needed; and to include a valve on a pipeline to relieve pressure and turn off the gas supply should it rise to a dangerous level.
In reference to claim 10, Oehring discloses purging the manifold of gas (par. 0042) but not that the connecting devices comprise an additional multi-functional pipeline connected thereof for purging the fracturing manifold equipment between operations of the gas source system.
Lawson discloses a connecting device comprising a multi-functional pipeline 106 with a relief valve 110 (Fig. 1, par. 0074) for urging the fracturing manifold equipment. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a multi-functional pipeline for purging the fracturing manifold equipment between operations of the gas source system so that gas can be purged when necessary.
In reference to claim 11, Oehring fails to disclose that each of the at least one of the plurality of connection lines may further comprise a one-way valve configured to forbid of back flow of gas into the gas suppl device and to facilitate the purging of the fracturing manifold equipment between operations of the gas source system.
Lawson discloses including check valves with the connecting devices (par. 0118). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a check valve to ensure that fluid only flows in the intended direction.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 10,830,032. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference patent entirely anticipate the claims of the present invention.
Response to Arguments
In reference to claim 1, Applicant argues that the rejection should be withdrawn as the references fail to disclose a gas delivery manifold, the filtering device and the gas detecting system integrated with the fracturing fluid manifold to form an integrated assembly to reduce on-site routing. The examiner finds this unpersuasive as Oehring discloses that the gas delivery manifold 818 or 824 and the filtering device 826 are integrated to form an integrated assembly (Fig. 8) to reduce on-site routing (the reduced on-site routing is a feature of said integration); and Yeung discloses a gas delivery manifold 10 (par. 0063) integrated into a fracturing fluid manifold (Fig. 7). More specifically, Applicant argues that Yeung fails to disclose that the gas delivery manifold and fracturing fluid manifold are integrated. The examiner finds this unpersuasive as Fig. 7 clearly shows the two integrated into one assembly.
Applicant has not provided any arguments against the double patenting rejection or the rejection to claim 11 under 35 USC 112(b).
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRAD HARCOURT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674
12/19/25