DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-13, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiang et al. (U.S. Patent Number: 9,554,281) in view of Radunovic et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2022/0377615).
Consider claim 1; Chiang discloses a method for dynamic hardware allocation for telecommunications networks, comprising:
accessing one or more records indicative of network demand (e.g. load) at a radio access network (RAN) node (col. 3, lines 48-49; col. 5, lines 37-40), wherein the RAN node is capable of supporting at least two network standards [e.g. 3G and 4G (col. 3, lines 34-49)] and comprises one or more hardware components for cell site infrastructure (col. 13, lines 52-62) shared between the at least two network standards [e.g. 3G and 4G (col. 3, lines 34-49)];
extracting, from the one or more records (col. 5, lines 37-40), metrics indicative of network demand (e.g. load) for each network standard across a plurality of user devices (col. 3, lines 61-67) in an area serviced by the RAN node [e.g. 3G and 4G (col. 3, lines 34-53)];
identifying, based on the distance of each user device from the RAN node (col. 5, line 58 – col. 6, line 3), an allocation of hardware for each of the at least two network standards [e.g. 3G and 4G (col. 3, lines 34-49; col. 8, lines 18-32; col. 13, lines 52-62)];
generating one or more commands (e.g. computes) for enabling real-time modification (e.g. dynamic) of at least one hardware component of the one or more hardware components at the RAN node based on the identified allocation for each of the at least two network standards [e.g. 3G and 4G (col. 3, lines 34-49; col. 5, lines 45-49; col. 8, lines 18-32; col. 13, lines 52-62)]; and
transmitting the one or more commands (e.g. computes), wherein the commands are configured to use software modifications to effectuate real-time modification of behavior of at least one hardware component at the RAN node to implement the identified allocation (col. 5, lines 45-49; col. 8, lines 18-32; col. 13, lines 52-62).
Chiang discloses the claimed invention except: inputting the metrics into a machine learning model to determine, for each user device of the plurality of user devices, a distance and directionality from the RAN node.
In an analogous art Radunovic discloses inputting the metrics into a machine learning model (par. 38, lines 1-23) to determine, for each user device of the plurality of user devices (par. 25, lines 1-9), a distance [e.g. office vs home (par. 46, lines 1-8)] and directionality (e.g. uplink or downlink) from the RAN node (par. 43, lines 1-13).
It is an object of Chiang’s invention to provide a method of sharing available system resources. It is an object of Radunovic’s invention to provide a method of reallocating resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Chiang by including a machine learning model, as taught by Radunovic, for the purpose of effectively providing services in a telecommunications network.
Consider claim 2, as applied in claim 1; Chiang discloses the metrics comprise data in a buffer of the RAN node, age of the data in the buffer, traffic load (col. 5, lines 37-40), distance from a tower, or concentration of user devices in the area.
Consider claim 3, as applied in claim 1; Chiang discloses the identified allocation comprises a directionality and power of signals to be transmitted by the RAN node (col. 3, lines 48-53; col. 12, line 66 – col. 13, line 4) and wherein the one or more commands comprise configuring hardware settings or software settings of the at least one hardware component (col. 13, lines 52-62).
Consider claim 4, as applied in claim 1; Chiang discloses a first network standard and second network standard of the at least two network standards are different and include any combination of 1G (First Generation), 2G (Second Generation), 3G (Third Generation), 4G (Fourth Generation), 5G (Fifth Generation), or 6G (Sixth Generation) (col. 3, lines 34-47).
Consider claim 6, as applied in claim 1; Chiang discloses receiving a dataset comprising metrics indicative of (1) network demand (col. 5, lines 37-40) for different combinations of network standards across user devices at one or more RAN nodes [e.g. 3G and 4G (col. 3, lines 34-49)] and (2) a corresponding distance of each user device to a corresponding RAN node (col. 5, line 58 – col. 6, line 3). Chiang discloses the claimed invention except: training the machine learning model to determine a distance of a user device from a RAN node based on metrics.
In an analogous art Radunovic discloses training the machine learning model to determine a distance of a user device from a RAN node based on metrics [e.g. office vs home (par. 38, lines 1-23; par. 46, lines 1-8)].
It is an object of Chiang’s invention to provide a method of sharing available system resources. It is an object of Radunovic’s invention to provide a method of reallocating resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Chiang by including a machine learning model, as taught by Radunovic, for the purpose of effectively providing services in a telecommunications network.
Consider claim 8, as applied in claim 1; Radunovic discloses the machine learning model is configured to identify clusters of user devices (par. 1, lines 11-18; par. 2, lines 15-17) and the identified allocation comprises a directionality [e.g. office vs home (par. 46, lines 1-8)] and power proportional to a number of user devices of each cluster (par. 1, lines 11-18; par. 2, lines 15-17; par. 18, lines 11-21; par. 51, lines 1-7; par. 55, lines 1-26).
Consider claim 9; Chiang discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium (col. 14, lines 15-24) containing instructions configured to cause one or more processors to perform a method for dynamic hardware allocation for telecommunications networks (col. 13, line 52 – col. 14, line 5), the method comprising:
accessing one or more records indicative of network demand (e.g. load) at a radio access network (RAN) node (col. 3, lines 48-49; col. 5, lines 37-40), wherein the RAN node is capable of supporting at least two network standards [e.g. 3G and 4G (col. 3, lines 34-49)] and comprises one or more hardware components for cell site infrastructure (col. 13, lines 52-62) shared between the at least two network standards [e.g. 3G and 4G (col. 3, lines 34-49)];
extracting, from the one or more records (col. 5, lines 37-40), metrics indicative of network demand (e.g. load) for each network standard across a plurality of user devices (col. 3, lines 61-67) in an area serviced by the RAN node [e.g. 3G and 4G (col. 3, lines 34-53)];
identifying, based on the distance of each user device from the RAN node (col. 5, line 58 – col. 6, line 3), an allocation of hardware for each of the at least two network standards [e.g. 3G and 4G (col. 3, lines 34-49; col. 8, lines 18-32; col. 13, lines 52-62)];
generating one or more commands (e.g. computes) for enabling real-time modification (e.g. dynamic) of at least one hardware component of the one or more hardware components at the RAN node based on the identified allocation for each of the at least two network standards [e.g. 3G and 4G (col. 3, lines 34-49; col. 5, lines 45-49; col. 8, lines 18-32; col. 13, lines 52-62)]; and
transmitting the one or more commands (e.g. computes), wherein the commands are configured to use software modifications to effectuate real-time modification of behavior of at least one hardware component at the RAN node to implement the identified allocation (col. 5, lines 45-49; col. 8, lines 18-32; col. 13, lines 52-62).
Chiang discloses the claimed invention except: inputting the metrics into a machine learning model to determine, for each user device of the plurality of user devices, a distance and directionality from the RAN node.
In an analogous art Radunovic discloses inputting the metrics into a machine learning model (par. 38, lines 1-23) to determine, for each user device of the plurality of user devices (par. 25, lines 1-9), a distance [e.g. office vs home (par. 46, lines 1-8)] and directionality (e.g. uplink or downlink) from the RAN node (par. 43, lines 1-13).
It is an object of Chiang’s invention to provide a method of sharing available system resources. It is an object of Radunovic’s invention to provide a method of reallocating resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Chiang by including a machine learning model, as taught by Radunovic, for the purpose of effectively providing services in a telecommunications network.
Consider claim 10, as applied in claim 9; Chiang discloses the metrics comprise data in a buffer of the RAN node, age of the data in the buffer, traffic load (col. 5, lines 37-40), distance from a tower, or concentration of user devices in the area.
Consider claim 11, as applied in claim 9; Chiang discloses the identified allocation comprises a directionality and power of signals to be transmitted by the RAN node (col. 3, lines 48-53; col. 12, line 66 – col. 13, line 4) and wherein the one or more commands comprise configuring hardware settings or software settings of the at least one hardware component (col. 13, lines 52-62).
Consider claim 12, as applied in claim 9; Chiang discloses a first network standard and second network standard of the at least two network standards are different and include any combination of 1G (First Generation), 2G (Second Generation), 3G (Third Generation), 4G (Fourth Generation), 5G (Fifth Generation), or 6G (Sixth Generation) (col. 3, lines 34-47).
Consider claim 13, as applied in claim 9; Radunovic discloses the machine learning model is configured to identify clusters of user devices (par. 1, lines 11-18; par. 2, lines 15-17) and the identified allocation comprises a directionality [e.g. office vs home (par. 46, lines 1-8)] and power proportional to a number of user devices of each cluster (par. 1, lines 11-18; par. 2, lines 15-17; par. 18, lines 11-21; par. 51, lines 1-7; par. 55, lines 1-26).
Consider claim 15, as applied in claim 9; Chiang discloses receiving a dataset comprising metrics indicative of (1) network demand (col. 5, lines 37-40) for different combinations of network standards across user devices at one or more RAN nodes [e.g. 3G and 4G (col. 3, lines 34-49)] and (2) a corresponding distance of each user device to a corresponding RAN node (col. 5, line 58 – col. 6, line 3). Chiang discloses the claimed invention except: training the machine learning model to determine a distance of a user device from a RAN node based on metrics.
In an analogous art Radunovic discloses training the machine learning model to determine a distance of a user device from a RAN node based on metrics [e.g. office vs home (par. 38, lines 1-23; par. 46, lines 1-8)].
It is an object of Chiang’s invention to provide a method of sharing available system resources. It is an object of Radunovic’s invention to provide a method of reallocating resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Chiang by including a machine learning model, as taught by Radunovic, for the purpose of effectively providing services in a telecommunications network.
Consider claim 16; Chiang discloses a system for dynamic hardware allocation for telecommunications networks, the system comprising:
one or more processors (col. 13, line 62 – col. 14, line 5); and
one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media comprising instructions that (col. 14, lines 15-24), when executed by the one or more processors (col. 13, line 62 – col. 14, line 5), causes operations comprising:
accessing one or more records indicative of network demand (e.g. load) at a radio access network (RAN) node (col. 3, lines 48-49; col. 5, lines 37-40), wherein the RAN node is capable of supporting at least two network standards [e.g. 3G and 4G (col. 3, lines 34-49)] and comprises one or more hardware components for cell site infrastructure (col. 13, lines 52-62) shared between the at least two network standards [e.g. 3G and 4G (col. 3, lines 34-49)];
extracting, from the one or more records (col. 5, lines 37-40), metrics indicative of network demand (e.g. load) for each network standard across a plurality of user devices (col. 3, lines 61-67) in an area serviced by the RAN node [e.g. 3G and 4G (col. 3, lines 34-53)];
identifying, based on the distance of each user device from the RAN node (col. 5, line 58 – col. 6, line 3), an allocation of hardware for each of the at least two network standards [e.g. 3G and 4G (col. 3, lines 34-49; col. 8, lines 18-32; col. 13, lines 52-62)];
generating one or more commands (e.g. computes) for enabling real-time modification (e.g. dynamic) of at least one hardware component of the one or more hardware components at the RAN node based on the identified allocation for each of the at least two network standards [e.g. 3G and 4G (col. 3, lines 34-49; col. 5, lines 45-49; col. 8, lines 18-32; col. 13, lines 52-62)].
Chiang discloses the claimed invention except: inputting the metrics into a machine learning model to determine, for each user device of the plurality of user devices, a distance and directionality from the RAN node.
In an analogous art Radunovic discloses inputting the metrics into a machine learning model (par. 38, lines 1-23) to determine, for each user device of the plurality of user devices (par. 25, lines 1-9), a distance [e.g. office vs home (par. 46, lines 1-8)] and directionality (e.g. uplink or downlink) from the RAN node (par. 43, lines 1-13).
It is an object of Chiang’s invention to provide a method of sharing available system resources. It is an object of Radunovic’s invention to provide a method of reallocating resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Chiang by including a machine learning model, as taught by Radunovic, for the purpose of effectively providing services in a telecommunications network.
Consider claim 17, as applied in claim 16; Chiang discloses transmitting the one or more commands (e.g. computes), wherein the commands are configured to use software modifications to effectuate real-time modification of behavior of at least one hardware component at the RAN node to implement the identified allocation (col. 5, lines 45-49; col. 8, lines 18-32; col. 13, lines 52-62).
Consider claim 18, as applied in claim 16; Chiang discloses the identified allocation comprises a directionality and power of signals to be transmitted by the RAN node (col. 3, lines 48-53; col. 12, line 66 – col. 13, line 4) and wherein the one or more commands comprise configuring hardware settings or software settings of the at least one hardware component (col. 13, lines 52-62).
Consider claim 19, as applied in claim 16; Chiang discloses a first network standard and second network standard of the at least two network standards are different and include any combination of 1G (First Generation), 2G (Second Generation), 3G (Third Generation), 4G (Fourth Generation), 5G (Fifth Generation), or 6G (Sixth Generation) (col. 3, lines 34-47).
Consider claim 20, as applied in claim 16; Radunovic discloses the machine learning model is configured to identify clusters of user devices (par. 1, lines 11-18; par. 2, lines 15-17) and the identified allocation comprises a directionality [e.g. office vs home (par. 46, lines 1-8)] and power proportional to a number of user devices of each cluster (par. 1, lines 11-18; par. 2, lines 15-17; par. 18, lines 11-21; par. 51, lines 1-7; par. 55, lines 1-26).
Claims 5, 7, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiang et al. (U.S. Patent Number: 9,554,281) in view of Radunovic et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2022/0377615) in view of Raghavan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2024/0429989).
Consider claim 5, as applied in claim 1; Chiang and Radunovic disclose the claimed invention except: the at least one hardware component comprises a radio amplifier having a maximum power output and the identified allocation comprises partitioning available wattage of the radio amplifier between a first network standard and a second network standard of the at least two network standards.
In an analogous art Raghavan discloses the at least one hardware component comprises a radio amplifier having a maximum power output and the identified allocation comprises partitioning available wattage of the radio amplifier (par. 38, lines 1-11; par. 90, lines 1-15) between a first network standard and a second network standard of the at least two network standards (par. 32, lines 1-5).
It is an object of Chiang’s invention to provide a method of sharing available system resources. It is an object of Radunovic’s invention to provide a method of reallocating resources. It is an object of Raghavan’s invention to provide a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chiang and Radunovic by including an amplifier, as taught by Raghavan, for the purpose of managing communication in a wireless network.
Consider claim 7, as applied in claim 1; Chiang and Radunovic disclose the claimed invention except: the one or more commands comprises instructions for beamforming to direct transmission or reception of waves at the RAN node.
In an analogous art Raghavan discloses the one or more commands comprises instructions for beamforming to direct transmission or reception of waves at the RAN node (par. 34, lines 13-19; par. 74, lines 1-12).
It is an object of Chiang’s invention to provide a method of sharing available system resources. It is an object of Radunovic’s invention to provide a method of reallocating resources. It is an object of Raghavan’s invention to provide a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chiang and Radunovic by including an amplifier, as taught by Raghavan, for the purpose of managing communication in a wireless network.
Consider claim 14, as applied in claim 9; Chiang and Radunovic disclose the claimed invention except: the at least one hardware component comprises a radio amplifier having a maximum power output and the identified allocation comprises partitioning available wattage of the radio amplifier between a first network standard and a second network standard of the at least two network standards.
In an analogous art Raghavan discloses the at least one hardware component comprises a radio amplifier having a maximum power output and the identified allocation comprises partitioning available wattage of the radio amplifier (par. 38, lines 1-11; par. 90, lines 1-15) between a first network standard and a second network standard of the at least two network standards (par. 32, lines 1-5).
It is an object of Chiang’s invention to provide a method of sharing available system resources. It is an object of Radunovic’s invention to provide a method of reallocating resources. It is an object of Raghavan’s invention to provide a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chiang and Radunovic by including an amplifier, as taught by Raghavan, for the purpose of managing communication in a wireless network.
Luthra is another reference that discloses the inventive concept.
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Anderson can be reached on (571) 272-4177. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/JOEL AJAYI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646