DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Camenisch et al. (US 2019/0367239), hereon referred to as Camenisch, in view of Fileccia (US 2023/0147221), hereon referred to as Fileccia, in view of McAllister et al. (US 2010/0289627), and hereon referred to as McAllister.
In regards to claims 1 & 6, Camenisch discloses decomposing the read parameter to obtain ciphertext data and link data ( the user scans the QR code on a selected test package, whereby verifier computer reads the encrypted product data Enc (Dprod) and the URL from the QR code; Paragraphs 0033-0035; 0045-0050); decrypting the ciphertext data to obtain corresponding first plaintext data (the verifier computer uses the key dk to decrypt the encrypted product data Enc(Dprod), obtained in step for the selected test, to obtain the decrypted product data Dprod containing ProdID, Dsec and the passphrase Pass; Paragraphs 0042-0050); and comparing the first plaintext data with the second plaintext data to generate a verification result, the verification result being verification passed when the first plaintext data and the second plaintext data are the same and verification failed when the first plaintext data and the second plaintext data are different (verifier computer compares this decrypted security data to the security data Dsec obtained. If the decrypted security data matches Dsec for the product (as indicated by decision “Yes” (Y) at decision block ), then the verifier computer deems the product authentic and can display an appropriate message to the user. If the security data Dsec is not verified (“No” (N) at decision ), then verifier computer deems that the product is not authentic, and a warning message is displayed to the user; Paragraphs 0042-0051).
However, Camenisch does not disclose reading a label chip to obtain a read parameter; and
decrypting the link data to obtain corresponding second plaintext data. In an analogous art Fileccia discloses reading a label chip to obtain a read parameter (the item or product may include an NFC tag that may be an NTAG DNA tag and may in combination have a separately printed code to verify ownership; The user may scan or tap the NFC tag on the shoe using their client computing device and the client computing device may send a request to the server computing device; Paragraphs 0025-0030; 0050-0055); and decrypting the link data to obtain corresponding second plaintext data (The encrypted registration code can be decrypted with the same key that is used to generate encrypted data on the tag; Paragraphs 0055-0065).
At the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to the one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings disclosed by Camenisch, with the teachings disclosed by Fileccia regarding reading a label chip to obtain a read parameter; and decrypting the link data to obtain corresponding second plaintext data. The suggestion/motivation of the combination would have been to provide additional security in an NFC anti-counterfeit system (Fileccia; Paragraph 0005).
However, the combination of Camenisch and Fileccia does not disclose matching the label data of the first plaintext data, obtaining corresponding verification version data, decrypting the link data with the verification version data. In an analogous art McAllister discloses matching the label data of the first plaintext data (EPC SGTIN 72a is read and the upper (i.e. most significant) bits of the serial number of the SGTIN are merged with the Meta-Key Master Index to form Meta-Key Index; MKE key 130e from Meta-Key Table 130d that is selected by Meta-Key Index 130c that is derived from the upper bits of EPC SGTIN; Paragraphs 0298; 0328), obtaining corresponding verification version data (if there are 64-bits of writeable TID, then the lower 16-bits are preferably used to select from a table of up to 65,536 Meta-Key key groups; Meta-Key Index 140c which is used in step 179 to fetch a Meta-Key from Meta-Key Table 140d. This structure provides for a remotely and locally controlled Meta-Key change mechanism to thwart counterfeiting; Paragraphs 0326-0330; 0440), decrypting the link data with the verification version data (Encrypted QCC 74a is decrypted by symmetric block cipher 141 of FIGS. 14 and 16 using Meta-Key MKA 140e from Meta-Key Table; Paragraphs 0330; 0470; 0059).
At the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to the one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings disclosed by the combination of Camenisch and Fileccia, with the teachings disclosed by McAllister regarding reading matching the label data of the first plaintext data, obtaining corresponding verification version data, decrypting the link data with the verification version data. The suggestion/motivation of the combination would have been to provide optimization of all three of these key attributes in a unique manner so as to provide a powerful and cost effective deterrent to counterfeiting (McAllister; Paragraph 0082).
In regards toc claims 3 & 8, the combination of Camenisch and Fileccia discloses wherein, the first plaintext data comprises first key data, first domain name data and label data, and the second plaintext data comprises second key data and second domain name data (The elements presented in the claim(s) do not contain any additional features, do not present any inventive step or novelty not addressed/presented in the combination of Camenisch and Fileccia. Examiner takes official notice, that these elements are commonly known, minor design details that are derivable from the prior art and are well known, and obvious to an ordinary skill in the art. The additional features of these claims represent normal design options, which the skilled person would implement the combination of Camenisch and Fileccia, depending on the circumstances, without exercising any inventive activity).
In regards to claims 5 & 10, Fileccia discloses wherein, in the step of comparing the first plaintext data with the second plaintext data to generate the verification result, the verification result being verification passed when the first plaintext data and the second plaintext data are the same and verification failed when the first plaintext data and the second plaintext data are different, when the first plaintext data and the second plaintext data are the same, and a request number of a verification request instruction is not less than a read number of the label chip, the verification result is verification passed, and when the first plaintext data and the second plaintext data are different, or the request number is less than the read number, the verification result is verification failed (The secure NFC tag may generate the one time use URL that includes a unique identifier (UID) and a counter that may iterate by one on each read or scan. The UID and counter may be encrypted with a key that is only known to the person or entity that programmed the tag, and the user is only able to see the encrypted string in the URL; Paragraphs 0030-0042).
Claims 2 & 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Camenisch and Fileccia, in view of Isaacson (US 2008/0133914), hereon referred to as Isaacson.
In regards to claims 2 & 7, the combination of Camenisch and Fileccia does not disclose
comparing the ciphertext data in a cache database, when cache data in the cache database is consistent with the ciphertext data, obtaining the corresponding first plaintext data, when the cache data is inconsistent with the ciphertext data, transmitting the ciphertext data to a decryption server, and obtaining the corresponding first plaintext data through the decryption server. However, in an analogous art Isaacson discloses comparing the ciphertext data in a cache database, when cache data in the cache database is consistent with the ciphertext data, obtaining the corresponding first plaintext data, when the cache data is inconsistent with the ciphertext data, transmitting the ciphertext data to a decryption server, and obtaining the corresponding first plaintext data through the decryption server (A first authentication server decrypts and caches plaintext; other similar requests the server returns the cached plaintext without re-contacting the authentication server; Paragraphs 0043-0047; 0050-0060).
At the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to the one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings disclosed by the combination of Camenisch and Fileccia, with the teachings disclosed by Fileccia regarding wherein, comparing the ciphertext data in a cache database, when cache data in the cache database is consistent with the ciphertext data, obtaining the corresponding first plaintext data, when the cache data is inconsistent with the ciphertext data, transmitting the ciphertext data to a decryption server, and obtaining the corresponding first plaintext data through the decryption server. The suggestion/motivation of the combination would have been to provide additional security by locally caching authentication information (Isaacson; Paragraph 0002).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHARIF E ULLAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2495