DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment, filed 02/27/2024, has been entered.
Claims 1-89 have been canceled.
Claims 90-118 have been added.
Claims 90-118 are pending and currently under examination as they read on a method for treating type I interferon (IFN)-mediated disease comprising subcutaneously administering a dose of 120 mg a human monoclonal anti-IFNAR1 antibody, anifrolumab.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 90-118 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higgs et al. (US 20150158949 A1) in view of Werth et al. (Arthritis Rheumatol. 2020; 72(Suppl 10): Abstract 0985); Furie et al. (Lancet Rheumatol, 2019, 1:e208-e219) and DePaz et al. (US 20170051066 A1).
Higgs teaches methods of treating type I IFN-mediated diseases comprising administering a fixed dose of an antibody that modulates type I IFN activity, including MEDI-546 (anifrolumab), a human monoclonal antibody that specifically binds IFNAR1 (paragraph 0124). Higgs teaches administration of MEDI-546 by various routes, including subcutaneous administration, and further teaches administering fixed doses approximately every week (QW) (paragraphs 0119-0122). Higgs also teaches administration of MEDI-546 at doses including 100 mg and teaches treatment of type I IFN-mediated diseases including myositis, lupus nephritis, and scleroderma (paragraphs 0124, 0002).
Given that Higgs teaches the same antibody, MEDI-546/anifrolumab, the antibody necessarily possesses the same HCDR1, HCDR2, HCDR3, LCDR1, LCDR2, and LCDR3 amino acid sequences, as well as the corresponding heavy- and light-chain variable region and heavy- and light-chain sequences, recited in the claims.
Higgs further teaches determining a patient’s type I interferon gene signature and treatment of patients having an elevated/high IFN gene signature with MEDI-546. Higgs teaches that administration of the antibody suppresses the type I IFN gene signature at fixed doses and results in improvement of the type I IFN-mediated disease (paragraph 0203). Accordingly, Higgs teaches the IFNGS-high patient-selection and IFNGS suppression aspects recited in the claims.
Higgs does not expressly teach treating cutaneous lupus erythematosus. Werth et al., however, teach treatment of cutaneous lupus disease with anifrolumab and report that anifrolumab treatment produces an early and sustained reduction in cutaneous lupus disease activity as measured by CLASI (see entire document). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to administer the MEDI-546/anifrolumab treatment taught by Higgs to a patient having cutaneous lupus erythematosus, as taught by Werth, because Werth demonstrates that the same antibody provides therapeutic benefit against cutaneous lupus manifestations (see Conclusion). Thus, one of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of successfully treating cutaneous lupus erythematosus with MEDI-546.
Higgs does not expressly teach administering MEDI-546 at a dose of 120 mg. Higgs, however, teaches administration of MEDI-546 at a dose of 100 mg and teaches that the amount and frequency of MEDI-546 administration may be varied to achieve a desired pharmacokinetic, pharmacodynamic, and/or therapeutic response, including suppression of the type I IFN gene signature. Thus, the amount of MEDI-546 administered was recognized in the prior art as a result-effective variable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to optimize the amount of MEDI-546 administered, including increasing the expressly taught 100 mg dose to 120 mg, to obtain a desired degree and/or duration of type I IFN inhibition and therapeutic response. Higgs already teaches both subcutaneous administration and approximately once-weekly administration; therefore, selection of a 120 mg dose for the taught SC QW regimen would have amounted to routine optimization of a known result-effective variable with a reasonable expectation of success.
The discovery of an optimum value of a result-effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276, 205 USPQ 215, 219 (CCPA 1980). See also Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 809, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1847–48 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (determination of suitable dosage amounts through routine experimentation supported obviousness).
With respect to claims 98 and 99, the recited pharmacokinetic/plasma-concentration limitations are inherent properties resulting from administration of anifrolumab according to the claimed 120 mg SC QW regimen. As set forth above, the prior art renders obvious administration of the same antibody, by the same subcutaneous route, at the same 120 mg dose and once-weekly dosing frequency. Applicant’s own disclosure establishes that the recited pharmacokinetic properties are results produced by administration according to that regimen (see instant specification [0016]; Figure 8A).
Accordingly, performance of the otherwise obvious 120 mg SC QW method would necessarily produce the pharmacokinetic properties and plasma concentrations resulting from that regimen. Recitation or recognition of an inherent property or result of an otherwise obvious method does not render the method patentable.
Similarly, with respect to claim 107, Applicant’s disclosure establishes that administration according to the claimed 120 mg SC QW regimen provides the recited therapeutic effect relative to administration of 300 mg anifrolumab IV Q4W. Thus, once administration of 120 mg anifrolumab SC QW is rendered obvious for the reasons discussed above, the therapeutic effect recited in claim 107 is a result of performing that same treatment regimen rather than an additional manipulative step that distinguishes the claimed method.
Applicant’s disclosure is relied upon here not as prior art for establishing the obviousness of selecting the 120 mg SC QW regimen, but as evidence that the claimed pharmacokinetic and therapeutic results necessarily flow from performance of that regimen.
Higgs does not expressly teach the pharmaceutical formulation recited in claim 108. DePaz, however, teaches a pharmaceutical formulation comprising 150 mg/mL anifrolumab, 50 mM lysine HCl, 130 mM trehalose dihydrate, 0.05% polysorbate 80, and 25 mM histidine/histidine HCl, corresponding to the formulation recited in claim 108. DePaz teaches the formulation as a stable pharmaceutical formulation of the same anti-IFNAR1 antibody, anifrolumab/MEDI-546, suitable for parenteral administration (paragraph 0013).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to administer the anifrolumab of Higgs using the pharmaceutical formulation taught by DePaz because DePaz expressly provides a formulation designed for pharmaceutical administration of the same antibody. One of ordinary skill therefore would have had both a reason to use the DePaz formulation in carrying out the Higgs treatment and a reasonable expectation of successfully doing so.
With respect to claims 110 and 115–116, Higgs further teaches that treatment with the type I IFN-modulating antibody may alleviate the need to co-administer a second therapeutic agent, expressly including a steroid, and may lessen the dosage of administration of the second agent (paragraph 147). Thus, Higgs expressly contemplates administering MEDI-546 in conjunction with corticosteroid therapy and subsequently reducing corticosteroid exposure.
Higgs does not expressly teach the particular prednisone-equivalent doses recited in claims 117–118. Furie et al., however, teach administration of anifrolumab in conjunction with corticosteroid therapy and teach tapering prednisone-equivalent corticosteroid treatment, including reduction from approximately 10 mg/day to 7.5 mg/day or less.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the prednisone dosing and tapering regimen taught by Furie in the method of Higgs because Higgs expressly teaches co-administration of steroids and reduction of the steroid dosage, while Furie teaches the particular prednisone-equivalent doses used during anifrolumab treatment. The combination would predictably reduce corticosteroid exposure while continuing anifrolumab treatment of the underlying type I IFN-mediated disease.
Therefore, the invention, as a whole, was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 90-118 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,493,570 in view of Higgs et al. (US 20150158949 A1); Werth et al. (Arthritis Rheumatol. 2020; 72(Suppl 10): Abstract 0985); Furie et al. (Lancet Rheumatol, 2019, 1:e208-e219) and DePaz et al. (US 20170051066 A1).
The patent claim discloses a method of treating SLE comprising administering a fixed dose of anifrolumab. Although the patent claims did not teach subcutaneous administration or the dosages of the present claims, given the teachings of Higgs, Werth, Furie and DePaz as discussed above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed methods of the present claims for reasons stated above.
/SHARON X WEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1644