DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 15, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Goglin et al (USPN 20080005352).
Regarding claim 15, Goglin discloses
a switch, comprising: (network controller/device comprising, FIG. 1 #126 [¶ 0016, 0017, 0011]
memory for storing executable instructions (memory storing instructions, FIG. 1 #132, [¶ 0018]
a packet entropy engine (protocol table [¶ 0019]
at least one processor to execute the instructions, wherein the packet entropy engine is configured to: (processor, FIG. 1 #102A, for executing machine readable instructions [¶ 0011, 0012]
determine a protocol type for the packet (determine type of packet [¶ 0024-0028, 0036-0040]
extract information from the packet (information such as header, IP, source/destination are extracted from packet [¶ 0021, 0023]
match a configured protocol field corresponding to the extracted information in the header of the packet to a specified value (extracted packet information such as source/destination are used to match/lookup with entries in one of protocol tables [¶ 0023, 0024, 0030]
determine a byte range for the packet using the specified value (each entry in protocol table comprise a corresponding offset that specifies a distance and a corresponding bitmask (offset + mask = byte range) [¶ 0025, 0026]
create entropy for the packet by using data from the byte range (apply hash function to byte range (offset + bitmask) to generate hash result [¶ 0025], FIG. 2 #204-208.
Claim 1 is rejected based on similar ground(s) provided in rejection of claim 15.
Regarding claim 4, Goglin discloses “accessing a database that includes a plurality of destination ports, wherein the database includes bytes to hash that correspond to each of the destination ports; ” each of at least one protocol table(s) may comprise entries that include packet characteristics such as destination port [¶ 0024, 0032]
“and determining which bytes from the packet are included in the hash to create the entropy for the packet” packet characteristic corresponding to last reveal layer corresponding to offset and mask to be applied to the packet to generate hash value [¶ 0025, 0030, 0033].
Regarding claim 5, Goglin discloses “wherein the creating includes each byte of a payload of the packet being included or excluded in an entropy calculation for the packet based on a particular destination port of the packet being included in the database” start bit may comprise end of packet header, e.g. bit 112, with offset 0 bits and bitmask at 32 bits, bits 112-143 may be masked to generate hash value corresponding to payload region. Offset and mask can be specified to default fields enabling customization of fields for hash value [¶ 0025, 0031, 0032].
Regarding claim 8, Goglin discloses “wherein the determining of the byte range is determined by an 8. arbitrary header field within the header of the packet” multiple header fields that can drive byte range determination/arbitrarily header field [¶ 0024, 0027, 0036, 0037].
Regarding claim 18, Goglin discloses “a database that includes a plurality of destination ports, wherein the database includes bytes to hash that correspond to each of the destination ports” each of at least one protocol table(s) may comprise entries that include packet characteristics such as destination port [¶ 0024, 0032].
“and wherein each byte of a payload of the packet is included or excluded in an entropy calculation for the packet based on a particular destination port of the packet being included in the database that includes the plurality of destination ports” start bit may comprise end of packet header, e.g. bit 112, with offset 0 bits and bitmask at 32 bits, bits 112-143 may be masked to generate hash value corresponding to payload region. Offset and mask can be specified to default fields enabling customization of fields for hash value [¶ 0025, 0031, 0032].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goglin in view of Roitshtein et al (USPN 20120134497).
Regarding claims 3, 16, Goglin does not expressly disclose “wherein the byte range corresponds to a payload byte range and includes non-consecutive bytes”
Roitshtein discloses “wherein the byte range corresponds to a payload byte” network device, FIG. 1 #ND1, utilizes subset of bytes defined by mask, FIG. 2 #120/byte range with input bytes operated on are bytes of packet, FIG. 2 #102, which includes both header and data regions [¶ 0024, 0028, 0035]
“and includes non-consecutive bytes” the mask, FIG. 2 #102, selectively turns on or off individual bytes in N input bytes [¶ 0035]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “wherein the byte range corresponds to a payload byte range and includes non-consecutive bytes” as taught by Roitshtein into Goglin’s system with the motivation to achieve better entropy distribution (Roitshtein, paragraph [¶ 0035].
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goglin in view of Roitshtein as applied to claim 16 and in further view of Anand et al (USPN 20150373164).
Regarding claim 17, Goglin discloses wherein a payload type is identified using a destination port in the header” protocol table includes entry for different destination ports which results in payload bytes get hashed [¶ 0024, 0030-0032, 0028]
Combined system of Goglin and Roitshtein does not expressly disclose “wherein the protocol type is user datagram protocol (UDP) for the packet”
Anand discloses UDP as supported layer [¶ 0048]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “wherein the protocol type is user datagram protocol (UDP) for the packet” as taught by Anand into combined system of Roitshtein and Goglin with the motivation to enable support of UDP as well-known technology.
Claims 2, 6, 7, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goglin in view of Anand et al (USPN 20150373164).
Regarding claim 2, Goglin discloses wherein a payload type is identified using a destination port in the header” protocol table includes entry for different destination ports which results in payload bytes get hashed [¶ 0024, 0030-0032, 0028]
Goglin does not expressly disclose “wherein the protocol type is user datagram protocol (UDP) for the packet”
Anand discloses UDP as supported layer [¶ 0048].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “wherein the protocol type is user datagram protocol (UDP) for the packet” as taught by Anand into Goglin’s system with the motivation to enable support of UDP as well-known technology.
Regarding claims 6, 19, Goglin does not expressly disclose “using a plurality of offset bytes in a header field of the packet to determine a location of data in a payload field of the packet to be used to create the hash for the packet”
Anand discloses a plurality of offset bytes, i.e. offset 0 (MAC DA) and offset 16 (IP DA), in header of packet to determine location of data in payload [¶ 0064, 0079-0080, 0090]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “using a plurality of offset bytes in a header field of the packet to determine a location of data in a payload field of the packet to be used to create the hash for the packet” as taught by Anand into Goglin’s system with the motivation to enable improving hash function (Anand, paragraph [¶ 0064, 0079-0080, 0090]).
Regarding claim 7, Goglin does not expressly disclose “wherein the plurality of offset bytes can be configured at run time for an associated switch that receives the packet”
Anand discloses generic hash commands with “fieldOffset” per protocol layer where these fields are software defined/run time configuration [¶ 0079, 0009, 0017, 0078]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “using a plurality of offset bytes in a header field of the packet to determine a location of data in a payload field of the packet to be used to create the hash for the packet” as taught by Anand into Goglin’s system with the motivation to enable improving hash function (Anand, paragraph [¶ 0064, 0079-0080, 0090]).
Claims 9, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goglin in view of Basso et al (USPN 20130156036).
Regarding claims 9, 20, Goglin discloses next-protocol driven layer revealing and destination-port keyed table entries [0024, 0027, 0032, 0037]
Goglin does not expressly disclose “wherein the protocol type for the packet is identified by a next protocol field, which corresponds to a destination port field”
Basso discloses parsing a packet header to extract bytes for hash code generation, including extracting both destination port and protocol byte from the same header. A tunneled IP-in-IP table reciting “DP Inner packet destination port 2 byte” along “proto inner packet protocol byte [0014, 0019, 0021, 0022]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “wherein the protocol type for the packet is identified by a next protocol field, which corresponds to a destination port field” as taught by Basso into Goglin’s system with the motivation to providing higher entropy hash inputs by leveraging both next-protocol identifier and destination port (Basso, paragraph [¶ 0014, 0019, 0021, 0022]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Caputo et al (USPN 20150098465) FIG. 3
/THAI NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469