DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1,3-5,7 and 8 are pending and claims 2,6 and 9-20 have been cancelled.
This action is in response to the reply filed 7/8/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, because, Nelle (US 20240084765) discloses an actuation gas return path (the path from 46-48 to 40) associated with the outlet of the natural gas actuated device, wherein the actuation gas return path is configured to not vent to atmosphere or the environment, but instead, is configured to provide the natural gas used to actuate the natural gas actuated device to a natural gas fuel supply of a driver (18) configured to operate by combusting natural gas (para.0015, “These valves 40 are, in an embodiment, pneumatically controlled by a controller 48, which opens and closes the valves using compressed natural gas. Thus, the valves/controller are pneumatic devices. To control the gas flow rate through each of the gas outlet lines 44, the system 10 may include flow meters 46 and/or the controllers 48 each corresponding to one of the control valves 40”).
Since applicants arguments and amendments are not persuasive, this action is made Final.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I in the reply filed on 11/24/2025 is acknowledged. Additionally, via a telephone call, Applicant’s representative Attorney Lightfoot, called to confirm the election of species I, figure 2, claims 1-5, 7 and 8, on 4 December 2025. Therefore, claims 6 and 9-20 were withdrawn, but now are cancelled.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
the limitations in claim 7, “about 0.069 Mpa to about 0.552 Mpa”, lack antecedent basis in the specification.
The amendments to the specification have not been entered due to the above objection.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
claim 4, the gas actuated device,should be - - the natural gas actuated device - -,
claim 8, “about to about and”, should be, - - about 0.689 Mpa to about 27.579 Mpa and - -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s arguments overcome the prior rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3-5, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Nelle (US 20240084765 A1, as supplied by applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Nelle discloses a system, comprising:
a natural gas actuated device (actuators/control valves 40, para.0010), the natural gas actuated device configured to receive and release natural gas associated with actuating the natural gas actuated device through an outlet (the outlet of 40 near 46) of the natural gas actuated device; and
an actuation gas return path (the path from 46-48 to 40) associated with the outlet of the natural gas actuated device, wherein the actuation gas return path is configured to not vent to atmosphere or the environment, but instead, is configured to provide the natural gas used to actuate the natural gas actuated device to a natural gas fuel supply of a driver (18) configured to operate by combusting natural gas (para.0015, “These valves 40 are, in an embodiment, pneumatically controlled by a controller 48, which opens and closes the valves using compressed natural gas. Thus, the valves/controller are pneumatic devices. To control the gas flow rate through each of the gas outlet lines 44, the system 10 may include flow meters 46 and/or the controllers 48 each corresponding to one of the control valves 40”).
Regarding claim 3, Nelle discloses a collection tank (left 28) disposed in fluid communication with the actuation gas return path and between the natural gas actuated device and the driver (fig. 1,4B).
Regarding claim 4, Nelle discloses a regulator (the un-numbered valve immediately below numeral 15 and 60 in Fig. 4B)) disposed in fluid communication with the actuation gas return path and between the “natural” gas actuated device (40) and the driver (18).
Regarding claim 5, Nelle discloses a collection tank (left 28) disposed in fluid communication with the actuation gas return path and between the natural gas actuated device and the regulator (see Fig. 1,4B).
Regarding claim 7, Nelle discloses a gas supply of about 0.069 Mpa to about 0.552 Mpa (the device of Nelle is a conventional system, and therefore as disclosed in the instant specification (para.0003) such systems fall within this range).
Regarding claim 8, Nelle discloses at least one of a discharge having a pressure of about 0.689 Mpa to about 27.579 Mpa and a suction having a pressure of about 0 Mpa to about 6.895 Mpa (the device of Nelle ‘765 is a conventional system, and therefore, the pressure ranges are met for the discharge and suction values, as evidenced in Nelle US 11193483, col. 1,lns. 46,47, col.2, lns. 7-10; col.9, lns. 19-34).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelle ‘765 in view of Nelle (US 11193483). Claim 8 being rejected in an alternative manner in the event that the above rejection is not persuasive.
Regarding claim 8, Nelle ‘765 is silent to having at least one of a discharge having a pressure of about 0.689 Mpa to about 27.579 Mpa and a suction having a pressure of about 0 Mpa to about 6.895 Mpa.
Nelle ‘483 teach the use of system having at least one of a discharge having a pressure of about about 0.689 Mpa to about 27.579 Mpa and a suction having a pressure of about 0 Mpa to about 6.895 Mpa (the pressure ranges are met for the discharge and suction values, col. 1,lns. 46,47, col.2, lns. 7-10; col.9, lns. 19-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the systems in Nelle ‘765 with the systems in Nelle ‘483 to have at least one of a discharge having a pressure of about 0.689 Mpa to about 27.579 Mpa and a suction having a pressure of about 0 Mpa to about 6.895 Mpa, since it has been held, that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component (systems in the gas compressors) or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. Additionally, the well-known expected outcome of being able to utilize “off the shelf” systems, would result from the combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated-interview-request-air-form.
/CRAIG J PRICE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753