DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending and claims 11-20 have been withdrawn.
This action is in response to the reply filed 11/24/2025.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I in the reply filed on 11/24/2025 is acknowledged. Additionally, via a telephone call, Applicant’s representative Attorney Lightfoot, called to confirm the election of species I, figure 2, claims 1-5, 7 and 8, on 4 December 2025. Therefore, claims 6 and 9-20 are hereby withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/13/2025 was filed prior to the mailing date of the mailing of this action. The third-party submission complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.290. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 2/27/2024. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
The disclosure (claims and specification) utilizes the English system of measurements throughout, this should be changed to the metric system, see MPEP 608.01 IV.
(In order to minimize the necessity in the future for converting dimensions given in the English system of measurements to the metric system of measurements when using printed patents as research and prior art search documents, all patent applicants should use the metric (S.I.) units followed by the equivalent English units when describing their inventions in the specifications of patent applications.)
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
the limitations in claim 7, “about 10 psi to about 80 psi”, lack antecedent basis in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5,7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation " the outlet ".
There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Nelle (US 20240084765 A1, as supplied by applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Nelle discloses a system, comprising:
a gas actuated device (actuators/control valves 40, para.0010), the gas actuated device configured to receive and release gas associated with actuating the gas actuated device; and
an actuation gas return path (the path within 50,60, para.0020,0021,0024) is associated with the outlet, wherein the actuation gas return path is configured to not vent to atmosphere or the environment.
Regarding claim 2, Nelle discloses the system further comprises: a driver (18) configured to operate by combusting the gas, wherein actuation gas is provided from the actuation gas return path to the driver (from 60 to 62 to 50 to 21,19 and 18 drive, see Fig. 5, Fig. 1,4A, para.0022).
Regarding claim 3, Nelle discloses a collection tank (70, Fig. 4B, para.0024) disposed in fluid communication with the actuation gas return path and between the gas actuated device and the driver (fig. 1,4B,5).
Regarding claim 4, Nelle discloses a regulator (28 is situated in a manner to meet the limitations as recited, see Fig. 1,4A) disposed in fluid communication with the actuation gas return path and between the gas actuated device (40) and the driver (18).
Regarding claim 5, Nelle discloses a collection tank (15) disposed in fluid communication with the actuation gas return path and between the gas actuated device and the regulator (see Fig. 1,4A).
Regarding claim 7, Nelle discloses a gas supply of about 10 psi to about 80 psi (the device of Nelle is a conventional system, and therefore as disclosed in the instant specification (para.0003) such systems fall within this range).
Regarding claim 8, Nelle discloses at least one of a discharge having a pressure of about 100 psi to about 4000psi and a suction having a pressure of about 0 psi to about 1000 psi (the device of Nelle ‘765 is a conventional system, and therefore, the pressure ranges are met for the discharge and suction values, as evidenced in Nelle US 11193483, col. 1,lns. 46,47, col.2, lns. 7-10; col.9, lns. 19-34).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelle ‘765 in view of Nelle (US 11193483). Claim 8 being rejected in an alternative manner in the event that the above rejection is not persuasive.
Regarding claim 8, Nelle ‘765 is silent to having at least one of a discharge having a pressure of about 100 psi to about 4000psi and a suction having a pressure of about 0 psi to about 1000 psi.
Nelle ‘483 teach the use of system having at least one of a discharge having a pressure of about 100 psi to about 4000psi and a suction having a pressure of about 0 psi to about 1000 psi (the pressure ranges are met for the discharge and suction values, col. 1,lns. 46,47, col.2, lns. 7-10; col.9, lns. 19-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the systems in Nelle ‘765 with the systems in Nelle ‘483 to have at least one of a discharge having a pressure of about 100 psi to about 4000psi and a suction having a pressure of about 0 psi to about 1000 psi, since it has been held, that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component (systems in the gas compressors) or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. Additionally, the well-known expected outcome of being able to utilize “off the shelf” systems, would result from the combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated-interview-request-air-form.
/CRAIG J PRICE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753