DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to Application No. 18/589,221 filed on 2/27/2024. Claims 1-12 have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/27/2024, 9/5/2024, and 4/7/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 7, line 8, a comma is required after the phrase “a session management function (SMF).”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (hereinafter Kim)(US 2023/0397058) in view of Keller et al. (hereinafter Keller)(US 2022/0377655).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Kim teaches as follows:
A terminal (interpreted as the User Equipment (UE) 100 in figure 4) in a wireless communication system, the terminal comprising: a transceiver; and a controller (a UE 100 includes a processor 102 (equivalent to applicant’s controller), a memory 104, a transceiver 106, one or more antennas 108, a power management module 110, a battery 112, a display 114, a keypad 116, a subscriber identification module (SIM) card 118, a speaker 120, and a microphone 122, see, ¶ [0098] and figure 4) configured to:
transmit, to an access and mobility management function (AMF) via the transceiver, a message for requesting an establishment of a protocol data unit (PDU) session associated with a network slice (the terminal may transmit a PDU Session Establishment Request message to the network through RRC and N2 messages in order to receive service from the corresponding network, see, ¶ [0145] and step 1a and 1b in figure 6a)(the SMF creates a network slice remapping policy for the corresponding PDU session, see, ¶ [0175])(a network slice remapping indicator indicating whether network slice remapping is allowed for the terminal, see, ¶ [0121]), and
perform the establishment of the PDU session with a session management function (SMF)(UE requested PDU session establishment, see, ¶ [0180] and step 14 in figure 6a);
wherein in case that the network slice is to be replaced with an alternative network slice (interpreted as remapped network slice through network slice remapping), information on the alternative network slice is received from the SMF (AMF may select an SMF to be in charge of the corresponding PDU session. At this time, if the AMF knows that network slice remapping is permitted for the UE, AMF may select an SMF capable of supporting network slice remapping, see, ¶ [0145] and step 2 in figure 6a)(information on SMF capable of supporting network slice remapping may be configured in AMF, see, ¶ [0149]), and
wherein the alternative network slice is selected from at least one allowed network slice (AMF may generate a network slice remapping policy for the UE. In this case, the AMF must determine a network slice remapping policy so that a remapped S-NSSAI (equivalent to applicant’s network slice)(network slice and S-NSSAI (single network slice selection assistance information) may be used interchangeably, see, ¶ [0112]) that the corresponding SMF can support is selected among the network slice list (equivalent to applicant’s allowed network slice) received through the NRF. The AMF can also receive network slice list information that the corresponding SMF can support directly from the SMF, see, ¶ [0150]).
Kim teaches remapping network slice (replacing network slice) during a handover between a source NG-RAN and a target NG-RAN (see, ¶ [0111]).
Kim does not explicitly teach providing information on an alternative network slice in case the network slice is to be replaced with the alternative network slice.
Keller teaches as follows:
GSMA NG.116 describes a set of attributes that can be used by an operator to define a network slice type (NEST). These parameters include the maximum number of connections (e.g., concurrent PDU sessions) supported by the network slice and the maximum number of users (e.g., user equipment (UEs)) supported by the network slice. These attributes provide useful input to scale the network slice and provision enough physical resources to the network slice. There is a significant difference between a network slice designed to serve 10 users and a network slice designed to serve 1,000,000 users (see, ¶ [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with Keller to include monitoring number of PDU sessions with current network slice as taught by Keller in order to efficiently provision alternative network slice capable of handling required number of PDU sessions.
Regarding claims 2 and 8, Kim teaches as follows:
Wherein the message comprises information on the network slice and the information on the network slice comprises single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) of the network slice (mapping of original S-NSSAI to remapped S-NSSAI information may be included in the RRC message to be delivered to the UE. Through the corresponding information, since the original S-NSSAI cannot be used in the NG-RAN, the UE may be notified that the remapped S-NSSAI should be used instead. Therefore, when the UE tries to create a new PDU session related to the original S-NSSAI later, the UE includes the Remapped S-NSSAI instead of the original S-NSSAI in the PDU Session Establishment Request message, see, ¶ [0191]).
Regarding claims 3 and 9, Kim teaches as follows:
Wherein information on at least one network slice and information on at least one alternative network slice associated with each of the at least one network slice is stored in a unified data management (UDM)(if there is no session management subscription data for the corresponding PDU session, the SMF may obtain the corresponding information from the UDM, see, ¶ [0152]).
Regarding claims 4 and 10, Kim teaches as follows:
Wherein in case that the network slice is to be replaced with the alternative network slice, the SMF is selected based on the alternative network slice (AMF may select an SMF to be in charge of the corresponding PDU session. At this time, if the AMF knows that network slice remapping is permitted for the UE, AMF may select an SMF capable of supporting network slice remapping, see, ¶ [0145] and step 2 in figure 6a).
Regarding claims 5 and 11, Kim teaches as follows:
Wherein the message further comprises a PDU session establishment request message (the terminal may transmit a PDU Session Establishment Request message to the network through RRC and N2 messages in order to receive service from the corresponding network, see, ¶ [0145] and step 1a and 1b in figure 6a).
Regarding claims 6 and 12, Kim teaches all limitations as presented above except for defining a maximum number of PDU session supported by each network slice.
Keller teaches as follows:
GSMA NG.116 describes a set of attributes that can be used by an operator to define a network slice type (NEST). These parameters include the maximum number of connections (e.g., concurrent PDU sessions) supported by the network slice and the maximum number of users (e.g., user equipment (UEs)) supported by the network slice. These attributes provide useful input to scale the network slice and provision enough physical resources to the network slice… The NEST can, in some cases define both the maximum number of connections and the maximum number of terminals supported by the network slice (see, ¶ [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with Keller to include the network slice type (NEST) specifying the maximum number of PDU sessions supported by the network slice as taught by Keller in order to efficiently provision (replacing) a network slice capable of handling required number of PDU sessions.
Conclusion
/JEONG S PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454
March 18, 2026