DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the filing of 4/20/26. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanso (2016/0285928) in view of Babu (20220309590.)
Claim 1: Sanso discloses a method comprising:
sharing meta information (par, 25, Metadata may describe a location or identification of electronic content; par. 88, the web conference application may perform the various background actions (not shown) related to method 700 including storing various metadata associated with the conference content) of a resource comprising one or more files with a resource sharing server as part of a resource sharing operation (Fig. 8:802; par. 89, where a web conference application may receive an address/location associated with browser-based content to be shared during a web conference. As shown in FIG. 8, operation 802 can comprise receiving a URL identifying a web application or web page to be shared during the web conference);
applying a permissions filter (par. 88, the web conference application may receive information about conference content and relevant copy/paste permissions from the host); and a preference mask to the resource (par. 48, The conference application 114 can include modules for analyzing, converting, modifying, storing, extracting, providing, or otherwise using the electronic content 117 in a web conference between the client applications 129a, 129b; par. 25, extraction module to convert text in proprietary format documents to ASCII text; par. 54-59, converting the web conference content for users);
validating the one or more files using access permissions of participants of the resource sharing operation (par. 88, the web conference application may determine which content is available for copy/paste functionality based on organizations and locations the host and attendees are associated with; par. 88, the web conference application can automatically allow copy/paste operations to be performed by certain conference participants and on certain conference content);
generating, using the permissions filter based on permissions of a sender and permissions of a receiver, (par. 88, the web conference application may receive information about conference content and relevant copy/paste permissions from the host. In turn, the web conference application may determine which content is available for copy/paste functionality based on organizations and locations the host and attendees are associated with) a sharable subset of the resource (par. 88, the web conference application can automatically allow copy/paste operations to be performed by certain conference participants and on certain conference content);
wherein resource sharing of the transformed sharable subset of the resource occurs across users and across applications by way of the resource sharing server (Fig. 1: sharing of content between client / users and their applications 103B, 103A, using the host system server 102.)
However, Sanso does not explicitly disclose: transforming, using the preference mask, the sharable subset of the resource based on a choice of the receiver of the transformed resource.
Babu discloses a similar method for managing and transferring files, including: transforming, using the preference mask, the sharable subset of the resource based on a choice of the receiver of the transformed resource (Abstract, The document management system then retrieves the format and delivery preferences of the third-party payor and converts the documents into whatever format is required by the third-party payor.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sanso with that of Babu so as to provide the documents / files in a format that the receiver is able to read / utilize.
Claim 17: Sanso discloses a system comprising:
a sender application (Fig. 1: 114 conference application; par. 42, conference client application) for sharing meta information (par, 25, Metadata may describe a location or identification of electronic content) of a resource comprising one or more files with a resource sharing server as part of a resource sharing operation (Fig. 8:802; par. 89, where a web conference application may receive an address/location associated with browser-based content to be shared during a web conference. As shown in FIG. 8, operation 802 can comprise receiving a URL identifying a web application or web page to be shared during the web conference);
a validation and configuration unit for validating the one or more files using access permissions of participants in the resource sharing operation (par. 88, the web conference application may receive information about conference content and relevant copy/paste permissions from the host);
a resource sharing server (Fig. 1: 102; par. 45, 102 may be a single computing system, such as a server system) including a permission filter generator (par. 88, permission filtering of users for access) and a preference mask generator (Fig. 3: 304, document converter), wherein:
the permission filter generator generates a permissions filter using a user configuration DB (par. 88, the web conference application may determine which content is available for copy/paste functionality based on organizations and locations the host and attendees are associated with);
the preference mask generator generates a preference mask using the user configuration (par. 48, The conference application 114 can include modules for analyzing, converting, modifying, storing, extracting, providing, or otherwise using the electronic content 117 in a web conference between the client applications 129a, 129b; par. 25, extraction module to convert text in proprietary format documents to ASCII text; par. 54-59, converting the web conference content for users);
the resource sharing server includes a permission adapter engine for applying the permissions filter on the resource and generating a shareable subset of the resource and generating, using the permissions filter, a shareable subset of the resource (par. 88, the web conference application can automatically allow copy/paste operations to be performed by certain conference participants and on certain conference content), based on permissions of a sender and permissions of a receiver (par. 88, the web conference application may receive information about conference content and relevant copy/paste permissions from the host. In turn, the web conference application may determine which content is available for copy/paste functionality based on organizations and locations the host and attendees are associated with);
the resource sharing server includes a preference adapter engine for applying the preference mask on the generated shareable subset of the resource (par. 54-59, converting the web conference content for users);
wherein resource sharing of the transformed sharable subset of the resource occurs across users, and across applications by way of the resource sharing server (Fig. 1: sharing of content between client / users and their applications 103B, 103A, using the host system server 102.)
However, Sanso does not explicitly disclose: transforming, using the preference mask, the sharable subset of the resource based on a choice of the receiver of the transformed resource.
Babu discloses a similar method for managing and transferring files, including: transforming, using the preference mask, the sharable subset of the resource based on a choice of the receiver of the transformed resource (Abstract, The document management system then retrieves the format and delivery preferences of the third-party payor and converts the documents into whatever format is required by the third-party payor.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sanso with that of Babu so as to provide the documents / files in a format that the receiver is able to read / utilize.
Claim 2: Sanso and Babu disclose the method of claim 1 comprising: using the preference mask to transform the sharable subset of the resource (Sanso par. 48, The conference application 114 can include modules for analyzing, converting, modifying, storing, extracting, providing, or otherwise using the electronic content 117 in a web conference between the client applications 129a, 129b; par. 25, extraction module to convert text in proprietary format documents to ASCII text; par. 54-59, converting the web conference content for users.)
Claim 3: Sanso and Babu disclose the method of claim 1 comprising: using the preference mask to augment the sharable subset of the resource (Sanso par. 48, The conference application 114 can include modules for analyzing, converting, modifying, storing, extracting, providing, or otherwise using the electronic content 117 in a web conference between the client applications 129a, 129b; par. 25, extraction module to convert text in proprietary format documents to ASCII text; par. 54-59, converting the web conference content for users.)
Claim 4: Sanso and Babu disclose the method of claim 1 wherein: a sender initiates the resource sharing operation from a user machine; the resource is not downloaded to the user machine (Sanso Fig. 8:802; par. 89, where a web conference application may receive an address/location associated with browser-based content to be shared during a web conference. As shown in FIG. 8, operation 802 can comprise receiving a URL identifying a web application or web page to be shared during the web conference.)
Claim 5: Sanso and Babu disclose the method of claim 1 comprising: using the permissions filter to generate the sharable subset of the resource based on the permissions (Sanso par. 88, the web conference application may determine which content is available for copy/paste functionality based on organizations and locations the host and attendees are associated with; par. 88, the web conference application can automatically allow copy/paste operations to be performed by certain conference participants and on certain conference content.)
Claim 6: Sanso and Babu disclose the method of claim 1 comprising: providing split screen functionality within a browser window on a user machine to the sender that initiates the resource sharing operation from the user machine (Sanso Fig. 5: the screen is split it up into various pods.)
Claim 8: Sanso and Babu disclose the method of claim 1 wherein the resource sharing operation includes a Copy-Paste event, comprising storing a Resource MetaObject (RMO) in a clipboard (Sanso par. 86, 92, the selection is provided to the web conference participant for one or more paste operations via the clipboard pod.)
Claim 9: Sanso and Babu disclose the method of claim 1 comprising: initiating the resource sharing operation using a modifier key in association with a Drag & Drop or Copy-Paste operation (Sanso par. 73, The selection can be received as a result of an input … a keyboard shortcut.)
Claim 10: Sanso and Babu disclose the method of claim 1 comprising: generating a Resource MetaObject (RMO) for the resource that is shared with the sender of the resource (Sanso par. 94, JSON is an open standard format that uses human-readable text to transmit data objects consisting of attribute-value pairs.)
Claim 11: Sanso and Babu disclose the method of claim 1, wherein a content sharing engine of the resource sharing server downloads the resource form a source location, comprising fetching permission restrictions for the sender and the receiver of the resource (Sanso par. 49, the extraction module 115 can extract text corresponding to a URL or hyperlink present in the electronic content 117 that identifies a web page; par. 88, the web conference application may determine which content is available for copy/paste functionality based on organizations and locations the host and attendees are associated with; par. 88, the web conference application can automatically allow copy/paste operations to be performed by certain conference participants and on certain conference content.)
Claim 12: Sanso and Babu disclose the method of claim 1, wherein a permission filter generator of a resource sharing engine generates a permission filter, comprising applying the permission filter to the resource to obtain a filtered subset of the resource (Sanso par. 88, the web conference application may determine which content is available for copy/paste functionality based on organizations and locations the host and attendees are associated with; par. 88, the web conference application can automatically allow copy/paste operations to be performed by certain conference participants and on certain conference content.)
Claim 13: Sanso and Babu disclose the method of claim 1, wherein a preference mask generator engine of the resource sharing server generates a preference mask for the receiver, comprising applying the preference mask to the resource to obtain a filtered subset of the resource (Sanso par. 48, The conference application 114 can include modules for analyzing, converting, modifying, storing, extracting, providing, or otherwise using the electronic content 117 in a web conference between the client applications 129a, 129b; par. 25, extraction module to convert text in proprietary format documents to ASCII text; par. 54-59, converting the web conference content for users.)
Claim 14: Sanso and Babu disclose the method of claim 1 comprising: applying a permission filter to the resource to obtain a filtered subset of the resource; applying a preference mask to the resource to obtain a final subset of the resource (Sanso par. 88, the web conference application can automatically allow copy/paste operations to be performed by certain conference participants and on certain conference content; par. 54-59, converting the web conference content for users.)
Claim 15: Sanso and Babu disclose the method of claim 1 comprising: constructing a uniform resource locator (URL) for the resource; sharing the URL with to a destination application (Sanso par. 77, method 700 provides a special URL (e.g., a bookmarklet) which gives a conference participant access to the local storage of their browser.)
Claim 18: Sanso and Babu disclose the system of claim 17, wherein a permission filter table in the resource sharing server stores the permission filters generated by the permission adapter engine for each sender application (Sanso par. 88, the web conference application may determine which content is available for copy/paste functionality based on organizations and locations the host and attendees are associated with; par. 88, the web conference application can automatically allow copy/paste operations to be performed by certain conference participants and on certain conference content.)
Claim 19: Sanso and Babu disclose the system of claim 17, wherein a preference mask table in the resource sharing server stores the preference mask generated by the preference adapter engine for each receiver application (Sanso par. 48, The conference application 114 can include modules for analyzing, converting, modifying, storing, extracting, providing, or otherwise using the electronic content 117 in a web conference between the client applications 129a, 129b; par. 25, extraction module to convert text in proprietary format documents to ASCII text; par. 54-59, converting the web conference content for users.)
Claim 20: Sanso and Babu disclose the system of claim 17, wherein a content share engine in the resource sharing server downloads the resource (Sanso par. 49, the extraction module 115 can extract text corresponding to a URL or hyperlink present in the electronic content 117 that identifies a web page) and uploads the modified resource to a receiver application (Sanso par. 22, a copy operation can be initiated when a conference participant selects a portion or subset of conference content, and extracted data corresponding to the selected portion can be provided to the participant for a subsequent paste operation.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanso in view of Babu and in further view of Reardon (2024/0111408.)
Claim 7: Sanso and Babu disclose the method of claim 1. However, Sanso does not explicitly disclose wherein: the resource sharing operation includes a Drag & Drop event on a split screen (Sanso Fig. 6A; par. 147-148 shows a DND operation.)
Reardon discloses a similar method for drag and drop methodology, including: the resource sharing operation includes a Drag & Drop event on a split screen.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sanso with that of Reardon so as to communicate to the user a change in the state of the dragged object for purposes of copying.
Claim 16: Sanso and Babu disclose the method of claim 1. However, Sanso does not explicitly disclose wherein the resource sharing operation includes a Drag & Drop operation, comprising creating a ghost image in association with the Drag & Drop operation.
Reardon discloses a similar method for drag and drop methodology, including: wherein the resource sharing operation includes a Drag & Drop operation, comprising creating a ghost image in association with the Drag & Drop operation (Fig. 6A; par. 147 a ghost image 602 having a lower translucency is attached to the cursor position.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sanso with that of Reardon so as to communicate to the user a change in the state of the dragged object for purposes of copying.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Seidman (2024/0296003) copy paste clipboard events over between web-applications.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Andrey Belousov/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2145
6/18/26