DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communications filed on 5/25/2026.
The Examiner notes claims 1-16 are currently pending and have been examined; claims 17-20 were withdrawn by the Response to Election/Restriction filed 5/25/2026.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 17-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention 2 of a method for cleaning dirt particles from a solid body, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/26/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2 & 6
The claim states "a further fitting arrangement". It is unclear whether this is in addition to the fitting arrangement of the claim 1 or a second fitting arrangement separate from the first. For examining purposes the limitation will be interpreted as “a second fitting arrangement.”
All dependent claims are rejected for depending from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, & 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GONG KWOG YEOL (KR 101466966 B1) in view of LEE (US 20100077878), hereinafter Gong and Lee, respectively.
Regarding claim 1. (Each claim status is listed above in the Status of Claims section) Gong discloses a device for cleaning dirt particles from a solid body [Fig 1 & 5; the device can clean dirt particles from a solid body] comprising: a driving shaft [Fig 1 & 5; 300 is a drive shaft with multiple components] configured to rotate along a rotational direction [Fig 1 & 6]; a container arrangement [Fig 1, 3, & 5-6; there are a plurality of containers] comprising a first slotted container [Fig 3; 100]; and a second slotted container [Fig 3; 200] attached to: the first slotted container [Fig 1 & 5-6]; and the driving shaft via a fitting arrangement [Fig 1, 3, & 5-6; 300 is connected to 200 via a fitting arrangement allowing the rotation of the drive shaft to rotate 200], wherein the fitting arrangement is configured to simultaneously rotate the second slotted container within the first slotted container in a direction … to the rotational direction of the driving shaft [Fig 1 & 6; 330 of 300 rotates simultaneously with 200].
Gong may not explicitly disclose the second slotted container within the first slotted container in a direction opposite to the rotational direction of the driving shaft
However Lee teaches a fitting arrangement for a rotating slotted basket [Fig 3]; specifically wherein the fitting arrangement [Fig 1; the fitting arrangement comprises the various gears and their connected shafts/axles] is configured to simultaneously rotate the second slotted container [Fig 1-3; 121 rotates the slotted container (21)] within the first container in a direction opposite to the rotational direction of the driving shaft [Fig 1-3; 111 of the drive shaft (111, 13, & 14 form a drive shaft) rotates in an opposite direction of the basket (21 & 121)].
This combination would replace the pull string of Gong with the gears and peddle of Lee at the top cover of Gong.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fitting arrangement as disclosed by Gong to have the second slotted container within the first slotted container in a direction opposite to the rotational direction of the driving shaft as taught by Lee for the purpose of modifying the translated torque and speed of the driving mechanism/drive shaft to the second basket as well as and alternative means of rotational power with the introduction of 13 sliding on 111 of Lee [Lee: ¶5].
Regarding claim 8. Gong as modified teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the fitting arrangement comprises: a first fastening member [Lee: Fig 1; 11 is the first fastening member] configured to attach the driving shaft to the fitting arrangement [Lee: Fig 1; 11 attaches to 111 of the drive shaft], wherein the first fastening member comprises a third set of interlocking teeth [Lee: 11 has a set of interlocking teeth]; and a second fastening member [Lee: Fig 1; 12] comprising a fourth set of interlocking teeth configured to interlock with the third set of interlocking teeth of the first fastening member [Lee: Fig 1].
Regarding claim 11. Gong as modified teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the first slotted container and the second slotted container each comprises a plurality of symmetrical or asymmetrical slots [Gong: Fig 3; 200 and 300 have a plurality of asymmetrical slots].
Regarding claim 12. Gong as modified teaches the device according to claim 1 wherein the first slotted container comprises a plurality of slots with a first slot dimension and the second slotted container comprises a plurality of slots with a second slot dimension Gong: Fig 3; 200 and 300 have a plurality of slots with different dimensions], and wherein the first slot dimension is greater than the second slot dimension Gong: Fig 3; the slots of 100 (first container and first slots) are greater than the second slots].
Regarding claim 13. Gong as modified teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the container arrangement is configured to be partially or fully submerged in a cleansing fluid [Fig 3-6; 100 & 200 can be partially or fully submerged in a cleansing fluid held in container 400].
Regarding claim 14. Gong as modified teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the solid body is an ingestible sampling pill [Gong: Fig 3-6; an ingestible sampling pill can be placed inside of 200 to be cleaned].
Claim(s) 2-4, 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong in view of Lee further in view of Lin (US 20130036563), hereinafter Lin.
Regarding claim 2. Gong as modified teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the driving shaft comprises: a first member comprising a first end and a second end [Fig 1; 111 is a first member with a first and second end]; and a second member attached to the first end of the first member [Fig 1; 13 is a second member attached to the first end of 111] via a second fitting arrangement [Fig 1; ¶21; 131 meshes with the helical curves of 111 forming a second fitting arrangement], wherein the second end of the first member is configured to be … attached to the fitting arrangement, wherein the second member is configured to move along the first member in a lateral movement direction, and wherein the further fitting arrangement is configured to rotate the first member along the rotational direction based on the lateral movement of the second member.
Gong as modified may not explicitly disclose wherein the second end of the first member is configured to be detachably attached to the fitting arrangement.
However Lin teaches a first member [100] with first and second ends [Fig 1; the first end is the end with 14 and the second end is the end with 30]; wherein the second end of the first member is configured to be detachably attached to the fitting arrangement [Fig 8; the second end of 100 connects to a fitting arrangement to rotate a slotted container].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the drive shaft of the device as taught by Gong as modified to have the second end of the first member is configured to be detachably attached to the fitting arrangement as taught by Lin for the purpose of having the powering part of the drive shaft have the additional use as a cleaning implement.
Regarding claim 3. Gong as modified teaches the device according to claim 2, wherein the first member of the driving shaft further comprises a brush arrangement [Lin: Fig 1-2; the bottom of 40 has a brush arrangement].
Regarding claim 4. Gong as modified teaches the device according to claim 3, wherein the brush arrangement is positioned at or near the second end of the first member [Lin: Fig 1-2].
Regarding claim 6. Gong as modified teaches the device according to claim 2, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the first member further comprises a first set of interlocking teeth at the first end, wherein the second fitting arrangement comprises a rotatable member, and wherein the rotatable member comprises a second set of interlocking teeth configured to interlock with the first set of interlocking teeth of the first member.
However Huang teaches a driving shaft wherein the first member further comprises a first set of interlocking teeth at the first end [Fig 1-2; 162 are a first set of interlocking teeth at a first end of the first member (the end of 100 with 14 is the first end], wherein the second fitting arrangement comprises a rotatable member [15], and wherein the rotatable member comprises a second set of interlocking teeth configured to interlock with the first set of interlocking teeth of the first member [Fig 2; ¶29; the teeth (162) correspond to a conical recess (153) of 15].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the drive shaft as taught by Gong as modified to have the first member further comprises a first set of interlocking teeth at the first end, wherein the second fitting arrangement comprises a rotatable member, and wherein the rotatable member comprises a second set of interlocking teeth configured to interlock with the first set of interlocking teeth of the first member as taught by Lin for the purpose of a clutch device to allow continuous rotation while addition rotational force can be applied to maintain or increase rotation [Lin: ¶29].
Regarding claim 7. Gong as modified teaches the device according to claim 6, wherein the rotatable member further comprises longitudinal helical grooves, andwherein the second member comprises a plurality of internal spheres configured to interlock with the longitudinal helical grooves of the rotatable member.300 South Wacker Drive
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong in view of Lee further in view of Lin further in view of Huang (US 20170065144), hereinafter Huang44.
Regarding claim 5. Gong as modified teaches the device according to claim 2, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the first member of the driving shaft further comprises a plurality of lateral fins at or near the second end.
However Huang44 teaches a the first member of the driving shaft further comprises a plurality of lateral fins at or near the second end [Fig 1; the first member (2) comprises a plurality of lateral fin (3) at or near the second end].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the brush arrangement as disclosed by Gong as modified with the plurality of fins as disclosed by Huang44 as a simple substitution of a known element to produce predictable result of an alternative cleaning arrangement for a cleaning tool that is also a driving rod.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong in view of Lee further in view of HUANG (CN 106955067 B), hereinafter Huang67.
Regarding claim 9. Gong as modified teaches the device according to claim 8, wherein the second slotted container comprises a fifth set of interlocking teeth [Gong: Fig 3-5; the center peg of 340 has a set of interlocking teeth that engage the center of 330 (or the center of 12 of Lee)] but may not explicitly disclose configured to interlock with the fourth set of interlocking teeth of the second fastening member.
However Huang67 teaches a fitting arrangement [Fig 3-4; ¶37 of the translation; 17-19, 8, & 11-13 form a fitting arrangement] and second container [Fig 3-4; 6]; wherein the second slotted container comprises a fifth set of interlocking teeth configured to interlock with the fourth set of interlocking teeth of the second fastening member [Fig 3-4; ¶37 of the translation; 11 is a fifth set of interlocking connected to the container (6) which interlocks with the fourth set of interlocking teeth of the second fastening member (12)].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fitting arrangement as taught by Gong as modified to be configured to interlock with the fourth set of interlocking teeth of the second fastening member or in simpler terms to add a planetary gear system as taught by Huang67 as an alternative gear system for transmitting the rotational driving force to the desired location on the device [Huang67: ¶39].
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong in view of Lee further in view of CHEN (CN 107049174 A), hereinafter Chen74.
Regarding claim 10. Gong as modified teaches the device according to claim 1, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the container arrangement further comprises a ball bearing assembly between the first slotted container and the second slotted container.
However Chen74 teaches wherein the container arrangement further comprises a ball bearing assembly between the first slotted container and the second slotted container [Fig 1 & 5; ¶11 of the translation; 5 is a ball bearing assembly between a first container (2) and a second container (1)].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the connection between the first and second slotted container as taught by Gong as modified to have a ball bearing assembly therebetween as taught by Chen74 for the purpose of reducing friction of two objects that have relative movement therebetween.
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong in view of Lee further in view of Chen70 (US 20110173770), hereinafter Chen70.
Regarding claim 15 & 16. Gong as modified teaches the device according to claim 1, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the container arrangement comprises or is coated with a hydrophobic material or a superhydrophobic material.
However Chen70 teaches a second slotted container of a container arrangement comprising a hydrophobic material [Fig 2 & 4A; ¶37; 20 is a second slotted container that is made of plastic which is a hydrophobic material].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first and second slotted containers as taught by Gong to comprises or be coated with a hydrophobic material or a superhydrophobic material as taught by Chen70 for the purpose of utilizing a material that is waterproof for the containers’ construction.
Conclusion
/AARON R MCCONNELL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723