DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of JAPAN 2021-146411 filed 09/08/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 2/27/2024, 7/23/2025, 12/19/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Communication method when a predetermined link is disconnected”.
Appropriate correction is required.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an establishment unit configured to establish connections with another communication apparatus”, “a setting unit configured to set traffic identifiers (TIDs)”, and, “an assignment unit configured to, in disconnecting the connection”.
Claim 1 limitation: “an establishment unit configured to establish connections with another communication apparatus”– see Fig.2, control unit 202, “a setting unit configured to set traffic identifiers (TIDs)” – see Fig.3, frame processing unit 302, and, “an assignment unit configured to, in disconnecting the connection” – see Fig. 3, TID-To-Link Mapping management unit 303.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laurent et al. (Multi-link: steps for using a link, 2019-11-16), and further in view of Cherian et al. (US Pub. No.: 2021/0282047).
As per claim 1, Laurent disclose A communication apparatus (see Slide 1, Multi-link AP logical entity (AP MLLE)) comprising:
an establishment unit configured to establish connections with another communication apparatus via a first link and a second link (see slide 1 and slide 1, AP MLLE with an establishing unit, AP MLLE and non-AP MLLEs (another communication apparatus) exchange link capabilities via Link 1 (2.4GHz band) and Link 2 (5GHz band) to establish connections via link 1 and link 2);
a setting unit configured to set traffic identifiers (TIDs) to the first link and the second link (see slide 1, AP MLLE with a setting unit established link 1 and link 2 setup and set TID-to-link mapping, all TIDs to link 1 and link 2); and
an assignment unit configured to, in disconnecting the connection via the second link in a state where the communication apparatus and the another communication apparatus are connected via the first link and the second link by the establishment unit (see slide 11, AP MLLE with an assignment unit, see slides 10, 12, STA use only link 1 for TIDs (TID0-6) except TID7 {disconnecting/unavailable the connection via the second link}), perform TID assignment to the first link based on information about the TID set to the first link and information about the TID set to the second link by the setting unit (see slides 10, 12, STA use only link 1 for TIDs (TID0-6), and STA use only link 2 for TID7, and Unavailable/available governed by the power state of the STA on each mapped link, (Dose-disable and Awake enabled, see also slie13, Link transition with step 2 can be done with an update of the link mapping: a mapping where all TIDs are on link 1 (disconnecting the connection via the second link)).
Although Laurent disclose a communication apparatus performing the above functionality as set forth above.
Laurent disclose however does not explicitly disclose “an establishment unit”, “a setting unit” and “an assignment unit”;
Cherian however disclose a communication apparatus (see Fig.3A, Fig.4, Fig. 9, wireless communication device 900) comprising: an establishment unit (see Fig.9, a TID indication transmitting module 904), a setting unit (see Fig.9, a TID link determining module 906) and an assignment unit (see Fig.3A, application Processor 330).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a communication apparatus comprising: “an establishment unit”, “a setting unit” and “an assignment unit”;, as taught by Cherian, in the system of Laurent, so as to determine one or more links associated with one or more traffic identifiers (TIDs) based on a mapping of a plurality of TIDs, including the one or more TIDs, to a plurality of links, including the one or more links, see Cherian, paragraphs 7-9.
As per claim 2, the combination of Laurent and Cherian disclose the communication apparatus according to claim 1.
Cherian further disclose a transmission unit (see Fig.3A, External Network Interface 350); and
Laurent further disclose in disconnecting the connection via the second link in the state where the communication apparatus and the another communication apparatus are connected via the first link and the second link, transmit a frame including information for determining the TID for the first link (see slide 4, transmit a frame including information for determining the TID for the first link, see also slides 10-12).
As per claim 3, the combination of Laurent and Cherian disclose the communication apparatus according to claim 1.
Laurent further disclose wherein the assignment unit is configured to, in a case where there is a TID set to only the second link by the setting unit in disconnecting the connection via the second link in the state where the communication apparatus and the another communication apparatus are connected via the first link and the second link, assign the TID to the first link (see slide 11, assigning the TID to the first link, STA use link 1 without restrictions, see also slide 13).
As per claim 4, the combination of Laurent and Cherian disclose the communication apparatus according to claim 1.
Laurent further wherein the assignment unit is configured to, in a case where there is a TID set to only the second link by the setting unit in disconnecting the connection via the second link in the state where the communication apparatus and the another communication apparatus are connected via the first link and the second link, assign all types of TIDs to the first link (see slides 10-12, (see slide 11, assigning all types of TIDs to the first link, STA use link 1 without restrictions, see also slide 13).
As per claim 5, the combination of Laurent and Cherian disclose the communication apparatus according to claim 1.
Laurent further wherein the communication apparatus is configured to perform the TID assignment to the first link in response to reception of a disconnection request to disconnect the connection via the second link from the another communication apparatus(see slide 12, AP-MLLE is configured to perform the TID assignment to the first link, STA use link 1,2 without restrictions and Unavailable/a disconnection request/available governed by the power state of the STA on each mapped link, see also slide 13).
As per claim 6, the combination of Laurent and Cherian disclose the communication apparatus according to claim 2.
Laurent further disclose wherein information for disconnecting the second link and information about a TID to be assigned to the first link are in the frame (see slides 4, 10-12, Step2: TID-to-link mapping: AP/non-AP MLLEs negotiate and agree which links to use for frame exchange and TID-to-link mapping); and
Cherian further disclose a TID assigned to the first link are stored in a frame (see para. 0057, an AP transmit a message including a traffic indication map (TIM)/ a frame, as well as a TID {a TID stored in a frame}, to multiple stations (STAs) , see also para. 0057).
As per claim 7, the combination of Laurent and Cherian disclose the communication apparatus according to claim 6.
Laurent further disclose wherein the information about the TID to be assigned to the first link by the assignment unit is in a TID-To-Link Mapping element of the frame (see slides 4, 10-12, Step2: TID-to-link mapping: AP/non-AP MLLEs negotiate and agree which links to use for frame exchange and TID-to-link mapping) and
Cherian further disclose a TID assigned to the first link is stored in a TID-To-Link Mapping element of the frame (see para. 0057, an AP transmit a message including a traffic indication map (TIM)/ a frame, as well as a TID { a TID-To-Link Mapping element}, to multiple stations (STAs, see also para. 0057)).
.
As per claim 8, the combination of Laurent and Cherian disclose the communication apparatus according to claim 2.
Laurent further disclose wherein the frame is compliant with an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 standard (see slides 2, 10-12, multi-link operations for 802.llbe, and the different steps before using a link, and define the steps (TID-link mapping step)).
Cherian further disclose a frame is a management frame or action frame compliant with an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 standard (see para. 0003, 0004, 0035, as 802.11be networks, enable devices (which may be referred to as multi-link devices (MLDs)) to communicate via two or more communication links simultaneously, an AP periodically broadcasts beacon frames / a management frame, to enable any STAs within wireless range of the AP to establish or maintain a communication link, see also para. 0057)
As per claim 9, claim 9 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
As per claim 10, claim 10 is rejected the same way as claim 1. Cherian further disclose A non-transitory storage medium for causing a computer to perform a process at a communication apparatus (see para. 0009, 0016, a wireless communication device includes at least one modem; at least one processor communicatively coupled with the at least one modem; and at least one memory communicatively coupled with the at least one processor and storing processor-readable code that, is executed by the at least one processor, see also Fig.9, para. 0086).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Guogang (Discussion on Multi-Link Setup, 2020-09-02) – see slide 6, “The AP MLD change the STA-AP association relationship in the Reassociation Response Frame”.
Kwon (US Pub. No.:2021/0144698) – see Fig.1, Fig.2, para. 0016-0018, “When a first MLD, for example a non-Access Point (AP) MLD associates with a second MLD (e.g., an AP MLD), the first MLD transmits an Operating Mode (OM) 16 to the second MLD. In the example embodiment 10, the OM includes a multi-link capability of 8 SS for the first link 12 and 8 SS for the second link 14. In one embodiment, the first MLD includes an “N” number of RF chains and supports more than N SS streams per configured link (e.g., by sharing RF chain hardware with more than one SS). Subsequent to configuring the links 12 and 14 for multi-link operation with RF chains for corresponding supported SS for each link, and reporting the OM 16, data frames 18 and 20 are communicated over the respective links 12 and 14. The term “communicated” in this context means to transmit, receive or transceive between the first MLD and the second MLD. In one example the first link 12 uses the 5 GHz band, while the second link 14 uses the 6 GHz band”.
EDWARD AU: "Draft P802.11be_D1.0.pdf", IEEE DRAFT WGDS; 942232876538, IEEE-SA IMEET CENTRAL, PISCATAWAY, NJ USA vol. 802.11 (IDS submitted 7/23/2025) - Editorial 24 May 2021 (2021-05-24), - see para. 255, 258-259.
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469