DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 1-19 in the reply filed on January 23, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract is supposed to provide a reader the nature and gist of the technical disclosure and that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains, regardless to the readers' her degree of familiarity with patent documents. Repeating claim 1 requires the reader to understand how claims are to be presented and does not provide a reader what is new or beneficial. It is suggested to amend the abstract to provide any reader an understanding of what is new or beneficial and what the application is directed towards. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
plate holding member in claims 1 and 19;
rigid member in claims 1 and 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bamesberger (US 2022/0115259).
In regards to claim 1, Bamesberger teaches a superstrate chuck assembly (118) for holding a superstrate/plate (108) (para. 34-35), comprising:
a plate holding member (130) holds the superstrate/plate, the plate holding member including a central opening (fig. 3A-3E, 4; para. 46-47);
a support ring (188, rigid member) holds the plate holding member (fig. 3A-3E, 4; para. 54-55);
a first channel/cavity (148) formed by the plate holding member (fig. 3D, 3E, 3H, 3I; para. 50)
a second channel/passage (174) is in the rigid member (fig. 3G-3I; para. 50, 56);
a first passage (172, first fluid conduit) in communication with the second channel (fig. 3G-3I; para. 50, 56); and
a second passage (174, second fluid conduit) at least partially disposed within the second channel and in communication with the first channel/cavity (148) via a through hole (186) (fig. 3G-3I; para. 50, 56).
In regards to claim 2, Bamesberger teaches the superstrate/plate is held using vacuum suction applied to the first channel/cavity (148) and the second passage (para. 50-51).
In regards to claim 3, Bamesberger teaches the plate holding member comprises a flexible portion (134) made of a flexible material (para. 46).
In regards to claim 4, Bamesberger teaches the plate holding member is moved using changes is pressure (para. 46, 50, 64-65).
In regards to claim 5, Bamesberger teaches the second channel/passage (174) overlaps a portion of the plate holding member (130) (fig. 3G, 3I).
In regards to claim 6, Bamesberger teaches a first port-156 (third fluid conduit), the support ring (188, rigid member) comprises a first passage-158 which connects to a second passage (160) (third channel) where the first passage-15 faces the plate holding member (fig. 3D, 3E) and the first port-156 is in communication with the second passage (fig. 3D, 3E; para 49).
In regards to claims 7 and 9, Bamesberger teaches the first passage (172, first fluid conduit) connects to a vacuum source and the second channel/passage (174) (para. 50)
In regards to claim 10, Bamesberger teaches the second passage (174, second fluid conduit) connects to a fixture at a second end (178) and a tube (170), and where a vacuum source connects to second passage (fig. 3G-3I; para. 50, 56).
In regards to claim 19, Bamesberger teaches a planarization system (100) comprising:
a superstrate chuck assembly (118) for holding a superstrate/plate (108) (para. 34-35), comprising:
a plate holding member (130) holds the superstrate/plate, the plate holding member including a central opening (fig. 3A-3E, 4; para. 46-47);
a support ring (188, rigid member) holds the plate holding member (fig. 3A-3E, 4; para. 54-55);
a first channel/cavity (148) formed by the plate holding member (fig. 3D, 3E, 3H, 3I; para. 50)
a second channel/passage (174) is in the rigid member (fig. 3G-3I; para. 50, 56);
a first passage (172, first fluid conduit) in communication with the second channel (fig. 3G-3I; para. 50, 56); and
a second passage (174, second fluid conduit) at least partially disposed within the second channel and in communication with the first channel/cavity (148) via a through hole (186) (fig. 3G-3I; para. 50, 56);
a substrate chuck (104) which holds a substrate (102) (fig. 1; para. 32-33);
a fluid dispenser (122) that dispenses a formable material (124) onto the substrate (fig. 1; para. 36).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 11-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Binu Thomas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717