DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
The claim objection to claim 14 has been withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendment of that claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 19, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has amended the independent claims to include the limitation that the indium reducing gas is supplied “for a period of time while maintaining the chamber at a constant first temperature”, and furthermore, Applicant argues that this limitation is not taught by Harada (US 20210398794) because of the “ramp-up” step where the temperature is increased. However, it should be noted that during a standard heating process, it would be expected that the temperature will stay constant for very small amounts of time at various points in the process. While these may not usually be very significant, they do meet the limitation of “a period of time”, and thus the combination of the previously applied references still teach all of the limitations of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada et al. (US 20210398794 A1, hereinafter referred to as "Harada") in view of Gawase et al. (US 11502204 B2, hereinafter referred to as "Gawase").
In regards to claim 1, Harada discloses a semiconductor device manufacturing method, comprising: transferring a substrate including a structure that has a second surface at which a first metal is exposed, to a chamber of a film forming device (Harada figure 4, wafer loaded has exposed tungsten, paragraph 0043); supplying an indium reducing gas to the chamber for a period of time while maintaining the chamber at a constant first temperature at which indium is able to transition to a gaseous state (Harada figure 4, paragraph 0044. The temperature ramps up from the first temperature, below 150C, to the second temperature, 600-700C. During a standard heating process, it would be expected that the temperature will stay constant for very small amounts of time at various points in the process, which fits the limitation of a constant first temperature for “a period of time”); and supplying a film forming gas to the chamber at a second temperature higher than the first temperature to form a first film on the first surface and the second surface, after supplying the reducing gas (Harada figure 4, paragraph 0045).
Harada does not disclose that the substrate has a first surface at which indium is exposed.
Gawase teaches a substrate including a structure that has a first surface at which indium is exposed, and a second surface at which a first metal is exposed (Gawase figure 8; 33 is indium tin oxide and is exposed, and 36 is tungsten, and is exposed).
Gawase teaches a step involving forming an insulating film, on the substrate (Gawase column 8, lines 61-63), but does not provide specifics for the process. The process of Harada forms an insulating film over the substrate that contains a metal, and thus naturally fills in the specifics of Gawase’s method. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the specifics of Harada’s process to form the film on Gawase’s device.
In regards to claim 2, Harada in view of Gawase discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Harada further discloses that the metal includes tungsten (Harada paragraph 0043).
In regards to claim 3, Harada in view of Gawase discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Harada further teaches that the film forming gas is supplied without exposing the chamber to the atmosphere after supplying the reducing gas (it is only exposed to atmosphere after leaving the chamber, which occurs after the film form in gas is supplied, see Harada figure 4).
In regards to claim 6, Harada in view of Gawase discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Harada further discloses that said supplying of the film forming gas includes repeatedly supplying a first gas that includes silicon (Harada paragraph 0047; HCDS includes silicon) and a second gas that includes nitrogen (Harada paragraph 0047; NH3 includes nitrogen).
In regards to claim 7, Harada in view of Gawase discloses all of the limitations of claim 6. Harada further discloses that the reducing gas is supplied for a first time period (1-60 minutes, Harada paragraph 0061), and each time the first gas is supplied, the first gas is supplied for a second time period shorter than the first time period (1-60 seconds, Harada paragraph 0077), and each time the second gas is supplied, the second gas is supplied for a third time period shorter than the first time period (1-60 seconds, Harada paragraph 0085).
In regards to claim 8, Harada in view of Gawase discloses all of the limitations of claim 7. Harada further discloses that the second time period is 0.2 times the first time period or less (the vast majority of times in the range of 1-60 seconds are 0.2 times or less than the majority of the times in the range of 1-60 minutes).
In regards to claim 15, Harada in view of Gawase discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Gawase teaches that the structure is formed having a bottom face that includes the first surface at which indium is exposed (33 in Gawase figure 8 has Indium and is on the bottom) and a side face that includes the second surface at which the first metal is exposed (36 in Gawase figure 8 is tungsten, a metal, and is on the side), by etching (opening 38 in Gawase figure 8 is formed by reactive ion etching method; Gawase column 8, lines 35-36), before supplying the reducing gas (This is prior to forming the film 39, which in the combined method is done utilizing Harada’s method which is when the reducing gas is applied. Gawase column 8, lines 61-63).
In regards to claim 16, Harada discloses a semiconductor device manufacturing method, comprising: transferring a substrate having a structure into a chamber (Harada figure 4, wafer loading step); supplying an indium reducing gas to the chamber for a period of time while maintaining the chamber at a constant first temperature at which indium is able to transition to a gaseous state (Harada figure 4, paragraph 0044. The temperature ramps up from the first temperature, below 150C, to the second temperature, 600-700C. During a standard heating process, it would be expected that the temperature will stay constant for very small amounts of time at various points in the process, which fits the limitation of a constant first temperature for “a period of time”); after supplying the reducing gas, supplying a film forming gas to the chamber at a second temperature higher than the first temperature to form a film on the bottom surface and the side surface (Harada figure 4, paragraph 0045).
Harada does not disclose forming a hole in a structure that is on a substrate to expose indium a bottom surface of the hole and a metal on a side surface of the hole; removing the film formed on the bottom surface; nor depositing an oxide semiconductor layer into the hole.
Gawase teaches forming a hole in a structure that is on a substrate to expose indium a bottom surface of the hole and a metal on a side surface of the hole (opening 38 in Gawase figure 8. It exposes indium-containing 33 on the bottom and metal 36 on the side surface); removing the film formed on the bottom surface (Gawase figure 10. Column 8 lines 66-67 and column 10 lines 1-2); depositing an oxide semiconductor layer into the hole (oxide semiconductor film 40 in Gawase figure 11. Column 9 line 3).
Gawase teaches a step involving forming an insulating film, on the substrate (Gawase column 8, lines 61-63), but does not provide specifics for the process. The process of Harada forms an insulating film over the substrate that contains a metal, and thus naturally fills in the specifics of Gawase’s method. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the specifics of Harada’s process to form the film on Gawase’s device.
In regards to claim 17, Harada in view of Gawase discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Harada further discloses that said supplying of the film forming gas includes repeatedly supplying a first gas that includes silicon (Harada paragraph 0047; HCDS includes silicon) and a second gas that includes nitrogen (Harada paragraph 0047; NH3 includes nitrogen).
Claims 4-5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada in view of Gawase as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Jandl et al. (US 12362188 B2), hereinafter referred to as "Jandl".
In regards to claim 4, Harada in view of Gawase discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Neither Harada nor Gawase disclose that the film forming gas includes the reducing gas.
Jandl teaches that the film forming gas includes the reducing gas (Jandl figures 4A and 4B. Step 406 involves exposing the substrate to a reducing agent, then step 480 which deposits a film of bulk tungsten includes step 482, which also involves a reducing agent, both of which can be the same. Jandl column 11 lines 61-63 and column 13 lines 51-54).
Jandl teaches that this reducing gas in both cases is to assist in depositing a layer, tungsten in the case of Jandl.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the film forming gas include the reducing gas in order to assist in depositing the layer as in Jandl.
In regards to claim 5, Harada in view of Gawase and further in view of Jandl teach all of the limitations of claim 4. Harada further discloses that the second temperature is 400 degrees Celsius or greater (500-800C, Harada paragraph 0063).
In regards to claim 9, Harada in view of Gawase discloses all of the limitations of claim 7. Neither Harada nor Gawase disclose that the first gas and the reducing gas are the same kind of gas.
Jandl teaches that the first gas and the reducing gas are the same kind of gas (Jandl figures 4A and 4B. Step 406 involves exposing the substrate to a reducing agent, then step 480 which deposits a film of bulk tungsten includes step 482, which also involves a reducing agent, both of which can be the same, and can be silanes, which include silicon. Jandl column 11 lines 61-63 and column 13 lines 51-54).
Jandl teaches that this reducing gas in both cases is to assist in depositing a layer, tungsten in the case of Jandl.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the film forming gas include the reducing gas in order to assist in depositing the layer as in Jandl.
Claims 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada in view of Gawase as applied to claims 1 and 16 respectively above, and further in view of Hashimoto et al. (US 9620357 B2), hereinafter referred to as "Hashimoto".
In regards to claim 10, Harada in view of Gawase discloses all of the limitations of claim. Neither Harada nor Gawase disclose supplying the film forming gas between the reducing gas and film forming gas at a lower temperature than the second temperature.
Hashimoto teaches supplying the film forming gas at a temperature lower than the second temperature after supplying the reducing gas and before supplying the film forming gas at the second temperature (Hashimoto figure 6. first film forming step takes place after the seed layer formation which has a reducing gas and before forming a cap layer using the same film forming gas. Furthermore, the cap layer step can occur at a higher temperature, making the first film forming gas supplied at a lower temperature, Hashimoto column 26, lines 50-54).
Hashimoto teaches that the film forming gas is supplied to form a film which acts as a protective layer (Hashimoto column 1, lines 23-26). Furthermore, Hashimoto teaches that performing the next step at a higher temperature gives that layer a higher etch resistance (Hashimoto column 26 lines 62-67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the film forming gas step of Hashimoto to the method of Harada and Gawase in order to norm a protective layer and form a cap layer with a higher etch resistance.
In regards to claim 18, Harada in view of Gawase discloses all of the limitations of claim 16. Neither Harada nor Gawase disclose supplying the film forming gas between the reducing gas and film forming gas at a lower temperature than the second temperature.
Hashimoto teaches supplying the film forming gas at a temperature lower than the second temperature after supplying the reducing gas and before supplying the film forming gas at the second temperature (Hashimoto figure 6. first film forming step takes place after the seed layer formation which has a reducing gas and before forming a cap layer using the same film forming gas. Furthermore, the cap layer step can occur at a higher temperature, making the first film forming gas supplied at a lower temperature, Hashimoto column 26, lines 50-54).
Hashimoto teaches that the film forming gas is supplied to form a film which acts as a protective layer (Hashimoto column 1, lines 23-26). Furthermore, Hashimoto teaches that performing the next step at a higher temperature gives that layer a higher etch resistance (Hashimoto column 26 lines 62-67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the film forming gas step of Hashimoto to the method of Harada and Gawase in order to norm a protective layer and form a cap layer with a higher etch resistance.
Claims 11-14 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada in view of Gawase as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Sasajima et al. (US 20140051260 A1), herein after referred to as "Sasajima".
In regards to claim 11, Harada in view Gawase discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Neither Harada nor Gawase disclose supplying a nitrogen containing gas before supplying the reducing gas at a lower temperature than the second.
Sasajima teaches supplying a fourth gas that includes nitrogen (Sasajima figure 4A, paragraph 0067, NH3 contains nitrogen) at a third temperature lower than the second temperature (temperature range is 300-650C, which is less than the second temperature in Harada and the temperature of the film forming step in Sasajima of 350-600C [paragraphs 0067 and 0076]) before supplying the reducing gas (Sasajima figure 4A. In a modification, a reducing gas is supplied with the O2 in the third step, which is after the nitrogen containing gas is supplied [paragraph 0175]).
Sasajima teaches that this step provides surface modification to the uppermost surface of the wafer and creates a surface state in which it is easy for HCDS gas to be adsorbed onto the uppermost surface and silicon to be deposited on the uppermost surface (Sasajima paragraph 0068 and 0070).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the surface modification step of Sasajima to the method of Harada in order to facilitate adsorption and deposition of HCDS gas or silicon.
In regards to claim 14, Harada in view of Gawase and further in view of Sasajima discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Neither Harada nor Gawase disclose supplying a nitrogen containing gas before supplying the reducing gas at a lower temperature than the second.
Sasajima teaches supplying a fourth gas that includes nitrogen (Sasajima figure 4A, paragraph 0067, NH3 contains nitrogen) at a third temperature lower than the second temperature (temperature range is 300-650C, which is less than the second temperature in Harada and the temperature of the film forming step in Sasajima of 350-600C [paragraphs 0067 and 0076]) before supplying the reducing gas (Sasajima figure 4A. In a modification, a reducing gas is supplied with the O2 in the third step, which is after the nitrogen containing gas is supplied [paragraph 0175]), wherein the third temperature is 350 degrees Celsius or lower (paragraph 0067).
Sasajima teaches that this step provides surface modification to the uppermost surface of the wafer and creates a surface state in which it is easy for HCDS gas to be adsorbed onto the uppermost surface and silicon to be deposited on the uppermost surface (Sasajima paragraph 0068 and 0070).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the surface modification step of Sasajima to the method of Harada in order to facilitate adsorption and deposition of HCDS gas or silicon.
In regards to claim 12, Harada in view of Gawase discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Neither Harada nor Gawase disclose supplying a nitrogen containing gas between supplying the reducing gas and the film forming gas.
Sasajima teaches supplying a third gas that includes nitrogen at a fourth temperature equal to or lower than the first temperature (temperature range is 300-650C, which is less than the first temperature at which indium is able to transition to a gaseous state) after supplying the reducing gas and before supplying the film forming gas at the second temperature (Sasajima figure 4A. The step occurs immediately before the film forming step with no other steps intervening. Therefore, it would naturally occur between the two steps).
Sasajima teaches that this step provides surface modification to the uppermost surface of the wafer and creates a surface state in which it is easy for HCDS gas to be adsorbed onto the uppermost surface and silicon to be deposited on the uppermost surface (Sasajima paragraph 0068 and 0070).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the surface modification step of Sasajima to the method of Harada in order to facilitate adsorption and deposition of HCDS gas or silicon.
In regards to claim 13, Harada in view of Gawase and further in view of Sasajima discloses all of the limitations of claim 12.
Harada further discloses transferring the substrate out from the chamber after supplying the film forming gas (boat unloading, wafer discharge in Harada figure 4).
Harada does not disclose forming an oxide semiconductor on the substrate.
Gawase discloses forming an oxide semiconductor on the substrate transferred out from the chamber (oxide semiconductor film 40 in Gawase figure 11. Column 9 line 3), wherein the oxide semiconductor is connected to the first surface (it is directly connected to 33), and opposes the second surface across the first film (it is across the film from 36).
Gawase teaches that this oxide semiconductor makes a channel serving as a current path when the device is finished as a transistor (Gawase column 4, lines 15-17, and column 9, line 7-8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the oxide semiconductor forming step of Gawase in order to make a channel for making a transistor.
In regards to claim 19, Harada in view Gawase discloses all of the limitations of claim 16. Neither Harada nor Gawase disclose supplying a nitrogen containing gas before supplying the reducing gas at a lower temperature than the second.
Sasajima teaches supplying a fourth gas that includes nitrogen (Sasajima figure 4A, paragraph 0067, NH3 contains nitrogen) at a third temperature lower than the second temperature (temperature range is 300-650C, which is less than the second temperature in Harada and the temperature of the film forming step in Sasajima of 350-600C [paragraphs 0067 and 0076]) before supplying the reducing gas (Sasajima figure 4A. In a modification, a reducing gas is supplied with the O2 in the third step, which is after the nitrogen containing gas is supplied [paragraph 0175]).
Sasajima teaches that this step provides surface modification to the uppermost surface of the wafer and creates a surface state in which it is easy for HCDS gas to be adsorbed onto the uppermost surface and silicon to be deposited on the uppermost surface (Sasajima paragraph 0068 and 0070).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the surface modification step of Sasajima to the method of Harada in order to facilitate adsorption and deposition of HCDS gas or silicon.
In regards to claim 20, Harada in view of Gawase discloses all of the limitations of claim 16. Neither Harada nor Gawase disclose supplying a nitrogen containing gas between supplying the reducing gas and the film forming gas.
Sasajima teaches supplying a third gas that includes nitrogen at a fourth temperature equal to or lower than the first temperature (temperature range is 300-650C, which is less than the first temperature at which indium is able to transition to a gaseous state) after supplying the reducing gas and before supplying the film forming gas at the second temperature (Sasajima figure 4A. The step occurs immediately before the film forming step with no other steps intervening. Therefore, it would naturally occur between the two steps).
Sasajima teaches that this step provides surface modification to the uppermost surface of the wafer and creates a surface state in which it is easy for HCDS gas to be adsorbed onto the uppermost surface and silicon to be deposited on the uppermost surface (Sasajima paragraph 0068 and 0070).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the surface modification step of Sasajima to the method of Harada in order to facilitate adsorption and deposition of HCDS gas or silicon.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL KURT ELLIOTT/ Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/Brent A. Fairbanks/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899