Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 07-01-2026 has been entered and considered.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the current application.
Claims 1-20 remain rejected as discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the recitations of “an accuracy range of the determined time value” and “determine, based on a table, an accuracy field value for the accuracy range” are vague and indefinite as the metes and bounds of the limitation are not reasonably explained. The claim do not define what constitutes “time value” or “accuracy range” or what is the relationship between the accuracy range and the determined time value or accuracy field. It is also unclear whether the recitation refers to a time uncertainty interval, timing error bound, tolerance, confidence interval, precision metric, or predefined timing quality class. As such, it is unclear what content in the recited second filed would satisfy the limitation.
Similar issue occurs in claims 9 and 17.
Claims 2-8, 10-16 and 18-20 are rejected because they depend on rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abreu et al (US 2023/0262624) in view of Lin et al (US 2013/0250850) and further in view of Luo et al (US 2024/0114376). Hereinafter referred to as Abreu, Lin and Luo.
Regarding claims 1, and 9, Abreu discloses an apparatus comprising one or more memories; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories (see at least figures 1: telecommunication devices must have a processor and a memory(ies)), a combination of the one or more processors configured to: determine a time value (see at least figures 2-3 and paragraphs [0040]-[0047]: RTI is determined and transmitted/received); generate a message comprising: a first field using a first set of bits to indicate seconds of the time value and a second set of bits to indicate fractions of seconds of the time value (see at least figures 2-4 and paragraphs [0040]-[0047]: The indicated time is referenced at the network, i.e., without compensating for RF propagation delay. The indicated time in 10 ns unit from the origin is refDays*86400*1000*100000 + refSeconds*1000*100000 + refMilliSeconds*100000 + refTenNanoSeconds); and a second field indicating an accuracy range of the determined time value (see at least figures 2-4 and paragraphs [0040]-[0047]: uncertainty: This field indicates the uncertainty of the reference time information provided by the time field); and wirelessly transmit the message (see at least figure 1, abstract and paragraph [0001]: Then, the apparatus causes transmission of information on at least one of the first time uncertainty and a combined time uncertainty to one or more target terminal devices. The combined time uncertainty corresponds to a combination of the first-time uncertainty and a second time uncertainty. The second time uncertainty corresponds to a time uncertainty of reference time defined in reference time information… Various example embodiments relate to wireless communications).
Abreu’s, transmissions are bits structured, discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception of explicitly disclosing using a first set of bits to indicate seconds of the time value and a second set of bits to indicate fractions of seconds. However, Lin, from a similar field of endeavor, teaches transmitting messages where the time reference/value is configures over multiple bits in a field (see at least paragraph [0061]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching Lin, as indicated, into the communication method of transmitting time information for synchronization.
Abreu in view of Lin discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception of determining accuracy range for the time value and an accuracy field value for the accuracy range; and generate a second field comprising the accuracy field value. However, Luo, from a similar field of endeavor, teaches determining accuracy range for the measurements and an accuracy field value for the accuracy range; and generate a second field comprising the accuracy field value (see at least figure 13 and paragraph [0216]). Thus, it would have ben obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Luo, as indicated, into the communication method of Abreu in view of Lin for the purpose of sharing network information.
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 12, Abreu in view of Lin and further in view of Luo discloses an apparatus wherein the first set of bits comprises sixteen bits; the second set of bits comprises sixteen bits; and the second field comprises four bits (Lin: see at least paragraph [0061]).
Regarding claims 8 and 16. Abreu in view of Lin and further in view of Luo discloses an apparatus wherein the combination of the one or more processors is further configured to receive a request to advertise timing capabilities and wherein generating the message is in response to the request (Abreu: see at least figure 4 element 403).
Claims 3-7, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abreu in view of Lin further in view of Luo and further in view of Pannell (US 8,296,421).
Regarding claims 3, and 11. Abreu in view of Lin and further in view of Luo discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception of determining a timing protocol implemented by the apparatus, and wherein the message further comprises a third field indicating the timing protocol. However, Pannell, from the same field of endeavor, teaches determining a timing protocol implemented by the apparatus, and wherein the message further comprises a third field indicating the timing protocol (see at least figures 6 (Version PTP) and table 3). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Pannell, as indicated, into the communication method of Abreu in view of Lin and further in view of Luo for the purpose of increasing a communication capability.
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Abreu in view of Lin further in view of Luo and further in view of Pannell discloses an apparatus wherein the combination of the one or more processors is further configured to reference a table to determine a bit value indicating the timing protocol; and add the bit value to the third field (see at least figure 6 and table 3).
Regarding claims 5, and 13. Abreu in view of Lin and further in view of Luo discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception of determining a timing parameter, and wherein the message further comprises a third field indicating the timing parameter. However, Pannell, from the same field of endeavor, teaches determining a timing parameter, and wherein the message further comprises a third field indicating the timing parameter (see at least figures 6 (Version PTP), table 3 and “These timing protocol frames can be used to communicate a network time to each participating device 104 on the network in order to capture local arrival and departure times of the protocol frames. In each device 104, the local arrival time of a timing protocol frame (e.g., as determined using time stamping logic) can be compared to a time at which the protocol (e.g., PTP) indicates the timing protocol frame should have arrived at the device”). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Pannell, as indicated, into the communication method of Abreu in view of Lin and further in view of Luo for the purpose of increasing a communication capability.
Regarding claims 6 and 14. Abreu in view of Lin further in view of Luo and further in view of Pannell discloses an apparatus wherein the combination of the one or more processors is further configured to: reference a table to determine a bit value indicating the timing parameter; and add the bit value to the third field (see at least figures 6 (Version PTP) and table 3).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Abreu in view of Lin and further in view of Luo discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception of a third field indicating time of flight parameters. However, Pannell, from the same field of endeavor, teaches of a third field indicating time of flight parameters (see at least figures 6 (Version PTP), table 3 and “These timing protocol frames can be used to communicate a network time to each participating device 104 on the network in order to capture local arrival and departure times of the protocol frames. In each device 104, the local arrival time of a timing protocol frame (e.g., as determined using time stamping logic) can be compared to a time at which the protocol (e.g., PTP) indicates the timing protocol frame should have arrived at the device”). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Pannell, as indicated, into the communication method of Abreu in view of Lin and further in view of Luo for the purpose of increasing a communication capability.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07-01-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection, applicants’ representative argues that the claim language is supported by the specification
Examiner acknowledges that the claims are not interpreted in a vacuum. During examination, claim terms are interpreted in light of the specification and drawings, and the broadest reasonable interpretation must be consistent with the specification. However, this does not mean that disclosures appearing in the specification automatically supply the requisite boundaries to an otherwise unclear claim limitation, nor does it permit unclaimed limitations disclosed only in the specification to be imported into the claims. Applicants’ representative reliance on the specification does not resolve the issue. To the extent Applicants’ representative identifies particular examples and numerical values in the specification as defining the “accuracy range” and “accuracy filed”, such disclosure does not establish that the claim is limited to those particular examples or implementations. The claim itself does not recite such limitations. Accordingly, importing those features form the specification into the claim would improperly narrow the claim beyond its expressed vague language. Moreover, the claim language does not define a specific relationship between the accuracy range and the determined time value or accuracy field or how one element is determined from the knowledge of another. Accordingly, Applicants’ representative’s argument that the specification provides a definition does not overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO_892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
When responding to this office action, applicants are advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which they think the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Applicants must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37C.F.R 1.111(c). In addition, applicants are advised to provide the examiner with the line numbers and pages numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist examiner in locating the appropriate paragraphs.
/MOUNIR MOUTAOUAKIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476