DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Upon entry of the amendment filed on 05 December 2025, Claim(s) 1-9 is/are amended and Claim(s) 10-20 is/are withdrawn. The currently pending claims are Claims 1-20.
Based on applicants’ remarks and amendments (e.g. the SWIR limitation), the 102 and 103 rejections are withdrawn. However, new grounds of rejections are provided necessitated by the amendments.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is allowed. None of the cited references discloses the specific SWIR material having the specific hydrazinium iodide dopant and the specific perovskite material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan 486 (CN-109786486-A, a machine translation is provided) in view of Chen (US-20210175451-A1).
Claims 1 and 3-8: Fan 486 discloses an IR material with a composition comprising a nitrogen compound such as methylamine – which is listed as a doping agent in applicant’s specification - and a lead-free double perovskite material such as Cs2AgBiBr6 (abs, pg. 2-3 and examples). The Fan reference discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the feature of the SWIR material application. It is noted that the Fan reference discloses all the claimed components and the IR application (pg. 2) and the claim calls for the IR material to be a SWIR material. In an analogous art, the Chen reference discloses Pb-free double perovskites employed in SWIR material is well known (abs and examples). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known application of Chen to the teachings of Fan would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the cited references shows the ability to apply such features into similar systems and applications and there is no evidence nor teaching that the application of the material of Fan for SWIR would be repugnant to a skilled artisan.
Claim 2: Fan discloses the claimed doping ratio (abs, pg. 2-3 and examples).
Claim(s) 1-8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng (CN10927769A) Chen (US-20210175451-A1).
Claims 1 and 3-8: Deng discloses a composition comprising a nitrogen compound such as methylamine – which is listed as a doping agent in applicant’s specification - and a lead-free double perovskite material such as Cs2AgBiBr6 (abs, pg. 2 and examples). The Deng reference discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the feature of the SWIR material application. It is noted that the Deng reference discloses all the claimed components and the IR application (pg. 2) and the claim calls for the IR material to be SWIR material. In an analogous art, the Chen reference discloses Pb-free double perovskites employed in SWIR material is well known (abs and examples). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known application of Chen to the teachings of Deng would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the cited references shows the ability to apply such features into similar systems and applications and there is no evidence nor teaching that the application of the material of Deng for SWIR would be repugnant to a skilled artisan.
Claim 2: Deng discloses ratio of 2:1 (abs).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 7 and 9, filed 05 December 2025, with respect to the 102 rejections based on Li or Deng have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 102 rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 05 December 2025 regarding the obviousness rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the Deng reference is directed to an ionizing detector composition instead of the claimed SWIR composition with a nitrogen compound as a doping agent (pg. 9-11).
The examiner respectfully disagrees and the Deng reference discloses all the claimed components and the IR application (pg. 2) and the claim calls for the IR material to be SWIR material (which is a subset of the overall IR teaching of Deng). In an analogous art, the Chen reference discloses Pb-free double perovskites employed in SWIR material is well known (abs and examples). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known application of Chen to the teachings of Deng would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the cited references shows the ability to apply such features into similar systems and applications and there is no evidence nor teaching that the application of the material of Deng for SWIR would be repugnant to a skilled artisan.
It is noted that the same analysis is relevant for the newly-found Fan 486 reference.
Conclusion
/TRI V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764