DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 15, 17, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 26, 27, and 28 in Figs. 9 and 17. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “30” has been used to designate both “vertical grill assembly” (Figs. 9 and 17; see [0070]) and a front portion of the bottom tray (Figs. 5 and 15). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
the sentence beginning “A first air intake located in...” is not a complete sentence; and
the abstract uses phraseology typical of claims, such as “comprises” and “wherein”, which should be avoided.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
in [0001], “filed on Feb. 5, 2019” should read “filed on Feb. 5, 2018,” consistent with the filing date of U.S. Application No. 15/889,114 as listed in the Application Data Sheet;
in [0001], “by reference their respective entirety” should read “by reference in their entirety”;
in [0050], Fig. 18 is described as “a front cross-section view through plane C-C in Fig. 14.” However, [0044] describes Fig. 10, taken through the same plane C-C, as “a right side cross-section view,” and Figs. 10 and 18 depict the same view. [0050] should describe Fig. 18 as a right side cross-section view; and
In [0075], reference characters “110” and “115” are used inconsistently. The first sentence identifies “an opening 115 in the back of the tray” and “vent holes 110” in the walls of the grill, consistent with Figs. 16 and 19. The following sentences then refer to “[t]he opening 110 together with the vent holes 115” and to air that “continues through the vent hole 115.” Additionally, “the region between the vent holes 110 and is separated” appears to be missing a word.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-7, 10, 11, 13, and 15-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1:
“generated during the cooking process” in line 2 should read “generated during a cooking process”;
“a front side, back side, bottom side, and left and right sides” in line 3 should read “a front side, a back side, a bottom side, and left and right sides”;
“away from back side” in line 5 should read “away from the back side”; and
“the tray” in lines 5 and 7, as well as “the tray module” in line 11 should read “the drip tray module.”
Regarding claim 2:
“the middle the surface” in line 3 should read “the middle surface”;
“and hang over the edge of the bottom panel” in line 5 should read “and to hang over an edge of the bottom panel”; and
“when the tray is inserted” in line 6 should read “when the drip tray module is inserted.”
Regarding claim 3:
“through openings in a front end and of the channels out of openings in the back end of the channels” in lines 4-5 should read “through openings in a front end of the channels and out of openings in a back end of the channels”; and
“the floor of the channels” in line 3 should read “a floor of the channels.”
Regarding claim 4, “from underneath the tray” in line 3 should read “from underneath the drip tray module.”
Regarding claims 5 and 6, “wherein the module is formed” in line 1 should read “wherein the drip tray module is formed.”
Regarding claim 6, “near the front of the tray module” in lines 2-3 should read “near the front side of the drip tray module.”
Regarding claim 7, “either the left or right side of the tray” in lines 1-2 should read “either the left side or the right side of the drip tray module.”
Regarding claim 10:
“the slides of the tray” in line 1 should read “the slides of the drip tray module”;
“underneath the tray” and “from below the tray” in line 2 should read “underneath the drip tray module” and “from below the drip tray module”; and
“the floor of the channels” in line 3 should read “a floor of the channels.”
Regarding claim 11:
“a front side, back side, bottom side” in line 14 should read “a front side, a back side, a bottom side”;
“away from back side” in line 17 should read “away from the back side”;
“the tray” in lines 18, 22, 24, 29, 30, 33, and 34 should read “the removable tray module”;
“rests against the back frame” in line 34 should read “rests against the back frame member”; and
“the air intake” in lines 38 and 39 respectively should read “the first air intake.”
Regarding claim 13, “the front member” in line 2 should read “the front frame member.”
Regarding claim 15, “generated during the cooking process” in lines 2-3 should read “generated during a cooking process.”
Regarding claim 16, “holding food is in the middle” in line 2 should read “holding food located in the middle.”
Regarding claims 17, 18, and 19, “The grill of claim” in line 1 should read “The vertical grill of claim,” consistent with the preamble of claim 11.
Regarding claim 17, “into the channel” in line 7 should read “into the at least one channel.”
Regarding claim 19:
“the drip tray module” in lines 5, 7 and 9 should read “the removable tray module,” consistent with claim 11; and
“a surface upon which the grill is located” in line 6 should read “the surface upon which the grill is located.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “heat generating device” in claim 16.
Regarding the term “heat generating device” in claim 16, the recited function is generating heat. The corresponding structure disclosed in the specification is the Cal Rods 51, 52, 53 & 54 described in [0073], and equivalent thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “the plate” in lines 2 and 3 respectively and “the discarded waste” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Clam 1, from which claim 8 depends, recites “a slide” and “fats and break away solids,” but no “plate” or “discarded waste”. It is therefore unclear whether “the plate” refers to the slide or to a separate element, and whether “the discarded waste” is the same as the fats and break away solids of claim 1. For purposes of examination, “the plate” is interpreted as the slide, and “the discarded waste” is interpreted as the fats and break away solids.
Claim 9 recites “the plate” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1, from which the claim 9 depends, recites no “plate”. It is therefore unclear whether “the plate” refers to the slide or to a separate element. For purposes of examination, “the plate” is interpreted as the slide.
Claim 15 recites “the heat shield” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 11, from which claim 15 depends, recites no heat shield. It is therefore unclear whether “the heat shield” refers to one of the removable side heat shields recited in claim 14 or to a different heat shield. For purposes of examination “the heat shield” is interpreted as “a heat shield.”
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 2, 4, 6, 9, 10, and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-14 of prior U.S. Patent No. 9,883,770 as shown in Table 1. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Each pair recites the same limitations in substantially identical language. The two claims are therefore coextensive in scope, and neither could be infringed without infringing the other.
Table 1
U.S. Patent (US 9,883,770)
Claims under examination (18/589,346)
10. A drip tray module for a grill configured to catch fats and break away solids generated during the cooking process, comprising: a front side, back side, bottom side, and left and right sides; a slide positioned at an incline between the front and back sides, configured to direct fats and break away solids away from the back side to the front side of the tray; at least one channel for air flow covered by the slide; an external receptacle positioned at the front side of the tray, wherein the slide leads into the receptacle so that fats and break away solids may be channeled into the external receptacle after traveling downwards along the incline of the slide; an air intake hole in at least one side of the tray module configured to allow cool external air into the tray module,
wherein the slide comprises two surfaces leading to a middle surface and disposed on either side of the middle surface and angled higher than the middle the surface; and the tray module further comprises a step in the left and right sides to receive a recessed bottom panel of the grill, and hang over the edge of the bottom panel of the grill, when the tray is inserted into the grill.
1. A drip tray module for a grill configured to catch fats and break away solids generated during the cooking process, comprising: a front side, back side, bottom side, and left and right sides; a slide positioned at an incline between the front and back sides, configured to direct fats and break away solids away from back side to the front side of the tray; at least one channel for air flow covered by the slide; an external receptacle positioned at the front side of the tray, wherein the slide leads into the receptacle so that fats and break away solids may be channeled into the external receptacle after traveling downwards along the incline of the slide; an air intake hole in at least one side of the tray module configured to allow cool external air into the tray module.
2. The drip tray module of claim 1,
wherein the slide comprises two surfaces leading to a middle surface and disposed on either side of the middle surface and angled higher than the middle the surface; and the tray module further comprises a step in the left and right sides to receive a recessed bottom panel of the grill, and hang over the edge of the bottom panel of the grill, when the tray is inserted into the grill.
11. A drip tray module for a grill configured to catch fats and break away solids generated during the cooking process, comprising: a front side, back side, bottom side, and left and right sides; a slide positioned at an incline between the front and back sides, configured to direct fats and break away solids away from the back side to the front side of the tray; at least one channel for air flow covered by the slide; an external receptacle positioned at the front side of the tray, wherein the slide leads into the receptacle so that fats and break away solids may be channeled into the external receptacle after traveling downwards along the incline of the slide; an air intake hole in at least one side of the tray module configured to allow cool external air into the tray module,
further comprising: a plurality of ribs defining a plurality of channels, supporting the slide and maintaining a gap between the floor of the channels and the slide to provide air channels under the slide which enable air to flow through openings in a front end and of the channels out of openings in the back end of the channels, the back end of the channels being on the back side of the drip tray module; and
floor members in the channels; and apertures in the floor members to allow air to flow from underneath the tray and into the channels.
1. A drip tray module for a grill configured to catch fats and break away solids generated during the cooking process, comprising: a front side, back side, bottom side, and left and right sides; a slide positioned at an incline between the front and back sides, configured to direct fats and break away solids away from back side to the front side of the tray; at least one channel for air flow covered by the slide; an external receptacle positioned at the front side of the tray, wherein the slide leads into the receptacle so that fats and break away solids may be channeled into the external receptacle after traveling downwards along the incline of the slide; an air intake hole in at least one side of the tray module configured to allow cool external air into the tray module.
3. The drip tray module of claim 1, further comprising: a plurality of ribs defining a plurality of channels, supporting the slide and maintaining a gap between the floor of the channels and the slide to provide air channels under the slide which enable air to flow through openings in a front end and of the channels out of openings in the back end of the channels, the back end of the channels being on the back side of the drip tray module.
4. The drip tray module of claim 3, further comprising:
floor members in the channels; and apertures in the floor members to allow air to flow from underneath the tray and into the channels.
12. A chip tray module for a grill configured to catch fats and break away solids generated during the cooking process, comprising: a front side, back side, bottom side, and left and right sides; a slide positioned at an incline between the front and back sides, configured to direct fats and break away solids away from the back side to the front side of the tray; at least one channel for air flow covered by the slide; an external receptacle positioned at the front side of the tray, wherein the slide leads into the receptacle so that fats and break away solids may be channeled into the external receptacle after traveling downwards along the incline of the slide; an air intake hole in at least one side of the tray module configured to allow cool external air into the tray module,
wherein the module is formed from a bottom tray and the slide, the tray module further comprising a gap formed near the front of the tray module between the slide and the bottom tray, wherein lateral side panels of the slide are of sufficient length to create the gap between the slide and the bottom tray to allow air to flow into the gap.
1. A drip tray module for a grill configured to catch fats and break away solids generated during the cooking process, comprising: a front side, back side, bottom side, and left and right sides; a slide positioned at an incline between the front and back sides, configured to direct fats and break away solids away from back side to the front side of the tray; at least one channel for air flow covered by the slide; an external receptacle positioned at the front side of the tray, wherein the slide leads into the receptacle so that fats and break away solids may be channeled into the external receptacle after traveling downwards along the incline of the slide; an air intake hole in at least one side of the tray module configured to allow cool external air into the tray module.
6. The drip tray module of claim 1,
wherein the module is formed from a bottom tray and the slide, the tray module further comprising a gap formed near the front of the tray module between the slide and the bottom tray, wherein lateral side panels of the slide are of sufficient length to create the gap between the slide and the bottom tray to allow air to flow into the gap.
13. A drip tray module for a grill configured to catch fats and break away solids generated during the cooking process, comprising: a front side, back side, bottom side, and left and right sides; a slide positioned at an incline between the front and back sides, configured to direct fats and break away solids away from the back side to the front side of the tray; at least one channel for air flow covered by the slide; an external receptacle positioned at the front side of the tray, wherein the slide leads into the receptacle so that fats and break away solids may be channeled into the external receptacle after traveling downwards along the incline of the slide; an air intake hole in at least one side of the tray module configured to allow cool external air into the tray module,
wherein a plate is made of metal and the drip tray module includes magnets configured to attach the metal plate to the tray module.
1. A drip tray module for a grill configured to catch fats and break away solids generated during the cooking process, comprising: a front side, back side, bottom side, and left and right sides; a slide positioned at an incline between the front and back sides, configured to direct fats and break away solids away from back side to the front side of the tray; at least one channel for air flow covered by the slide; an external receptacle positioned at the front side of the tray, wherein the slide leads into the receptacle so that fats and break away solids may be channeled into the external receptacle after traveling downwards along the incline of the slide; an air intake hole in at least one side of the tray module configured to allow cool external air into the tray module.
9. The drip tray module of claim 1
wherein the plate is made of metal and the drip tray module includes magnets configured to attach the metal plate to the tray module.
14. A drip tray module for a grill configured to catch fats and break away solids generated during the cooking process, comprising: a front side, back side, bottom side, and left and right sides; a slide positioned at an incline between the front and back sides, configured to direct fats and break away solids away from the back side to the front side of the tray; at least one channel for air flow covered by the slide; an external receptacle positioned at the front side of the tray, wherein the slide leads into the receptacle so that fats and break away solids may be channeled into the external receptacle after traveling downwards along the incline of the slide; an air intake hole in at least one side of the tray module configured to allow cool external air into the tray module,
wherein the sides of the tray form an air space underneath the tray that allows for air flow from below the tray and into channels formed below the slide via apertures in the floor of the channels.
1. A drip tray module for a grill configured to catch fats and break away solids generated during the cooking process, comprising: a front side, back side, bottom side, and left and right sides; a slide positioned at an incline between the front and back sides, configured to direct fats and break away solids away from back side to the front side of the tray; at least one channel for air flow covered by the slide; an external receptacle positioned at the front side of the tray, wherein the slide leads into the receptacle so that fats and break away solids may be channeled into the external receptacle after traveling downwards along the incline of the slide; an air intake hole in at least one side of the tray module configured to allow cool external air into the tray module.
10. The drip tray module of claim 1,
wherein the sides of the tray form an air space underneath the tray that allows for air flow from below the tray and into channels formed below the slide via apertures in the floor of the channels.
1. A vertical grill, comprising: a housing which comprises a front panel, a back panel, a bottom panel, a right panel, and a left panel; a back chimney extending vertically and bounded by a back frame member within the housing and the back panel, the back chimney having an inlet and an outlet, the inlet being in the form of one or more first openings in the back frame member, and the outlet being a second opening which is higher than the inlet; a first air intake located at at least one of the grill's left panel, right panel, back panel, and bottom panel; a removable tray module comprising: a front side, back side, bottom side, and left and right sides; a slide positioned at an incline between the front and back sides, configured to direct fats and break away solids away from back side to the front side of the tray; at least one channel covered by the slide and configured for air flow, the channel having a front open end and a back open end, the back open end being aligned with the tray module's back side; an external receptacle positioned at the front side of the tray, wherein the slide leads into the receptacle so that fats and break away solids may be channeled into the external receptacle after traveling downwards along the incline of the slide; an air intake hole in at least one side of the tray module configured to allow external air into the tray module and into the at least one channel; wherein the removable tray module is configured for being slid into and out of the grill via an aperture in the front panel, such that when the tray module is in an operating position inside the grill, the tray module's back side rests against the back frame and the back chimney's inlet is aligned with the channel's back open end, for enabling passage of air from the at least one channel to the back chimney; wherein the air intake is at least partially aligned with the air intake hole, and the grill is configured for drawing air via the air intake, such that the drawn air passes through the air intake hole, the channel, the back chimney, and exits the back chimney's outlet.
11. A vertical grill, comprising: a housing which comprises a front panel, a back panel, a bottom panel, a right panel, and a left panel; a back chimney extending vertically and bounded by a back frame member within the housing and the back panel, the back chimney having an inlet and an outlet, the inlet being in the form of one or more first openings in the back frame member, and the outlet being a second opening which is higher than the inlet; a first air intake located at at least one of the grill's left panel, right panel, back panel, and bottom panel; a removable tray module comprising: a front side, back side, bottom side, and left and right sides; a slide positioned at an incline between the front and back sides, configured to direct fats and break away solids away from back side to the front side of the tray; at least one channel covered by the slide and configured for air flow, the channel having a front open end and a back open end, the back open end being aligned with the tray module's back side; an external receptacle positioned at the front side of the tray, wherein the slide leads into the receptacle so that fats and break away solids may be channeled into the external receptacle after traveling downwards along the incline of the slide; an air intake hole in at least one side of the tray module configured to allow external air into the tray module and into the at least one channel; wherein the removable tray module is configured for being slid into and out of the grill via an aperture in the front panel, such that when the tray module is in an operating position inside the grill, the tray module's back side rests against the back frame and the back chimney's inlet is aligned with the channel's back open end, for enabling passage of air from the at least one channel to the back chimney; wherein the air intake is at least partially aligned with the air intake hole, and the grill is configured for drawing air via the air intake, such that the drawn air passes through the air intake hole, the channel, the back chimney, and exits the back chimney's outlet.
2. The vertical grill of claim 1 wherein the aperture of the grill's front panel is sized such that a gap exists between the lowermost point of the grill's front panel and the uppermost point of the tray module when the tray module is in the operating position, the gap enabling passage of air from outside along the slide.
12. The vertical grill of claim 11 wherein the aperture of the grill's front panel is sized such that a gap exists between the lowermost point of the grill's front panel and the uppermost point of the tray module when the tray module is in the operating position, the gap enabling passage of air from outside along the slide.
3. The vertical grill of claim 2 comprising a front frame member inside the housing, such that the front panel and the front member form a front chimney; wherein the front chimney is configured for drawing at least some of the outside air via the gap.
13. The vertical grill of claim 12 comprising a front frame member inside the housing, such that the front panel and the front member form a front chimney; wherein the front chimney is configured for drawing at least some of the outside air via the gap.
4. The vertical grill of claim 1 wherein the grill has removable side heat shields inside the vertical grill.
14. The vertical grill of claim 11 wherein the grill has removable side heat shields inside the vertical grill.
5. The vertical grill of claim 1, wherein the heat shield is located beneath a cooking basket and is configured for directing fats and break away solids generated during the cooking process onto the slide.
15. The vertical grill of claim 11, wherein the heat shield is located beneath a cooking basket and is configured for directing fats and break away solids generated during the cooking process onto the slide.
6. The vertical grill of claim 1 comprising: a cooking basket for holding food is in the middle of the grill; at least one heat generating device located near the cooking basket; and at least one removable heat shield located between the heat generating device and a panel of the housing closest to the heat generating device.
16. The vertical grill of claim 11 comprising: a cooking basket for holding food is in the middle of the grill; at least one heat generating device located near the cooking basket; and at least one removable heat shield located between the heat generating device and a panel of the housing closest to the heat generating device.
7. The grill of claim 1, wherein: the back panel comprises at least one vent hole; the back frame member comprises at least one vent opening aligned with the vent hole; the back side of the removable tray module comprises at least one back aperture aligned with the vent hole and the vent opening, thus enabling air flow from outside via the vent hole, the vent opening, and the back aperture into the channel.
17. The grill of claim 11, wherein: the back panel comprises at least one vent hole; the back frame member comprises at least one vent opening aligned with the vent hole; the back side of the removable tray module comprises at least one back aperture aligned with the vent hole and the vent opening, thus enabling air flow from outside via the vent hole, the vent opening, and the back aperture into the channel.
8. The grill of claim 7, comprising a wall between the back panel and the back frame member, the wall being located above the vent hole and the vent opening and below the inlet of the back chimney, so as to prevent entry of air from the vent hole into the back chimney.
18. The grill of claim 17, comprising a wall between the back panel and the back frame member, the wall being located above the vent hole and the vent opening and below the inlet of the back chimney, so as to prevent entry of air from the vent hole into the back chimney.
9. The grill of claim 1, comprising one or more first legs configured for elevating the bottom panel of the grill with respect to a surface upon which the grill is located, wherein: the bottom panel is recessed with respect to the front panel; the drip tray module comprises one or more second legs configured for elevating the external receptacle with respect to a surface upon which the grill is located; at least one of the left side and the right side of the drip tray module comprises an extension extending downward, and configured for engaging the bottom panel of the grill to prevent forward movement of the drip tray module inside the grill; and the front open end of at least one channel is configured for enabling passage of air via a first space between the bottom panel and the surface upon which the grill is located and/or via a second space between the external receptacle and the surface upon which the grill is located.
19. The grill of claim 11, comprising one or more first legs configured for elevating the bottom panel of the grill with respect to a surface upon which the grill is located, wherein: the bottom panel is recessed with respect to the front panel; the drip tray module comprises one or more second legs configured for elevating the external receptacle with respect to a surface upon which the grill is located; at least one of the left side and the right side of the drip tray module comprises an extension extending downward, and configured for engaging the bottom panel of the grill to prevent forward movement of the drip tray module inside the grill; and the front open end of at least one channel is configured for enabling passage of air via a first space between the bottom panel and the surface upon which the grill is located and/or via a second space between the external receptacle and the surface upon which the grill is located.
Claims 1, 3, 8, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9, 10, 11, and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 9,883,770. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined claims are anticipated by the reference claims.
Claim 1 is anticipated by ‘770 claim 10. ‘770 claim 10 recites every limitation of instant claim 1, as well as additional limitations directed to the slide surfaces and the step, as shown in Table 1. Claim 1 is likewise anticipated by each of ‘770 claims 11-14. See In re Goodman.
Claim 3 is anticipated by ‘770 claim 11, which recites every limitation of instant claims 1 and 3, as well as the floor members and apertures, as shown in Table 1.
Claim 8 is anticipated by ‘770 claim 13. ‘770 claim 13 recites every limitation of claim 1, as shown in Table 1, and further recites “a plate is made of metal.” Construed in light of the ‘770 specification, that plate is the slide, and a metal slide is formed from a heat conductive material (col. 8, lns. 5-6 : “the slide 2 is made of metal”; col. 3, lns. 42-44 : “the slide is formed from a heat conductive material to enable heat exchange between the air flowing below the plate and the discarded waste sliding on the plate”) as recited in instant claim 8. The recited heat exchange is a result of that material.
Claim 20 is anticipated by ‘770 claim 9, which, its dependence on ‘770 claim 1, recites every limitation of instant claim 20, as shown in Table 2.
Table 2
U.S. Patent (US 9,883,770)
(like language bolded)
Claims under examination (18/589,346)
(like language bolded)
13. ...
wherein a plate is made of metal and the drip tray module includes magnets configured to attach the metal plate to the tray module.
8. The drip tray module of claim 1,
wherein the slide is formed from a heat conductive material to enable heat exchange between the air flowing below the plate and the discarded waste sliding on the plate.
1. A vertical grill, comprising: a housing which comprises
a front panel, a back panel, a bottom panel, a right panel, and a left panel; a back chimney extending vertically and bounded by a back frame member within the housing and the back panel, the back chimney having an inlet and an outlet, the inlet being in the form of one or more first openings in the back frame member, and the outlet being a second opening which is higher than the inlet; a first air intake located at at least one of the grill's left panel, right panel, back panel, and bottom panel;
...
9. The grill of claim 1, comprising
one or more first legs configured for elevating the bottom panel of the grill with respect to a surface upon which the grill is located, wherein: the bottom panel is recessed with respect to the front panel; ...
20. A grill comprising: a housing which comprises
a front panel, a back panel, a bottom panel, a right panel, and a left panel; a back chimney extending vertically and bounded by a back frame member within the housing and the back panel, the back chimney having an inlet and an outlet, the inlet being in the form of one or more openings in the back frame member, and the outlet being an aperture which is higher than the inlet; a first air intake located at at least one of the grill's left panel, right panel, back panel, and bottom panel;
one or more first legs configured for elevating the bottom panel of the grill with respect to a surface upon which the grill is located, wherein, the bottom panel is recessed with respect to the front panel.
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 9,883,770 in view of Gschwind (US 5878657 A) hereinafter Gschwind ‘657.
‘770 claim 12 recites every limitation of instant claim 5 except that the slide is removable from the bottom tray. ‘770 claim 12 recites the drip tray module “formed from a bottom tray and the slide,” but does not teach that the slide is removable from the bottom tray.
However, Gschwind ‘657 teaches a cooking device in which inclined grease-draining hollow sections 6 are inserted into cut-outs 52, 53 and are “capable of being easily pulled out from the device for cleaning without requiring the release of special fixtures” (Fig. 8; col. 2, lns. 24-25).
Gschwind ‘657 is analogous art because it is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, namely grilling devices with cooled grease drainage. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drip tray module of ‘770 claim 12 so that the slide is removable from the bottom tray, in order to allow the slide to be “easily pulled out from the device for cleaning without requiring the release of special fixtures” (Gschwind ‘657, col. 2, lns. 24-25), thereby permitting the slide of ‘770 claim 12 to removed from the bottom tray and cleaned separately.
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 9,883,770 in view of Wells (US 4574770 A).
‘770 claim 10 recites every limitation of instant claim 7 except that ‘770 claim 10 recites the air intake hole “in at least one side of the tray module” without specifying the left or right side.
However, Wells teaches a grease-catching pan 62 and heat shield 66 forming an air flow channel 68 that is open at its lateral end (Fig. 7), wherein “[a]ir is allowed to flow through channel 68 as indicated by arrows 70 to cool pan 62” (col. 4, lns. 39-41).
Wells is analogous art because it is from the same field of endeavor, namely air-cooled grease collection in cooking devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, provide at least one opening in the left or right side of the tray module of ‘770 claim 10, in order to allow air “to flow through channel 68... to cool pan 62, whereby the temperature of pan 62 remains below the temperature at which grease will ignite” (col. 4, lns. 39-43), thereby admitting cooling air through a lateral side of the tray module of ‘770 claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wells (US 4574770 A).
Regarding claim 1, Wells discloses, in Fig. 6, a drip tray module (annotated Fig. 6: “drip tray module” including 62, “grease-catching pan” or “pan”, and 66, “heat shield”) for a grill (title: “Cooking Grill Grease Catcher”) configured to catch fats and break away solids generated during the cooking process (col. 4, lns. 34-35: “A grease-catching pan 62 extends across the bed of coals 58 to catch grease drippings”; col. 4, lns. 45-46: “the grease flows around its periphery and drops off the lowest point as illustrated at 72,” to be caught by the pan 62 as shown in Fig. 6; the pan 62 is located beneath food 50 so as to catch material dropping from the food, and is therefore capable of catching break away solids as well as fats), comprising:
a front side (annotated Fig. 7: “front side”; the side of the pan 62 at the trough 64), back side (annotated Fig. 7: “back side”; the side of the pan 62 opposite the trough 64), bottom side (66, “heat shield”), and left and right sides (annotated Fig. 7: “left and right sides”; the lateral end faces of the pan 62 and the heat shield 66);
a slide (62, “pan”) positioned at an incline between the front and back sides (Fig. 6 shows the pan 62 sloping downward toward the trough 64 at the front side), configured to direct fats and break away solids away from back side to the front side of the tray (col. 4, lns. 34-36: “grease-catching pan 62 extends across the bed of coals 58 to catch grease drippings and direct them to trough 64 for subsequent collection in a pail”; the downward slope of the pan 62 toward the front side is capable of directing break away solids landing on the pan 62 toward the front side in the same manner);
at least one channel (68, “air flow channel” or “channel”) for air flow (col. 4, lns. 39-40: “Air is allowed to flow through channel 68 as indicated by arrows 70”) covered by the slide (62) (col. 4, lns. 37-39: “A heat shield 66 extends between the coals 58 and pan 62 to prevent direct radiation of the pan 62 and to form air flow channel 68”; Fig. 6 shows the configuration);
an external receptacle (64, “trough”) positioned at the front side of the tray (shown in annotated Fig. 7; the trough 64 extends outside the base 56 and the hood 60, as shown in Fig. 6), wherein the slide (62) leads into the receptacle (64) (Figs. 6-7 show the configuration) so that fats and break away solids may be channeled into the external receptacle (64) after traveling downwards along the incline of the slide (62) (col. 4, lns. 34-36; the trough 64 is capable of receiving break away solids traveling down the pan 62);
an air intake hole (annotated Fig. 6: “air intake hole”) in at least one side of the tray module (annotated Fig. 6 shows the air intake hole at the front side of the tray module; col. 4, lns. 53-55: “the trough 64 and air channel entry being bent portions of the pieces”) configured to allow cool external air into the tray module (col. 4, lns. 39-41: “Air is allowed to flow through channel 68 as indicated by arrows 70 to cool pan 62”).
The recitations of “fats and break away solids” are directed to the material worked upon by the claimed drip tray module, which does not limit an apparatus claim. See MPEP 2115. Further, the recitations “configured to catch” and “configured to direct” are met by prior art structure capable of performing the recited functions. See MPEP 2114 (I)-(II); In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1478, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Fig. 6 of Wells, annotated
Fig. 7 of Wells, annotated
Regarding claim 7, Wells discloses the drip tray module of claim 1, further comprising at least one opening in either the left or right side of the tray (annotated Fig. 7: the airflow channel 68 between the pan 62 and the heat shield 66 is open at its lateral ends, providing an opening in each of the left and right sides).
Regarding claim 8, Wells discloses the drip tray module of claim 1, wherein the slide (62) is formed from a heat conductive material (col. 4, lns. 52-52: “pan 62 and shield 66 are preferably made of single pieces of metal”) to enable heat exchange between the air flowing below the plate and the discarded waste sliding on the plate (col. 4, lns. 39-42: “Air is allowed to flow through channel 68 as indicated by arrows 70 to cool pan 62, whereby the temperature of pan 62 remains below the temperature at which grease will ignite”).
As set forth in the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection above, “the plate” is interpreted as the slide, and “the discarded waste” is interpreted as the fats and break away solids.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wells (US 4574770 A), in view of Gschwind (US 6502504 B1) hereafter Gschwind ’504.
Regarding claim 3, Wells teaches the drip tray module of claim 1, wherein spacers (74, “spacers”) support the slide and maintain a gap between the heat shield 66 and the slide (col. 4, lns. 55-56: “Spacers 74 are used to maintain the air flow channel 68 between the pan 62 and shield 66”), with air flowing from the front side toward the back side (arrows 70; see Figs. 6-7).
Wells does not explicitly teach a plurality of ribs defining a plurality of channels, supporting the slide and maintaining a gap between the floor of the channels and the slide to provide air channels under the slide which enable air to flow through openings in a front end and of the channels out of openings in the back end of the channels, the back end of the channels being on the back side of the drip tray module.
However, Gschwind ’504 teaches, in Figs. 2-3, a plurality of ribs (22, 23, “vertical walls”) defining a plurality of channels (2, “chamber”, of each of the plurality of hollow profiles 12), supporting the slide (11, “run-off groove”) and maintaining a gap between the floor of the channels (24, “traverse”) and the slide to provide air channels under the slide (col. 7, ln. 64-col. 8, ln. 1: “a run-off groove 11 having a V-shaped cross section which is placed on the walls 22, 23 of the basic profile 12”) which enable air to flow through openings in a front end and of the channels out of openings in the back end of the channels (col. 7, lns. 24-27: “The chamber 2 is open at its other opposite end. Said open end can be used to suck in cool ambient air through the chamber 2”; the opposite end of each chamber 2 is connected to the flue conduit 7, through which the air exists; see Fig. 2).
Gschwind ’504 is analogous art to the claimed invention because it is from the same field of endeavor, namely grills having air-cooled surfaces for draining food juices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the spacers 74 of Wells to be a plurality of ribs defining a plurality of air channels under the pan 62, as taught by Gschwind ’504, in order to provide channels “flowed through by a coolant which reduces the hollow profile temperature to such an extent that the juices will not char” (Gschwind ’504, col. 6, lns. 59-61), thereby cooling the pan 62 of Wells through a plurality of air channels extending from the front side to the back side of the drip tray module, the back end of the channels being on the back side of the drip tray module.
Figs. 2-3 of Gschwind ’504
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wells (US 4574770 A), in view of Gschwind (US 5878657 A) hereafter Gschwind ’657.
Regarding claim 5, Wells teaches the drip tray module of claim 1, wherein the module is formed from a bottom tray (66, “heat shield”) and the slide, the slide (62, “pan”) (col. 4, lns. 52-53: “pan 62 and shield 66 are preferably made of single pieces of metal”; see Fig. 7).
Wells does not explicitly teach the slide being removable from the bottom tray.
However, Gschwind ‘657 teaches, in Fig. 8, a grease-draining member (6, “hollow sections”; col. 4, lns. 11-14: “The hollow sections 6 ... are provided ... with a channel 10... for receiving and draining the juices from the grilled food”) being removable (col. 2, lns. 21-25: “the hollow sections... are capable of being easily pulled out from the device for cleaning without requiring the release of special fixtures”).
Gschwind ’657 is analogous art to the claimed invention because it is from the same field of endeavor, namely grilling devices with cooled surfaces for draining food juices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the pan 62 of Wells to be removable from the heat shield 66, as taught by Gschwind ‘657, in order for it to be “capable of being easily pulled out from the device for cleaning without requiring the release of special fixtures” (Gschwind ‘657, col. 2, lns. 24-25), thereby allowing the pan 62 of Wells to be separated from the heat shield 66 and cleaned.
Fig. 8 of Gschwind ‘657
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGowan (US 4979436 A), in view of West (US 20130019760 A1).
Regarding claim 20, McGowan teaches, in Figs. 1-4, a grill (1, “smoking and baking apparatus”; abstract: “barbequing and grilling may be accomplished with the water pan removed”; col. 3, lns. 25-26: “smoking and baking, as well as grilling and barbequing apparatus”) comprising:
a housing (2, “cabinet”) which comprises a front panel (13, “cooking chamber doors,” and 16, “firebox door”), a back panel (3, “outer shell” at the back of the cabinet 2), a bottom panel (11, “bottom panel”), a right panel, and a left panel (3, “outer shell,” at the sides of the cabinet 2; see Fig. 4);
a back chimney (9, “chimney chamber,” defined by the chimney 6) extending vertically (col. 4, lns. 38-41: “A duct or chimney 6 is vertically oriented in that portion of the smoke channel 5 of the cabinet 2 which extends across the back of the cabinet 2”) and bounded by a back frame member (4, “inner shell”) within the housing and the back panel (3) (Fig. 4 shows the chimney chamber 9 between the inner shell 4 and the outer shell 3 at the back of the cabinet 2), the back chimney having an inlet (7, “chimney inlet”) and an outlet (8, “chimney outlet”), the inlet being in the form of one or more openings in the back frame member (col. 4, lns. 41-42: “a chimney intel 7, which projects through the inner shell 4”), and the outlet being an aperture which is higher than the inlet (col. 4, lns. 43-44: “a chimney outlet 8, which opens to the atmosphere through the outer shell 3 near the top panel 17”); and
a first air intake (27, “adjustable air vent”) located at at least one of the grill’s left panel, right panel, back panel, and bottom panel (Fig. 1 shows the air vent 27 on a side panel of the outer shell 3).
Figs. 1-4 of McGowan
McGowan does not explicitly teach one or more first legs configured for elevating the bottom panel of the grill with respect to a surface upon which the grill is located, wherein, the bottom panel is recessed with respect to the front panel.
However, West, teaches, in Fig. 3, one or more first legs (18, “leg”; see also 16, “caster”) configured for elevating the bottom panel of the grill with respect to a surface upon which the grill is located ([0019]: “The smoker can use a caster 16 and a leg 18 to permit easy moving and positioning of the smoker”), wherein, the bottom panel is recessed with respect to the front panel ([0020]: “the insulated cabinet 10 at the front of the firebox 28 can angle outward”; Fig. 3 shows the bottom panel of the cabinet 10 terminating rearward of the forward-most portion of the front of the cabinet 10, with the leg 18 at the recessed front-bottom corner).
Fig. 3 of West, annotated
McGowan and West are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of upright cabinet cooking appliances such as smokers and grills. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include one or more legs elevating the bottom panel 11, with the bottom panel 11 recessed with respect to the front panel and a leg positioned at the recessed front-bottom corner, as taught by West, in order to “permit easy moving and positioning the smoker” (West, [0019]), thereby elevating the bottom panel 11 of McGowan above the surface upon which the cabinet 2 is located, with the bottom panel 11 recessed with respect to the front panel 13, 16.
Further, recessing the bottom panel 11 of McGowan with respect to the front panel 13, 16 would have been an obvious rearrangement of parts, since shifting the position of the bottom panel 11 would not have modified the operation of the cabinet 2 of McGowan. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Moses (US 4119021 A), Berger (US 3989028 A), Maxwell (US 3098428 A).
/J.J.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/ERWIN J WUNDERLICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761