DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5,10-15,20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Rico Alvarino et al. (US Application 2020/0252972, hereinafter Rico).
Regarding claims 1,10, 20,Rico discloses an apparatus, a method (Figs. 6, 10, 14-17) for wireless communication at a network device(105), and a wireless device(115) comprising:
at least one memory(1025,1430); and
at least one processor (1020,1420) coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on stored information that is stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination ([0145]-[0146],[0169]-[0170]), is configured to:
transmit and receive, to a user equipment (UE)(115), a configuration for a partitioning of a set of random access channel (RACH) resources ([0116], which recites base station 105-b may transmit one or more PRACH resource configurations indicating the set of PRACH resources. For example, base station 105-b may transmit an indication of the PRACH resource configurations in a SIB. In some cases, base station 105-b may signal a single PRACH resource configuration that may be used for “enhanced” operations (i.e., with OCCs), “legacy” operations (i.e., without OCCs), or both) between a first class of wireless devices supporting orthogonal cover codes (OCC) for data transmission during a RACH procedure and a second class of wireless devices not supporting the OCC([0046]-[0047][0103], which recites wireless systems may include a first subset of UEs 115 that may apply OCCs to RACH preamble repetitions and a second subset of UEs 115 that may not support OCC functionality for RACH preamble repetitions. The first subset of UEs 115 may be referred to as “enhanced” or “new” UEs 115, while the second subset of UEs 115 may be referred to as “legacy” or “pre-Release 14” UEs 115. The enhanced UEs 115 may determine whether a signaled PRACH resource configuration supports the application of OCCs to RACH preambles, while the legacy UEs 115 may not be capable of making this determination,)for data transmission during the RACH procedure([0183]-[0185], which recites the UE 115 may identify, from the set of PRACH resources, a subset of PRACH resources for performing system access using OCCs. The UE 115 may identify, from the set of PRACH resources, a second subset of PRACH resources not configured for supporting OCCs);
receive and transmit, based on the configuration, a preamble associated with the RACH procedure via a first RACH resource in the set of RACH resources that is associated with the first class of wireless devices([0119]-[0120],[0187], which recites the reception of RACH preamble message response associated with wireless devices class);
monitor, transmit a second RACH resource in the set of RACH resources for a data transmission associated with the RACH procedure based on the preamble([0080]-[0083], which recites monitoring the PRACH resources, may detect and receive one or more of the RACH preamble transmissions, and may respond with a RACH preamble response message. The RACH preamble response message may be based on whether the UE 115 used an OCC, and/or which OCC the UE 115 used. Enhancing the PRACH resources with OCC functionality may increase the capacity of the PRACH, allowing more UEs 115 to perform system access procedure at any given time), a multiplexing order([0083], which recites UE 115 transmit repeated RACH preamble messages 215 using code division multiplexing (CDM) with a cover code, such as a cover code using code values of [+1, −1] (e.g., in one specific case, a UE 115 (not shown) may transmit two preambles with code [+1, +1], and UE 115 transmit two preambles with code [+1, −1]). The OCCs may provide an orthogonal CDM dimension to transmissions of RACH preamble messages 215 by different UEs 115 across the same or overlapping sets of subframes), and an OCC index associated with the OCC applied to the data transmission([0142],[0193] which recites DCI component 955 may receive a DCI transmission 952 including an OCC index, a random access preamble, or both, where determining whether to perform system access on the cell using the subset PRACH resources is based on the DCI transmission); and
transmit, when the data transmission is received based on the monitoring of the second RACH resource, an additional message of the RACH procedure([0119]-[0120], [0187], which recites base station 105 may transmit a RACH preamble response message to UE 115 in response to the RACH preamble message. Base station 105-b may include, in the RACH preamble response, a RACH preamble identifier, such as the preamble index, an RNTI, an OCC index used by UE 115 for transmitting the RACH preamble message).
Regarding claims 2, 11, 12, Rico discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the set of RACH resources includes preamble sequences and the preamble associated with the RACH procedure is selected from a first set of preamble sequences associated with the first class of wireless devices([0046]-[0047][0103]); or the set of RACH resources includes RACH occasions (ROs) and the first RACH resource is a first RO associated with the first class of wireless devices([0046]-[0047][0103]).
Regarding claims 3, 13, Rico discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the configuration for the partitioning of the set of RACH resources is indicated in one of a system information block (SIB) or a radio resource control (RRC) message(Abstract,[0047],[0109],[0118]).
Regarding claims 4, 14, Rico discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second RACH resource is in a subset of RACH physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) occasions (POs) associated with the first class of wireless devices([0046]-[0047][0103]).
Regarding claims 5, 15, Rico discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the RACH procedure is a two-step RACH procedure and the preamble and the data transmission are associated with a first message of a first step of the two-step RACH procedure, wherein the first message indicates the multiplexing order and a row of an OCC matrix associated with the data transmission, and wherein the OCC index is mapped to a combination of the multiplexing order and the row of the OCC matrix([0080]-[0083]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-9,16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rico in view of Harrison et al. (US Application 2022/0294588, hereinafter Harrison).
Regarding claims 6,16, Rico discloses the apparatus of claim 5 as addressed above, except wherein the second RACH resource is associated with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) resource identifier value, wherein the DMRS resource identifier value is mapped to at least one of a DMRS port number, a code division multiplexing group number, a sequence number, or the OCC index.
However, Harrison teaches the second RACH resource is associated with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) resource identifier value, wherein the DMRS resource identifier value is mapped to at least one of a DMRS port number, a code division multiplexing group number, a sequence number, or the OCC index([0052],[0107]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Harrison with the teaching of Rico by using the above features such as the second RACH resource is associated with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) resource identifier value, wherein the DMRS resource identifier value is mapped to at least one of a DMRS port number, a code division multiplexing group number, a sequence number, or the OCC index as taught by Harrison for the purpose of determining a subset of the plurality of DMRS ports for the PUSCH in the 2-step random access procedure (Abstract).
Regarding claims 7, 17, Rico discloses the apparatus of claim 6 as addressed above, except wherein the preamble is mapped to the second RACH resource for the data transmission based on one or more of: a frequency resource index for a frequency multiplexed PO; the OCC index; the DMRS resource identifier value; a time resource index for time multiplexed POs; and an index for a configured number of PUSCH slots
However, Harrison teaches the preamble is mapped to the second RACH resource for the data transmission based on one or more of: a frequency resource index for a frequency multiplexed PO; the OCC index; the DMRS resource identifier value; a time resource index for time multiplexed POs; and an index for a configured number of PUSCH slots ([0052],[0107]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Harrison with the teaching of Rico by using the above features such as the preamble is mapped to the second RACH resource for the data transmission based on one or more of: a frequency resource index for a frequency multiplexed PO; the OCC index; the DMRS resource identifier value; a time resource index for time multiplexed POs; and an index for a configured number of PUSCH slots as taught by Harrison for the purpose of determining a subset of the plurality of DMRS ports for the PUSCH in the 2-step random access procedure (Abstract).
Regarding claims 8,18, Rico discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as addressed above, except wherein the RACH procedure is a four-step RACH procedure and the preamble is associated with a first message of the four-step RACH procedure and the data transmission is associated with a third message of the four-step RACH procedure.
However, Harrison teaches the RACH procedure is a four-step RACH procedure and the preamble is associated with a first message of the four-step RACH procedure and the data transmission is associated with a third message of the four-step RACH procedure([0003]-[0005],[0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Harrison with the teaching of Rico by using the above features such as the RACH procedure is a four-step RACH procedure and the preamble is associated with a first message of the four-step RACH procedure and the data transmission is associated with a third message of the four-step RACH procedure as taught by Harrison for the purpose of determining a subset of the plurality of DMRS ports for the PUSCH in the 2-step random access procedure (Abstract).
Regarding claims 9, 19, Rico discloses the apparatus of claim 8 as addressed above, except wherein a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: transmit, to the UE via the transceiver in a second message of the four-step RACH procedure, an indication of the multiplexing order and the OCC index associated with the OCC applied to the data transmission associated with the third message.
However, Harrison teaches a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: transmit, to the UE via the transceiver in a second message of the four-step RACH procedure, an indication of the multiplexing order and the OCC index associated with the OCC applied to the data transmission associated with the third message ([0003]-[0005],[0052]-[0054] ,[0107]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Harrison with the teaching of Rico by using the above features such as a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: transmit, to the UE via the transceiver in a second message of the four-step RACH procedure, an indication of the multiplexing order and the OCC index associated with the OCC applied to the data transmission associated with the third message (Abstract).
Conclusion
/DADY CHERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418