DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
As of the Office Action dated December 3, 2025 claims 1-20 were pending and claims 1-20 stood rejected. Claims 1-20 have been amended. No claims have been added or cancelled. Claims 1-20 are therefore currently pending and are presented for examination on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument with regard to the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection of claims 1-20 has been fully considered but is not persuasive. As an initial matter Examiner would respectfully point out that the current guidance with regard to patent subject matter eligibility is now incorporated into the MPEP in section 2106 as of November 2024 and it is this guidance that formed the basis of Examiner’s determination. The operations of measuring a charge status of a battery and a charging rate of a charging source of the battery of a vehicle can be viewed as nothing more than necessary data gathering which does not distinguish the claim in terms of eligibility as all computer implemented claims require data gathering and nothing in the claims suggest anything other than the use of any unusual means for measuring the charge status or the charging rate. The operations of determining a remaining time until charging of the vehicle is complete based on the measured charge status of the battery and the charging time of the battery is complete can be viewed as being part of the abstract idea as it merely requires making observations such as reading a battery gauge and charging information on the charger in question and then evaluating that information in order to determine an approximate charging time which can be done in the human mind or with the aid of pen and paper. Once an approximation is formed identifying multi-media content that comprises a playing time that completes before the remaining time until charging of the vehicle is complete merely requires making an observation as to whether the playing time of the content either exceeds or is less than the approximate time for charging the battery. The operation of actually playing the multi-media content is nothing more than extra-solution activity as it mere data-outputting based on the performance of the operations that are part of the abstract idea and nothing in the claim suggests that playing the multi-media content requires the use of anything more than a general purpose computer. As a whole the operations do nothing more than organize human activity. The operations can be categorized as either being mere instructions to implement the abstract idea or as operations performing the necessary data gathering and outputting necessary to realize the abstract idea and none of the data gathering and outputting operations form a practical application of the abstract idea or amount to anything more than the abstract idea but merely tie the claim to a particular technological environment. Therefore under Prongs One and Two of Step 2A the claim is directed towards ineligible subject matter and as the operations do not require anything that would be recognized by those of ordinary skill as relying on unconventional means for gathering and outputting data the claims do not form an inventive concept under Step 2B. Viewing the claim as a whole does not alter this conclusion. Therefore the present rejection of claims 1-20 as being directed towards ineligible subject matter will be maintained.
Applicant’s argument with regard to the 35 U.S.C. 112 (a) rejection of claims 2, 6, 7, 9, 13, 14, 16 and 20 has been fully considered and is persuasive. Accordingly the rejection will be withdrawn.
Applicant’s argument with regard to the 35 U.S.C. 112 (d) rejection of claims 6, 7, 13, 14 and 20 has been fully considered and is persuasive. Accordingly the rejection will be withdrawn.
Applicant’s argument with regard to the 35 U.S.C. § 102 (a)(2) rejection of claims 1-5, 8-12 and 15-19 as being anticipated by Hu et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0384105, hereinafter referred to as Hu) has been fully considered but is not persuasive. Hu teaches the prediction of charging times at paragraph 0025 that “As another example, the battery management system 162 may manage the charge, discharge, and general operation of the battery to maximize its efficiency. This may include predicting charge times based on current charge as well as other considerations such as ambient temperature, historical charging data, charger capability (rating, such as amps per minute), etc. The battery management system may also be connected to the CAN bus system or as part of an automotive ethernet” and this prediction of charging time clearly relies on both the current charge of the battery and the charger capability. With regard to the remainder of the argument the actual claim imposes no preconditions on whether the content is already being consumed or is initiating and the recitation of paragraph 0030 of Hu when read by those skilled in the art would not be limited to these particular situations as paragraph 0029 of Hu states that the recommendation module “…can receive information and transmit information concerning a user's activities, which may include current, past and planned activities utilizing entertainment and/or productivity applications (collectively referred to herein as “entertainment applications”) 170 and the like” which clearly does not limit Hu to only content that is being “currently” consumed but also anticipates content that has yet to start. Therefore as this argument is not persuasive the existing rejection of the claims as being anticipated by Hu will be maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites a method and therefore meets eligibility step 1 of the Patent Subject Matter eligibility analysis (MPEP § 2106.03).
The analysis then proceeds to Step 2A of the Patent Eligibility Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis. Step 2A is a Two Prong inquiry in which examiners determine in Prong One whether a claim recites a judicial exception, and if so, then determine in Prong Two if the recited judicial exception is integrated into a practical application of that exception. Claim 1 recites determining a remaining time until charging of a vehicle is complete, identifying multi-media content that comprises a playing time that completes before the remaining time until charging of the vehicle is complete and transmitting the multi-media content to the vehicle during the remaining time. The claim can be viewed as falling into two categories of abstract ideas as offering content to individuals while they are waiting for an event to occur or complete is a form of managing personal behavior as it is similar to providing reading material such as magazines or a service such as free guest WiFi in a waiting room (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II)(C)). It can also be viewed as a mental process (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)(3) as a human being can make an observation regarding how much charge needs to be added to a battery and make an approximation as to how much time will be consumed in charging the battery, particular after multiple instances of observation, and determine what activities can be performed within a particular time window and subsequently engage in one or more of those activities which would include viewing or playing content. Therefore under Prong One of Step 2A claim 1 is deemed as being directed towards ineligible subject matter.
The analysis then moves to Prong Two of Step 2A in order to determine whether the claim is integrated into a practical application of the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.04(d)). The claim recites a vehicle but does not recite that the vehicle is performing the operations of the claim and the vehicle can be interpreted as only being the object of the operations. No improvement to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technological field is recited in the claim (MPEP § 2106.05(a)). There are no other meaningful limitations in the claim present in the claim (MPEP § 2106.05(e)). The claim does not recite any details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished and only recites the idea of a solution or outcome (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). The operations of measuring a charge status of a battery of a vehicle using at least one sensor and a charging rate of a charging source of the battery and determining a remaining time until charging the vehicle is complete based on the measured charge status of the battery and the charging rate of the charging source can be viewed as pre-solution activity and playing the multi-media content on a display device of the vehicle during the remaining time can be viewed as post-solution activity (MPEP § 2106.05(g)) as these operations only involve data gathering and outputting. As the vehicle does not actively participate in the operations of the claim and merely serves as an object that is being operated upon the recitation of the vehicle only serves as a field of use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)). Therefore under Prong Two of Step 2A claim 1 is deemed as being directed towards ineligible subject matter.
The analysis then proceeds to Step 2B in which the claim is evaluated in order to determine whether the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05). No improvement to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technological field is recited in the claim (MPEP § 2106.05(a)). There are no other meaningful limitations in the claim present in the claim (MPEP § 2106.05(e)). The claim does not recite any details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished and only recites the idea of a solution or outcome (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). As the operations are taking place at somewhere other than the recited vehicle the determining a remaining time until charging a vehicle is complete can be viewed as pre-solution activity and the transmitting of content to the vehicle can be viewed as post-solution activity (MPEP § 2106.05(g)) as it only involves data gathering and outputting. As the vehicle does not actively participate in the operations of the claim and merely serves as an object that is being operated upon the recitation of the vehicle only serves as a field of use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)). The operations of measuring a charge status of a battery and a charging rate of a charging source of a battery would be recognized by those skilled in the art as elements that are well understood, routine and conventional as they merely require either the manual use of conventional test equipment common to both vehicles and repair facilities for determining the status of a battery or simply reading a gauge on the vehicle in question and utilizing the rating guide for the charger in question (Level 1, Level 2, DC fast) (MPEP § 2106.05(d)). Therefore under Step 2B claim 1 is deemed as being directed towards ineligible subject matter.
Claim 2 recites “…identifying an application associated with a profile of an occupant of the vehicle; and initiating the application while the vehicle is charging during the remaining time. These operations can also be viewed as being both involving organization of human activity and a mental process. No improvement to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technological field is recited in the claim (MPEP § 2106.05(a)). There are no other meaningful limitations in the claim present in the claim (MPEP § 2106.05(e)). The claim does not recite any details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished and only recites the idea of a solution or outcome (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). As the operations are taking place at somewhere other than the recited vehicle the identifying an application associated with a profile of an occupant of the vehicle and initiating the application while the vehicle is charging when the remaining time is within a time duration to use the application can be viewed as post-solution activity (MPEP § 2106.05(g)) as it only involves data gathering and outputting. As the vehicle does not actively participate in the operations of the claim and merely serves as an object that is being operated upon the recitation of the vehicle only serves as a field of use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)). Therefore under Steps 2A and 2B claim 2 is held as being directed towards ineligible subject matter.
Claim 3 recites “…identifying at least on action performed by an occupant while using an application; and enabling at least one vehicle function responsive to the at least one action identified in the application. These operations can also be viewed as being both involving organization of human activity and a mental process. No improvement to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technological field is recited in the claim (MPEP § 2106.05(a)). There are no other meaningful limitations in the claim present in the claim (MPEP § 2106.05(e)). The claim does not recite any details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished and only recites the idea of a solution or outcome (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). As the operations are taking place at somewhere other than the recited vehicle the identifying one or more actions performed by an occupant while using an application can be viewed as pre-solution activity and the enabling one or more vehicle functions responsive to the one or more actions identified in the application can be viewed as post-solution activity (MPEP § 2106.05(g)) as it only involves data gathering and outputting. As the vehicle does not actively participate in the operations of the claim and merely serves as an object that is being operated upon the recitation of the vehicle only serves as a field of use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)). Therefore under Steps 2A and 2B claim 3 is held as being directed towards ineligible subject matter.
Claim 4 recites “…wherein the at least one vehicle function comprise at least one of a chair movement, a change in air ventilation speed or temperature, a change in light control, and a change in an air infuser”. These operations can also be viewed as being both involving organization of human activity and a mental process. No improvement to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technological field is recited in the claim (MPEP § 2106.05(a)). There are no other meaningful limitations in the claim present in the claim (MPEP § 2106.05(e)). The claim does not recite any details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished and only recites the idea of a solution or outcome (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). As the operations are taking place at somewhere other than the recited vehicle the operations can be viewed as post-solution activity (MPEP § 2106.05(g)) as it only involves data gathering and outputting. As the vehicle does not actively participate in the operations of the claim and merely serves as an object that is being operated upon the recitation of the vehicle only serves as a field of use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)). Therefore under Steps 2A and 2B claim 4 is held as being directed towards ineligible subject matter.
Claim 5 recites “…wherein the multi-media content comprises streaming content of a game associated with an occupant of the vehicle”. This operation can also be viewed as being both involving organization of human activity and a mental process. No improvement to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technological field is recited in the claim (MPEP § 2106.05(a)). There are no other meaningful limitations in the claim present in the claim (MPEP § 2106.05(e)). The claim does not recite any details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished and only recites the idea of a solution or outcome (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). As the operation is taking place at somewhere other than the recited vehicle the operation can be viewed as post-solution activity (MPEP § 2106.05(g)) as it only involves data gathering and outputting. As the vehicle does not actively participate in the operations of the claim and merely serves as an object that is being operated upon the recitation of the vehicle only serves as a field of use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)). Therefore under Steps 2A and 2B claim 5 is held as being directed towards ineligible subject matter.
Claim 6 recites “…determining that playing of the multi-media content has ended at an updated remaining time; and determining not to initiate another multi-media content based on the updated remaining time. These operations can also be viewed as being both involving organization of human activity and a mental process. No improvement to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technological field is recited in the claim (MPEP § 2106.05(a)). There are no other meaningful limitations in the claim present in the claim (MPEP § 2106.05(e)). The claim does not recite any details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished and only recites the idea of a solution or outcome (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). As the operations are taking place at somewhere other than the recited vehicle they can be viewed as pre-solution activity (MPEP § 2106.05(g)) as it only involves data gathering and outputting. As the vehicle does not actively participate in the operations of the claim and merely serves as an object that is being operated upon the recitation of the vehicle only serves as a field of use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)). Therefore under Steps 2A and 2B claim 6 is held as being directed towards ineligible subject matter.
Claim 7 recites “…determining the charging is complete; determining the playing of the multi-media content is not completed; and forwarding the multi-media content to a user device. These operations can also be viewed as being both involving organization of human activity and a mental process. No improvement to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technological field is recited in the claim (MPEP § 2106.05(a)). There are no other meaningful limitations in the claim present in the claim (MPEP § 2106.05(e)). The claim does not recite any details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished and only recites the idea of a solution or outcome (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). As the operations are taking place at somewhere other than the recited vehicle and user device t determining the charging is complete and determining a game session associated with the application is not completed can be viewed as pre-solution activity and forwarding game session data to a user device can be viewed as post-solution activity (MPEP § 2106.05(g)) as it only involves data gathering and outputting. As the vehicle does not actively participate in the operations of the claim and merely serves as an object that is being operated upon the recitation of the vehicle only serves as a field of use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)). Therefore under Steps 2A and 2B claim 7 is held as being directed towards ineligible subject matter.
Claims 8-14 are directed towards the system for performing the method of claims 1-7 and recites a processor and a memory where the processor performs the operations of claims 8-14. The analysis under Steps 2A and 2B would only change from the standpoint that claims 8-14 having recited the actor would not be viewed as pre-solution and post-solution activity. The analysis under (MPEP § 2106.05(a)), (MPEP § 2106.05(e)) and (MPEP § 2106.05(f)) would lead to the same conclusion under Steps 2A and 2B and the analysis under (MPEP § 2106.05(h)) would lead to a different conclusion that claims 8-14 are merely indicative of a particular technological environment. Therefore claims 8-14 are also deemed as being directed towards ineligible subject matter.
Claims 15-20 are directed towards the non-transitory computer readable medium that cause a processor to perform the operations of claims 1-6. The analysis under Steps 2A and 2B would only change from the standpoint that claims 15-20 having recited the actor would not be viewed as pre-solution and post-solution activity. The analysis under (MPEP § 2106.05(a)), (MPEP § 2106.05(e)) and (MPEP § 2106.05(f)) would lead to the same conclusion under Steps 2A and 2B and the analysis under (MPEP § 2106.05(h)) would lead to a different conclusion that claims 15-20 are merely indicative of a particular technological environment. Therefore claims 15-20 are also deemed as being directed towards ineligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-12 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hu et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0384105, hereinafter referred to as Hu).
As per claims 1, 8 and 15
Hu discloses measuring a charge status of a battery of a vehicle using at least one sensor and a charging rate of a charging source of the battery (0025 “As another example, the battery management system 162 may manage the charge, discharge, and general operation of the battery to maximize its efficiency. This may include predicting charge times based on current charge as well as other considerations such as ambient temperature, historical charging data, charger capability (rating, such as amps per minute), etc. The battery management system may also be connected to the CAN bus system or as part of an automotive ethernet.”)
Hu discloses determining a remaining time until charging of the vehicle is complete based on the measured charge status of the battery and the charging rate of the charging source (0012 “In one or more embodiments, presenting recommendations includes comparing at least… the length of time to charge”, 0025 “As another example, the battery management system 162 may manage the charge, discharge, and general operation of the battery to maximize its efficiency. This may include predicting charge times based on current charge as well as other considerations such as ambient temperature, historical charging data, charger capability (rating, such as amps per minute), etc. The battery management system may also be connected to the CAN bus system or as part of an automotive ethernet.”, 0030 “In some embodiments, the recommendation module 150 of the server 142 may receive the content information form the user device 155 and the battery charge information from the vehicle 101 and the recommendation may be determined by the recommendation module 150. The recommendation may be communicated to the user device 155 for presentation to the user via the user interface 174 or 164”)
Hu discloses identifying multi-media content that comprises a playing time that completes before the remaining time until charging of the vehicle is complete (0012 “In one or more embodiments, presenting recommendations includes comparing at least… the length of time to charge”, 0025 “As another example, the battery management system 162 may manage the charge, discharge, and general operation of the battery to maximize its efficiency. This may include predicting charge times based on current charge as well as other considerations such as ambient temperature, historical charging data, charger capability (rating, such as amps per minute), etc. The battery management system may also be connected to the CAN bus system or as part of an automotive ethernet.”, 0030 “In some embodiments, the recommendation module 150 of the server 142 may receive the content information form the user device 155 and the battery charge information from the vehicle 101 and the recommendation may be determined by the recommendation module 150. The recommendation may be communicated to the user device 155 for presentation to the user via the user interface 174 or 164”)
Hu discloses playing the multi-media content on a display device of the vehicle during the remaining time (0026 “The function of entertainment module 130 may include entertainment recommendations while charging. Vehicle on board computer 110 may include a display, such as a touchscreen having softkeys (graphical icons), and a biometric component (to enable facial recognition, a fingerprint scanner, or a microphone for voice command input)”, 0043 “Block 430 provides determining, based on the charge state of the electric vehicle that a length of time to charge the electric vehicle satisfies a timing requirement associated with the content. For example, entertainment module 130 may interact with battery management system 162 and network 140 to determine that a length of time required to charge coincides with content playing on user device 155. Further, entertainment module 130 may receive a content identifier identifying the content being consumed by the user, and a marker identifying a time period associated with the content”)
Per claim 8 Hu discloses a memory and a processor (0050 “Implementations of the systems, apparatuses, devices, and methods disclosed herein may comprise or utilize one or more devices that include hardware, such as, for example, one or more processors and system memory, as discussed herein”)
Per claim 15 Hu discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium (0052 “In the context of this document, a “non-transitory computer-readable medium” can be, for example but not limited to, an electronic, magnetic, optical, electromagnetic, infrared, or semiconductor system, apparatus, or device”)
As per claims 2, 9 and 16
Hu discloses identifying an application associated with a profile of an occupant of the vehicle (0029 “This information and other information identifying the user device or an account associated with the user device may be communicated by the recommendation module to the server 142 or and/or the entertainment module 130. In some embodiments, the recommendation module 169 of the user device 155 may receive data form the battery management system 162 of the vehicle 101 regarding the charge status of the battery 111 and determine to make a recommendation to the user via the user interface 174 for charging the vehicle battery 111 at a charging station while continuing to consume the content currently being consumed via user device 155 using the vehicle entertainment module 130 and user interface 165 (e.g., display 164) while the vehicle 101 is being charged”, 0034 “One or more database(s) 252 associated with the server 242 may be configured for storing user data (e.g., user account information associate with the vehicle 101 and/or user device 155), charge station information collected by the charging station module 280, and content consumption data pertaining to the user device 155 and entertainment apps 170. The recommendation module may also collect data from the user device 155 concerning what a user of user device 155 may be watching, planning to watch or logged”)
Hu discloses initiating the application while the vehicle is charging during the remaining time (0037 “If not, the decision flow returns to before block 302. If yes, the decision flow continues to decision block 320 asking whether the same application or same content via another application is available in the electric vehicle, for instance, vehicle 101. If not, the decision flow goes to block 330, do nothing. If yes, the decision flows to block 340, determine a length of time to charge, cost for using the charging services at a charging station. For example, as shown in FIG. 1, a length of time to charge, cost for using the charging services may be available over network connection 140, and collected for charging stations in a vicinity at cloud server 142. For example, an application running on user device 155 may connect with cloud server 142, which uses location services to collect data concerning nearby charging stations with different speed charging costs and options and provide either raw data or compile the data within cloud server 142 to provide a list of relevant charging stations to user device 155”, 0043 “Block 430 provides determining, based on the charge state of the electric vehicle that a length of time to charge the electric vehicle satisfies a timing requirement associated with the content. For example, entertainment module 130 may interact with battery management system 162 and network 140 to determine that a length of time required to charge coincides with content playing on user device 155”)
As per claims 3, 10 and 17
Hu discloses identifying at least one action performed by an occupant while using an application (0022 “In one implementation, battery management system 162 can be an independent device, a thin client relying on cloud-based application data, or a part of vehicle computer 110. In another implementation, some or all components of battery management system 162 can be housed, merged, or can share functionality, with ADAS 161 and/or the vehicle computer 110 or a cloud server accessible through network. For example, an integrated unit that combines the functionality of battery management system 162 with that of ADAS 161 can be operated by a single processor and a single memory device”, 0026 “The function of entertainment module 130 may include entertainment recommendations while charging. Vehicle on board computer 110 may include a display, such as a touchscreen having softkeys (graphical icons), and a biometric component (to enable facial recognition, a fingerprint scanner, or a microphone for voice command input)”)
Hu discloses enabling at least one vehicle function responsive to the at least one action identified in the application (0019 “The example components can include a sensor system 112, including both internal and external cameras, vehicle control components 126, infotainment system 160 with display system 164 having a GUI which may be used for carrying out various operations including, for example, by a driver to input a level of responsiveness for Driver Assistance System (ADAS) 161 to perform an operation. A further example component may include a battery management system 162. The various components are communicatively coupled to each other via one or more buses such as an example bus 163, which may be implemented using various wired and/or wireless technologies”, 0029 “Thus, the applications 170 running on user device 155 may interact with a recommendation module 169 to communicate with entertainment module 130. This may include receiving information on the content being consumed by the user via one of the entrainment applications 170, such as the identification of a movie the user is viewing via a user interface 174 (e.g., the display and speaker(s) associated with user device 155), as well as the place within the movie that the user is current inly watching, such as a time stamp of time remaining or time elapsed. This information and other information identifying the user device or an account associated with the user device may be communicated by the recommendation module to the server 142 or and/or the entertainment module 130”)
As per claims 4, 11 and 18
Hu discloses wherein at least one vehicle function comprises at least one of a chair movement, a change in air ventilation speed or temperature, a change in light control, and a change in an air infuser (0016 “Electric vehicle 101 requires charging at a charging station, which may be implemented in a variety of ways to include components that are accessible via a communications network 140, such as user device 155 used by a user associated with electric vehicle 101. The computer 110, in one or more embodiments, and may perform various functions such as controlling engine operations (speed control, braking, etc.), managing climate controls (air conditioning, heating etc.), activating airbags, and issuing warnings (check engine light, bulb failure, low tire pressure, vehicle in a blind spot, etc.). The computer 110, in one or more embodiments, may be used to support features such as passive keyless operations, remotely-controlled vehicle maneuvering operations, and remote vehicle monitoring operations”, 0021 “Sensor system 112 can include various types of sensors such as, for example, a weight sensor, an external and internal camera capable of facial detection, a radar detector, a front-facing camera, and others on vehicle 101. Vehicle control components 126 can include various components and systems associated with driving functions of electric vehicle 101 and its various other functions (such as, for example, stocks and struts whose characteristics can be controlled for varying a performance of vehicle 101). The various components may be controlled, activated, and/or operated by the vehicle computer 110, ADAS 161, and the battery management system 162”, 0023 “An I/O interface 165 may be configured to provide communications between the components of computer 110, such as between battery management system 162 and other such as sensor system 112, the vehicle control components 126 (for overriding commands issued by ADAS 161 and for providing enhanced operations), infotainment system 160, and entertainment module 130”, 0029 “User device 155 is shown as a mobile device or a wireless device of a user that may be using an entertainment or productivity application, but may include a set of wired or wireless communication devices that can communicate with vehicle 101 or with the network 140 in a manner that allows the user device 155 to communicate with the vehicle on-board computer 110”)
As per claims 5, 12 and 19
Hu discloses wherein the multi-media content comprises streaming content of a game associated with an occupant of the vehicle (0018 “Memory 146, in one embodiment, includes an application/module such as a module that further receives data from user device 155, which may be stored in database(s) 152 to receive data identifying current applications running on user device 155, and if the application is time limited, such as a video or game, data identifying a time period remaining. Additionally, in one embodiment, cloud server 142, user device 155 or both, may have location services capable of collecting data identifying where user device 155 is located, where vehicle 101 is located, and locations of charging stations. In one or more embodiments, cloud server 142 or an application running on user device 155 may operate as a recommendation engine collects the location data and charging station data and the entertainment applications running on communications device 155 and presents options for continuing applications such as videos and games at a charging station”, 0029 “For example, user device 155 may have a memory 156 that includes entertainment applications 170 such as Netflix, Hulu or Amazon Prime, a productivity application such as Word, a conferencing application such as Zoom, Skype or the like, or a video game such as an interactive game, Twitch, Mario Bros., or Chess, or an online class”, 0045 “Further, if there are the same applications available, a recommendation may be to port the application from the wireless device 155 to vehicle 101 to a user. Thus, for example, user applications may include movies, video games, streaming services and productivity applications”)
Statement Regarding the Prior Art
Examiner did not find prior art that fairly taught or suggested the operations of claims 6, 7, 13, 14 and 20. However as other there are other issues outstanding with these claims that must be addressed Examiner is withholding any statement at this time with regard to the presence of allowable subject matter.
Pertinent Art not Cited
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kinsey (U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0148042, now U.S. Patent 11,948,174) discloses a combination of electric vehicle charger and kiosk that displays media content at the kiosk
Lee (Korean Patent Publication KR 20250127474 A) discloses an electric vehicle charging device that includes a game recommendation device that will choose a game that can be played within the remaining charging time.
Yamazaki (Japanese Patent Publication JP2025006966 A) discloses an electric vehicle charging device that includes recommendations for content to be played during the charging period.
Deuel et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0302374, hereinafter referred to as Deuel) discloses a combination of electric vehicle charger and entertainment that will alter content in order to fit the content within the time remaining to charge the vehicle.
Kim et al. (Korean Patent Publication 20210036178) discloses a combination of electric vehicle charger with multimedia service
Kyomitsu (Japanese Patent Publication JP 2025004810 A) discloses a combination of electric vehicle charger with a content service that includes food and beverage delivery
Gas Station TV, retrieved from https://web.archive.org/web/20101030042729/https://www.gstv.com/, scrape date of October 30, 2010, 2 pages describes a system that has been in use at gasoline pumps since at least the date of the scrape that provides entertainment and news at the pump to viewers while they are filling up their vehicles.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES D NIGH/Senior Examiner, Art Unit 3699