DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The current application claims priority to U.S. provisional application no. 63/487408, filed on 28 February 2023. The effective filing date is 28 February 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 25 November 2024 was considered by the examiner.
Status of Application, Amendments, and/or Claims
Claims 1-56 are the original claims. In the preliminary amendment of 05 June 2024, claims 19-22 and 37-47 were cancelled, claims 3-8, 11, 14-16, 23-29, and 31-36 were amended, and claims 48-56 were added. Claims 1-18, 23-36, and 48-56 are pending and the subject of this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 5-6, 7-13, 14, 15, 16-18, 24-25, 26-27, 28-30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 48-49, and 50-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2022074628 A1 (herein Sidhu).
In regard to claims 1-3, Sidhu relates to synthetic multivalent binding molecules that bind to the spike protein of SARS-CoV-2 and compete with receptor binding to inhibit viral infection (Abstract). The molecules disclosed by are Sidhu are taught to “exploit the modular nature of antibodies and antibody-derived molecules to generate multivalent antibody formats with enhanced potency against the SARS-CoV-2 virus” ([0007]). The authors define "antibody" to include human antibodies, humanized antibodies, monoclonal antibodies, polyclonal antibodies, antibody binding fragments, single chain and other chimeric antibodies (Relevant to instant claim 14) ([0080]). The term “format”, as referenced above, is defined as referring to multivalent binding molecules, which may include neutralizing antibodies (Relevant to instant claim 15) ([0095]). SPIKE. The authors disclose multiple multivalent binding molecule formats that teach the limitations established in various claims of the current application, in which Fc domains are used as multimerization moieties (Figure 5). It is also taught that the Fc domain may be comprised of IgG domains, such as IgG1 or IgG subclasses (Relevant to instant claims 16-18) ([0080]).
Format 44 of Figure 5, shown below, teaches the limitations of instant claims 1 and 2 (4 anti-spike antigen binding domains operably linked by a Fc multimerization domains). Additionally, it teaches the limitations of instant claims 24 and 25, as the antigen binding domains are all Fabs.
This figure and the accompanying description are silent regarding the nature of the intermolecular disulfide bond (depicted as a grey sphere), which is shown to be in the linkage between CH1 and CH2 regions. Sequence 74 of the application (Page 182) provides an amino acid sequence embodying this format, as well as the nucleic acid encoding said amino acid sequence (Relevant to instant claim 31). The sequence comprising the Fc domains comprises an IgG1 hinge region, which links the CH1 region of an anti-spike Fab to the CH2 region of the Fc domain, as shown below.
DIQMTQSPSSLSASVGDRVTITCRASQSVSSAVAWYQQKPGKAPKLLIYSASDLYSGVPSRFSGSRSGTDFTLTISSLQPEDFATYYCQQGSYLFTFGQGTKVEIKRTVAAPSVFIFPPSDEQLKSGTASVVCLLNNFYPREAKVQWKVDNALQSGNSQESVTEQDSKDSTYSLSSTLTLSKADYEKHKVYACEVTHQGLSSPVTKSFNRGECSGGGGSGGGGSGGGGSEVQLVESGGGLVQPGGSLRLSCAASGFDLTGSYMHWVRQAPGKGLEWVAGISASGGATAYADSVKGRFTISADTSKNTAYLQMNSLRAEDTAVYYCARSRSSSYSSSGWRYYSGAFDYWGQGTLVTVSSASTKGPSVFPLAPSSKSTSGGTAALGCLVKDYFPEPVTVSWNSGALTSGVHTFPAVLQSSGLYSLSSVVTVPSSSLGTQTYICNVNHKPSNTKVDKKVEPKSCDKTHTCPPCPAPELLGGPSVFLFPPKPKDTLMISRTPEVTCVVVDVSHEDPEVKFNWYVDGVEVHNAKTKPREEQYNSTYRVVSVLTVLHQDWLNGKEYKCKVSNKALPAPIEKTISKAKGQPREPQVYTLPPSREEMTKNQVSLTCLVKGFYPSDIAVEWESNGQPENNYKTTPPVLDSDGSFFLYSKLTVDKSRWQQGNVFSCSVMHEALHNHYTQKSLSLSPGK
VL-CL
Linker
VH-CH1
Hinge
Fc Domain
In regard to claim 4, format 41 of figure 5 discloses a multivalent anti-spike protein binding molecule, that teaches the limitations of instant claim 4, as shown below.
In regard to claims 5 and 6, Sidhu teaches an embodiment, in which the multivalent anti-spike protein binding molecule comprises two polypeptide monomers, each comprising an Fc region, that dimerizes via the intrinsic properties of the Fc region. It is also taught that the resulting dimer may be homodimeric or heterodimeric (via the knob-in-holes configuration) ([0018]).
In regard to claims 7-9, 11, and 12, Sidhu discloses a format (format 44 figure 5), that teaches the limitations of instant claim 3, discussed above. The amino acid sequence of an example embodiment of this format, sequence 74 (Page 182), is a monospecific multivalent anti-spike protein binding molecule, and by its nature satisfies the limitations, regarding antigen binding domain configuration, established in instant claims 7-9, 11, and 12.
In regard to claims 50-52, 54, and 55, Sidhu discloses a format (format 41 figure 5), that teaches the limitations of instant claim 4, discussed above. The amino acid sequence of an example embodiment of this format, sequence 68 (Page 170), is a monospecific multivalent anti-spike protein binding molecule, and by its nature satisfies the limitations, regarding antigen binding domain configuration, established in instant claims 50-52, 54, and 55.
In regard to claims 28-30, Sidhu teaches that the disclosed multivalent anti-spike protein binding molecule may be either monospecific or multispecific, wherein not all binding sites bind the same epitope ([0020]).
In regard to claim 27 and 28, format 21 of figure 5, shown below, teaches a multivalent anti-spike protein binding molecule comprising four scFvs, which teaches the limitations of claims 17 and 18.
In regard to claim 32, Sidhu teaches an embodiment including a recombinant cell producing a multivalent binding molecule, as described for 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of claim 1 ([0042]).
In regard to claim 33, Sidhu teaches a method for producing a multivalent binding molecule, as described for 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of claim 1 ([0045])
In regard to claim 34, Sidhu teaches a pharmaceutical composition, comprising a multivalent binding molecule, as described for 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of claim 1, as well as an acceptable carrier, diluent or excipient ([0169]).
In regard to claims 35 and 36, Sidhu teaches a method for inhibiting a coronavirus infection of a cell having a receptor for the coronovirus by contacting the cell with an effective amount of a multivalent binding molecule that targets the coronavirus ([0037]). It is also taught that the abovementioned receptor may be ACE2. It is additionally, taught that the method may be used for the treatment of a subject infected with a coronavirus ([0039]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 13, 53, and 56, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2022074628 A1 (herein Sidhu).
Sidhu teaches a multivalent anti-spike protein binding molecules that embody the limitations established in instant claims 3 and 4, see 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejections of claims 3 and 4. Additionally, Sidhu teaches that these molecules may be either monospecific or multispecific/bispecific ([0020]). The limitations established in claims 10, 13, 53, and 56 reference the configuration of the antigen binding domains in a bi-specific tetravalent anti-spike protein binding molecule (2 pairs of Fab moieties each targeting a different epitope). The differences in these configurations result in multivalent molecules with Fab arms that comprise either two identical Fab moieties or two distinct Fab moieties. Based on the examiner’s understanding of the results presented for examples 1-3 of the specification, it is not apparent that the applicant tested configurations, in which the Fab arms comprised mixed Fab moieties, and as such there is no evidence that such a configuration would possess different properties from a configuration, in which the Fab arms comprised identical Fab moieties. In this scenario, the selection of either configuration would have been a matter of design choice, as both configurations possess 2 pairs of Fab moieties each targeting a different epitope.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1, 14, 16, 23-25, 28-36 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14, and 34-40 of co-pending Application No. 18/589364 (herein ‘364). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 of ‘364 references “a multivalent anti-spike protein binding molecule comprising at least 5 anti-spike protein antigen-binding domains (ABD) operably linked by one or more multimerization moieties”. Claim 1 of the current application, which states “a multivalent anti-spike protein binding molecule comprising at least 4 anti-spike protein antigen-binding domains (ABD) operably linked by one or more multimerization moieties”. These claims encompass overlapping molecules, as the upper limit of ABDs is undefined in both claims, as a result any multivalent molecule, as defined in both claims, which comprises 5 or more ABDs would be encompassed by both claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 23 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12496470 (herein ‘470) in view of WO2022074628 A1 (herein Sidhu).
Claim 1 of ‘470 references an antibody or antigen binding fragment thereof that specifically binds to a CoV-S, wherein the antibody or antigen-binding fragment comprises various sets of heavy and light chain CDRs. One set, SEQ ID Nos: 552, 554, 556, 84, EVS, and 560, share 100% sequence identity with those established in instant claim 23. This claim, as well as the additionally cited dependent claims, encompass the multivalent anti-spike protein binding molecule, referenced in instant claims 23, as this molecule is comprised of the CDR claimed in claim 1 of ‘470. Furthermore, the use of this antigen binding fragment in a multivalent anti-spike protein binding molecule, as taught Sidhu, would have been obvious, as claim 2 ‘470 teaches that the claimed antibodies possess characteristics (high affinity toward CoV-S, in vivo efficacy), which align with the requirements established in claim 1 of Sidhu, regarding the nature of the antigen binding fragment (e.g. the binding fragment must bind a coronavirus peptide), within said multivalent anti-spike protein binding molecule.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/MATTHEW CURRAN METCALF/Examiner, Art Unit 1647 /JOANNE HAMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1647