DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 28, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al (CN 109714488 A), and further in view of Abdel Shahid et al (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0303914). Hereinafter Feng and Abdel Shahid.
Regarding claim 1, Feng discloses a radio-frequency circuit comprising:
a power amplifier circuit that supports a predetermined power class which allows for first maximum output power, the first maximum output power being maximum output power of power class 2 or higher (the terminal device includes base-band processor that includes amplifier that support HPUE, and realize the radio frequency signal to the antenna output port of power maximum reaching 26 dBm, page 4 paragraphs 3 – 9; power class 2 has maximum transmit power of 26 dBm, and power class 3 has transmit power of 23 dBm, page 1 paragraph 6 – page 2 paragraph 1); and
a first filter circuit that is connected to the power amplifier circuit and that has a pass band including an uplink operating band of a first band (the terminal device includes base-band processor that includes filter connected to amplifier for filtering the radio frequency band, page 4 paragraphs 3 – 9), wherein
the predetermined power class is applied to transmission of a signal of the first band (the terminal device tests the data transmission rate and the SAR value of high power mode, and transmits the stored measurement result of each high-power mode of data transmission rate measuring result and the SAR value, page 4 paragraph 12 – page 5 paragraph 1; the terminal device uses predetermined SAR threshold selected first high power mode, where the SAR value under the first high power mode is less than the preset threshold, page 6 paragraph 10 – page 7 paragraph 5; the first high power mode operates with emitting power of 26dBm, page 5 paragraphs 2 – 9),
(i) if a first SAR (Specific Absorption Rate), which is found at a time of the transmission of a signal of the first band with the first maximum output power, does not exceed a standard value, the power amplifier circuit amplifies a signal of the first band so that output power of the signal of the first band is limited to the first maximum output power (the terminal device tests the data transmission rate and the SAR value of high power mode, and transmits the stored measurement result of each high-power mode of data transmission rate measuring result and the SAR value, page 4 paragraph 12 – page 5 paragraph 1; the terminal device having at least two high power mode in the SAR value, and the terminal device uses predetermined SAR threshold selected first high power mode, where the first high power mode is the smallest (i.e. SAR value X), and the SAR value corresponds to the second high power mode of table 1 (i.e. SAR value Y), page 6 paragraph 10 – page 7 paragraph 5; the first high power mode operates with emitting power of 26dBm, page 5 paragraphs 2 – 9; the SAR value X is under the predetermined value and SAR value Y exceeds the predetermined value), and
(ii) if the first SAR exceeds the standard value, the power amplifier circuit amplifies a signal of the first band so that output power of the signal of the first band is limited to the first maximum output power and so that output power of the signal of the first band is limited to second maximum output power, the second maximum output power being lower than the first maximum output power (the terminal device tests the data transmission rate and the SAR value of high power mode, and transmits the stored measurement result of each high-power mode of data transmission rate measuring result and the SAR value, page 4 paragraph 12 – page 5 paragraph 1; the terminal device having at least two high power mode in the SAR value, and the terminal device adjusts the working mode of the high power mode, where the first high power mode is the smallest (i.e. SAR value X), and the SAR value corresponds to the second high power mode of table 1 (i.e. SAR value Y), page 6 paragraph 10 – page 7 paragraph 5; the second high power mode operates with emitting power of 23 dBm, page 5 paragraphs 2 – 9; the SAR value X is under the predetermined value and SAR value Y exceeds the predetermined value).
However, Feng does not explicitly disclose “a first band for Frequency Division Duplex” and “the predetermined power class is applied to transmission of a signal of the first band in a first period, the first period includes first and second sub-periods, (i) if a first SAR (Specific Absorption Rate), which is found at a time of the transmission of a signal of the first band with the first maximum output power in the first period, the power amplifier circuit amplifies a signal of the first band so that output power of the signal of the first band is limited to the first maximum output power in the first and second sub-periods, and (ii) if the first SAR exceeds the standard value, the power amplifier circuit amplifies a signal of the first band so that output power of the signal of the first band is limited to the first maximum output power in the first sub-period and so that output power of the signal of the first band is limited to second maximum output power in the second sub-period.” Abdel Shahid discloses power class are associated with specific duplexing modes and/or specific frequency bands, where power class is defined with frequency bands associated with frequency division duplexing (FDD) or time division duplexing (TDD) (paragraph [0032]); power class switcher that periodically determine whether to change the UE’s power class on a periodic basis, where the power class switcher evaluates whether to include a power class change indicator that instructs the UE to change its power class with respect to every radio frame transmitted by a base station, every ten radio frames transmitted by the base station, every hundred radio frames transmitted by the base station, or at any other interval, and the power class switch determines that radio condition metrics associated with the UE are at or below the predefined radio condition threshold to use first power class with higher maximum output power or to use second power class with lower maximum output power (paragraphs [0071], [0104] – [0108]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Feng and Abdel Shahid before him or her, to incorporate the power class switcher as taught by Abdel Shahid, to improve the terminal device adjusting the power class mode of Feng for the motivation of providing improved signal strengths, improved signal propagation ranges, improved reliability, higher data transfer speeds, and/or other benefits (paragraph [0110] of Abdel Shahid).
Regarding claim 2, Feng and Abdel Shahid disclose the radio-frequency circuit according to claim 1, Feng discloses wherein:
(i) if the first SAR does not exceed the standard value, the power amplifier circuit amplifies a signal of the first band so that output power of the signal of the first band is limited to the first maximum output power (the terminal device tests the data transmission rate and the SAR value of high power mode, and transmits the stored measurement result of each high-power mode of data transmission rate measuring result and the SAR value, page 4 paragraph 12 – page 5 paragraph 1; the terminal device having at least two high power mode in the SAR value, and the terminal device uses predetermined SAR threshold selected first high power mode, where the first high power mode is the smallest (i.e. SAR value X), and the SAR value corresponds to the second high power mode of table 1 (i.e. SAR value Y), page 6 paragraph 10 – page 7 paragraph 5; the first high power mode operates with emitting power of 26dBm, page 5 paragraphs 2 – 9; the SAR value X is under the predetermined value and SAR value Y exceeds the predetermined value); and
(ii) if the first SAR exceeds the standard value, the power amplifier circuit amplifies a signal of the first band so that output power of the signal of the first band is limited to the first maximum output power and so that output power of the signal of the first band is limited to the second maximum output power (the terminal device tests the data transmission rate and the SAR value of high power mode, and transmits the stored measurement result of each high-power mode of data transmission rate measuring result and the SAR value, page 4 paragraph 12 – page 5 paragraph 1; the terminal device having at least two high power mode in the SAR value, and the terminal device adjusts the working mode of the high power mode, where the first high power mode is the smallest (i.e. SAR value X), and the SAR value corresponds to the second high power mode of table 1 (i.e. SAR value Y), page 6 paragraph 10 – page 7 paragraph 5; the second high power mode operates with emitting power of 23 dBm, page 5 paragraphs 2 – 9; the SAR value X is under the predetermined value and SAR value Y exceeds the predetermined value).
However, Feng does not explicitly disclose “the first period includes third and fourth sub-periods which follow the first and second sub-periods; (i) if the first SAR does not exceed the standard value, the power amplifier circuit amplifies a signal of the first band so that output power of the signal of the first band is limited to the first maximum output power in the first, second, third, and fourth sub-periods; and (ii) if the first SAR exceeds the standard value, the power amplifier circuit amplifies a signal of the first band so that output power of the signal of the first band is limited to the first maximum output power in the first and third sub-periods and so that output power of the signal of the first band is limited to the second maximum output power in the second and fourth sub-periods.” Abdel Shahid discloses power class switcher that periodically determine whether to change the UE’s power class on a periodic basis, where the power class switcher evaluates whether to include a power class change indicator that instructs the UE to change its power class with respect to every radio frame transmitted by a base station, every ten radio frames transmitted by the base station, every hundred radio frames transmitted by the base station, or at any other interval, and the power class switch determines that radio condition metrics associated with the UE are at or below the predefined radio condition threshold to use first power class with higher maximum output power or to use second power class with lower maximum output power (paragraphs [0071], [0104] – [0108]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Feng and Abdel Shahid before him or her, to incorporate the power class switcher as taught by Abdel Shahid, to improve the terminal device adjusting the power class mode of Feng for the motivation of providing improved signal strengths, improved signal propagation ranges, improved reliability, higher data transfer speeds, and/or other benefits (paragraph [0110] of Abdel Shahid).
Regarding claim 3, Feng and Abdel Shahid disclose the radio-frequency circuit according to claim 2, but Feng does not explicitly disclose wherein:
a length of the first sub-period is identical to a length of the third sub-period; and
a length of the second sub-period is identical to a length of the fourth sub-period.
Abdel Shahid discloses power class switcher that periodically determine whether to change the UE’s power class on a periodic basis, where the power class switcher evaluates whether to include a power class change indicator that instructs the UE to change its power class with respect to every radio frame transmitted by a base station, every ten radio frames transmitted by the base station, every hundred radio frames transmitted by the base station, or at any other interval, and the power class switch determines that radio condition metrics associated with the UE are at or below the predefined radio condition threshold to use first power class with higher maximum output power or to use second power class with lower maximum output power (paragraphs [0071], [0104] – [0108]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Feng and Abdel Shahid before him or her, to incorporate the power class switcher as taught by Abdel Shahid, to improve the terminal device adjusting the power class mode of Feng for the motivation of providing improved signal strengths, improved signal propagation ranges, improved reliability, higher data transfer speeds, and/or other benefits (paragraph [0110] of Abdel Shahid).
Regarding claim 4, Feng and Abdel Shahid disclose the radio-frequency circuit according to claim 1, Feng discloses wherein:
the predetermined power class is applied to transmission of a signal of the first band (the terminal device tests the data transmission rate and the SAR value of high power mode, and transmits the stored measurement result of each high-power mode of data transmission rate measuring result and the SAR value, page 4 paragraph 12 – page 5 paragraph 1; the terminal device uses predetermined SAR threshold selected first high power mode, where the SAR value under the first high power mode is less than the preset threshold, page 6 paragraph 10 – page 7 paragraph 5; the first high power mode operates with emitting power of 26dBm, page 5 paragraphs 2 – 9); and
the power amplifier circuit amplifies a signal of the first band so that a difference between an average of maximum output power per unit time which is permitted for transmitting the signal of the first band and an average of maximum output power per unit time which is permitted for transmitting the signal of the first band becomes smaller than a predetermined threshold (the terminal device tests the data transmission rate and the SAR value of high power mode, and transmits the stored measurement result of each high-power mode of data transmission rate measuring result and the SAR value, page 4 paragraph 12 – page 5 paragraph 1; the terminal device having at least two high power mode in the SAR value, and the terminal device adjusts the working mode of the high power mode, where the first high power mode is the smallest (i.e. SAR value X), and the SAR value corresponds to the second high power mode of table 1 (i.e. SAR value Y), page 6 paragraph 10 – page 7 paragraph 5; the second high power mode operates with emitting power of 23 dBm, page 5 paragraphs 2 – 9; the SAR value X is under the predetermined value and SAR value Y exceeds the predetermined value, the maximum power output is smaller in the second high power mode).
However, Feng does not explicitly disclose “the predetermined power class is applied to transmission of a signal of the first band in a second period which follows the first period; and the power amplifier circuit amplifies a signal of the first band so that a difference between an average of maximum output power per unit time which is permitted for transmitting the signal of the first band in the first period and an average of maximum output power per unit time which is permitted for transmitting the signal of the first band in the second period becomes smaller than a predetermined threshold.”
Abdel Shahid discloses power class are associated with specific duplexing modes and/or specific frequency bands, where power class is defined with frequency bands associated with frequency division duplexing (FDD) or time division duplexing (TDD) (paragraph [0032]); power class switcher that periodically determine whether to change the UE’s power class on a periodic basis, where the power class switcher evaluates whether to include a power class change indicator that instructs the UE to change its power class with respect to every radio frame transmitted by a base station, every ten radio frames transmitted by the base station, every hundred radio frames transmitted by the base station, or at any other interval, and the power class switch determines that radio condition metrics associated with the UE are at or below the predefined radio condition threshold to use first power class with higher maximum output power or to use second power class with lower maximum output power (paragraphs [0071], [0104] – [0108]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Feng and Abdel Shahid before him or her, to incorporate the power class switcher as taught by Abdel Shahid, to improve the terminal device adjusting the power class mode of Feng for the motivation of providing improved signal strengths, improved signal propagation ranges, improved reliability, higher data transfer speeds, and/or other benefits (paragraph [0110] of Abdel Shahid).
Regarding claim 5, Feng and Abdel Shahid disclose the radio-frequency circuit according to claim 1, Feng discloses wherein the second maximum output power is lower than third maximum output power of power class 3 (the terminal device tests the data transmission rate and the SAR value of high power mode, and transmits the stored measurement result of each high-power mode of data transmission rate measuring result and the SAR value, page 4 paragraph 12 – page 5 paragraph 1; the terminal device having at least two high power mode in the SAR value, and the terminal device adjusts the working mode of the high power mode, where the first high power mode is the smallest (i.e. SAR value X), and the SAR value corresponds to the second high power mode of table 1 (i.e. SAR value Y), page 6 paragraph 10 – page 7 paragraph 5; the second high power mode operates with emitting power of 23 dBm, page 5 paragraphs 2 – 9; the SAR value X is under the predetermined value and SAR value Y exceeds the predetermined value).
Regarding claim 6, Feng and Abdel Shahid disclose the radio-frequency circuit according to claim 1, Feng discloses further comprising:
a second filter circuit that is connected to the power amplifier circuit and that has a pass band including a second band (the terminal device includes base-band processor that includes filter connected to amplifier for filtering the radio frequency band, page 4 paragraphs 3 – 9), wherein
the predetermined power class is also applied to transmission of a signal of the second band (the terminal device tests the data transmission rate and the SAR value of high power mode, and transmits the stored measurement result of each high-power mode of data transmission rate measuring result and the SAR value, page 4 paragraph 12 – page 5 paragraph 1; the terminal device uses predetermined SAR threshold selected first high power mode, where the SAR value under the first high power mode is less than the preset threshold, page 6 paragraph 10 – page 7 paragraph 5; the first high power mode operates with emitting power of 26dBm, page 5 paragraphs 2 – 9), and
the power amplifier circuit amplifies a signal of the second band so that output power of the signal of the second band is limited to the first maximum output power (the terminal device tests the data transmission rate and the SAR value of high power mode, and transmits the stored measurement result of each high-power mode of data transmission rate measuring result and the SAR value, page 4 paragraph 12 – page 5 paragraph 1; the terminal device having at least two high power mode in the SAR value, and the terminal device uses predetermined SAR threshold selected first high power mode, where the first high power mode is the smallest (i.e. SAR value X), and the SAR value corresponds to the second high power mode of table 1 (i.e. SAR value Y), page 6 paragraph 10 – page 7 paragraph 5; the first high power mode operates with emitting power of 26dBm, page 5 paragraphs 2 – 9; the SAR value X is under the predetermined value and SAR value Y exceeds the predetermined value).
However, Feng does not explicitly disclose “a second band for Time Division Duplex” and “the predetermined power class is also applied to transmission of a signal of the second band in a second period, the second period includes third and fourth sub-periods, and the power amplifier circuit amplifies a signal of the second band so that output power of the signal of the second band is limited to the first maximum output power in the third and fourth sub-periods”
Abdel Shahid discloses power class are associated with specific duplexing modes and/or specific frequency bands, where power class is defined with frequency bands associated with frequency division duplexing (FDD) or time division duplexing (TDD) (paragraph [0032]); power class switcher that periodically determine whether to change the UE’s power class on a periodic basis, where the power class switcher evaluates whether to include a power class change indicator that instructs the UE to change its power class with respect to every radio frame transmitted by a base station, every ten radio frames transmitted by the base station, every hundred radio frames transmitted by the base station, or at any other interval, and the power class switch determines that radio condition metrics associated with the UE are at or below the predefined radio condition threshold to use first power class with higher maximum output power or to use second power class with lower maximum output power (paragraphs [0071], [0104] – [0108]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Feng and Abdel Shahid before him or her, to incorporate the power class switcher as taught by Abdel Shahid, to improve the terminal device adjusting the power class mode of Feng for the motivation of providing improved signal strengths, improved signal propagation ranges, improved reliability, higher data transfer speeds, and/or other benefits (paragraph [0110] of Abdel Shahid).
Regarding claim 7, Feng and Abdel Shahid disclose the radio-frequency circuit according to claim 1, Feng discloses further comprising:
a second filter circuit that is connected to the power amplifier circuit and that has a pass band including a second band (the terminal device includes base-band processor that includes filter connected to amplifier for filtering the radio frequency band, page 4 paragraphs 3 – 9), wherein
the predetermined power class is also applied to transmission of a signal of the second band (the terminal device tests the data transmission rate and the SAR value of high power mode, and transmits the stored measurement result of each high-power mode of data transmission rate measuring result and the SAR value, page 4 paragraph 12 – page 5 paragraph 1; the terminal device uses predetermined SAR threshold selected first high power mode, where the SAR value under the first high power mode is less than the preset threshold, page 6 paragraph 10 – page 7 paragraph 5; the first high power mode operates with emitting power of 26dBm, page 5 paragraphs 2 – 9),
(iii) if a second SAR, which is found at a time of transmission of a signal of the second band with the first maximum output power in the second period, does not exceed the standard value, the power amplifier circuit amplifies a signal of the second band so that output power of the signal of the second band is limited to the first maximum output power (the terminal device tests the data transmission rate and the SAR value of high power mode, and transmits the stored measurement result of each high-power mode of data transmission rate measuring result and the SAR value, page 4 paragraph 12 – page 5 paragraph 1; the terminal device having at least two high power mode in the SAR value, and the terminal device uses predetermined SAR threshold selected first high power mode, where the first high power mode is the smallest (i.e. SAR value X), and the SAR value corresponds to the second high power mode of table 1 (i.e. SAR value Y), page 6 paragraph 10 – page 7 paragraph 5; the first high power mode operates with emitting power of 26dBm, page 5 paragraphs 2 – 9; the SAR value X is under the predetermined value and SAR value Y exceeds the predetermined value), and
(iv) if the second SAR exceeds the standard value, the power amplifier circuit amplifies a signal of the second band so that output power of the signal of the second band is limited to the first maximum output power in the third sub-period and so that output power of the signal of the second band is limited to the second maximum output power (the terminal device tests the data transmission rate and the SAR value of high power mode, and transmits the stored measurement result of each high-power mode of data transmission rate measuring result and the SAR value, page 4 paragraph 12 – page 5 paragraph 1; the terminal device having at least two high power mode in the SAR value, and the terminal device adjusts the working mode of the high power mode, where the first high power mode is the smallest (i.e. SAR value X), and the SAR value corresponds to the second high power mode of table 1 (i.e. SAR value Y), page 6 paragraph 10 – page 7 paragraph 5; the second high power mode operates with emitting power of 23 dBm, page 5 paragraphs 2 – 9; the SAR value X is under the predetermined value and SAR value Y exceeds the predetermined value).
However, Feng does not explicitly disclose “a second band for Time Division Duplex” “the predetermined power class is also applied to transmission of a signal of the second band in a second period, the second period includes third and fourth sub-periods, (iii) if a second SAR, which is found at a time of transmission of a signal of the second band with the first maximum output power in the second period, does not exceed the standard value, the power amplifier circuit amplifies a signal of the second band so that output power of the signal of the second band is limited to the first maximum output power in the third and fourth sub-periods, and (iv) if the second SAR exceeds the standard value, the power amplifier circuit amplifies a signal of the second band so that output power of the signal of the second band is limited to the first maximum output power in the third sub-period and so that output power of the signal of the second band is limited to the second maximum output power in the fourth sub-period.” Abdel Shahid discloses power class are associated with specific duplexing modes and/or specific frequency bands, where power class is defined with frequency bands associated with frequency division duplexing (FDD) or time division duplexing (TDD) (paragraph [0032]); power class switcher that periodically determine whether to change the UE’s power class on a periodic basis, where the power class switcher evaluates whether to include a power class change indicator that instructs the UE to change its power class with respect to every radio frame transmitted by a base station, every ten radio frames transmitted by the base station, every hundred radio frames transmitted by the base station, or at any other interval, and the power class switch determines that radio condition metrics associated with the UE are at or below the predefined radio condition threshold to use first power class with higher maximum output power or to use second power class with lower maximum output power (paragraphs [0071], [0104] – [0108]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Feng and Abdel Shahid before him or her, to incorporate the power class switcher as taught by Abdel Shahid, to improve the terminal device adjusting the power class mode of Feng for the motivation of providing improved signal strengths, improved signal propagation ranges, improved reliability, higher data transfer speeds, and/or other benefits (paragraph [0110] of Abdel Shahid).
Regarding claim 8, Feng and Abdel Shahid disclose the radio-frequency circuit according to claim 7, but Feng does not explicitly disclose wherein a value of a first ratio of a length of the first sub-period to a total length of the first and second sub-periods is different from a value of a second ratio of a length of the third sub-period to a total length of the third and fourth sub-periods.
Abdel Shahid discloses power class switcher that periodically determine whether to change the UE’s power class on a periodic basis, where the power class switcher evaluates whether to include a power class change indicator that instructs the UE to change its power class with respect to every radio frame transmitted by a base station, every ten radio frames transmitted by the base station, every hundred radio frames transmitted by the base station, or at any other interval, and the power class switch determines that radio condition metrics associated with the UE are at or below the predefined radio condition threshold to use first power class with higher maximum output power or to use second power class with lower maximum output power (paragraphs [0071], [0104] – [0108]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Feng and Abdel Shahid before him or her, to incorporate the power class switcher as taught by Abdel Shahid, to improve the terminal device adjusting the power class mode of Feng for the motivation of providing improved signal strengths, improved signal propagation ranges, improved reliability, higher data transfer speeds, and/or other benefits (paragraph [0110] of Abdel Shahid).
Regarding claim 9, Feng and Abdel Shahid disclose the radio-frequency circuit according to claim 8, but Feng does not explicitly disclose wherein the value of the first ratio is smaller than the value of the second ratio.
Abdel Shahid discloses power class switcher that periodically determine whether to change the UE’s power class on a periodic basis, where the power class switcher evaluates whether to include a power class change indicator that instructs the UE to change its power class with respect to every radio frame transmitted by a base station, every ten radio frames transmitted by the base station, every hundred radio frames transmitted by the base station, or at any other interval, and the power class switch determines that radio condition metrics associated with the UE are at or below the predefined radio condition threshold to use first power class with higher maximum output power or to use second power class with lower maximum output power (paragraphs [0071], [0104] – [0108]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Feng and Abdel Shahid before him or her, to incorporate the power class switcher as taught by Abdel Shahid, to improve the terminal device adjusting the power class mode of Feng for the motivation of providing improved signal strengths, improved signal propagation ranges, improved reliability, higher data transfer speeds, and/or other benefits (paragraph [0110] of Abdel Shahid).
Regarding claim 10, Feng and Abdel Shahid disclose the radio-frequency circuit according to claim 1, Feng discloses wherein:
(i) if the first SAR does not exceed the standard value, the power amplifier circuit amplifies a signal of the first band by using a first power supply voltage (the terminal device tests the data transmission rate and the SAR value of high power mode, and transmits the stored measurement result of each high-power mode of data transmission rate measuring result and the SAR value, page 4 paragraph 12 – page 5 paragraph 1; the terminal device having at least two high power mode in the SAR value, and the terminal device uses predetermined SAR threshold selected first high power mode, where the first high power mode is the smallest (i.e. SAR value X), and the SAR value corresponds to the second high power mode of table 1 (i.e. SAR value Y), page 6 paragraph 10 – page 7 paragraph 5; the first high power mode operates with emitting power of 26dBm, page 5 paragraphs 2 – 9; the SAR value X is under the predetermined value and SAR value Y exceeds the predetermined value, higher dBm means higher voltage used); and
(ii) if the first SAR exceeds the standard value, the power amplifier circuit amplifies a signal of the first band by using the first power supply voltage and amplifies the signal of the first band by using a second power supply voltage, the second power supply voltage being lower than the first power supply voltage (the terminal device tests the data transmission rate and the SAR value of high power mode, and transmits the stored measurement result of each high-power mode of data transmission rate measuring result and the SAR value, page 4 paragraph 12 – page 5 paragraph 1; the terminal device having at least two high power mode in the SAR value, and the terminal device adjusts the working mode of the high power mode, where the first high power mode is the smallest (i.e. SAR value X), and the SAR value corresponds to the second high power mode of table 1 (i.e. SAR value Y), page 6 paragraph 10 – page 7 paragraph 5; the second high power mode operates with emitting power of 23 dBm, page 5 paragraphs 2 – 9; the SAR value X is under the predetermined value and SAR value Y exceeds the predetermined value, lower dBm means lower voltage used).
However, Feng does not explicitly disclose “(i) if the first SAR does not exceed the standard value, the power amplifier circuit amplifies a signal of the first band by using a first power supply voltage in the first period, and (ii) if the first SAR exceeds the standard value, the power amplifier circuit amplifies a signal of the first band by using the first power supply voltage in the first sub-period and amplifies the signal of the first band by using a second power supply voltage in the second sub-period, the second power supply voltage being lower than the first power supply voltage.” Abdel Shahid discloses power class are associated with specific duplexing modes and/or specific frequency bands, where power class is defined with frequency bands associated with frequency division duplexing (FDD) or time division duplexing (TDD) (paragraph [0032]); power class switcher that periodically determine whether to change the UE’s power class on a periodic basis, where the power class switcher evaluates whether to include a power class change indicator that instructs the UE to change its power class with respect to every radio frame transmitted by a base station, every ten radio frames transmitted by the base station, every hundred radio frames transmitted by the base station, or at any other interval, and the power class switch determines that radio condition metrics associated with the UE are at or below the predefined radio condition threshold to use first power class with higher maximum output power or to use second power class with lower maximum output power (paragraphs [0071], [0104] – [0108]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Feng and Abdel Shahid before him or her, to incorporate the power class switcher as taught by Abdel Shahid, to improve the terminal device adjusting the power class mode of Feng for the motivation of providing improved signal strengths, improved signal propagation ranges, improved reliability, higher data transfer speeds, and/or other benefits (paragraph [0110] of Abdel Shahid).
Regarding claim 11, Feng and Abdel Shahid disclose the radio-frequency circuit according to claim 1, Feng discloses further comprising:
a combiner (the terminal device includes base-band processor that connects transceivers to amplifiers to filters to switches to antennas, Fig. 2, page 4 paragraphs 3 – 9; i.e. base-band processor) including
a first input terminal (the terminal device includes base-band processor that connects transceivers to amplifiers to filters to switches to antennas, Fig. 2, page 4 paragraphs 3 – 9; i.e. the connection to TS1),
a second input terminal (the terminal device includes base-band processor that connects transceivers to amplifiers to filters to switches to antennas, Fig. 2, page 4 paragraphs 3 – 9; i.e. the connection to TS2), and
an output terminal connected to an antenna connection terminal (the terminal device includes base-band processor that connects transceivers to amplifiers to filters to switches to antennas, Fig. 2, page 4 paragraphs 3 – 9; i.e. output leading to Tx1, Tx2, Tx3),
wherein the power amplifier circuit includes
a first power amplifier (the terminal device includes base-band processor that connects transceivers to amplifiers to filters to switches to antennas, Fig. 2, page 4 paragraphs 3 – 9; i.e. PA1), and
a second power amplifier (the terminal device includes base-band processor that connects transceivers to amplifiers to filters to switches to antennas, Fig. 2, page 4 paragraphs 3 – 9; i.e. PA2), and
wherein the first filter circuit includes
a first filter that has a pass band including the uplink operating band of the first band and that is connected between the first power amplifier and the first input terminal of the combiner (the terminal device includes base-band processor that connects transceivers to amplifiers to filters to switches to antennas, Fig. 2, page 4 paragraphs 3 – 9; i.e. F1), and
a second filter that has a pass band including the uplink operating band of the first band and that is connected between the second power amplifier and the second input terminal of the combiner (the terminal device includes base-band processor that connects transceivers to amplifiers to filters to switches to antennas, Fig. 2, page 4 paragraphs 3 – 9; i.e. F2).
Regarding claim 12, Feng and Abdel Shahid disclose the radio-frequency circuit according to claim 1, Feng discloses wherein:
the power amplifier circuit includes
a first power amplifier (the terminal device includes base-band processor that connects transceivers to amplifiers to filters to switches to antennas, Fig. 2, page 4 paragraphs 3 – 9; i.e. PA1), and
a second power amplifier (the terminal device includes base-band processor that connects transceivers to amplifiers to filters to switches to antennas, Fig. 2, page 4 paragraphs 3 – 9; i.e. PA2); and
the first filter circuit includes
a first filter that has a pass band including the uplink operating band of the first band and that is connected between the first power amplifier and a first antenna connection terminal (the terminal device includes base-band processor that connects transceivers to amplifiers to filters to switches to antennas, Fig. 2, page 4 paragraphs 3 – 9; i.e. F1), and
a second filter that has a pass band including the uplink operating band of the first band and that is connected between the second power amplifier and a second antenna connection terminal (the terminal device includes base-band processor that connects transceivers to amplifiers to filters to switches to antennas, Fig. 2, page 4 paragraphs 3 – 9; i.e. F2).
Regarding claim 13, Feng and Abdel Shahid disclose a communication device comprising:
a signal processing circuit that processes a radio-frequency signal (Feng: the terminal device includes base-band processor that connects transceivers to amplifiers to filters to switches to antennas, Fig. 2, page 4 paragraphs 3 – 9; i.e. base-band processor); and
the radio-frequency circuit according to claim 1 that transfers the radio-frequency signal between the signal processing circuit and an antenna (Feng: the terminal device includes base-band processor that connects transceivers to amplifiers to filters to switches to antennas, Fig. 2, page 4 paragraphs 3 – 9; i.e. base-band processor; see rejection of Claim 1).
Regarding claim 14, Feng discloses a communication method comprising:
under a condition a predetermined power class is applied to transmission of a signal of a first band, the predetermined power class allowing for first maximum output power, the first maximum output power being maximum output power of power class 2 or higher (the terminal device tests the data transmission rate and the SAR value of high power mode, and transmits the stored measurement result of each high-power mode of data transmission rate measuring result and the SAR value, page 4 paragraph 12 – page 5 paragraph 1; the terminal device uses predetermined SAR threshold selected first high power mode, where the SAR value under the first high power mode is less than the preset threshold, page 6 paragraph 10 – page 7 paragraph 5; the first high power mode operates with emitting power of 26dBm, page 5 paragraphs 2 – 9),
(i) limiting output power of a signal of the first band to the first maximum output power if a first SAR, which is found at a time of transmission of a signal of the first band with the first maximum output power, does not exceed a standard value (the terminal device tests the data transmission rate and the SAR value of high power mode, and transmits the stored measurement result of each high-power mode of data transmission rate measuring result and the SAR value, page 4 paragraph 12 – page 5 paragraph 1; the terminal device having at least two high power mode in the SAR value, and the terminal device uses predetermined SAR threshold selected first high power mode, where the first high power mode is the smallest (i.e. SAR value X), and the SAR value corresponds to the second high power mode of table 1 (i.e. SAR value Y), page 6 paragraph 10 – page 7 paragraph 5; the first high power mode operates with emitting power of 26dBm, page 5 paragraphs 2 – 9; the SAR value X is under the predetermined value and SAR value Y exceeds the predetermined value); and
(ii) limiting output power of a signal of the first band to the first maximum output power and limiting output power of the signal of the first band to second maximum output power if the first SAR exceeds the standard value, the second maximum output power being lower than the first maximum output power (the terminal device tests the data transmission rate and the SAR value of high power mode, and transmits the stored measurement result of each high-power mode of data transmission rate measuring result and the SAR value, page 4 paragraph 12 – page 5 paragraph 1; the terminal device having at least two high power mode in the SAR value, and the terminal device adjusts the working mode of the high power mode, where the first high power mode is the smallest (i.e. SAR value X), and the SAR value corresponds to the second high power mode of table 1 (i.e. SAR value Y), page 6 paragraph 10 – page 7 paragraph 5; the second high power mode operates with emitting power of 23 dBm, page 5 paragraphs 2 – 9; the SAR value X is under the predetermined value and SAR value Y exceeds the predetermined value).
However, Feng does not explicitly disclose “under a condition a predetermined power class is applied to transmission of a signal of a first band in a first period including first and second sub-periods, the predetermined power class allowing for first maximum output power, (i) limiting output power of a signal of the first band to the first maximum output power in the first and second sub-periods if a first SAR, which is found at a time of transmission of a signal of the first band with the first maximum output power in the first period, does not exceed a standard value and (ii) limiting output power of a signal of the first band to the first maximum output power in the first sub-period and limiting output power of the signal of the first band to second maximum output power in the second sub-period if the first SAR exceeds the standard value.” Abdel Shahid discloses power class are associated with specific duplexing modes and/or specific frequency bands, where power class is defined with frequency bands associated with frequency division duplexing (FDD) or time division duplexing (TDD) (paragraph [0032]); power class switcher that periodically determine whether to change the UE’s power class on a periodic basis, where the power class switcher evaluates whether to include a power class change indicator that instructs the UE to change its power class with respect to every radio frame transmitted by a base station, every ten radio frames transmitted by the base station, every hundred radio frames transmitted by the base station, or at any other interval, and the power class switch determines that radio condition metrics associated with the UE are at or below the predefined radio condition threshold to use first power class with higher maximum output power or to use second power class with lower maximum output power (paragraphs [0071], [0104] – [0108]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Feng and Abdel Shahid before him or her, to incorporate the power class switcher as taught by Abdel Shahid, to improve the terminal device adjusting the power class mode of Feng for the motivation of providing improved signal strengths, improved signal propagation ranges, improved reliability, higher data transfer speeds, and/or other benefits (paragraph [0110] of Abdel Shahid).
Regarding claim 15, Feng discloses a radio-frequency circuit comprising:
a power amplifier circuit that supports a predetermined power class which allows for first maximum output power, the first maximum output power being maximum output power of power class 2 or higher (the terminal device includes base-band processor that includes amplifier that support HPUE, and realize the radio frequency signal to the antenna output port of power maximum reaching 26 dBm, page 4 paragraphs 3 – 9; power class 2 has maximum transmit power of 26 dBm, and power class 3 has transmit power of 23 dBm, page 1 paragraph 6 – page 2 paragraph 1); and
a filter circuit that is connected to the power amplifier circuit and that has a pass band including an uplink operating band of a first band (the terminal device includes base-band processor that includes filter connected to amplifier for filtering the radio frequency band, page 4 paragraphs 3 – 9), wherein
if the predetermined power class is applied to transmission of a signal of the first band, the power amplifier circuit amplifies a signal of the first band so that output power of the signal of the first band is limited to variable maximum output power (the terminal device tests the data transmission rate and the SAR value of high power mode, and transmits the stored measurement result of each high-power mode of data transmission rate measuring result and the SAR value, page 4 paragraph 12 – page 5 paragraph 1; the terminal device having at least two high power mode in the SAR value, and the terminal device uses predetermined SAR threshold selected first high power mode, where the first high power mode is the smallest (i.e. SAR value X), and the SAR value corresponds to the second high power mode of table 1 (i.e. SAR value Y), page 6 paragraph 10 – page 7 paragraph 5; the first high power mode operates with emitting power of 26dBm, page 5 paragraphs 2 – 9; the SAR value X is under the predetermined value and SAR value Y exceeds the predetermined value), and
the variable maximum output power is switched between the first maximum output power and second maximum output power, the second maximum output power being lower than the first maximum output power (the terminal device tests the data transmission rate and the SAR value of high power mode, and transmits the stored measurement result of each high-power mode of data transmission rate measuring result and the SAR value, page 4 paragraph 12 – page 5 paragraph 1; the terminal device having at least two high power mode in the SAR value, and the terminal device adjusts the working mode of the high power mode, where the first high power mode is the smallest (i.e. SAR value X), and the SAR value corresponds to the second high power mode of table 1 (i.e. SAR value Y), page 6 paragraph 10 – page 7 paragraph 5; the second high power mode operates with emitting power of 23 dBm, page 5 paragraphs 2 – 9; the SAR value X is under the predetermined value and SAR value Y exceeds the predetermined value).
However, Feng does not explicitly disclose “a first band for Frequency Division Duplex” and “the variable maximum output power is repeatedly switched between the first maximum output power and second maximum output power.” Abdel Shahid discloses power class are associated with specific duplexing modes and/or specific frequency bands, where power class is defined with frequency bands associated with frequency division duplexing (FDD) or time division duplexing (TDD) (paragraph [0032]); power class switcher that periodically determine whether to change the UE’s power class on a periodic basis, where the power class switcher evaluates whether to include a power class change indicator that instructs the UE to change its power class with respect to every radio frame transmitted by a base station, every ten radio frames transmitted by the base station, every hundred radio frames transmitted by the base station, or at any other interval, and the power class switch determines that radio condition metrics associated with the UE are at or below the predefined radio condition threshold to use first power class with higher maximum output power or to use second power class with lower maximum output power (paragraphs [0071], [0104] – [0108]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Feng and Abdel Shahid before him or her, to incorporate the power class switcher as taught by Abdel Shahid, to improve the terminal device adjusting the power class mode of Feng for the motivation of providing improved signal strengths, improved signal propagation ranges, improved reliability, higher data transfer speeds, and/or other benefits (paragraph [0110] of Abdel Shahid).
Regarding claim 16, Feng and Abdel Shahid disclose the radio-frequency circuit according to claim 15, but Feng does not explicitly disclose wherein the variable maximum output power is periodically switched between the first maximum output power and the second maximum output power.
Abdel Shahid discloses power class are associated with specific duplexing modes and/or specific frequency bands, where power class is defined with frequency bands associated with frequency division duplexing (FDD) or time division duplexing (TDD) (paragraph [0032]); power class switcher that periodically determine whether to change the UE’s power class on a periodic basis, where the power class switcher evaluates whether to include a power class change indicator that instructs the UE to change its power class with respect to every radio frame transmitted by a base station, every ten radio frames transmitted by the base station, every hundred radio frames transmitted by the base station, or at any other interval, and the power class switch determines that radio condition metrics associated with the UE are at or below the predefined radio condition threshold to use first power class with higher maximum output power or to use second power class with lower maximum output power (paragraphs [0071], [0104] – [0108]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Feng and Abdel Shahid before him or her, to incorporate the power class switcher as taught by Abdel Shahid, to improve the terminal device adjusting the power class mode of Feng for the motivation of providing improved signal strengths, improved signal propagation ranges, improved reliability, higher data transfer speeds, and/or other benefits (paragraph [0110] of Abdel Shahid).
Regarding claim 17, Feng and Abdel Shahid disclose the radio-frequency circuit according to claim 16, Feng discloses further comprising:
a combiner (the terminal device includes base-band processor that connects transceivers to amplifiers to filters to switches to antennas, Fig. 2, page 4 paragraphs 3 – 9; i.e. base-band processor) including
a first input terminal (the terminal device includes base-band processor that connects transceivers to amplifiers to filters to switches to antennas, Fig. 2, page 4 paragraphs 3 – 9; i.e. the connection to TS1),
a second input terminal (the terminal device includes base-band processor that connects transceivers to amplifiers to filters to switches to antennas, Fig. 2, page 4 paragraphs 3 – 9; i.e. the connection to TS2), and
an output terminal connected to an antenna connection terminal (the terminal device includes base-band processor that connects transceivers to amplifiers to filters to switches to antennas, Fig. 2, page 4 paragraphs 3 – 9; i.e. output leading to Tx1, Tx2, Tx3),
wherein the power amplifier circuit includes
a first power amplifier (the terminal device includes base-band processor that connects transceivers to amplifiers to filters to switches to antennas, Fig. 2, page 4 paragraphs 3 – 9; i.e. PA1), and
a second power amplifier (the terminal device includes base-band processor that connects transceivers to amplifiers to filters to switches to antennas, Fig. 2, page 4 paragraphs 3 – 9; i.e. PA2), and
wherein the filter circuit includes
a first filter that has a pass band including the uplink operating band of the first band and that is connected between the first power amplifier and the first input terminal of the combiner (the terminal device includes base-band processor that connects transceivers to amplifiers to filters to switches to antennas, Fig. 2, page 4 paragraphs 3 – 9; i.e. F1), and
a second filter that has a pass band including the uplink operating band of the first band and that is connected between the second power amplifier and the second input terminal of the combiner (the terminal device includes base-band processor that connects transceivers to amplifiers to filters to switches to antennas, Fig. 2, page 4 paragraphs 3 – 9; i.e. F2).
Regarding claim 18, Feng and Abdel Shahid disclose the radio-frequency circuit according to claim 16, Feng discloses wherein:
the power amplifier circuit includes
a first power amplifier (the terminal device includes base-band processor that connects transceivers to amplifiers to filters to switches to antennas, Fig. 2, page 4 paragraphs 3 – 9; i.e. PA1), and
a second power amplifier (the terminal device includes base-band processor that connects transceivers to amplifiers to filters to switches to antennas, Fig. 2, page 4 paragraphs 3 – 9; i.e. PA2); and
the filter circuit includes
a first filter that has a pass band including the uplink operating band of the first band and that is connected between the first power amplifier and a first antenna connection terminal (the terminal device includes base-band processor that connects transceivers to amplifiers to filters to switches to antennas, Fig. 2, page 4 paragraphs 3 – 9; i.e. F1), and
a second filter that has a pass band including the uplink operating band of the first band and that is connected between the second power amplifier and a second antenna connection terminal (the terminal device includes base-band processor that connects transceivers to amplifiers to filters to switches to antennas, Fig. 2, page 4 paragraphs 3 – 9; i.e. F2).
Regarding claim 19, Feng and Abdel Shahid disclose a communication device comprising:
a signal processing circuit that processes a radio-frequency signal (Feng: the terminal device includes base-band processor that connects transceivers to amplifiers to filters to switches to antennas, Fig. 2, page 4 paragraphs 3 – 9; i.e. base-band processor); and
the radio-frequency circuit according to claim 15 that transfers the radio-frequency signal between the signal processing circuit and an antenna (Feng: the terminal device includes base-band processor that connects transceivers to amplifiers to filters to switches to antennas, Fig. 2, page 4 paragraphs 3 – 9; i.e. base-band processor; see rejection of Claim 15).
Regarding claim 20, Feng and Abdel Shahid disclose the communication method claim 14, Feng discloses wherein:
the first maximum output power is a variable maximum output power (the terminal device tests the data transmission rate and the SAR value of high power mode, and transmits the stored measurement result of each high-power mode of data transmission rate measuring result and the SAR value, page 4 paragraph 12 – page 5 paragraph 1; the terminal device having at least two high power mode in the SAR value, and the terminal device uses predetermined SAR threshold selected first high power mode, where the first high power mode is the smallest (i.e. SAR value X), and the SAR value corresponds to the second high power mode of table 1 (i.e. SAR value Y), page 6 paragraph 10 – page 7 paragraph 5; the first high power mode operates with emitting power of 26dBm, page 5 paragraphs 2 – 9; the SAR value X is under the predetermined value and SAR value Y exceeds the predetermined value), and
the method further comprising
switching the variable maximum output power between a first threshold maximum output power and another output power that is less than the first threshold maximum output power (the terminal device tests the data transmission rate and the SAR value of high power mode, and transmits the stored measurement result of each high-power mode of data transmission rate measuring result and the SAR value, page 4 paragraph 12 – page 5 paragraph 1; the terminal device having at least two high power mode in the SAR value, and the terminal device adjusts the working mode of the high power mode, where the first high power mode is the smallest (i.e. SAR value X), and the SAR value corresponds to the second high power mode of table 1 (i.e. SAR value Y), page 6 paragraph 10 – page 7 paragraph 5; the second high power mode operates with emitting power of 23 dBm, page 5 paragraphs 2 – 9; the SAR value X is under the predetermined value and SAR value Y exceeds the predetermined value).
However, Feng does not explicitly disclose “repeatedly switching the variable maximum output power between a first threshold maximum output power and another output power that is less than the first threshold maximum output power.”
Abdel Shahid discloses power class are associated with specific duplexing modes and/or specific frequency bands, where power class is defined with frequency bands associated with frequency division duplexing (FDD) or time division duplexing (TDD) (paragraph [0032]); power class switcher that periodically determine whether to change the UE’s power class on a periodic basis, where the power class switcher evaluates whether to include a power class change indicator that instructs the UE to change its power class with respect to every radio frame transmitted by a base station, every ten radio frames transmitted by the base station, every hundred radio frames transmitted by the base station, or at any other interval, and the power class switch determines that radio condition metrics associated with the UE are at or below the predefined radio condition threshold to use first power class with higher maximum output power or to use second power class with lower maximum output power (paragraphs [0071], [0104] – [0108]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Feng and Abdel Shahid before him or her, to incorporate the power class switcher as taught by Abdel Shahid, to improve the terminal device adjusting the power class mode of Feng for the motivation of providing improved signal strengths, improved signal propagation ranges, improved reliability, higher data transfer speeds, and/or other benefits (paragraph [0110] of Abdel Shahid).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
WEST et al (US Patent Application Publication 2010/0278100) – determines whether the maximum transmit power is too low to effect communication between the MS and a base station, the transmit power is increased and the data transmit rate of outbound data is reduced to at or below a data rate threshold that reduces the RF energy generated by the mobile station to an amount considered safe if it is, and any data having a data transmit rate less than or equal to the data rate threshold is transmitted at the increased transmit power
SUZUKI et al (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0318546) – the transmit power in a serving cell is determined on the basis of maximum output power for the serving cell and total maximum output power, where the maximum output power for the serving cell is based on maximum output power defined by a power class corresponding to a band to which the serving cell belongs, and the total maximum output power is based on maximum output power defined by a power class corresponding to a combination of aggregated bands
TANAKA et al (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0258028) – the amplifier uses a first power-supply voltage to amplify one of the first radio frequency signal and the second radio frequency signal and uses a second power-supply voltage to amplify both the first radio frequency signal and the second radio frequency signal together, where a value of the second power-supply voltage is greater than a value of the first power-supply voltage
Shengxiang GUO (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0137877) – transmitting power indication information, wherein the power indication information indicates UE power classes of a plurality of interfaces in a working frequency band
KAZMI et al (WIPO 2013/141791 A1) – obtaining an indication indicating a current level of criticality in the system in which a network node serving the wireless device is operating, and adjusting the maximum output power level based on the current level of criticality indicated by the obtained indication
Jinqiang XING (WIPO 2023/000331 A1) – the terminal performing uplink transmission within a first transmission time window, wherein the transmission duration of the uplink transmission is less than or equal to the duration of the first transmission time window, the maximum transmission power of the uplink transmission is greater than the limit of a power class of the terminal to the maximum transmission power, and an average value of the transmission power of the uplink transmission within the first transmission time window is less than or equal to the limit of the power class of the terminal to the maximum transmission power, and the situation of the maximum transmission power of a terminal performing uplink transmission not being allowed to be higher than the maximum transmission power corresponding to a power class during a traditional uplink transmission process is avoided, and the transmission duration of the uplink transmission is limited
/Kai Chang/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468