DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings with 13 Sheets of Figs. 1-17 received on 2/28/2024 are acknowledged and accepted.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-11, objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “MMI” in line 1. It is an acronym defined in the specification and its full form must be recited. It is suggested to be replaced with “Multi-mode Interference (MMI)” the first time it is recited in the claim.
Claims 2-11 are dependent on claim 1 and hence inherit its deficiencies.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Sui et al (Flexible broadband white light multimode interference coupler, Optics Express, Vol 29, No 19, 09-13-2021, pages 29730 -29743) in view of Jeong et al (US 2012/0230631 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Sui teaches (fig 1a,b) an optical coupler (RGB coupler, fig 1 caption, waveguide coupler, page 29731, last para) that couples laser lights of a plurality of different wavelengths (red, green blue, RGB),
wherein a first MMI type optical coupling part (MMI1 on the left, two MMI couplers, page 29731, last para) and a second MMI type optical coupling part (MMI2 on the right, two MMI couplers, page 29731, last para) are connected from an input side (as in fig 1b), and
a width of the first MMI type optical coupling part (MMI1) is same as a width of the second MMI type optical coupling part (MMI2) (widths are both WMMI, page 29732, 1st para).
However, Sui does not teach
a width of the first MMI type optical coupling part is wider than a width of the second MMI type optical coupling part.
Sui and Jeong are related as MMI.
Jeong teaches (fig 1A),
a width of the first MMI type optical coupling part (MMI coupler 2, para 37) is wider than a width of the second MMI type optical coupling part (MMI coupler 3, para 37) (as in fig 1A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the width of the optical coupling part of Sui to have the first MMI part’s width wider than the second MMI part’s width of Jeong for the purpose of reducing the device length (para 40).
Regarding Claim 2, Sui-Jeong teaches the optical coupler according to claim 1,
wherein all of the plurality of different wavelengths are visible light wavelengths (RGB wavelengths, pages 28731-28732, Sui).
Regarding Claim 3, Sui-Jeong teaches the optical coupler according to claim 1,
wherein the optical coupler (RGB coupler, fig 1 caption, waveguide coupler, page 29731, last para, Sui) is a 3-input (R, G, B inputs to MMI1 and MMI2) and 1-output (RGB output from MM2) optical coupler (as in fig 1b), and the optical coupler is configured so that laser lights of three colors (RGB input) are input and the laser light input from a center is laser light with a shortest wavelength (color B is in the center as input in fig 1b, B has shortest wavelength).
Regarding Claim 4, Sui-Jeong teaches the optical coupler according to claim 3,
wherein the three colors are respectively a red wavelength of 610 nm or more and 750 nm or less (660nm), a green wavelength of 500 nm or more and 560 nm or less (550nm), and a blue wavelength of 435 nm or more and 480 nm or less (440nm) (page 29733, 2nd para, Sui).
Claim(s) 5, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Sui et al (Flexible broadband white light multimode interference coupler, Optics Express, Vol 29, No 19, 09-13-2021, pages 29730 -29743) in view of Jeong et al (US 2012/0230631 A1) and further in view of Ma et al (US 10,012,795 B2).
Regarding Claim 5, Sui-Jeong teaches the optical coupler according to claim 4.
However, Sui-Jeong does not teach
wherein a connection portion of the second MMI type optical coupling part with the first MMI type optical coupling part has a taper of which a width becomes wider as the taper approaches the first MMI type optical coupling part.
Sui-Jeong and Ma are related as MMI coupler.
Ma teaches (fig 2)
a connection portion of the optical coupler (MMI coupler, col 5, lines 4-6) has a taper (guiding tapers, length L_taper, col 5, lines 18-26) of which a width becomes wider as the taper approaches the coupler (“Short tapers are introduced between the multimode region and input/output waveguides to better guiding the optical mode”, col 4, lines 64-66).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection portion of the second and first MMI type optical coupling parts of Sui to include the taper of Ma for the purpose of smoothly transforming the input/output profile (col 5, lines 18-26).
Claim(s) 6-11, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sui et al (Flexible broadband white light multimode interference coupler, Optics Express, Vol 29, No 19, 09-13-2021, pages 29730 -29743) in view of Jeong et al (US 2012/0230631 A1) and further in view of Okamoto et al (US 2017/0052423 A1, of record).
Regarding Claim 6, Sui-Jeong teaches the optical coupler according to claim 1.
However, Sui-Jeong does not teach
further comprising:
a substrate made of a material different from lithium niobate; and an optical coupling functional layer formed on a main surface of the substrate and made of a lithium niobate film, wherein the optical coupler is formed in the optical coupling functional layer.
Sui-Jeong and Okamoto are related as light coupler.
Okamoto teaches (fig 7)
further comprising:
a substrate (buffer layer 304, para 121) made of a material different from lithium niobate; and
an optical coupling functional layer (substrate 301, para 121, “optical waveguides 302R (third optical waveguide), 302G (second optical waveguide), and 302B (first optical waveguide) formed in the substrate 301”, para 121) formed on a main surface of the substrate (buffer layer 304, para 121) and made of a lithium niobate film (“Examples of the material showing the electro-optical effect may include a lithium niobate (LiNbO.sub.3)”, para 124),
wherein the optical coupler (coupler formed of waveguides 302R,G,B) is formed in the optical coupling functional layer (substrate 301, para 121).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coupler of Sui to include the LiNbO3 of Okamoto for the purpose of showing electrooptical effect and allowing size of the device to be reduced (para 125).
Regarding Claim 7, Sui-Jeong-Okamoto teaches a visible light source module comprising: the optical coupler according to claim 6;
However, Sui-Jeong does not teach
a plurality of visible laser light sources configured to emit visible lights that are coupled by the optical coupler.
Sui-Jeong and Okamoto are related as light coupler.
Okamoto teaches (fig 3,7)
further comprising:
a plurality of visible laser light sources (plurality of light sources 311R, 311G and 311B, which emit light fluxes having different wavelengths”, para 77, LB, LG, LR) configured to emit visible lights that are coupled by the optical coupler (optical waveguides 302R (third optical waveguide), 302G (second optical waveguide), and 302B (first optical waveguide) formed in the substrate 301”, para 121).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coupler of Sui to include the light sources of Okamoto for the purpose of generating a full color image (para 78).
Regarding Claim 8, Sui-Jeong-Okamoto teaches an optical coupler with a light modulation function, comprising: the optical coupler according to claim 6;
However, Sui-Jeong does not teach
a Mach-Zehnder type optical modulator connected to the optical coupler and configured to guide a plurality of visible lights emitted from a plurality of visible laser light sources to the optical coupler.
Sui-Jeong and Okamoto are related as light coupler.
Okamoto teaches (fig 3,7)
a Mach-Zehnder type optical modulator (“the first modulation section uses a Mach-Zehnder-type modulation method”, para 32) connected to the optical coupler and configured to guide a plurality of visible lights emitted from a plurality of visible laser light sources (plurality of light sources 311R, 311G and 311B, which emit light fluxes having different wavelengths”, para 77, LB, LG, LR) to the optical coupler (optical waveguides 302R (third optical waveguide), 302G (second optical waveguide), and 302B (first optical waveguide) formed in the substrate 301”, para 121). .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coupler of Sui to include the Mach-Zender modulator of Okamoto for the purpose of arbitrary adjustment of modulation width with a simple structure (para 159).
Regarding Claim 9, Sui-Jeong-Okamoto teaches the visible light source module comprising: the optical coupler with a light modulation function according to claim 8;
However, Sui-Jeong does not teach
a plurality of visible laser light sources configured to emit visible lights that are coupled by the optical coupler with a light modulation function
Sui-Jeong and Okamoto are related as light coupler.
Okamoto teaches (fig 3,7)
a plurality of visible laser light sources (plurality of light sources 311R, 311G and 311B, which emit light fluxes having different wavelengths”, para 77, light fluxes LB, LG, LR) configured to emit visible lights that are coupled by the optical coupler (optical waveguides 302R (third optical waveguide), 302G (second optical waveguide), and 302B (first optical waveguide) formed in the substrate 301”, para 121). with a light modulation function (“the first modulation section uses a Mach-Zehnder-type modulation method”, para 32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coupler of Sui to include the modulation function of Okamoto for the purpose of arbitrary adjustment of modulation width with a simple structure (para 159).
Regarding Claim 10, Sui-Jeong-Okamoto teaches an optical engine (image display apparatus 1, para 60) comprising:
the visible light source module according to claim 7;
However, Sui-Jeong does not teach
a light scanning mirror that reflects light emitted from the visible light source module by changing an angle to display an image.
Sui-Jeong and Okamoto are related as light coupler.
Okamoto teaches (fig 1,2,3,7)
a light scanning mirror (“light sweeper 42 (light scanner)”, para 76) that reflects light emitted from the visible light source module (“The signal generator 3 has a function of generating signal light fluxes”, para 74) (plurality of light sources 311R, 311G and 311B, which emit light fluxes having different wavelengths”, para 77, LB, LG, LR) by changing an angle to display an image (“image”, para 60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coupler of Sui to include the scanner of Okamoto for the purpose of displaying a high resolution image in a head mounted display (para 39).
Regarding Claim 11, Sui-Jeong-Okamoto teaches the optical engine comprising:
the visible light source module according to claim 9; and
However, Sui-Jeong does not teach
a light scanning mirror that reflects light emitted from the visible light source module by changing an angle to display an image.
Sui-Jeong and Okamoto are related as light coupler.
Okamoto teaches (fig 1,2,3,7)
a light scanning mirror (“light sweeper 42 (light scanner)”, para 76) that reflects light emitted from the visible light source module (“The signal generator 3 has a function of generating signal light fluxes”, para 74) (plurality of light sources 311R, 311G and 311B, which emit light fluxes having different wavelengths”, para 77, LB, LG, LR) by changing an angle to display an image (“image”, para 60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coupler of Sui to include the scanner of Okamoto for the purpose of displaying a high resolution image in a head mounted display (para 39).
Conclusion
/JYOTSNA V DABBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 1/24/2026