Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 2023/0145927 A1) and further in view of Song (WO 2018/059492 A1).
Regarding claims 1-4, Suzuki teaches a composite solid electrolyte [0001] comprising a sulfide-based solid electrolyte [0033]. The composite electrolyte further comprises a polymer electrolyte comprising a polymer such as polyethylene oxide (as required by claim 2, [0062]) and a lithium imide salt such as LiTFSI [0061]. Suzuki fails to teach the claimed mass ratio between the polymer and the lithium imide salt. Song is analogous art to Suzuki because both teach solid-state batteries (Suzuki, [0001]; Song, title). Song teaches a composite solid electrolyte [0184] comprising a lithium salt and a polymer where the mass ratio between the two is (0.01 - 9) : 1 [0189], which corresponds with a mass ratio of 1% - 900%, which overlaps with all of the ranges claimed in claim 1, 3, and 4. When the mass ratio is in this range, the conductivity of the polymer composite is increased [0189]. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 (I). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to prepare Suzuki’s composite solid electrolyte with a mass ratio between the polymer and lithium salt taught by Song in order to achieve increased conductivity.
Regarding claim 6, Suzuki teaches that their composite solid electrolyte can be used in a solid-state battery [0015].
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki and Song as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mimura (JP 6492181 B2). Suzuki and Song fail to teach the claimed volume ratio between the sulfide solid electrolyte and the polymer electrolyte. Mimura is analogous art to Suzuki because both discuss batteries (Suzuki [0001]; Mimura, title). Mimura teaches that the volume ratio of the inorganic solid electrolyte to the polymer electrolyte is 4-10 : 1 [0030]. This corresponds with a volume ratio to 80/20 – 91/9, which overlaps with the claimed range of 80/20 – 95/5. Mimura teaches that when the volume ratio is in this range, oxidation of the polymer electrolyte can be suppressed and the stability of the battery can be improved [0030]. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 (I). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to prepare modified Suzuki’s composite solid electrolyte where the volume ratio between the sulfide solid electrolyte and the polymer electrolyte is in the range taught by Mimura in order to prevent oxidation of the polymer electrolyte.
Conclusion
/R.B.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722