DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 28 February 2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koide et al. (US 2019/0299620 – hereinafter Koide) in view of Hagiwara et al. (US 2020/0101733 – hereinafter Hagiwara.)
Regarding claim 1,
Koide discloses a liquid ejecting head [1x in fig. 1] comprising a plurality of unit heads [1 in figs. 1-2 / 301 in fig. 6; paragraph 0019], wherein
each of the unit heads includes a channel structure [11 in fig. 2] and a plurality of actuators [12c/12d in figs.2-3] arranged on the channel structure [paragraphs 0041-0042],
the channel structure has:
a plurality of nozzles [21 in fig. 2] aligned along a first direction [paper-width direction; as seen in fig. 2; paragraph 0019];
a supply channel [31/32 in fig. 2; 333 in fig. 6] extending in the first direction and communicating with the nozzles [as seen in figs. 2 and 6; paragraphs 0025 and 0076];
a return channel [33 in fig. 2; 331/332 in fig. 6] extending in the first direction, communicating with the nozzles, and arranged side by side with the supply channel in a second direction [conveyance direction] crossing the first direction [as seen in figs. 2 and 6; paragraphs 0025 and 0076];
a connecting channel [20 (20a/20b) in figs. 2 and 6] connecting one end in the first direction of the supply channel and one end in the first direction of the return channel [bottom left of the substrate (toward the arrow/direction named ‘one side’ in fig. 6) shows a connecting channel connecting return channel 331 and supply channel 333; paragraph 0028];
a supply port [333x in fig. 6] communicating with the other end in the first direction of the supply channel [paragraph 0078]; and
a discharge port [331y/332y in fig. 6] communicating with the other end in the first direction of the return channel [paragraph 0078],
each of the actuators is configured to apply energy to liquid in the channel structure to cause the liquid to be ejected from one of the nozzles [paragraphs 0042-0044], the actuators being arranged along the first direction to correspond to the nozzles, respectively [as seen in figs. 2 and 6],
the unit heads are arranged to be shifted from each other in the first direction [paragraph 0019; as seen in fig. 1],
the unit heads include two unit heads which are adjacent to each other in a third direction [conveyance direction] orthogonal to the first direction [as seen in fig. 1; please note that the claim recites the second and third directions crossing or being orthogonal to the first direction, but do not recite them being different or orthogonal to each other],
the two unit heads have a same spacing distance in the first direction between the nozzles [figs. 2 and 6 show only one head, but the teachings apply to all of them], and
Even though Koide teaches multiple variations/embodiments showing possible locations of the supply port and the discharge port [see figs. 2 and 6-7], the disclosure fails to expressly disclose wherein in the two unit heads, a set of the supply port and the discharge port of one unit head and a set of the supply port and the discharge port of the other unit head are arranged to be opposite to each other in the first direction.
In the same field of endeavor, Hagiwara discloses a liquid ejecting head [1 in figs. 1-8; part of module 100] comprising a plurality of unit heads [44 in figs. 6-8; paragraph 0052] that are shifted from each other in the X direction, each including: a plurality of actuators [484 in fig. 11] configured to apply energy to liquid in the channel structure to cause the liquid to be ejected from one of a plurality of nozzles [N in figs. 6-8; paragraphs 0053 and 0062]; a supply channel [PAin/PBin in figs. 1-5 and 13] connected to a supply port [Rin in figs. 8 and 10-13]; and a discharge channel [PAout/PBout in figs. 1-5 and 13] connected to a discharge port [Rout in figs. 8 and 10-13], wherein two unit heads adjacent to each other in the Y direction [as seen in fig. 8] have a same spacing distance in the X direction between the nozzles [as seen in fig. 8], and the supply port and the discharge port of one unit head are arranged to be opposite the supply port and the discharge port of the other unit head [as seen in figs. 8, 10, and 19; in two adjacent unit heads, port locations in one unit head are flipped/inverted so that a type of port [Rin/Rout] in one unit head is opposite the same type of port in the other unit head.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the head units in the Koide invention so that one of two adjacent head units is inverted (making the sets of supply and discharge ports be opposite to each other) as taught by Hagiwara for the purpose of having better temperature uniformity, improved fluid dynamics, and enhanced system efficiency.
Regarding claim 2,
In the obvious combination, Koide further discloses wherein
in the channel structure of the one unit head, the set of the supply port and the discharge port is arranged at an end part in the first direction on a side of the other unit head [as seen in fig. 6, as applied to fig. 8 of Hagiwara], and
in the channel structure of the other unit head, the set of the supply port and the discharge port is arranged at an end part in the first direction on a side of the one unit head [as seen in fig. 6, as applied to fig. 8 of Hagiwara.]
Regarding claim 3,
In the obvious combination, Koide further discloses wherein the liquid ejecting head further comprising one supporting frame configured to support the two unit heads [as seen in fig. 1; implicit that the body of head 1x supports the unit heads.]
Regarding claim 4,
In the obvious combination, Hagiwara further discloses wherein the liquid ejecting head further comprising a channel member [61A in fig. 13] having a first channel connected to the supply port of each of the two unit heads [as seen in fig. 13], and a second channel [62A in fig. 13] connected to the discharge port of each of the two unit heads [as seen in fig. 13; paragraph 0056.]
Regarding claim 5,
In the obvious combination, Hagiwara further discloses wherein
the channel member has a first connecting port communicating with the first channel and a second connecting port communicating with the second channel [as seen in fig. 13],
the first connecting port is arranged at a position overlapping with an outer end part in the third direction of the one unit head [as seen in figs. 3 and 5; the supply channels are at an outer end, and therefore the ports that connect to them will be as well], and
the second connecting port is arranged at a position overlapping with an outer end part in the third direction of the other unit head [as seen in figs. 3 and 5; the discharge channels are at an outer end, and therefore the ports that connect to them will be as well.]
Regarding claim 9,
In the obvious combination, Koide further discloses wherein
the supply channel of the one unit head has a part overlapping with the supply channel of the other unit head in the third direction [implicit from figs. 1 and 6.]
Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koide as modified by Hagiwara.
Regarding claim 6,
Koide as modified by Hagiwara discloses the claimed limitations as set forth above and further teaches wherein the liquid ejecting head further comprising a wiring board [controller 5 in figs. 1 and 4; paragraph 0021],
wherein each of the unit heads has a wiring member [driver IC 1d in fig. 3] connected to the actuators [as seen in fig. 3; paragraph 0044], and
the wiring board is connected to the wiring member of each of the two unit heads [as seen in figs. 3-4; paragraphs 0021 and 0044.]
Koide/Hagiwara fails to expressly disclose wherein
the wiring member of the one unit head is drawn in the third direction to a side opposite to the other unit head, and
the wiring member of the other unit head is drawn in the third direction to a side opposite to the one unit head.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to rearrange the wiring member of the unit heads so that the wiring member of the one unit head is drawn in the third direction to a side opposite to the other unit head, and the wiring member of the other unit head is drawn in the third direction to a side opposite to the one unit head, since it has been held that a mere rearrangement of elements without modification of the operation of the device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). One would have been motivated to rearrange the wiring heads for the purpose of improving the structural integrity and mechanical reliability of the circuits that connect the printheads.
Regarding claim 10,
Koide as modified by Hagiwara discloses the claimed limitations as set forth above and Hagiwara further teaches the liquid ejecting head further comprising a channel member [61A in fig. 13] having a first part connected to the supply port and the discharge port of the one unit head, and a second part connected to the supply port and the discharge port of the other unit head [as seen in fig. 13, channel 61A divides in two continuous paths that end in channel 62A],
wherein the first part and the second part extend in the third direction [as seen in fig. 13.]
Koide/Hagiwara fails to expressly disclose wherein
the first part is arranged on a side in the first direction opposite to a center of gravity of the actuators of the one unit head with respect to a center line in the first direction of the two unit heads, and
the second part is arranged on a side in the first direction opposite to a center of gravity of the actuators of the other unit head with respect to the center line.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to rearrange the first part so that is on a side in the first direction opposite to a center of gravity of the actuators of the one unit head with respect to a center line in the first direction of the two unit heads, and the second part so that it is on a side in the first direction opposite to a center of gravity of the actuators of the other unit head with respect to the center line, since it has been held that a mere rearrangement of elements without modification of the operation of the device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). One would have been motivated to rearrange the first part and the second part for the purpose of achieving consistency and stability during ink ejection, resulting in improved print quality.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koide as modified by Hagiwara and further in view of Sugahara (US 2010/0128089.)
Regarding claim 7,
Koide as modified by Hagiwara discloses the claimed limitations as set forth above but fails to expressly teach wherein the liquid ejecting head further comprises a heat sink connected to the two unit heads.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sugahara discloses a liquid ejecting apparatus that includes a head unit set [3 in fig. 2] composed of head units [2 in figs. 2-4] arranged in a staggered manner in the arrangement direction [as seen in fig. 2]; a head supporting member [6 in fig. 3] which supports the head unit set; and a conveyor mechanism [9 in fig. 1] which conveys an ejection target [paragraph 0024], wherein each head unit includes: a passage unit [4 in fig. 6] having plural ink flow passages [22 in fig. 7] stretching from ink supply openings [18 in fig. 6] to the nozzles [20 in figs. 2, 4-5, and 7] and pressure chambers [14 in fig. 7] is formed; a piezoelectric actuator [8 in fig. 7] which applies pressure to the ink in the pressure chambers so as to eject the ink from the nozzles; and a flexible printed circuit [FPC 54 n fig. 6] which covers the upper surface of the piezoelectric actuator [Abstract and paragraphs 0023-0027 and 0032-0036; as seen in figs. 1-6]; wherein in each head unit, the nozzle arrangement area and the ink supply openings are disposed in the main scanning direction and are arranged in an opposite manner from an adjacent head unit [paragraph 0047; as seen in fig. 2 (heads 2b and 2c, for example)]; and wherein the liquid ejecting apparatus further includes a heat sink connected to two adjacent unit heads [150 in fig. 11; paragraphs 0062-0066.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Koide/Hagiwara invention to include a heat sink connected to two adjacent unit heads as taught by Sugahara for the purpose of effectively cooling the driver ICs [paragraph 0066], extending the life of the liquid ejecting head, while maintaining an efficient and smooth printing operation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 8,
The primary reason for allowance for this claim is the inclusion of the limitations of claims 1 and 7, the heat sink that is part of the liquid ejecting head has a first connecting part connected to one unit head, a second connecting part connected to other unit head, and a linking part linking the first connecting part and the second connecting part to each other and which is separated from the two unit heads in a fourth direction orthogonal to the first direction and the third direction, and wherein a channel member that has a first channel connected to the supply port of each of the two unit heads, and a second channel connected to the discharge port of each of the two unit heads, is arranged between the linking part and the two unit heads.
It is these limitations, in combination as claimed, that have not been taught, found, or suggested by prior art.
Communication with the USPTO
/JANNELLE M LEBRON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853