DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 2, lines 21-23 of the claim recites the claim limitation, “a resource that remains after the first time-frequency resource, the second time-frequency resource is excluded from the first resource pool is the available time-frequency resource”. It is unclear how the resource that remains after the first time-frequency resource and the second time-frequency resource is excluded, when it is the available time-frequency resource determined to send the third sidelink control information and the first data information which is not excluded. Therefore it is unclear how the resource that remains which is determined as the available time-frequency resource is excluded when it is the first time-frequency resource and the second-time frequency resource that is excluded in claim 2. For purposes of examination the examiner interprets the claim feature to be interpreted as the first time-frequency resource and/or the second time-frequency resource being excluded and not the resource that remains (i.e., available time-frequency resource).
Regarding Claim 5, for the same reasons explained for claim 2 which recites a similar claim limitation of “wherein the resource that remains after the first time-frequency resource, the second time-frequency resource or is excluded from the first resource pool is the available time-frequency resource” is unclear for the same reasons explained for claim 2.
Claim 12 recites the limitations in “first module” and “second module” in lines 4 and line 6 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination the examiner interprets the first module and the second module in claim 12 to refer to the “first portion” and “second portion” in claim 11 from which claim 12 depends from. Claims 13-14 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) based on their dependence from claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8-10, 15, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cheng et al. US (2024/0215011).
Regarding Claim 1, Cheng discloses a resource determining method, comprising: obtaining configuration information (see Para’s [0072] i.e., The LTE and NR resource pools may be configured (or preconfigured) & [0089]), wherein the configuration information is useable to indicate a first resource pool, (see Fig. 7B i.e., 760 may be a first resource pool & Para’s [0072] i.e., The LTE and NR resource pools may be configured (or preconfigured) & [0089])
and the first resource pool comprises a plurality of time-frequency resources, (see Fig. 7B & Para’s [0042] i.e., resources are time-frequency resources & [0072] i.e., One or more of the blocks shown in Fig. 7B represent a resource pool for NR or LTE, as shown in legend 760. The LTE and NR resource pools may be configured (or preconfigured) with at least partial overlapping, where some resources used for LTE communication may overlap with resources used for NR communication, meaning some resources may be available for use for LTE and NR communications)
receiving first sidelink control information and second sidelink control information,(see Fig.’s 7A-7B & Para [0072] i.e., The SL NR UE (e.g., UE 504) may monitor both LTE and NR SCI to avoid interfering with LTE or NR communications of other UEs. For example, the SL NR UE 504 may monitor the configured NR resource pool (e.g., monitor for NR SCI 704), and the resource pool on which an LTE SCI (e.g., transmitted by UE 502 and addressed to UE 512) is detected may be used to preclude a resource for reservation that would have otherwise overlapped and caused interference with communication of LTE UEs. In other words, reserving resource pool 706 for NR communication may be precluded due to the LTE SCI 702 scheduling resources for LTE communication in resource pool 706)
wherein the first sidelink control information is useable for evolved universal terrestrial radio access, (E-UTRA) radio access, (see Fig.’s 7A-7B & Para’s [0072] i.e., LTE SCI & [0196] i.e., E-UTRA)
and the second sidelink control information is useable for new radio (NR} radio access; (see Para [0072] i.e., NR SCI)
and determining an available time-frequency resource from the first resource pool based on the first sidelink control information and the second sidelink control information, (see Fig.’s 7A-7B & Para’s [0044] i.e., As a results, the NR UE may schedule the resources for NR communication in a manner as to reduce interference with LTE communications. For example, the NR UE may select resources (i.e., “available time-frequency resources”) for communication that is not scheduled by the LTE UEs for LTE communication, [0072] i.e., For example, the NR UE 504 may monitor control information for LTE and select resources (i.e., “available time-frequency resource”) for NR communication based on the monitoring so as to avoid interference with the LTE communications…The LTE and NR resource pools may be configured with at least partial overlapping, where some resources used for LTE communication may overlap with resources used for NR communication, meaning some resources may be available for use for LTE and NR communications… For example, the SL NR UE 504 may monitor the configured NR resource pool (e.g., monitor for NR SCI 704), and the resource pool on which an LTE SCI (e.g., transmitted by UE 502 and addressed to UE 512) is detected may be used to preclude a resource for reservation that would have otherwise overlapped and caused interference with communication of LTE UEs. In other words, reserving resource pool 706 for NR communication may be precluded due to the LTE SCI 702 scheduling resources for LTE communication in resource pool 706 & [0077]).
wherein the available time-frequency resource is useable to send third sidelink control information and first data information, (see Para’s [0044] i.e., the NR UE can schedule resources for NR sidelink communication (i.e., NR sidelink communication includes PSCCH (i.e., “third sidelink control information”) and PSSCH (i.e., “first data information”))…to reduce interference with LTE communications, [0063] i.e., sidelink communications include PSCCH that may carry control signaling for PSSCH that may carry data transmissions & [0072] i.e., the NR UE 504 may select resources for NR communication based on the monitoring so as to avoid interference with the LTE communications)
wherein the third sidelink control information is useable for the NR radio access (see Para’s [0044] i.e., NR UE can schedule resources for NR sidelink communication (i.e., NR sidelink communication includes PSCCH and PSSCH for “NR radio access”), [0063], & [0072]), and the first data information is useable for the NR radio access, (see Para’s [0044] i.e., NR UE can schedule resources for NR sidelink communication (i.e., NR sidelink communication includes PSSCH for “NR radio access”), [0063], & [0072])).
Regarding Claims 3 and 17, Cheng discloses the method and apparatus according to claims 1 and 15, wherein the method further comprises: excluding a non-sensing time-frequency resource from the first resource pool (see Para [0072] i.e., preclude a resource for reservation that would have otherwise overlapped and caused interference with communication of LTE UEs. In other words, reserving resource pool 706 for NR communication may be precluded due to the LTE SCI 702 scheduling resources for LTE communication in resource pool 706) thereby obtaining a second resource pool, (see Para’s [0044] i.e., the NR UE can schedule resources for NR sidelink communication (i.e., second NR resource pool is obtained) to reduce interference with LTE communications & [0072] i.e., For example, the NR UE 504 may monitor control information for LTE and select resources for NR communication (i.e., second NR resource pool is obtained) based on the monitoring so as to avoid interference with the LTE communications)
and the determining the available time-frequency resource from the first resource pool based on the first sidelink control information and the second sidelink control information comprises: determining the available time-frequency resource from the second resource pool based on the first sidelink control information and the second sidelink control information. (see Para [0072] i.e., For example, the NR UE 504 may monitor control information for LTE and select resources for NR communication (i.e., second NR resource pool is obtained) based on the monitoring so as to avoid interference with the LTE communications… For example, the SL NR UE 504 may monitor the NR SCI and LTE SCI to preclude a resource for reservation that would have otherwise overlapped and caused interference with communication of LTE UEs. In other words, reserving resource pool 706 for NR communication may be precluded due to the LTE SCI 702 scheduling resources for LTE communication in resource pool 706).
Regarding Claims 6 and 20, Cheng discloses the method and apparatus according to claims 1 and 15, wherein the configuration information further indicates that the first resource pool comprises a time-frequency resource useable to send sidelink information of the E-UTRA radio access and a time-frequency resource useable to send sidelink information of the new radio {NR} radio access, (see Fig. 7B i.e., 760 & Para [0072] i.e., The LTE and NR resource pools may be configured (or preconfigured) with at least partial overlapping, where some resources used for LTE communication may overlap with resources used for NR communication, meaning some resources may be available for use for LTE and NR communications)
Regarding Claim 8, Cheng discloses a resource determining method, comprising: receiving, by a first terminal apparatus (see Fig. 7A i.e., UE 504), first sidelink control information and second sidelink control information,(see Fig.’s 7A-7B & Para [0072] i.e., The SL NR UE (e.g., UE 504) may monitor both LTE and NR SCI to avoid interfering with LTE or NR communications of other UEs. For example, the SL NR UE 504 may monitor the configured NR resource pool (e.g., monitor for NR SCI 704), and the resource pool on which an LTE SCI (e.g., transmitted by UE 502 and addressed to UE 512) is detected may be used to preclude a resource for reservation that would have otherwise overlapped and caused interference with communication of LTE UEs. In other words, reserving resource pool 706 for NR communication may be precluded due to the LTE SCI 702 scheduling resources for LTE communication in resource pool 706)
wherein the first sidelink control information is useable for evolved universal terrestrial radio access, (E-UTRA) radio access, (see Fig.’s 7A-7B & Para’s [0072] i.e., LTE SCI & [0196] i.e., E-UTRA)
and the second sidelink control information is useable for new radio (NR} radio access; (see Para [0072] i.e., NR SCI)
and determining, by the first terminal apparatus, a third available time-frequency resource based on the first sidelink control information and the second sidelink control information, (see Fig.’s 7A-7B & Para’s [0044] i.e., As a results, the NR UE may schedule the resources for NR communication in a manner as to reduce interference with LTE communications. For example, the NR UE may select resources (i.e., “available time-frequency resources”) for communication that is not scheduled by the LTE UEs for LTE communication, [0072] i.e., For example, the NR UE 504 may monitor control information for LTE and select resources (i.e., “available time-frequency resource”) for NR communication based on the monitoring so as to avoid interference with the LTE communications…The LTE and NR resource pools may be configured with at least partial overlapping, where some resources used for LTE communication may overlap with resources used for NR communication, meaning some resources may be available for use for LTE and NR communications… For example, the SL NR UE 504 may monitor the configured NR resource pool (e.g., monitor for NR SCI 704), and the resource pool on which an LTE SCI (e.g., transmitted by UE 502 and addressed to UE 512) is detected may be used to preclude a resource for reservation that would have otherwise overlapped and caused interference with communication of LTE UEs. In other words, reserving resource pool 706 for NR communication may be precluded due to the LTE SCI 702 scheduling resources for LTE communication in resource pool 706 & [0077]).
wherein the third available time-frequency resource is useable to send third sidelink control information and first data information, (see Para’s [0044] i.e., the NR UE can schedule resources for NR sidelink communication (i.e., NR sidelink communication includes PSCCH (i.e., “third sidelink control information”) and PSSCH (i.e., “first data information”))…to reduce interference with LTE communications, [0063] i.e., sidelink communications include PSCCH that may carry control signaling for PSSCH that may carry data transmissions & [0072] i.e., the NR UE 504 may select resources for NR communication based on the monitoring so as to avoid interference with the LTE communications)
wherein the third sidelink control information is useable for the NR radio access (see Para’s [0044] i.e., NR UE can schedule resources for NR sidelink communication (i.e., NR sidelink communication includes PSCCH and PSSCH for “NR radio access”), [0063], & [0072]), and the first data information is useable for the NR radio access, (see Para’s [0044] i.e., NR UE can schedule resources for NR sidelink communication (i.e., NR sidelink communication includes PSSCH for “NR radio access”), [0063], & [0072])).
Regarding Claim 9, Cheng discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein the determining, by the first terminal apparatus, the third available time-frequency resource based on the first sidelink control information and the second sidelink control information comprises: determining, by the first terminal apparatus, a first available time-frequency resource based on the first sidelink control information; (see Fig. 7B i.e., LTE SCI 702 & Para [0072] i.e., the LTE and NR resource pool may include resources available for use for LTE and NR…LTE SCI 702 scheduling resource for LTE communication in resource pool 706 may be a first available time-frequency resource)
determining, by the first terminal apparatus, a second available time-frequency resource based on the second sidelink control information; (see Fig. 7B i.e., NR SCI & Para [0072] i.e., the LTE and NR resource pool may include resources available for use for LTE and NR…reserving resource pool 706 for NR communication (i.e., may be a “second available time-frequency resource”) may be precluded due to the LTE SCI 702 scheduling resources for LTE communication in resource pool 706)
and determining, by the first terminal apparatus, the third available time-frequency resource based on the first available time-frequency resource and the second available time-frequency resource, (see Para’s [0044] i.e., As a results, the NR UE may schedule the resources for NR communication in a manner as to reduce interference with LTE communications. For example, the NR UE may select resources (i.e., “third available time-frequency resources”) for communication that is not scheduled by the LTE UEs for LTE communication, [0072] i.e., For example, the NR UE 504 may monitor control information for LTE and select resources (i.e., “third available time-frequency resource”) for NR communication based on the monitoring so as to avoid interference with the LTE communications…In other words, reserving resource pool 706 for NR communication may be precluded due to the LTE SCI 702 scheduling resource)
Regarding Claim 10, Cheng discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein the third available time-frequency resource is an intersection of the first available time-frequency resource and the second available time-frequency resource, (see Fig. 7B i.e., resource block under resource block 710 may be a third available time-frequency resource that is an intersection of the first and second available time resources 760 for LTE and NR since it shares the same time resource and is on a different frequency & [0072])
Regarding Claim 15, Cheng discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 7A i.e., UE 504 & Fig. 15), comprising: one or more processors (see Fig. 15 i.e., processor 1520 & Para’s [0097-0100]) configured to: obtain configuration information (see Para’s [0072] i.e., The LTE and NR resource pools may be configured (or preconfigured) & [0089]), wherein the configuration information is useable to indicate a first resource pool, (see Fig. 7B i.e., 760 may be a first resource pool & Para’s [0072] i.e., The LTE and NR resource pools may be configured (or preconfigured) & [0089])
and the first resource pool comprises a plurality of time-frequency resources, (see Fig. 7B & Para’s [0042] i.e., resources are time-frequency resources & [0072] i.e., One or more of the blocks shown in Fig. 7B represent a resource pool for NR or LTE, as shown in legend 760. The LTE and NR resource pools may be configured (or preconfigured) with at least partial overlapping, where some resources used for LTE communication may overlap with resources used for NR communication, meaning some resources may be available for use for LTE and NR communications)
receiving first sidelink control information and second sidelink control information,(see Fig.’s 7A-7B & Para [0072] i.e., The SL NR UE (e.g., UE 504) may monitor both LTE and NR SCI to avoid interfering with LTE or NR communications of other UEs. For example, the SL NR UE 504 may monitor the configured NR resource pool (e.g., monitor for NR SCI 704), and the resource pool on which an LTE SCI (e.g., transmitted by UE 502 and addressed to UE 512) is detected may be used to preclude a resource for reservation that would have otherwise overlapped and caused interference with communication of LTE UEs. In other words, reserving resource pool 706 for NR communication may be precluded due to the LTE SCI 702 scheduling resources for LTE communication in resource pool 706)
wherein the first sidelink control information is useable for evolved universal terrestrial radio access, (E-UTRA) radio access, (see Fig.’s 7A-7B & Para’s [0072] i.e., LTE SCI & [0196] i.e., E-UTRA)
and the second sidelink control information is useable for new radio (NR} radio access; (see Para [0072] i.e., NR SCI)
and determining an available time-frequency resource from the first resource pool based on the first sidelink control information and the second sidelink control information, (see Fig.’s 7A-7B & Para’s [0044] i.e., As a results, the NR UE may schedule the resources for NR communication in a manner as to reduce interference with LTE communications. For example, the NR UE may select resources (i.e., “available time-frequency resources”) for communication that is not scheduled by the LTE UEs for LTE communication, [0072] i.e., For example, the NR UE 504 may monitor control information for LTE and select resources (i.e., “available time-frequency resource”) for NR communication based on the monitoring so as to avoid interference with the LTE communications…The LTE and NR resource pools may be configured with at least partial overlapping, where some resources used for LTE communication may overlap with resources used for NR communication, meaning some resources may be available for use for LTE and NR communications… For example, the SL NR UE 504 may monitor the configured NR resource pool (e.g., monitor for NR SCI 704), and the resource pool on which an LTE SCI (e.g., transmitted by UE 502 and addressed to UE 512) is detected may be used to preclude a resource for reservation that would have otherwise overlapped and caused interference with communication of LTE UEs. In other words, reserving resource pool 706 for NR communication may be precluded due to the LTE SCI 702 scheduling resources for LTE communication in resource pool 706 & [0077]).
wherein the available time-frequency resource is useable to send third sidelink control information and first data information, (see Para’s [0044] i.e., the NR UE can schedule resources for NR sidelink communication (i.e., NR sidelink communication includes PSCCH (i.e., “third sidelink control information”) and PSSCH (i.e., “first data information”))…to reduce interference with LTE communications, [0063] i.e., sidelink communications include PSCCH that may carry control signaling for PSSCH that may carry data transmissions & [0072] i.e., the NR UE 504 may select resources for NR communication based on the monitoring so as to avoid interference with the LTE communications)
the third sidelink control information is useable for the NR radio access (see Para’s [0044] i.e., NR UE can schedule resources for NR sidelink communication (i.e., NR sidelink communication includes PSCCH and PSSCH for “NR radio access”), [0063], & [0072]), and the first data information is useable for the NR radio access, (see Para’s [0044] i.e., NR UE can schedule resources for NR sidelink communication (i.e., NR sidelink communication includes PSSCH for “NR radio access”), [0063], & [0072])).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. US (2024/0215011) in view of Back et al. US (2023/0109359).
Regarding Claims 2 and 16, While Cheng discloses wherein the first sidelink control information is useable to indicate a first time-frequency resource associated with a first priority (see Para [0072] i.e., the UE may monitor SCI for LTE resource reservation, [0073] i.e., LTE treated as higher priority transmission compared to NR transmission, & [0077]), the second sidelink control information is useable to indicate a second time-frequency resource associated with a third priority (see Para [0072] i.e., the UE may monitor SCI for NR resource reservation, [0073] i.e., LTE treated as higher priority transmission compared to NR transmission, & [0077]) and excluding a first time-frequency resource related to LTE transmission or excluding a second time-frequency resource related to NR transmission from the first resource pool when the LTE and NR reserved resources overlap (see Fig. 7B & Para [0072] i.e., the resource pools reserved by SCI for LTE or NR may be precluded (i.e., “excluding”) from consideration) and wherein a resource that remains after the first time-frequency resource, the second time- frequency resource is excluded from the first resource pool is the available time-frequency resource (see Para’s [0044] i.e., NR UE can schedule resources for NR sidelink communication to reduce interference & [0072] i.e., the NR UE 504 may select resources for NR communication based on the monitoring so as to avoid interference), Cheng does not disclose the claim features of the first sidelink control information comprises a first priority; the second sidelink control information comprises a third priority; the determining the available time-frequency resource from the first resource pool based on the first sidelink control information and the second sidelink control information comprises: determining a second priority based on the first priority and a priority adjustment parameter, wherein the second priority is higher than or equal to the first priority; determining a threshold of a first reference signal received power (RSRP} based on the second priority; excluding the first time-frequency resource from the first resource pool in response to an RSRP value of the first time-frequency resource being greater than the threshold of the first RSRP; the second sidelink control information comprises a third priority, determining a threshold of a second RSRP based on the third priority; and excluding the second time-frequency resource from the first resource pool in response to an RSRP value of the second time-frequency resource being greater than the threshold of the second RSRP, wherein a resource that remains after the first time-frequency resource, the second time- frequency resource is excluded from the first resource pool is the available time-frequency resource. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Back et al. US (2023/0109359).
Back discloses the first sidelink control information comprises a first priority; (see Para’s [0179] i.e., UE1 may indicate the priority of SL transmission to UE2 by SCI. For example, UE2 may decode the SCI and perform sensing and/or resource (re)selection based on the priority (It would be obvious to perform the procedure for LTE transmissions based on overlapping LTE/NR transmission), [0207-0208] i.e., a UE including an LTE module and an NR module…When the LTE SL transmission and the NR SL transmission overlap with each other, the UE may compare the priority of the packet related to the LTE SL transmission with the priority of the packet related to the NR SL transmission, and thus perform only the SL transmission with the higher priority)
the second sidelink control information comprises a third priority; (see Para’s [0179] i.e., UE1 may indicate the priority (i.e., “third priority” when performing the procedure for NR transmission) of SL transmission to UE2 by SCI. For example, UE2 may decode the SCI and perform sensing and/or resource (re)selection based on the priority (It would be obvious to perform the procedure for NR transmissions based on overlapping LTE/NR transmission), [0207-0208] i.e., a UE including an LTE module and an NR module…When the LTE SL transmission and the NR SL transmission overlap with each other, the UE may compare the priority of the packet related to the LTE SL transmission with the priority of the packet related to the NR SL transmission, and thus perform only the SL transmission with the higher priority)
the determining the available time-frequency resource from the first resource pool based on the first sidelink control information and the second sidelink control information comprises: determining a second priority based on the first priority and a priority adjustment parameter (see Para [0179] i.e., UE1 may indicate the priority of SL transmission to UE2 by SCI. For example, UE2 may decode the SCI and perform sensing and/or resource reselection based on the priority), wherein the second priority is higher than or equal to the first priority; (see Para [0179] i.e., UE1 may indicate the priority (i.e., “first priority”) of SL transmission to UE2 by SCI)
determining a threshold of a first reference signal received power (RSRP} based on the second priority; (see Para [0179] i.e., For example, when specific resources are indicated by the SCI received from UE1 by the second UE and an L1 RSRP measurement of the specific resources exceeds an SL RSRP threshold in the step of identifying candidate resources in the resource selection window by UE2, UE2 may not determine the specific resources as candidate resources. For example, an SL RSRP threshold may be determined based on the priority of SL transmission indicated by the SCI received from UE1 by UE2)
excluding the first time-frequency resource from the first resource pool in response to an RSRP value of the first time-frequency resource being greater than the threshold of the first RSRP; (see Para [0179] i.e., For example, when specific resources are indicated by the SCI received from UE1 by the second UE and an L1 RSRP measurement of the specific resources exceeds an SL RSRP threshold in the step of identifying candidate resources in the resource selection window by UE2, UE2 may not determine (i.e., “excluding”) the specific resources as candidate resources. For example, an SL RSRP threshold may be determined based on the priority of SL transmission indicated by the SCI received from UE1 by UE2)
determining a threshold of a second RSRP based on the third priority; (see Para [0179] i.e., For example, when specific resources are indicated by the SCI received from UE1 by the second UE and an L1 RSRP measurement of the specific resources exceeds an SL RSRP threshold in the step of identifying candidate resources in the resource selection window by UE2, UE2 may not determine (i.e., “excluding”) the specific resources as candidate resources. For example, an SL RSRP threshold may be determined based on the priority of SL transmission (i.e., threshold of second RSRP may be determined based on third priority of NR transmission indicated by SCI) indicated by the SCI received from UE1 by UE2)
and excluding the second time-frequency resource from the first resource pool in response to an RSRP value of the second time-frequency resource being greater than the threshold of the second RSRP, (see Para [0179] i.e., For example, when specific resources are indicated by the SCI received from UE1 by the second UE and an L1 RSRP measurement of the specific resources exceeds an SL RSRP threshold in the step of identifying candidate resources in the resource selection window by UE2, UE2 may not determine (i.e., “excluding”) the specific resources as candidate resources. For example, an SL RSRP threshold may be determined based on the priority of SL transmission indicated by the SCI received from UE1 by UE2).
(Back suggests the RSRP measurement threshold is determined and used for determining when specific resources indicated by the SCI are excluded from being candidate resources when performing resource reselection and when the LTE SL transmission and the NR SL transmission overlap with each other, the UE may compare the priority of the packet related to the LTE SL transmission with the priority of the packet related to the NR SL transmission, and thus perform only the SL transmission with the higher priority for avoiding interfering transmissions, (see Para’s [0179] & [0207-0210])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE which precludes (i.e., excludes) from consideration, NR resources or LTE resources based on monitoring the LTE and NR SCI’s for determining the available time-frequency resource as disclosed in Cheng to determine excluding either the NR resource or LTE resource from consideration by using the determined RSRP threshold disclosed in the teachings of Back who discloses a RSRP threshold is determined by the UE based on the priority of SL transmission indicated by the received SCI and used for excluding specific resources indicated in the SCI when the RSRP measurement of the specific resource exceeds the RSRP threshold, because the motivation lies in Back that the RSRP measurement threshold is determined and used for determining when specific resources indicated by the SCI are excluded from being candidate resources when performing resource reselection and when the LTE SL transmission and the NR SL transmission overlap with each other, the UE may compare the priority of the packet related to the LTE SL transmission with the priority of the packet related to the NR SL transmission, and thus perform only the SL transmission with the higher priority for avoiding interfering transmissions.
Regarding Claims 5 and 19, Cheng discloses the method and apparatus according to claims 2 and 16, wherein the resource that remains after the first time-frequency resource, the second time-frequency resource or is excluded from the first resource pool is the available time-frequency resource comprises: excluding the first time-frequency resource (see Fig. 7B i.e., LTE resource 706 may be precluded from consideration (i.e., “excluding”) when NR reserves NR resource 706 & Para [0072]) and a third time-frequency resource (see Fig. 7B i.e., LTE resource 710 may be precluded (i.e., “excluding”) from consideration when NR reserves NR resource 710 & [0072]) from the first resource pool thereby obtaining the available time-frequency resource, (see Fig. 3B & Para’s [0044] & [0072] i.e., LTE resources may be selected similarly to NR when LTE resources are precluded from consideration due to overlapping NR transmission)
excluding the second time-frequency resource and a fourth time-frequency resource from the first resource pool thereby obtaining the available time-frequency resource; or excluding the first time-frequency resource, the second time-frequency resource, the third time-frequency resource, and the fourth time-frequency resource from the first resource pool thereby obtaining the available time-frequency resource,
wherein the third time-frequency resource fails to belong to the first time-frequency resource, (see Fig. 7B i.e., LTE resource 710 fails to belong to LTE resource 706 & Para [0072])
a time-frequency resource of a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) corresponding to the third time-frequency resource (see Fig. 7B i.e., LTE resource 710 may include PSFCH & Para’s [0063] i.e., various sidelink channels may be used for sidelink communications including…a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) & [0072]) belongs to the first time-frequency resource, (see Fig. 7B i.e., LTE resource 710 may include PSFCH which belongs to the first time-frequency LTE resource 706 based on being in the same time slot resource)
a time-frequency resource of a PSFCH corresponding to the fourth time-frequency resource belongs to the second time-frequency resource, and the RSRP value of the second time-frequency resource is greater than the threshold of the second RSRP.
Cheng does not disclose the claim feature of the RSRP value of the first time-frequency resource is greater than the threshold of the first RSRP. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Back et al. US (2023/0109359).
Back discloses the RSRP value of a first time-frequency resource is greater than the threshold of the first RSRP (see Para [0179] i.e., For example, when specific resources are indicated by the SCI received from UE1 by the second UE and an L1 RSRP measurement of the specific resources exceeds an SL RSRP threshold in the step of identifying candidate resources in the resource selection window by UE2, UE2 may not determine the specific resources as candidate resources. For example, an SL RSRP threshold may be determined based on the priority of SL transmission indicated by the SCI received from UE1 by UE2 (i.e., it would be obvious to perform for LTE transmission) & [0207-0210])
(Back suggests the RSRP measurement threshold is determined and used for determining when specific resources indicated by the SCI are excluded from being candidate resources when performing resource reselection and when the LTE SL transmission and the NR SL transmission overlap with each other, the UE may compare the priority of the packet related to the LTE SL transmission with the priority of the packet related to the NR SL transmission, and thus perform only the SL transmission with the higher priority for avoiding interfering transmissions, (see Para’s [0179] & [0207-0210])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE which precludes (i.e., excludes) from consideration, the LTE resource 706 (i.e., first time-frequency resource) based on monitoring the LTE and NR SCI’s for determining the available time-frequency resource as disclosed in Cheng to determine excluding LTE resource 706 from consideration by using the determined RSRP threshold disclosed in the teachings of Back who discloses a RSRP threshold is determined by the UE based on the priority of SL transmission indicated by the received SCI and used for excluding specific resources indicated in the SCI when the RSRP measurement of the specific resource exceeds the RSRP threshold, because the motivation lies in Back that the RSRP measurement threshold is determined and used for determining when specific resources indicated by the SCI are excluded from being candidate resources when performing resource reselection and when the LTE SL transmission and the NR SL transmission overlap with each other, the UE may compare the priority of the packet related to the LTE SL transmission with the priority of the packet related to the NR SL transmission, and thus perform only the SL transmission with the higher priority for avoiding interfering transmissions.
Claims 4, 11-13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. US (2024/0215011) in view of Nguyen US (2020/0146066).
Regarding Claims 4 and 18, Cheng discloses the method and apparatus according to claims 1 and 15, wherein the first sidelink control information is useable to indicate a first time-frequency resource; (see Fig. 7B & Para [0072] i.e., an NR UE may monitor SCIs for LTE and NR for resource reservation…For example, the SL NR UE 504 may monitor both NR SCI and LTE SCI (i.e., “first sidelink control information”) to avoid interfering with LTE or NR communications of other UEs…For example, the SL NR UE 504 may monitor NR SCI and LTE SCI to preclude a resource for reservation that would have otherwise overlapped and caused interference with communication of LTE UEs. In other words, reserving resource pool 706 for NR communication may be precluded due to the LTE SCI 702 scheduling resource (i.e., “first time-frequency resource”) for LTE communication in resource pool 706…SCI 702 for LTE may schedule resource pools 706, 708 for transmission and SCI 704 may schedule resource pools 710, 712 for transmission)
the second sidelink control information is useable to indicate a second time-frequency resource, (see Fig. 7B & Para [0072] i.e., an NR UE may monitor SCIs for LTE and NR for resource reservation…For example, the SL NR UE 504 may monitor both NR SCI (i.e., “second sidelink control information”) and LTE SCI to avoid interfering with LTE or NR communications of other UEs…For example, the SL NR UE 504 may monitor NR SCI and LTE SCI to preclude a resource (i.e., “second time-frequency resource”) for reservation that would have otherwise overlapped and caused interference with communication of LTE UEs. In other words, reserving resource pool 706 for NR communication may be precluded due to the LTE SCI 702 scheduling resource for LTE communication in resource pool 706…SCI 702 for LTE may schedule resource pools 706, 708 for transmission and SCI 704 may schedule resource pools 710, 712 for transmission)
the first time-frequency resource comprises reserved time-frequency resources (see Fig. 7B & Para [0072] i.e., an NR UE may monitor SCIs for LTE and NR for resource reservation…SCI 702 for LTE may schedule resource pools 706, 708 for transmission and SCI 704 may schedule resource pools 710, 712 for transmission)
and the second time-frequency resource comprises reserved time-frequency resources (see Fig. 7B & Para [0072] i.e., an NR UE may monitor SCIs for LTE and NR for resource reservation…SCI 702 for LTE may schedule resource pools 706, 708 for transmission and SCI 704 may schedule resource pools 710, 712 for transmission)
Cheng does not disclose the first time-frequency resource comprises a plurality of periodically reserved time- frequency resources; and the second time-frequency resource comprises a plurality of periodically reserved time- frequency resources. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Nguyen US (2020/0146066).
Nguyen discloses first time-frequency resource comprises a plurality of periodically reserved time-frequency resources scheduled by LTE sidelink control information; (see Fig. 4 & Para’s [0061] i.e., resource allocation for LTE V2X transmissions, [0062] i.e., exchanging resource information between LTE RAT 406 and NR V2X RAT…aspects may also be applied to D2D communication based on a first RAT and a second RAT & [0063] i.e., the LTE component 406 may schedule transmission resources for LTE V2X communication at 406. The resources may be in time and/or frequency. In one aspect, the LTE component may schedule resources for V2X transmission in a special pattern such as reserve SPS resources for LTE V2X communication….In one aspect, the resources may be periodic…For example, one subframe may be reserved for LTE V2X transmission for every N subframes)
and the second time-frequency resource comprises a plurality of periodically reserved time- frequency resources scheduled by NR sidelink control information; (see Fig. 4 & Para’s [0061] i.e., resource allocation for NR V2X transmissions, [0062] i.e., exchanging resource information between LTE RAT 406 and NR V2X RAT…aspects may also be applied to D2D communication based on a first RAT and a second RAT & [0064] i.e., the NR component 408 may schedule transmission resources for NR V2X communication such as SPS resources for NR V2X transmission…For example, if there are periodic collisions between the resources for the NR V2X transmission and resources for the LTE V2X transmission, the NR component may reselect the NR V2X resources).
(Nguyen suggests the resources are determined by a UE for determining if there are periodic collisions between the resources scheduled for the NR V2X transmission and the resources for the scheduled LTE V2X transmissions, for adjusting NR V2X transmission resources to avoid the collision and transmit the NR V2X transmission on the adjusted NR V2X transmission resources, (see Para’s [0039-00040], [0060], [0064], & [0067])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the first time-frequency resource and the second time-frequency resource as disclosed in Cheng to comprises a plurality of periodically reserved time-frequency such as the periodic resources for the scheduled LTE V2X transmission and scheduled NR V2X transmission as disclosed in the teachings of Nguyen because the motivation lies in Nguyen that the resources are determined by a UE for determining if there are periodic collisions between the resources scheduled for the NR V2X transmission and the resources for the scheduled LTE V2X transmissions, for adjusting NR V2X transmission resources to avoid the collision and transmit the NR V2X transmission on the adjusted NR V2X transmission resources.
Regarding Claim 11, Cheng discloses the method according to claim 8, but does not disclose the claim features of wherein the first terminal apparatus comprises: a first portion and a second portion, the first portion is configured to support E-UTRA-based communication, the second portion is configured to support NR-based communication, the first portion comprises a first physical layer, and the second portion comprises a second physical layer. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Nguyen US (2020/0146066).
Nguyen discloses wherein a first terminal apparatus (see Fig. 4 i.e., UE 402 & Fig. 11) comprises: a first portion (see Fig. 4 i.e., LTE V2X component 406) and a second portion (see Fig. 4 i.e., NR V2X component 408), (see Fig. 4 & Para [0060])
the first portion is configured to support E-UTRA-based communication, (see Fig. 4, 406 & Para [0063] i.e., The LTE component 406 may schedule transmission resource for LTE V2X communication)
the second portion is configured to support NR-based communication, (see Fig. 4, 408 & Para [0064] i.e., The NR component 408 may schedule transmission resources for NR V2X communication)
the first portion comprises a first physical layer,(see Fig. 11 i.e., first RAT stack 1008 & Para [0099] i.e., the components of the first RAT includes the first RAT stack 1008 which may receive or transmit information)
and the second portion comprises a second physical layer,(see Fig. 11 i.e., second RAT stack 1016 & Para [0101] i.e., the components of the second RAT includes a second RAT stack 1016 which may receive or transmit information)
(Nguyen suggests the UE supporting V2X communication based on the multiple radio access technologies (RATs) determines if there are collisions between resources scheduled for the NR V2X transmission by the NR component and resources scheduled for LTE V2X transmissions by the LTE component, for adjusting NR V2X transmission resources to avoid the collision between the different RATs and improve performance, (see Para’s [0039-00040], [0060], [0064], & [0067])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE which avoids collision between LTE and NR transmissions as disclosed in Cheng to support multiple RATs by including the first NR V2X portion and the second LTE V2X portion included in the UE as disclosed in the teachings of Nguyen, because the motivation lies in Nguyen that the UE supporting V2X communication based on the multiple RATs determines if there are collisions between resources scheduled for the NR V2X transmission by the NR component and resources scheduled for LTE V2X transmissions by the LTE component, for adjusting NR V2X transmission resources to avoid the collision between the different RATs and improve performance.
Regarding Claim 12, Cheng discloses the method according to claim 11, but does not disclose the claim features of wherein the determining, by the first terminal apparatus, the third available time-frequency resource based on the first sidelink control information and the second sidelink control information comprises: determining, by the first module of the first terminal apparatus, a first resource detection result based on the first sidelink control information; determining, by the second module of the first terminal apparatus, a second resource detection result based on the second sidelink control information; and determining, by the second physical layer of the first terminal apparatus, the third available time-frequency resource based on the first resource detection result and the second resource detection result, wherein the first resource detection result is from the first physical layer. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Nguyen US (2020/0146066).
Nguyen discloses determining, by the first terminal apparatus (see Fig. 4 i.e., UE 402), the third available time-frequency resource based on the first sidelink control information and the second sidelink control information (see Para [0064] i.e., The NR component 408 may also schedule or adjust NR V2X transmission resources (i.e., “third available time-frequency resources”) to avoid using LTE V2X transmission resources based on information 412 and 414 received from LTE component 406) comprises: determining, by the first module of the first terminal apparatus, a first resource detection result based on the first sidelink control information; (see Para’s [0061-0064] i.e., scheduled LTE V2X resource allocation (i.e., “first sidelink control information”) may be determined by the LTE component 406 of the UE according to autonomous mode or base station assisted mode)
determining, by the second module of the first terminal apparatus, a second resource detection result based on the second sidelink control information; (see Para’s [0061-0064] i.e., scheduled NR V2X resource allocation (i.e., “second sidelink control information”) may be determined by the NR component 408 of the UE according to autonomous mode or base station assisted mode)
and determining, by the second physical layer of the first terminal apparatus (see Fig. 11 i.e., second RAT stack 1016), the third available time-frequency resource based on the first resource detection result and the second resource detection result, (see Para’s [0060-0064] i.e., The NR component 408 may also schedule or adjust NR V2X transmission resources (i.e., “third available time-frequency resources”) to avoid using LTE V2X transmission resources based on information 412 and 414 received from LTE component 406)
wherein the first resource detection result is from the first physical layer (see Fig. 4 i.e., step 410 & Para [0063] i.e., The LTE component may communicate information on the scheduled resources for LTE V2X transmission to the NR component at 410. In one aspect, the LTE component may communicate with the NR component using inter-stacks communication by transferring information from a LTE V2X stack to a NR V2X stack)
(Nguyen suggests the UE supporting V2X communication based on the multiple radio access technologies (RATs) determines if there are collisions between resources scheduled for the NR V2X transmission by the NR component and resources scheduled for LTE V2X transmissions by the LTE component, for adjusting NR V2X transmission resources to avoid the collision between the different RATs and improve performance, (see Para’s [0039-00040], [0060], [0064], & [0067])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE which avoids collision between LTE and NR transmissions as disclosed in Cheng to support multiple RATs by including the first NR V2X portion and the second LTE V2X portion included in the UE which each perform a resource detection result for scheduled NR and LTE resources in order for adjusting an NR V2X resource for avoiding NR and LTE collision as disclosed in the teachings of Nguyen, because the motivation lies in Nguyen that the UE supporting V2X communication based on the multiple RATs determines if there are collisions between resources scheduled for the NR V2X transmission by the NR component and resources scheduled for LTE V2X transmissions by the LTE component, for adjusting NR V2X transmission resources to avoid the collision between the different RATs and improve performance.
Regarding Claim 13, Cheng discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein the first resource detection result comprises a resource detection result of at least one slot in a sensing window (see 7B i.e., time frequency resources slots & Para’s [0072] i.e., the NR UE 504 may monitor control information for LTE (i.e., “first resource detection result”) and select resources for NR communication based on the monitoring…The SL NR UE may monitor for both LTE and NR SCI to preclude a resource for reservation that would have otherwise overlapped with LTE communications & [0074] i.e., the NR SL UE 504 may perform periodic NR resource pool monitoring for both LTE and NR SCI which may occur during monitoring windows…SCI monitoring windows, [0077]), and the second resource detection result comprises: the resource detection result of the at least one slot in the sensing window. (see 7B i.e., time frequency resources slots & Para’s [0072] i.e., the NR UE 504 may monitor control information for LTE and select resources for NR communication based on the monitoring…The SL NR UE may monitor for both LTE and NR SCI (i.e., “second resource detection result”) to preclude a resource for reservation that would have otherwise overlapped with LTE communications & [0074] i.e., the NR SL UE 504 may perform periodic NR resource pool monitoring for both LTE and NR SCI which may occur during monitoring windows…SCI monitoring windows, [0077]),
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. US (2024/0215011) in view of Huang et al. US (2022/0330266).
Regarding Claim 7, Cheng discloses the method according to claim 1 including sending the third sidelink control information and first data information over the available time-frequency resource (see Para’s [0044] i.e., NR sidelink communication is scheduled, [0063] i.e., sidelink communications include PSCCH, PSSCH, & [0072]), but does not disclose the claim features of wherein the configuration information is useable to further indicate a first priority threshold, and the available time-frequency resource is useable to send the third sidelink control information and the first data information comprises: the available time-frequency resource is useable to send the third sidelink control information and the first data information in response to priorities of the third sidelink control information and the first data information being higher than or equal to the first priority threshold. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Huang et al. US (2022/0330266).
Huang discloses wherein configuration information is useable to further indicate a first priority threshold (see Para [0110] i.e., judgement threshold A is determined according to a configuration or pre-configuration), and an available time-frequency resource is useable to send NR sidelink communication comprises: an available time-frequency resource is useable to send the NR sidelink communication in response to priority of the NR sidelink communication being higher than or equal to the first priority threshold, (see Para [0110] i.e., when NR V2X and LTE V2X exist in the same UE1, a PSSCH of NR V2X is sent on carrier 1, and a sending resource overlaps a resource for sending…of LTE V2X on carrier 1 in a time domain. The UE compares magnitudes of a priority of the PSSCH to be sent and a judgement threshold…it may be determined that the priority of the PSSCH to be sent of NR V2X is higher than the judgement threshold A. In such case, the PSSCH of NR V2X is sent on carrier 2, and/or the sending…of LTE V2X is discarded on the overlapping resource on carrier 1).
(Huang suggests when NR V2X communication and LTE V2X communication overlap in a resource, the UE determines that the priority of the NR V2X communication is higher than the judgement threshold A and in such case, the PSSCH of NR V2X is sent on carrier 2, and the sending of LTE V2X communication is discarded on the overlapping resource on carrier 1 for satisfying the priority of the NR V2X communication and avoiding transmission collision, (see Para [0110])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the configuration information obtained by the UE for sending the third NR sidelink communication including the sidelink control information and first data information over the available time-frequency resource as disclosed in Cheng to be performed by determining a priority of the NR V2X communication being higher than a judgement threshold indicated to the UE by configuration information pre-configured in the UE as disclosed in the teachings of Huang, because the motivation lies in Huang that when NR V2X communication and LTE V2X communication overlap in a resource, the UE determines that the priority of the NR V2X communication is higher than the judgement threshold and in such case, the PSSCH of NR V2X is sent on carrier 2, and the sending of LTE V2X communication is discarded on the overlapping resource on carrier 1 for satisfying the priority of the NR V2X communication and avoiding transmission collision.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. US (2024/0215011) in view of Nguyen US (2020/0146066) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Hoang et al. US (2022/0303952).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Cheng in view of Nguyen discloses the method according to claim 12 and suggests wherein the second module portion comprises a media access control layer (see Fig. 11 i.e., second RAT stack & Para’s [0063] i.e., NR component using inter-stacks communication & [0101]), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the second module portion comprises a media access control layer and sending, by the second physical layer of the first terminal apparatus, the third available time-frequency resource to the media access control layer. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Hoang et al. US (2022/0303952).
Hoang discloses wherein a portion of the UE (see Para [0028] i.e., WTRU RAT) further comprises a media access control layer (see Para [0128] i.e., MAC layer), and the method further comprises: sending, by the second physical layer of the first terminal apparatus, the third available time-frequency resource to the media access control layer (see Para’s [0128] i.e., a WTRU may determine a number of resources to report from the PHY layer to the MAC layer & [0186] i.e., the PHY layer of the WTRU may report a set of selectable resources, for example, set A, to the MAC layer, then the MAC layer may randomly select one set of resources for transmissions of the TB).
(Hoang suggests the PHY layer of the WTRU may report selectable resources to the MAC layer of the WTRU in order for the MAC layer to select appropriate resources for transmission of a transport block (TB), (see Para’s [0128] & [0186])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the second portion which selects the available NR resources for NR sidelink communication as disclosed in Cheng in view of Nguyen to send, by the second physical layer of the first terminal apparatus, the available time-frequency resource to the media access control layer as disclosed in the teachings of Hoang, because the motivation lies in Hoang that the PHY layer of the WTRU may report selectable resources to the MAC layer of the WTRU in order for the MAC layer to select appropriate resources for transmission of a transport block (TB).
Conclusion
/ADNAN BAIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461