Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed July 20, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 5-12 remain pending in the application. Claims 13-14 are withdrawn
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 7, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hironaka et al. (US 2010/0227963), further in view of Kusano et al. (US 2002/0102113), Zhang et al. (US 9,604,224), and Kimura et al. (US 2004/0005508).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 3, Hironaka discloses that, in [0305], the blow molded article refers to a hollow molded article such as a bottle obtained by orientation-blowing a container or preform obtained by injection molding (lines 1-3). It is noticed that, obtaining the preform is one step and then blowing molding from the preform to obtain the bottle is another step.
Hironaka discloses that, in [0097], specific examples of polymers or copolymers include aromatic polyesters such as polyethylene terephthalate, polyethylene naphthalate (lines 1-7) (related to claim 2). Hironaka discloses that, in [0171] (for terminal blocking agent), the terminal blocking agent (component E) reacts with some or all of carboxyl group terminals of the polylactic acid (component B) (PLA) in the resin composition of the present invention to block them. Illustrative examples thereof include addition-reaction-type compounds such as carbodiimide compounds (lines 1-7).
Hironaka discloses that, in [0151] (for crystal nucleating agent: component C), Illustrative examples thereof include montan wax ester salt (lines 6-7) (related to claim3).
However, Hironaka does not disclose the detailed process of blowing molding for making a toner bottle.
In the same field of endeavor, toner bottle, Kusano discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 15B or 18, a sequence of steps for forming a toner bottle is demonstrated ([0032]).
It would have been obvious to use the method of Hironaka to have the blowing molding process as Kusano teaches that it is known to have the blowing molding process to make the toner bottle made of PET (e.g., [0088]). It has been held that the combination of known technique to improve similar method is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
However, Hironaka does not disclose the recycled PET from toner bottle with toner still attached.
In the same field of endeavor, shredding toner cartridges/bottles, Zhang discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 4, 5, toner cartridges (item 502, Fig. 5) are processed with removal of toner particles in steps 504 and 516 (as shown in Fig. 5) then plastic particles/fragments are collected for further rprocessing/recycling.
It would have been obvious to use the method of Hironaka to have the blow molding step as Zhang teaches that it is known to have the recycled PET from toner bottle with toner still attached. It has been held that the combination of known technique to improve similar method is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
However, Hironaka does not disclose the toner comprises a wax.
In the same field of endeavor, recycling of waste toner, Kimura discloses that, the toner ingredient in the waste toner may include additives such as a charge control agent and an offset preventing agent, as occasion demands ([0062]). Concrete example of the offset preventing agent includes polypropylene and polyethylene wax ([0065]).
It would have been obvious to use the method of Hironaka to have the blow molding step as Kimura teaches that it is known to have the toner comprises a wax such as polyethylene wax. It has been held that the combination of known techniques to improve similar method is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
Regarding claims 5, 6, Hironaka does not disclose the detailed process of blowing molding for making a toner bottle. Kusano discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 15B or 18 or 23, the stretch pin SP (i.e., a stretching rod) is implemented as a hollow rod whose tip is closed. Holes 75 are formed in the tip portion of the stretch pin SP and preferably located at equally spaced positions along the circumference. Alternatively, the holes 75 may be formed in the intermediate portion of the stretch pin SP and located at equally spaced positions along the axis. During blow molding, auxiliary compressed air is blown into the toner bottle 13 via a passage 76 formed in the stretch pin SP and holes 75. Such auxiliary compressed air allows the bottom of the toner bottle 13 having a sophisticated configuration to be molded with high accuracy ([0116]). It is noticed that, the toner bottle made by Kusano includes PET ([0088]).
It would have been obvious to use the method of Hironaka to have the blowing molding process as Kusano teaches that it is known to have the blowing molding process having the stretch rod and compressed air for stretching and making the toner bottle. It has been held that the combination of known technique to improve similar method is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 7, Hironaka discloses that, in [0226], the resin composition can be produced by melt-kneading 100 parts by weight of the thermoplastic resin (component A) and 1 to 200 parts by weight of the polylactic acid (component B (PLA)). The resin composition is generally formed into pellets (lines 1-5).
Hironaka discloses that, in [0305], the blow molded article refers to a hollow molded article such as a bottle obtained by orientation-blowing a container or preform obtained by injection molding (lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 8, Hironaka discloses that, in [0305], the blow molded article refers to a hollow molded article such as a bottle obtained by orientation-blowing a container or preform obtained by injection molding (lines 1-3).
Hironaka discloses that, in [0234], the resin composition of the present invention is generally obtained as pellets and molded articles can be produced by various molding methods such as injection molding and extrusion using the pellets as raw materials.
Claims 9, 10, 11, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hironaka et al. (US 2010/0227963), Kusano et al. (US 2002/0102113), Zhang et al. (US 9,604,224), and Kimura et al. (US 2004/0005508) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 9, 10, Hironaka discloses that, in [0230], the thermoplastic resin (component A) is as have been described above (e.g., see in [0065]). The components C, D, and E may be present at the time of the melt-kneading (lines 1-3). Here, as mentioned above (for claim 1), the component C may include montan wax ester salt ([0150]; [0151], lines 6-7). The component E (i.e., the terminal blocking agent) reacts with some or all of carboxyl group terminals of the polylactic acid (component B) (PLA) in the resin composition of the present invention to block them. Illustrative examples thereof include addition-reaction-type compounds such as carbodiimide compounds ([0171], lines 1-7).
Hironaka discloses that, in [0234], the resin composition of the present invention is generally obtained as pellets and molded articles can be produced by various molding methods such as injection molding and extrusion using the pellets as raw materials (related to claim 10).
Thus, Hironaka discloses that, the step of producing a preform includes: a step of melt-kneading the wax and the thermoplastic polyester to form first pellets; a step of melt-kneading the carbodiimide compound and other thermoplastic polyesters to form second pellets; and a preform molding process to mold a pellet mixture of the first pellets and the second pellets into the preform. it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to spilt the steps in the method of Hironaka thereby arriving at the claimed invention, with the reasonable expectation that at least the a preform molding process to mold a pellet mixture of the first pellets and the second pellets into the preform.
In general, the transposition of process steps or the splitting of one step into two, where the processes are substantially identical or equivalent in terms of function, manner and result, was held to be not patentably distinguish the processes. Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. Pat. App. 1959).
However, Hironaka does not disclose the recycled PET from toner bottle with toner still attached.
In the same field of endeavor, shredding toner cartridges/bottles, Zhang discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 4, 5, toner cartridges (item 502, Fig. 5) are processed with removal of toner particles in steps 504 and 516 (as shown in Fig. 5) then plastic particles/fragments are collected for recycling.
It would have been obvious to use the method of Hironaka to have the blow molding step as Zhang teaches that it is known to have the recycled PET from toner bottle with toner still attached. It has been held that the combination of known technique to improve similar method is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
Regarding claims 11, 12, Hironaka discloses that, in [0230], the melt-kneading is preferably carried out in the presence of 0.01 to 5 parts by weight of the crystal nucleating agent (component C (for wax)) (lines 5-7). The melt-kneading is preferably carried out in the presence of 0.01 to 5 parts by weight of the terminal blocking agent (component E (for carbodiimide compounds)) (lines 1-4 from bottom).
If 0.01 parts by weights of the crystal nucleating agent (component C (for wax)) is selected, the corresponding terminal blocking agent (component E (for carbodiimide compounds)) is still about 0.01 to 5 parts by weight. In other words, 100 (or 0.01X10000) parts by weights of the crystal nucleating agent (component C (for wax)) is corresponding to the terminal blocking agent (component E (for carbodiimide compounds)) of 100 (or 0.01X10000) to 50000 (or 5X10000) parts by weight (overlapping the claimed range of 227 to 9096 parts by mass of the carbodiimide compound for claim 11 and the claimed range of 1364 to 9096 parts by mass of the carbodiimide compound for claim 12).
Hironaka and the claims differ in that Hironaka do not teach the exact same range for the carbodiimide compound in the resin mixture being 227 to 996 or 1364 to 9096 parts by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of the wax as recited in the instant claims 11, and 12.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the range taught by Hironaka (100 to 50000) overlap the instantly claimed ranges and therefore are considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, MPEP 2144.05.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/20/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/SHIBIN LIANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741