DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-17, filed 2/28/2024, are pending and are currently being examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/28/2024 was filed before the mailing date of the first office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 4, “is configured” should likely read “are configured”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 90, “is configured” should likely read “are configured”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-10, 12-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Favilli et al. US Pat. No. 3,977,292 in view of Last US Pub. No. 2008/0194175 and Snyder US Pat. No. 3,861,078.
In Reference to Claim 1
Favilli teaches:
A plush toy assembly (10, Fig. 1-5) comprising:
an outer casing being formed into a body shape defining a torso (plush toy body having an outer casing 26 holding stuffing material 24 therein defining a body shape with a torso 12), a head being attached to and extending upwardly from the torso (head 22), and a plurality of limbs being attached to and extending outwardly from the torso (arms and legs 14/16/18/20 extending from torso 12);
a plurality of audio devices being positioned within the outer casing, each audio device of the plurality of audio devices being actuatable to play a respective sound of a plurality of sounds (plurality of sound producing audio devices 28/30/32/34/36 placed at a plurality of locations in the body to play respective sounds therefrom when actuated, Col. 2 lines 34-56), each audio device of the plurality of audio devices comprising:
a speaker configured to play the respective sound audibly with the respective speaker when actuated (each sound producer 28/30/32/34/36 has a respective air reservoir 40, flexible covering 42, sound producer 44 with reed/speaker 46 to produce different respective sounds when actuated, Col. 2 lines 33-56);
a respective button being configured to actuate the speaker to play the respective audio sound when a user presses the respective button (plurality of sound producing audio devices 28/30/32/36 placed at a plurality of locations in the body are actuated by a user pressing the outer casing at the indicia buttons 48/50/52/54/56 affixed to the outer covering 26 at respective audio device buttons to indicate their positions on the body to the user, Fig. 1-5, Col. 2 lines 34-56));
a plurality of button indicia being coupled to the outer casing wherein each button indicium of the plurality of button indicia is aligned with the respective button of a respective audio device of the plurality of audio devices whereby each button indicium of the plurality of button indicia is configured to indicate a position of the respective button of the respective audio device thereby facilitating the user in pressing the respective button (plurality of indicia 48/50/52/54/56 is affixed to the outer covering 26 at respective audio device buttons to indicate their positions on the body to the user, Fig. 1-5, Col. 2 lines 47-56).
Favilli fails to teach:
The electronic components of the device, including a power source being positioned within the outer casing; a processor being positioned within the outer casing, the processor being electrically coupled to the power source; a plurality of audio devices being positioned within the outer casing, the plurality of audio devices being electrically coupled to the processor, each audio device of the plurality of audio devices being actuatable to play a respective audio file of a plurality of audio files a respective speaker, the processor being configured to play the respective audio file audibly with the respective speaker when the processor is actuated; a respective button being configured to actuate the processor to play the respective audio file when a user presses the respective button, and a mirror being coupled to the outer casing, the mirror being positioned on the head of the body shape wherein the mirror is configured to reflect a face of the user in a position corresponding to a face of the body shape.
Further, Last teaches:
A plush toy assembly (plush toy 108, Fig. 1, 6-7) comprising:
an outer casing being formed into a body shape defining a torso, a head being attached to and extending upwardly from the torso, and a plurality of limbs being attached to and extending outwardly from the torso (plush toy body having an outer covering and stuffing therein, taking a form of a typical teddy bear having a body with a torso, head, arms, and legs, Fig. 1, 6, [0084]);
a power source being positioned within the outer casing (608, Fig. 6);
a processor being positioned within the outer casing, the processor being electrically coupled to the power source (CPU 618, Fig. 6);
an audio device being positioned within the outer casing, the audio device being electrically coupled to the processor, the audio device actuatable to play a respective audio file of a plurality of audio files (audio output device includes a speaker 614 actuated by sensors 602 in the body, [0093]-[0094]), the audio device comprising:
a speaker, the processor being configured to play the respective audio file audibly with the respective speaker when the processor is actuated (speaker 614 audibly plays a respective stored audio file using the CPU, Ram, Rom, Storage, and signal processor 613); a respective button being configured to actuate the processor to play the respective audio file when a user presses the respective button (user interface 612 and buttons/sensors 602 actuate the processor 618 to play a respective audio file (ex. Fig. 5 shows different selectable stored audio files) selected by the user interacting with specific respective sensor inputs, [0087], [0105]-[0106]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of Favilli to have substituted the manually actuated audio devices with electrically powered electronic sound producing and processing means which are known and common in the art in order to make the toy capable of adding or changing possible sounds produced and making the toy smarter, more engaging, fun, and interactive as desired and as taught by Last ([0002]-[0005], [0113]). Further, one having ordinary skill in the art would understand it obvious to locate and orient the electronic components so that each audio producer of Favilli would include a speaker, and actuating button as the number of audio devices and corresponding parts (speakers, buttons, processors) and locations is merely a matter of obvious design choice and it has been held that duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8) and it has been held that rearranging parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70). Further, numerous relevant prior art teaches that the number and location of audio devices, speakers, and buttons within a toy is an obvious modification.
Further, Snyder teaches:
A plush toy assembly having a plush body with a mirror on the face area of the head of the toy (mirror 14 on the face area of head 3 of the toy doll, Fig. 1-3, Col. 2 lines 18-33).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of Favilli to have further included a coverable mirror on the face of the toy in order to allow a user to selectively switch between a doll appearance and a reflective appearance where the user may see its own face reflected therein assuming more life-like appearance by reflecting their own image making them more comfortable for conversation and endearing the toy to the child as taught by Snyder (Col. 1 lines 5-26).
In Reference to Claim 2
Favilli as modified by Last and Snyder teaches:
The plush toy assembly of claim 1, wherein the outer casing has a front side and a back side, the plurality of limbs extending outwardly from the front side of the torso wherein the body shape is configured to resemble a teddy bear, the plurality of limbs extending outwardly from the front side of the torso wherein the body shape is configured to resemble a teddy bear, the plurality of limbs further comprising a first arm, a second arm being spaced from the first arm, a first leg being positioned beneath the first arm, and a second leg being positioned beneath the second arm (Favilli: toy may broadly “resemble a teddy bear” as it has the same claimed front and back sides and limbs, further, wherein Last teaches the toy body being in the shape of a teddy bear, Fig. 1, 6, [0084]).
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the shape of the outer casing to have been another commonly known shape, such as a teddy bear, as this is common and known as taught by Last ([0084], Fig. 1, 6) and as it has been held that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art (In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947)).
In Reference to Claim 4
Favilli as modified by Last and Snyder teaches:
The plush toy assembly of claim 2, the plurality of audio devices further comprising:
a first audio device being positioned within the first arm (Favilli: first audio device 32 positioned at first arm 18 at indicia button 52, Fig. 1);
a second audio device being positioned within the second arm (Favilli: second audio device 34 positioned on second arm 20 at indicia button 54, Fig. 1);
a third audio device being positioned within the first leg (Favilli: third audio device 28 positioned at a first leg 14 at indicia button 48, Fig. 1); and
a fourth audio device being positioned within the second leg (Favilli: fourth audio device 30 positioned at second leg 16 at indicia button 50, Fig. 1).
In Reference to Claim 5
Favilli as modified by Last and Snyder teaches:
The plush toy assembly of claim 4, the plurality of button indicia further comprising:
a first button indicium being positioned on the first arm wherein the first button indicium is configured to indicate a position of the respective button of the first audio device (Favilli: first audio device 32 positioned at first arm 18 at indicia button 52, Fig. 1);
a second button indicium being positioned on the second arm wherein the second button indicium is configured to indicate a position of the respective button of the second audio device (Favilli: second audio device 34 positioned on second arm 20 at indicia button 54, Fig. 1);
a third button indicium being positioned on the first leg wherein the third button indicium is configured to indicate a position of the respective button of the third audio device (Favilli: third audio device 28 positioned at a first leg 14 at indicia button 48, Fig. 1); and
a fourth button indicium being positioned on the second leg wherein the fourth button indicium is configured to indicate a position of the respective button of the fourth audio device (Favilli: fourth audio device 30 positioned at second leg 16 at indicia button 50, Fig. 1).
In Reference to Claim 8
Favilli as modified by Last and Snyder teaches:
The plush toy assembly of claim 1, further comprising a flap being coupled to the outer casing, the flap being movably coupled to the outer casing wherein the flap is positionable over the mirror to selectively cover the mirror (Snyder: movable flap 9 is coupled to the outer portion of the doll and is movable to selectively cover and uncover the mirror 14, Fig. 1-3, Col. 2 lines 18-41).
In Reference to Claim 9
Favilli as modified by Last and Snyder teaches:
The plush toy assembly of claim 8, further comprising a fastener releasably coupling the flap to the outer casing when the flap covers the mirror (Snyder: the flap 9 is releasably coupled to the outer casing to cover the mirror using elastic strap/fastener 16, Fig. 1-3, Col. 2 lines 18-41).
In Reference to Claim 10
Favilli as modified by Last and Snyder teaches:
The plush toy assembly of claim 1, wherein the respective button is integrated into the respective speaker of each audio device of the plurality of audio devices (as modified above, the audio devices of Favilli now include speakers at each location and would include the actuating switches/buttons at the locations to activate the sound devices electronically).
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have integrated the switches/buttons into the speaker/audio devices as this is the same manual arrangement as taught by Favilli and as it has been held that forming in one piece (integrating the button/switch on the speaker) and article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art (Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1983)) and it has been held that rearranging parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70).
In Reference to Claim 12
Favilli teaches:
A plush toy assembly (10, Fig. 1-5) comprising:
an outer casing being formed into a body shape defining a pillow having a plurality of corners (plush toy body having an outer casing 26 holding stuffing material 24 therein defining a pillow body shape with a central torso 12 and four appendages 14/16/18/20 that define outer ends or corners of the body, Fig. 1);
a plurality of audio devices being positioned within the outer casing, each audio device of the plurality of audio devices being actuatable to play a respective sound of a plurality of sounds (plurality of sound producing audio devices 28/30/32/34/36 placed at a plurality of locations in the body to play respective sounds therefrom when actuated, Col. 2 lines 34-56), each audio device of the plurality of audio devices comprising:
a respective speaker to play the respective sound audibly with the respective speaker when actuated (each sound producer 28/30/32/34/36 has a respective air reservoir 40, flexible covering 42, sound producer 44 with reed/speaker 46 to produce different respective sounds when actuated, Col. 2 lines 33-56);
a respective button being configured to actuate the speaker to play the respective audio sound when a user presses the respective button (plurality of sound producing audio devices 28/30/32/36 placed at a plurality of locations in the body are actuated by a user pressing the outer casing at the indicia buttons 48/50/52/54/56 affixed to the outer covering 26 at respective audio device buttons to indicate their positions on the body to the user, Fig. 1-5, Col. 2 lines 34-56)); and
a plurality of button indicia being coupled the outer casing, each button indicium of the plurality of button indicia being positioned on a respective corner of the plurality of corners wherein each button indicium of the plurality of button indicia is aligned with the respective button of a respective audio device of the plurality of audio devices whereby each button indicium of the plurality of button indicia is configured to indicate a position of the respective button of the respective audio device thereby facilitating the user in pressing the respective button (plurality of indicia 48/50/52/54/56 is affixed to the outer covering 26 at respective audio device buttons to indicate their positions on the corner of the body to the user, Fig. 1-5, Col. 2 lines 47-56).
Favilli fails to teach:
The electronic components of the device, including a power source being positioned within the outer casing; a processor being positioned within the outer casing, the processor being electrically coupled to the power source; a plurality of audio devices being positioned within the outer casing, the plurality of audio devices being electrically coupled to the processor, each audio device of the plurality of audio devices being actuatable to play a respective audio file of a plurality of audio files a respective speaker, the processor being configured to play the respective audio file audibly with the respective speaker when the processor is actuated; a respective button being configured to actuate the processor to play the respective audio file when a user presses the respective button, and a mirror being coupled to the outer casing, the mirror being positioned on the head of the body shape wherein the mirror is configured to reflect a face of the user in a position corresponding to a face of the pillow/body shape.
Further, Last teaches:
A plush toy assembly (plush toy 108, Fig. 1, 6-7) comprising:
an outer casing being formed into a body shape defining a torso, a head being attached to and extending upwardly from the torso, and a plurality of limbs being attached to and extending outwardly from the torso (plush toy body having an outer covering and stuffing therein, taking a form of a typical teddy bear having a body with a torso, head, arms, and legs, Fig. 1, 6, [0084]);
a power source being positioned within the outer casing (608, Fig. 6);
a processor being positioned within the outer casing, the processor being electrically coupled to the power source (CPU 618, Fig. 6);
an audio device being positioned within the outer casing, the audio device being electrically coupled to the processor, the audio device actuatable to play a respective audio file of a plurality of audio files (audio output device includes a speaker 614 actuated by sensors 602 in the body, [0093]-[0094]), the audio device comprising:
a speaker, the processor being configured to play the respective audio file audibly with the respective speaker when the processor is actuated (speaker 614 audibly plays a respective stored audio file using the CPU, Ram, Rom, Storage, and signal processor 613); a respective button being configured to actuate the processor to play the respective audio file when a user presses the respective button (user interface 612 and buttons/sensors 602 actuate the processor 618 to play a respective audio file (ex. Fig. 5 shows different selectable stored audio files) selected by the user interacting with specific respective sensor inputs, [0087], [0105]-[0106]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of Favilli to have substituted the manually actuated audio devices with electrically powered electronic sound producing and processing means which are known and common in the art in order to make the toy capable of adding or changing possible sounds produced and making the toy smarter, more engaging, fun, and interactive as desired and as taught by Last ([0002]-[0005], [0113]). Further, one having ordinary skill in the art would understand it obvious to locate and orient the electronic components so that each audio producer of Favilli would include a speaker, processor unit, and actuating button as the number of audio devices and corresponding parts (speakers, buttons, processors) and locations is merely a matter of obvious design choice and it has been held that duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8) and it has been held that rearranging parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70). Further, numerous relevant prior art teaches that the number and location of audio devices, processors, speakers, and buttons within a toy is an obvious modification.
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the shape of the outer casing to have been another commonly known shape, such as rectangular (pillow) or teddy bear, as stuffed pillow toys are also common and known in the art and as it has been held that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art (In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947)).
Further, Snyder teaches:
A plush toy assembly having a plush body with a mirror on the face area of the head of the toy (mirror 14 on the face area of head 3 of the toy doll, Fig. 1-3, Col. 2 lines 18-33).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of Favilli to have further included a coverable mirror on the toy in order to allow a user to selectively switch between a first appearance and a reflective appearance where the user may see its own face reflected therein assuming more life-like or reassuring appearance by reflecting their own image making them more comfortable for conversation and endearing the toy to the child as taught by Snyder (Col. 1 lines 5-26).
In Reference to Claim 13
Favilli as modified by Last and Snyder teaches:
The plush toy assembly of claim 12, the plurality of corners further comprising a first corner, a second corner, a third corner, and a fourth corner, the plurality of audio devices further comprising a first audio device being positioned at the first corner (Favilli: first audio device 32 positioned at first arm 18 at indicia button 52, Fig. 1), a second audio device being positioned at the second corner (Favilli: second audio device 34 positioned on second arm 20 at indicia button 54, Fig. 1), a third audio device being positioned at the third corner (Favilli: third audio device 28 positioned at a first leg 14 at indicia button 48, Fig. 1), and a fourth audio device being positioned at the fourth corner (Favilli: fourth audio device 30 positioned at second leg 16 at indicia button 50, Fig. 1).
In Reference to Claim 14
Favilli as modified by Last and Snyder teaches:
The plush toy assembly of claim 12, the plurality of button indicia further comprising:
a first button indicium being positioned on the first corner wherein the first button indicium is configured to indicate a position of the respective button of first audio device (Favilli: first audio device 32 positioned at first arm 18 at indicia button 52, Fig. 1);
a second button indicium being positioned on the second corner wherein the second button indicium is configured to indicate a position of the respective button of the second audio device (Favilli: second audio device 34 positioned on second arm 20 at indicia button 54, Fig. 1);
a third button indicium being positioned on the third corner wherein the third button indicium is configured to indicate a position of the respective button of the third audio device (Favilli: third audio device 28 positioned at a first leg 14 at indicia button 48, Fig. 1); and
a fourth button indicium being positioned on the fourth corner wherein the fourth button indicium is configured to indicate a position of the respective button of the fourth audio device (Favilli: fourth audio device 30 positioned at second leg 16 at indicia button 50, Fig. 1).
In Reference to Claim 15
Favilli as modified by Last and Snyder teaches:
The plush toy assembly of claim 12, wherein the respective processor is configured to facilitate the user in recording a personalized message to replace the respective audio file when the user holds the respective button (Last: a user may record a personalized message saved as an audio file to be played when a respective button is pressed, [0069]).
In Reference to Claim 17
Favilli as modified by Last and Snyder teaches:
The plush toy assembly of claim 12, further comprising a flap being pivotably coupled to the outer casing wherein the flap is positionable over the mirror to selectively cover the mirror (Snyder: movable flap 9 is coupled to the outer portion of the doll and is movable to selectively cover and uncover the mirror 14, Fig. 1-3, Col. 2 lines 18-41).
Claims 3, 6-7, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Favilli, Last, and Snyder as applied to claim 1/2/12 above, and further in view of Wood US Pat. No. 5,267,886.
In Reference to Claims 3, 6-7, and 16
Favilli as modified by Last and Snyder teaches:
The plush toy assembly of claim 1, 2, or 12 as rejected above.
Favilli fails to teach:
A shaped light being coupled to the front side of the outer casing, the shaped light being electrically coupled to the processor, the shaped light being positioned on the torso adjacent to the first arm of the plurality of limbs wherein the shaped light is configured to be aligned with a position of a heart of the teddy bear, or a plurality of mirror lights being coupled to the outer casing, the plurality of mirror lights being electrically coupled to the processor, the plurality of mirror lights being positioned on the head of the body shape adjacent to the mirror wherein the plurality of mirror lights is configured to illuminate the mirror comprising a first light strip being positioned above the mirror and a second light strip being positioned beneath the mirror, or a shaped light being coupled to the outer casing, the shaped light being electrically coupled to the power source, the shaped light being positioned adjacent to the flap.
Further, Wood teaches:
A similar plush toy (10, Fig. 1-3) having electronic features including audio devices with speakers (73), and further including a plurality of lights (31-33, 41, 25) located at a plurality of locations on the body, such as on the torso adjacent to a first arm (ex. 33), above and below a head/face area (31-33/25), to selectively illuminate features of the body and provide further interaction with the user (Fig. 1-3, Col. 3 line 40 – Col. 7 line 59).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of Favilli to have further included lights at different parts of the toy body in order to allow selective illumination of those parts during use and to allow the toy to be more aesthetically pleasing and interactive which is known and common in the art as taught by Wood (Col. 3 lines 5-17, Col. 5 lines 9-26, Col. 7 lines 45-59).
Further, one having ordinary skill in the art would understand it obvious to locate and orient the lighting components as desired as the number of lighting elements and their locations are merely a matter of obvious design choice and it has been held that duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8) and it has been held that rearranging parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70). Further, numerous relevant prior art teaches that the number and location of lighting elements on a toy is an obvious modification.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the objection set forth in this Office action.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the combination of prior art required to teach all of the claimed features would be too excessive to deem the combination to be obvious and therefore recited limitations of claim 11 are not anticipated by or found obvious by the cited prior art.
Brief Discussion of Other Prior Art References
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the references cited page for publications that are noted for containing similar subject matter as the applicant. For example, Henley (2020/0152074), Hillis (9,259,658), Ponomarev (2015/0133025), Spector (8,467,722), Wood (6,882,824, 5,944,533), Love (6,554,616) teach similar plush toys with electronic features. Further, Tawil (2007/0042672) teaches a similar plush toy with electronic audio features included speakers positionable in the head, ears, legs, or arms of the toy ([0028]-[0029]), Rollin (2011/0130069) teaches a similar plush device with electronic audio features, wherein the speaker may be located anywhere on the doll ([0020]), Naunheim (3,729,865) teaches a similar plush toy having a mirror on the face.
Conclusion
If the applicant or applicant’s representation has any questions or concerns regarding this office action or the application they are welcome to contact the examiner at the phone number listed below and schedule and interview to discuss the outstanding issues and possible amendments to expedite prosecution of this application.
/ALEXANDER R NICONOVICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711