DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 7, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kita (United States Patent Application Publication 2016/0198135 A1) in view of Kimura (JP 2005301069 A) and Kuwata (United States Patent Application Publication 2012/0140186 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Kita discloses a projection image apparatus (see figs.1, 7 and 15) comprising: a light source (see figs.7 and 15) that emits laser light of a first color that is blue (611B) and laser light of a second color different from blue (611G); an illumination optical system (see 602RGB, 603 and 604 in fig.7 and corresponding optical elements in fig.15) that generates illumination light by combining the laser light of the first color and the laser light of the second color from the light source (see operation of 603 and 604); a light modulator (see 210 RGB) that generates image light by modulating the illumination light from the illumination optical system in response to an image signal input from an outside ([0056]: The liquid crystal light bulbs 210R, 210G, and 210B are electrically connected to a signal source (e.g., PC) (not shown) that supplies image signals including image information) and a projection optical system (400 in fig.1) that enlarges the image light emitted from the light modulator and projects the image light onto a projection target ([0057]: The projection system 400 projects the image generated by the image generation device 210. The projection system 400 includes a plurality of lenses 410 and the like and irradiates light synthesized by the dichroic prism 340 onto the screen or the like (not shown).), wherein the light source includes: a first light source (611B in fig.7) component including a plurality of first laser light emitters arranged in an array (see the arrangement of 610B), and each configured to emit the laser light of the first color (see blue light emitted 611B), and a second light source component including a plurality of second laser light emitters arranged in an array (see second light source 611G), and each configured to emit the laser light of the second color (see the green light emitted by 611G), an area of a light emitting surface of the first light source component is different from an area of a light emitting surface of the second light source component (compare DG to DB ; para.[108]: “Regarding the effective sizes of the array light sources 611, the effective area of the array light source 611G that emits green laser light G is the largest, and the effective area of the array light source 611B that emits blue laser light B is the smallest. The array light source 611R that emits red laser light R has an intermediate size. ” ), the illumination optical system includes a relay optical system (see 602RGB, 603 and 604 in fig.7 and corresponding optical elements in fig.15) that guides the illumination light to the light modulator (see light source (200) and optical engine (100) of fig.1) ,but does not explicitly disclose the light source further includes an optical system that changes at least one of a height of a light source image of the laser light of the first color or a height of a light source image of the laser light of the second color, the optical system of the light source is configured to have a small difference between the height of the light source image of the laser light of the first color and the height of the light source image of the laser light of the second color, the relay optical system includes a first diaphragm of reflection type having a variable opening diameter, the first diaphragm disposed at a first pupil position where the illumination light is condensed, and the projection optical system includes a second diaphragm of absorption type having a variable opening diameter, the second diaphragm disposed at a second pupil position conjugate with the first pupil position.
Kimura discloses the relay optical system includes a first diaphragm of reflection type having a variable opening diameter (see 37 in fig.23), the first diaphragm (see para. [0030]: In addition, …the movable aperture of the illumination optical system aperture is formed of a surface-treated member or a member with an exposed metal background to increase the reflectance.”) disposed at a first pupil position (see para.[0020]: the illumination optical system diaphragm is disposed at a position substantially conjugate with the entrance pupil of the projection lens) where the illumination light is condensed (see the location of 37 in figs. 3 and 23, placed after condensing lens 4a (4), see para.[0003]: “The illumination optical system for condensing and illuminating the light emitted from the lamp 1 as the light source on the reflective light valve 6 is a quadrangular prism having a concave mirror 2 and a cross-section substantially the same aspect ratio as the effective display surface of the reflective light valve 6. Rod prism 3, condenser lens 4”), and the projection optical system (see fig.23, 7) includes a second diaphragm of absorption type having a variable opening diameter (see 47 and 46 in fig.23; para. [0030]: In addition, the movable aperture of the projection lens aperture is formed of a black-treated member), the second diaphragm (47) disposed at a second pupil position conjugate with the first pupil position ( para.[0020]: “the projection lens diaphragm is disposed at the position of the entrance pupil of the projection lens, and the illumination optical system diaphragm is disposed at a position substantially conjugate with the entrance pupil of the projection lens”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kita with the teaching of Kimura so that the relay optical system includes a first diaphragm of reflection type having a variable opening diameter, the first diaphragm disposed at a first pupil position where the illumination light is condensed, and the projection optical system includes a second diaphragm of absorption type having a variable opening diameter, the second diaphragm disposed at a second pupil position conjugate with the first pupil position to enhance contrast and improve image quality.
But Kita in view of Kimura does not disclose the light source further includes an optical system that changes at least one of a height of a light source image of the laser light of the first color or a height of a light source image of the laser light of the second color, the optical system of the light source is configured to have a small difference between the height of the light source image of the laser light of the first color and the height of the light source image of the laser light of the second color.
Kuwata discloses the light source further includes an optical system (see fig.1, 13rgb and 19 in figs.1 and 2, disclosed by a sequence of condensing lens) that changes at least one of a height of a light source image of the laser light of the first color (or a height of a light source image of the laser light of the second color (see fig.2, 13rgb and 19 in fig.2, wherein the different light flux heights due to the distances from 13RGB and the dispersive properties of 13RGB are changed to be approximately the same at 19 in fig.2), the optical system of the light source is configured to have a small difference between the height of the light source image of the laser light of the first color and the height of the light source image of the laser light of the second color (see examiner interprets size as sufficient to disclose height of the image: para.[0030]: “a secondary light source image of the green-color light emitting surface 12g focused on the incident surface 21 of the integrator rod 20 by the green-color collimate lens 13g and the condenser lens 19, a secondary light source image of the blue-color light emitting surface 12b focused on the incident surface 21 of the integrator rod 20 by the blue-color collimate lens 13b and the condenser lens 19 have the same size. The `same size` as used herein includes not only a completely the same size but also approximately the same size.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kita in view of Kimura with the teaching of Kuwata so that the light source further includes an optical system that changes at least one of a height of a light source image of the laser light of the first color or a height of a light source image of the laser light of the second color, the optical system of the light source is configured to have a small difference between the height of the light source image of the laser light of the first color and the height of the light source image of the laser light of the second color to improve utilization efficiency and image quality by providing a light source image of approximately the same size for each color.
With respect to claim 6, Kita in view of Kimura and Kuwata discloses the projection image apparatus according to Claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first diaphragm includes a plurality of movable blades, and the plurality of movable blades mainly diffuse and reflect 70% or more of light incident on the plurality of movable blades.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kita in view of Kimura and Kuwata so that the first diaphragm includes a plurality of movable blades, and the plurality of movable blades mainly diffuse and reflect 70% or more of light incident on the plurality of movable blades, since it would predictable enhance the contrast and reduce the heating of the projection optics and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
With respect to claim 7, Kita in view of Kimura and Kuwata discloses the projection image apparatus according to Claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the second diaphragm includes a plurality of movable blades, and the plurality of movable blades absorb 90% or more of visible light incident on the plurality of movable blades.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kita in view of Kimura and Kuwata so that the second diaphragm includes a plurality of movable blades, and the plurality of movable blades absorb 90% or more of visible light incident on the plurality of movable blades, since it would predictable enhance the contrast and prevent stray light and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
With respect to claim 16, Kita in view of Kimura and Kuwata discloses the projection image apparatus according to Claim 1, Kita wherein the area of the light emitting surface of the first light source component is smaller (see DB in fig.7) than the area of the light emitting surface of the second light source component (see DG in fig.7).
With respect to claim 17, Kita in view of Kimura and Kuwata discloses the projection image apparatus according to Claim 1, Kita in combination with Kimura and Kuwata discloses wherein the relay optical system (see the focusing lenses of fig.15 which condense the light from each light source of Kita and the condenser lens of 4a in fig.3 of Kimura) further includes a lens (see the lenses of fig.15 of Kita and the condenser lens of 4a) that condenses the illumination light at the first pupil position (see fig.3 and the use of the condenser lens and the placement of 32and 31 in fig.3 of Kimura).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 8-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 2, the prior art does not disclose or render obvious the projection image apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the light source emits laser light of a third color different from the first color and the second color, the illumination optical system generates the illumination light by combining the laser light of the first color, the laser light of the second color, and the laser light of the third color, the light source further includes a third light source component including a plurality of third laser light emitters arranged in an array, and each configured to emit the laser light of the third color, the area of the light emitting surface of the first light source component is different from an area of a light emitting surface of the third light source component, the optical system of the light source changes a height of a light source image of the laser light of the third color, and the optical system of the light source is configured to have a small difference between the height of the light source image of the laser light of the first color and the height of the light source image of the laser light of the third color.
The closest prior art of record, Kita, discloses a projection image apparatus (see figs.1, 7 and 15) comprising: a light source (see figs.7 and 15) that emits laser light of a first color that is blue (611B) and laser light of a second color different from blue (611G); an illumination optical system (see 602RGB, 603 and 604 in fig.7 and corresponding optical elements in fig.15) that generates illumination light by combining the laser light of the first color and the laser light of the second color from the light source (see operation of 603 and 604); a light modulator (see 210 RGB) that generates image light by modulating the illumination light from the illumination optical system in response to an image signal input from an outside ([0056]: The liquid crystal light bulbs 210R, 210G, and 210B are electrically connected to a signal source (e.g., PC) (not shown) that supplies image signals including image information) and a projection optical system (400 in fig.1) and a third color (see Red or Green or Blue) but does not disclose a third light source component including a plurality of third laser light emitters arranged in an array, and each configured to emit the laser light of the third color, the area of the light emitting surface of the first light source component is different from an area of a light emitting surface of the third light source component, the optical system of the light source changes a height of a light source image of the laser light of the third color, and the optical system of the light source is configured to have a small difference between the height of the light source image of the laser light of the first color and the height of the light source image of the laser light of the third color.
Claims 14 and 15 are allowable as they depend from allowable claims.
With respect to claim 3, the prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious a projection image apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the projection optical system is a projection lens unit detachably attached to a body of the projection image apparatus, the projection lens unit includes the second diaphragm, in a case where the second diaphragm is not controlled from the outside, the second diaphragm is brought into a first state of being set to a first opening diameter, in a case where the projection lens unit is mounted on a predetermined projector, the second diaphragm is brought into a second state of being set to a second opening diameter, and the second diaphragm is configured to have the first opening diameter in the first state always larger than the second opening diameter in the second state.
The closes prior art of record, Kimura, discloses the relay optical system includes a first diaphragm of reflection type having a variable opening diameter (see 37 in fig.23), the first diaphragm (see para. [0030]: In addition, …the movable aperture of the illumination optical system aperture is formed of a surface-treated member or a member with an exposed metal background to increase the reflectance.”) disposed at a first pupil position (see para.[0020]: the illumination optical system diaphragm is disposed at a position substantially conjugate with the entrance pupil of the projection lens) where the illumination light is condensed (see the location of 37 in figs. 3 and 23, placed after condensing lens 4a (4), see para.[0003]: “The illumination optical system for condensing and illuminating the light emitted from the lamp 1 as the light source on the reflective light valve 6 is a quadrangular prism having a concave mirror 2 and a cross-section substantially the same aspect ratio as the effective display surface of the reflective light valve 6. Rod prism 3, condenser lens 4”) but does not disclose wherein the projection optical system is a projection lens unit detachably attached to a body of the projection image apparatus, the projection lens unit includes the second diaphragm, in a case where the second diaphragm is not controlled from the outside, the second diaphragm is brought into a first state of being set to a first opening diameter, in a case where the projection lens unit is mounted on a predetermined projector, the second diaphragm is brought into a second state of being set to a second opening diameter, and the second diaphragm is configured to have the first opening diameter in the first state always larger than the second opening diameter in the second state.
Claims 4 and 5 are allowable as they depend from claim 3.
With respect to claim 8, the prior art does not disclose or render obvious the projection image apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the optical system of the light source includes: a first afocal optical system that changes a height of the light source image of the laser light of the first color to a first height, and a second afocal optical system that changes a height of the light source image of the laser light of the second color to a second height, and the first afocal optical system and the second afocal optical system are configured to have a difference between the first height and the second height, the difference smaller than a difference between the height of the light source image of the laser light of the first color before entering the first afocal optical system and the height of the light source image of the laser light of the second color before entering the second afocal optical system.
Claim 9 is allowable as it depends from an allowable claim 8.
With respect to claim 10, the prior art does not disclose or render obvious the projection image apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the optical system of the light source includes a first afocal optical system that changes a height of the light source image of the laser light of the first color to a first height, and the first afocal optical system is configured to have a difference between the first height and the height of the light source image of the laser light of the second color, the difference smaller than a difference between the height of the light source image of the laser light of the first color before entering the first afocal optical system and the height of the light source image of the laser light of the second color.
The closest reference of record, Kuwata, discloses the light source further includes an optical system (see fig.1, 13rgb and 19 in figs.1 and 2, disclosed by a sequence of condensing lens) that changes at least one of a height of a light source image of the laser light of the first color (or a height of a light source image of the laser light of the second color (see fig.2, 13rgb and 19 in fig.2, wherein the different light flux heights due to the distances from 13RGB and the dispersive properties of 13RGB are changed to be approximately the same at 19 in fig.2), the optical system of the light source is configured to have a small difference between the height of the light source image of the laser light of the first color and the height of the light source image of the laser light of the second color (see examiner interprets size as sufficient to disclose height of the image: para.[0030]: “a secondary light source image of the green-color light emitting surface 12g focused on the incident surface 21 of the integrator rod 20 by the green-color collimate lens 13g and the condenser lens 19, a secondary light source image of the blue-color light emitting surface 12b focused on the incident surface 21 of the integrator rod 20 by the blue-color collimate lens 13b and the condenser lens 19 have the same size. The `same size` as used herein includes not only a completely the same size but also approximately the same size.”) but does not disclose wherein the optical system of the light source includes a first afocal optical system that changes a height of the light source image of the laser light of the first color to a first height, and the first afocal optical system is configured to have a difference between the first height and the height of the light source image of the laser light of the second color, the difference smaller than a difference between the height of the light source image of the laser light of the first color before entering the first afocal optical system and the height of the light source image of the laser light of the second color.
With respect to claim 11, the prior art does not disclose or render obvious the projection image apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the optical system of the light source includes a second afocal optical system that changes a height of the light source image of the laser light of the second color to a second height, and the second afocal optical system is configured to have a difference between the height of the light source image of the laser light of the first color and the second height, the difference smaller than a difference between the height of the light source image of the laser light of the first color and the height of the light source image of the laser light of the second color before entering the second afocal optical system.
The closest reference of record, Kuwata, discloses the light source further includes an optical system (see fig.1, 13rgb and 19 in figs.1 and 2, disclosed by a sequence of condensing lens) that changes at least one of a height of a light source image of the laser light of the first color (or a height of a light source image of the laser light of the second color (see fig.2, 13rgb and 19 in fig.2, wherein the different light flux heights due to the distances from 13RGB and the dispersive properties of 13RGB are changed to be approximately the same at 19 in fig.2), the optical system of the light source is configured to have a small difference between the height of the light source image of the laser light of the first color and the height of the light source image of the laser light of the second color (see examiner interprets size as sufficient to disclose height of the image: para.[0030]: “a secondary light source image of the green-color light emitting surface 12g focused on the incident surface 21 of the integrator rod 20 by the green-color collimate lens 13g and the condenser lens 19, a secondary light source image of the blue-color light emitting surface 12b focused on the incident surface 21 of the integrator rod 20 by the blue-color collimate lens 13b and the condenser lens 19 have the same size. The `same size` as used herein includes not only a completely the same size but also approximately the same size.”) but does not disclose wherein the optical system of the light source includes a second afocal optical system that changes a height of the light source image of the laser light of the second color to a second height, and the second afocal optical system is configured to have a difference between the height of the light source image of the laser light of the first color and the second height, the difference smaller than a difference between the height of the light source image of the laser light of the first color and the height of the light source image of the laser light of the second color before entering the second afocal optical system.
With respect to claim 12, the prior art does not disclose or render obvious the projection image apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the light source includes: a fourth light source component including a plurality of fourth laser light emitters arranged in an array, and each configured to emit the laser light of the first color, a first mirror that reflects the laser light of the first color emitted from the first light source component, and a fourth mirror that reflects the laser light of the first color emitted from the fourth light source component, and an interval between a centroid position of a light flux of the laser light of the first color reflected by the first mirror and a centroid position of a light flux of the laser light of the first color reflected by the fourth mirror is shorter than an interval between a center position of the first light source component and a center position of the fourth light source component when an outer shape of the first light source component and an outer shape of the fourth light source component are arranged in contact with each other.
The closest prior art of record, Kita, discloses a projection image apparatus (see figs.1, 7 and 15) comprising: a light source (see figs.7 and 15) that emits laser light of a first color that is blue (611B) and laser light of a second color different from blue (611G); an illumination optical system (see 602RGB, 603 and 604 in fig.7 and corresponding optical elements in fig.15) that generates illumination light by combining the laser light of the first color and the laser light of the second color from the light source (see operation of 603 and 604); a light modulator (see 210 RGB) that generates image light by modulating the illumination light from the illumination optical system in response to an image signal input from an outside ([0056]: The liquid crystal light bulbs 210R, 210G, and 210B are electrically connected to a signal source (e.g., PC) (not shown) that supplies image signals including image information) and a projection optical system (400 in fig.1) and a third color (see Red or Green or Blue) but does not disclose a fourth light source component including a plurality of fourth laser light emitters arranged in an array, and each configured to emit the laser light of the first color, a first mirror that reflects the laser light of the first color emitted from the first light source component, and a fourth mirror that reflects the laser light of the first color emitted from the fourth light source component, and an interval between a centroid position of a light flux of the laser light of the first color reflected by the first mirror and a centroid position of a light flux of the laser light of the first color reflected by the fourth mirror is shorter than an interval between a center position of the first light source component and a center position of the fourth light source component when an outer shape of the first light source component and an outer shape of the fourth light source component are arranged in contact with each other.
With respect to claim 13, the prior art does not disclose or render obvious the projection image apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the light source includes: a fifth light source component including a plurality of fifth laser light emitters arranged in an array, and each configured to emit the laser light of the second color, a second mirror that reflects the laser light of the second color emitted from the second light source component, and a fifth mirror that reflects the laser light of the second color emitted from the fifth light source component, and an interval between a centroid position of a light flux of the laser light of the second color reflected by the second mirror and a centroid position of a light flux of the laser light of the second color reflected by the fifth mirror is shorter than an interval between a center position of the second light source component and a center position of the fifth light source component when an outer shape of the second light source component and an outer shape of the fifth light source component are arranged in contact with each other.
The closest prior art of record, Kita, discloses a projection image apparatus (see figs.1, 7 and 15) comprising: a light source (see figs.7 and 15) that emits laser light of a first color that is blue (611B) and laser light of a second color different from blue (611G); an illumination optical system (see 602RGB, 603 and 604 in fig.7 and corresponding optical elements in fig.15) that generates illumination light by combining the laser light of the first color and the laser light of the second color from the light source (see operation of 603 and 604); a light modulator (see 210 RGB) that generates image light by modulating the illumination light from the illumination optical system in response to an image signal input from an outside ([0056]: The liquid crystal light bulbs 210R, 210G, and 210B are electrically connected to a signal source (e.g., PC) (not shown) that supplies image signals including image information) and a projection optical system (400 in fig.1) and a third color (see Red or Green or Blue) but does not disclose a fourth light source component including a plurality of fourth laser light emitters arranged in an array, and each configured to emit the laser light of the first color, a first mirror that reflects the laser light of the first color emitted from the first light source component, and a fourth mirror that reflects the laser light of the first color emitted from the fourth light source component, and an interval between a centroid position of a light flux of the laser light of the first color reflected by the first mirror and a centroid position of a light flux of the laser light of the first color reflected by the fourth mirror is shorter than an interval between a center position of the first light source component and a center position of the fourth light source component when an outer shape of the first light source component and an outer shape of the fourth light source component are arranged in contact with each other.
Conclusion
/JERRY L BROOKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882