DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: transmitting, acquiring, determining,, receiving, controlling unit in claims 1,2,9,-10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2,9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification does not provide structure would be sufficient to achieve the function of the claimed transmitting acquiring, determining, receiving, controlling unit in claims 1,2,9,-.
Claims 1,3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Claims 1,3-8 recite a means that does not appear in combination with another recited element of means. The single means recites in the claim make it nonenabling because the specification disclosed at most only those means known to the inventor. See MPEP 2164.08 (a)..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1,2,9,10 the phrases “transmitting, acquiring, determining,, receiving, controlling unit" comprising a non-structural term “unit” and non-structural modifier “transmitting, acquiring, determining,, receiving, controlling”, would invoke 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph which proper structure from the specification. However, it is unclear from the specification what structure would be sufficient to achieve the function of the claimed transmitting acquiring, determining, receiving, controlling unit. The lack of sufficient structure in the specification renders the claim vague and indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, and 9-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al (US Application 2020/0366363, hereinafter Li363).
Regarding claims 1,11,14, Li363 discloses a method, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium and a base station apparatus (Figs. 2, 7-8,item #110 ) that communicates with a user apparatus (120) by a signal being relayed by a repeater apparatus(140), the base station apparatus comprising
transmitting unit(220,232,238244) configured to transmit, to the repeater apparatus(140), downlink control information (configuration information transmitting by the base station to the repeater as described on [0092],[0098]) including an instruction indicating a beam pattern the repeater apparatus should form([0092]-[0098], which recites a base station 110 may transmit a configuration that indicates a resource set to be used by a millimeter wave repeater 140 for beam management(beam pattern). The base station 110 may identify a first beam pair and a second beam pair (beam pattern form) based at least in part on transmitting the configuration. As shown by reference number 725, the first beam pair may be between the millimeter wave repeater 140 and the first node (e.g., the base station 110 in example 700) ).
Regarding claims 9, 12, 15,Li363 discloses a method, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium and a repeater apparatus (Figs. 2, 3,7-8,item #140 ) that relays communication between a base station apparatus (110) and a user apparatus (120) , the repeater apparatus comprising:
receiving unit (310) configured to receive downlink control information(configuration information received by the repeater as described on [0092]) including an instruction indicating a beam pattern to be formed by the repeater apparatus([0092]-[0097], which the repeater received a configuration that indicates a resource set to be used for beam management(beam pattern). The base station 110 may identify a first beam pair and a second beam pair (beam patter form) based at least in part on transmitting the configuration. As shown by reference number 725, the first beam pair may be between the millimeter wave repeater 140 and the first node (e.g., the base station 110 in example 700) ). ; and
controlling unit (330) configured to control a beam pattern, based on the downlink
control information received by the receiving unit([0062],[0093], which recites the controller 330 may control an antenna array 310 by controlling a beamforming configuration for the antenna array 310 (e.g., one or more phase values for the antenna array 310, one or more phase offsets for the antenna array 310, one or more power parameters for the antenna array 310, one or more beamforming parameters for the antenna array 310, a TX beamforming configuration, an RX beamforming configuration, and/or the like). The repeater 140 may transmit the received reference signal via multiple beams. In some aspects, the first set of resources and the second set of resources are over a same time interval. In this case, the repeater 140 may relay a signal (e.g., using multiple beams) in the same time interval in which the signal is received ).
Regarding claims 10, 13, 16, Li363 discloses a method, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium and a wireless communication system (Figs. 2, 3,7-8, ) including:
a repeater apparatus (140) that relays communication between a base station apparatus (110) and a user apparatus(120); and the base station apparatus,
wherein the base station apparatus comprises transmitting unit (130,290,294) configured to transmit, to the repeater apparatus, downlink control information (configuration information transmitting by the base station to the repeater as described on [0092]) including an instruction indicating a beam pattern the repeater apparatus should form([0092]-[0097], which recites a base station 110 may transmit a configuration that indicates a resource set to be used by a millimeter wave repeater 140 for beam management(beam pattern). The base station 110 may identify a first beam pair and a second beam pair (beam patter form) based at least in part on transmitting the configuration. As shown by reference number 725, the first beam pair may be between the millimeter wave repeater 140 and the first node (e.g., the base station 110 in example 700) ), and
the repeater apparatus (140) comprises controlling unit (330) configured to control a beam pattern based on the received downlink control information([0062],[0093], which recites the controller 330 may control an antenna array 310 by controlling a beamforming configuration for the antenna array 310 (e.g., one or more phase values for the antenna array 310, one or more phase offsets for the antenna array 310, one or more power parameters for the antenna array 310, one or more beamforming parameters for the antenna array 310, a TX beamforming configuration, an RX beamforming configuration, and/or the like). The repeater 140 may transmit the received reference signal via multiple beams. In some aspects, the first set of resources and the second set of resources are over a same time interval. In this case, the repeater 140 may relay a signal (e.g., using multiple beams) in the same time interval in which the signal is received ).
Regarding claim 2, Li363 discloses the base station apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising:
acquiring unit configured to acquire, from the user apparatus, measurement results of a plurality of measurement target signals relayed by the repeater apparatus using different beam patterns([0092]-[0097]); and
determining unit configured to determine a beam pattern the repeater apparatus should form, based on the measurement results acquired by the acquiring unit([0092]-[0097]).
Regarding claim 3, Li363 discloses the base station apparatus according to claim 1,wherein the downlink control information further includes timing information that designates a timing in which a beam pattern is to be used([0080]).
Regarding claim 4, Li363 discloses the base station apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the downlink control information further includes a plurality of pieces of timing information that designate a plurality of timings in which a beam pattern is to be used([0080]).
Regarding claim 5, Li363 discloses the base station apparatus according to to claim 1, wherein the downlink control information includes beam pattern instructions for a plurality of different repeater apparatuses([0086],[0112]).
Regarding claim 6, Li363 discloses the base station apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the downlink control information is transmitted in the same search space as downlink control information transmitted to a user apparatus ([0081], [0095], [0098], [011]).
Regarding claim 7, Li363 discloses the base station apparatus according to claim 1,wherein the downlink control information is transmitted in a search space that is different from a search space for downlink control information transmitted to a user apparatus([0081], [0095], [0098], [011]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li363 in view of Li et al. (US Application 2021/0037522, hereinafter Li522).
Regarding claim 8, Li363 discloses the base station apparatus according to claim 6, except wherein the downlink control information is transmitted in a state in which the downlink control information is encoded using a network identifier of the repeater apparatus.
However, Li522 teaches the downlink control information is transmitted in a state in which the downlink control information is encoded using a network identifier of the repeater apparatus([0036], [0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Li522with the teaching of Li363 by using the above features such as the downlink control information is transmitted in a state in which the downlink control information is encoded using a network identifier of the repeater apparatus as taught by Li522 for the purpose of connecting user equipment (UEs) with multiple base stations through a wireless repeater([0002]).
Conclusion
/DADY CHERY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418