Claim Status
The status of claims 1-17 is:
Claims 1-17 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/28/2024 and 03/05/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "select two or more images of interest from the images, based on the first features; and select, from the images, the auxiliary images similar to the selected two or more of the images of interest" in lines 3-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 claims “select, from the images, an image of interest . . . and an auxiliary image”. There is not mention of multiple images of interest or auxiliary images as claimed in claim 2 and its dependent claims. As such, there is no antecedent basis for the limitations of claim 2 and its dependent claims.
Claims 3-11 are rejected for the same reasons as for claim 2 above as well as being dependent on claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 12, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makhzani et al. (Makhzani, A., Shlens, J., Jaitly, N., Goodfellow, I., & Frey, B. (2015). Adversarial autoencoders. arXiv preprint arXiv:1511.05644., hereinafter “Makhzani”) in view of Noguchi (U.S. Patent Publication No 2021/0090312 listed in the IDS received 03/05/2026, hereinafter “Noguchi”).
Regarding claim 1, Makhzani discloses a similar image set creating apparatus configured to:
acquire a plurality of images (Makhzani Fig. 8: x);
extract a plurality of first features from the images by using a first model that executes an image classification task (Makhzani Page 10: “The architecture that we use is similar to Figure 8, with the difference that we remove the semi supervised classification stage and thus no longer train the network on any labeled mini-batch. Another difference is that the inference network q(y|x) predicts a one-hot vector whose dimension is the number of categories that we wish the data to be clustered into. Figure 9 illustrates the unsupervised clustering performance of the AAE on MNIST when the number of clusters is 16. Each row corresponds to one cluster. The first image in each row shows the cluster heads, which are digits generated by fixing the style variable to zero and setting the label variable to one of the 16 one-hot vectors”; Makhzani Fig. 8: top adversarial network);
extract a plurality of second features from the images by using a second model that executes an image classification task (Makhzani Page 10: “The architecture that we use is similar to Figure 8, with the difference that we remove the semi supervised classification stage and thus no longer train the network on any labeled mini-batch. Another difference is that the inference network q(y|x) predicts a one-hot vector whose dimension is the number of categories that we wish the data to be clustered into. Figure 9 illustrates the unsupervised clustering performance of the AAE on MNIST when the number of clusters is 16. Each row corresponds to one cluster. The first image in each row shows the cluster heads, which are digits generated by fixing the style variable to zero and setting the label variable to one of the 16 one-hot vectors”; Makhzani Fig. 8: bottom adversarial network), the second model being trained in such a manner that mutually similar images in a latent space are continuously distributed compared to the first model (Makhzani Fig. 8 description: “the top adversarial network imposes a Categorical distribution on the label representation and the bottom adversarial network imposes a Gaussian distribution on the style representation”); and
create an image set based on the images (Makhzani Page 11: “We used the following evaluation protocol: Once the training is done, for each cluster i, we found the validation example xn that maximizes q(yi|xn), and assigned the label of xn to all the points in the cluster i. We then computed the test error based on the assigned class labels to each cluster. As shown in Table 3, the AAE achieves the classification error rate of 9.55% and 4.10% with 16 and 30 total labels respectively. We observed that as the number of clusters grows, the classification rate improves”).
Makhzani does not explicitly disclose the apparatus comprising processing circuitry, the processing circuitry being configured to:
select, from the images, an image of interest serving as a reference of a similar image set, and an auxiliary image similar to the image of interest, based on the first features and the second features.
However, Noguchi teaches the apparatus comprising processing circuitry (Noguchi [0008]: “The image processing apparatus may comprise a processor”), the processing circuitry configured to:
select, from the images, an image of interest serving as a reference of a similar image set (Noguchi [0089]: “In a case where the centroid is determined, the image closest to the determined centroid (image distributed at the closest position) is determined by the CPU 2 as a representative image of the group having the centroid (step S37 in FIG. 5). In a case where the representative image is determined, the image classification result is displayed in the classification result window by using the determined representative image (step S38 in FIG. 5). This classification result window is displayed on the display screen of the display apparatus 3”; Noguchi [0091]: “In the classification result display window 80, representative images IR1 to IR10 of each group classified into 10 groups are displayed under the control of the CPU 2 (a representative image display control device). For example, each of the representative images IR1 to IR10 is an image representing each of the groups G1 to G10 shown in FIG. 12. Each of the representative images IR1 to IR10 is the image closest to the centroid C1 to the centroid C10 of each of the groups G1 to G10 shown in FIG. 12”; Noguchi [0093]: “In a case where any one of the representative image IR1 to the representative image IR10 displayed in the classification result display window 80 is double-clicked (any device other than the mouse 9 may be used as long as it can select an image, such as touching the touch panel display) by the mouse 9 (a representative image selection device) (YES in step S39 of FIG. 5), the double-clicked representative image is selected. Images included in the group represented by the selected representative image (images similar to each other) are displayed in a list in the second classification window 70A (step S40 in FIG. 5)”), and an auxiliary image similar to the image of interest, based on the first features and the second features (Noguchi [0089]: “In a case where the centroid is determined, the image closest to the determined centroid (image distributed at the closest position) is determined by the CPU 2 as a representative image of the group having the centroid (step S37 in FIG. 5). In a case where the representative image is determined, the image classification result is displayed in the classification result window by using the determined representative image (step S38 in FIG. 5). This classification result window is displayed on the display screen of the display apparatus 3”; Noguchi [0091]: “In the classification result display window 80, representative images IR1 to IR10 of each group classified into 10 groups are displayed under the control of the CPU 2 (a representative image display control device). For example, each of the representative images IR1 to IR10 is an image representing each of the groups G1 to G10 shown in FIG. 12. Each of the representative images IR1 to IR10 is the image closest to the centroid C1 to the centroid C10 of each of the groups G1 to G10 shown in FIG. 12”; Noguchi [0093]: “In a case where any one of the representative image IR1 to the representative image IR10 displayed in the classification result display window 80 is double-clicked (any device other than the mouse 9 may be used as long as it can select an image, such as touching the touch panel display) by the mouse 9 (a representative image selection device) (YES in step S39 of FIG. 5), the double-clicked representative image is selected. Images included in the group represented by the selected representative image (images similar to each other) are displayed in a list in the second classification window 70A (step S40 in FIG. 5)”).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the image selection as taught by Noguchi with the apparatus of Makhzani because it would allow a user to look at and make decisions based on the objects in the image sets (Noguchi [0089], [0091], [0093]). For example, a doctor examining medical images or an engineer looking at manufactured parts. This motivation for the combination of Makhzani and Noguchi is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention and rationale (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 16, it is rejected under the same analysis as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 17, it is rejected under the same analysis as claim 1 above along with Noguchi’s teaching of a non-transitory computer readable medium (Noguchi Claim 17: “A non-transitory recording medium storing a computer-readable program”).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the non-transitory computer readable medium as taught by Noguchi with the method of Makhzani because it would allow the method to be run on any computer. This motivation for the combination of Makhzani and Noguchi is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 12, Makhzani discloses the apparatus, wherein the first model is trained in such a manner that a distance between mutually similar images in a latent space becomes greater than in the second model (Makhzani Fig. 8 description: “the top adversarial network imposes a Categorical distribution on the label representation and the bottom adversarial network imposes a Gaussian distribution on the style representation”).
Regarding claim 14, Makhzani does not explicitly disclose the apparatus, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to cause a display device to display the image of interest and the auxiliary image as the similar image set.
However, Noguchi teaches the apparatus, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to cause a display device to display the image of interest and the auxiliary image as the similar image set (Noguchi [0089]: “In a case where the centroid is determined, the image closest to the determined centroid (image distributed at the closest position) is determined by the CPU 2 as a representative image of the group having the centroid (step S37 in FIG. 5). In a case where the representative image is determined, the image classification result is displayed in the classification result window by using the determined representative image (step S38 in FIG. 5). This classification result window is displayed on the display screen of the display apparatus 3”; Noguchi [0091]: “In the classification result display window 80, representative images IR1 to IR10 of each group classified into 10 groups are displayed under the control of the CPU 2 (a representative image display control device). For example, each of the representative images IR1 to IR10 is an image representing each of the groups G1 to G10 shown in FIG. 12. Each of the representative images IR1 to IR10 is the image closest to the centroid C1 to the centroid C10 of each of the groups G1 to G10 shown in FIG. 12”; Noguchi [0093]: “In a case where any one of the representative image IR1 to the representative image IR10 displayed in the classification result display window 80 is double-clicked (any device other than the mouse 9 may be used as long as it can select an image, such as touching the touch panel display) by the mouse 9 (a representative image selection device) (YES in step S39 of FIG. 5), the double-clicked representative image is selected. Images included in the group represented by the selected representative image (images similar to each other) are displayed in a list in the second classification window 70A (step S40 in FIG. 5)”).
It would have been obvious to combine Makhzani and Noguchi for the same reasons as stated for claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 15, Makhzani does not explicitly disclose the apparatus, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to create a limit sample, based on the image of interest and the auxiliary image.
However, Noguchi teaches the apparatus, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to create a limit sample, based on the image of interest and the auxiliary image (Noguchi [0097]: “In a case where the second designation classification button B11 is pressed (YES in step S41 of FIG. 5), a classification command is generated and input to the CPU 2. The image displayed in the second classification window 70A becomes an image to be newly classified, and the CPU 2 (an image classification device) performs the first stage classification that classifies the images into a plurality of groups for each similar image (step S26 in FIG. 3). The similar images displayed in the second classification window 70A are further classified into groups having the number of groups input in the group number input window 73 for each more similar image”).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limit sample as taught by Noguchi with the method of Makhzani because it would create an even more precise sample for a user to look at and act on. This motivation for the combination of Makhzani and Noguchi is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Makhzani and Noguchi combination in view of Tao et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No 2021/0248246 listed in the IDS received 02/28/2024, hereinafter “Tao”).
Regarding claim 13, the Makhzani and Noguchi combination does not explicitly disclose the apparatus, wherein the first model and the second model are generated by unsupervised representation learning and are trained based on mutually different loss functions.
However, Tao teaches the apparatus, wherein the first model and the second model are generated by unsupervised representation learning and are trained based on mutually different loss functions (Tao [0076]: “The update unit 20G receives the first loss for the plurality of first target data XA from the first loss calculation unit 20E. The update unit 20G receives the second loss for the element classes G from the second loss calculation unit 20F. The update unit 20G updates the parameters such that both of the received first loss and the received second loss become lower. Specifically, the update unit 20G updates the parameters such that the received first loss and the received second loss are lower than the first loss and the second loss calculated by the above-mentioned processing by using the learning model 30 the parameters of which are currently stored in the storage unit 20A”; Tao [0077]: “Specifically, the update unit 20G calculates the parameters such that a loss function expressed by Equation (5) below becomes lower”; Tao [0078]: “In Equation (5), L represents the loss function. L_1 represents the first loss. L_2 represents the second loss. a is a weighting of the second loss, and is a positive real number. a only needs to be determined in advance depending on the type of target data X. In the present embodiment, the case where a=1 is described as an example”).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the loss functions as taught by Tao with the apparatus of Makhzani and Noguchi because it would improve the accuracy of the method by minimizing loss and it would allow for the refining of each model for its specific purpose. This motivation for the combination of Makhzani and Noguchi is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AIDAN KEUP/Examiner, Art Unit 2666 /Molly Wilburn/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2666