CTNF 18/589,740 CTNF 80942 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims Claims 1-15 are currently pending in this application. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-7, 9-12, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1) and/or (a)(2 ) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (WO-2021085658-A1 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) with publication date 05/06/2021 and US-2023/0029563-A1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) with earliest priority date 10/28/2019) 2 . With respect to claim 1, Choi teaches of an electronic device (an electronic device 100 of fig.1 or an electronic device 700 of fig.7) , comprising: a flexible display (a flexible display of the electronic device 100, [0062]) i ncluding a display area (display 151 of fig.1 or display 720 of fig.7) which is visible from an external of the electronic device (display 151 is an ‘output part’ of the electronic device 100 being displayed/visual to a user) , wherein a state of the flexible display (a state change of the flexible display…the front surface area of the flexible display may be expanded or reduced by the user or based on a command of an application, [0070]) includes a first state in which the display area has a first size (a state in which the front surface area is at a fixed area 151U of the display 151 being located in the first frame 1001, fig. 2a and [0077]) , and a second state in which the display area has a second size larger than the first size based on the display area being extended in a first direction (a state in which the front surface area 151F of the display 151 is expanded to a variable area 151x of the display 151 being located in the second frame 1002, fig.2b and [0077]; the second frame 1002 slides in the first direction and extends from the first frame 1001, the front surface area 151F of the display 151 may be expanded, so that the fixed area 151U and the variable area 151X are exposed on the front surface, [0078]) ; a motor configured to be driven to change the state of the flexible display (the electronic device 100 may include a motor (or driver) to expand the display 151, [0082]); memory storing instructions (memory 170 of the electronic device 100, fig.1; memory 170 may store application programs (or applications) run in the electronic device 100, data for operation of the electronic device 100, and instructions, [0056]) ; and at least one processor (controller 180 of the electronic device 100, fig.1) , wherein the instructions that, when executed by one or more of the at least one processor (The application program may be stored in the memory 170, installed in the electronic device 100, and run by the controller 180 to perform an operation (or function) of the mobile terminal, [0056-0057]) , cause the electronic device to: determine a driving speed of the motor based on a driving pattern of the motor (an operation pattern obtained when a motor (e.g., the driver 310 of FIG. 4) is driven at a driving speed corresponding to a size of a display exposed, [0093]) based on an input for driving the motor being received for the change of the state (the predetermined user input may include an input related to setting of an operation pattern of the motor, for example, an input of a user setting an operation pattern of a motor through a setting window, [0123]; determine the operation pattern to correspond to a user input that indicates a speed of the motor 710 based on a length of the display 720 which is changed in response to the display 720 being exposed, [0135]) , and drive the motor based on the driving speed of the motor (The processor 730 may change the size of the display 720 using the identified operation pattern. The processor 730 may identify motor speed information corresponding to the identified operation pattern and drive the motor based on the motor speed information, thereby changing an exposure size of one side of the display 720, [0138]). With respect to claim 11, Choi teaches a method of controlling a display of an electronic device (a flow of operations in a control method of an electronic device, fig.8 and [0146-153]), the method comprising: receiving an input for driving a motor driven to change a state of a flexible display, wherein the state of the flexible display including a first state in which a display area has a first size, and a second state in which the display area has a second size greater than the first size based on the display area being extended in a first direction (in operation 810, the processor 730 may identify (or receive) event information associated with a size change of the display 720. Specifically, the processor 730 may receive information on an event for which the size change of the display 720 is required. Meanwhile, in the example embodiment, the processor 730 may determine to change a size of the display 720 based on the received event information and identify the event information therefor. For example, the processor 730 may identify content to be displayed based on at least one of the user input and information received from an external source of the electronic device. Also, the processor 730 may verify whether the size of the display 720 is to be changed based on a current size of the display 720 exposed and the content to be displayed. When the size of the display 720 is to be changed, the processor 730 may generate a control signal for a size change of the display 720 based on at least one of pieces of identified information, fig.8 and [0146]; In operation 820, the processor 730 may identify an operation pattern of the motor 710 based on the event information. When the event information is identified, the processor 730 may identify an operation pattern designated for the event. In addition, in the example embodiment, the processor 730 may identify a display size to be changed to display content related to the event information…when the event information is identified, the processor 730 may identify a size of a screen corresponding to the event. The processor 730 may identify the size of the display 720 exposed to correspond to the identified size of the screen. The processor 730 may identify an operation pattern corresponding to the identified size of the display 720, fig.8 and [0149-0150]; See further rejections in claim 1) ; determining a driving speed of the motor based on a driving pattern of the motor based on the input for driving the motor being received for the change of the state (The operation pattern may include an operation pattern for driving the motor 710 at a driving speed corresponding to the size of the display 720 exposed, fig.8 and [0151]; See further rejections in claim 1) ; and driving the motor based on the driving speed of the motor (In operation 830, the processor 730 may change the size of the display 720 using the identified operation pattern. The processor 730 may control the motor 710 to change the size of the exposed display 720 based on the identified operation pattern. That is, the processor 730 may control the motor 710 to be driven at a motor speed according to the exposure size (or length) of the display 720 indicated by the identified operation pattern, fig.8 and [0152], See further rejections in claim 1). With respect to claims 2 and 12, Choi teaches further wherein the driving pattern includes a number of driving times of the motor being driven for the change of the state (an operation pattern of the motor may be defined based on a motor speed (or a motor driving speed) according to a pull-out length of the display. The pull-out length of the display may be the size of the display exposed (or extended) based on a default state of the display [0094]; identifying a number of counts of the sensor per pull-out distance and determining a motor speed for each count number range of the sensor, fig.6 and [0107-0108]) , wherein the instructions that, when executed by the one or more of the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to : in case that a number of driving times is less than a reference value, determine the driving speed of the motor as a first speed, and in case that the number of driving times is greater than or equal to the reference value, determine the driving speed of the motor as a second speed greater than the first speed (when a user input indicating the speed of the motor 710 for each of a first length and a second length {the number of counts per pull-out distance fig.6 and [0107-0108]} of the display 720 is applied, the processor 730 may determine an operation pattern greater than or equal to the first length and less than or equal to the second length by determining the speed of the motor 710 for the first length to the second length based on the spline interpolation, [0136]; fig.5 teaches a first state where pull-out length is at 0%(closed) and the motor speed is at 50pwm [0097], and teaches a second state where the pull-out length is at 17mm and the motor speed is at 80pwm [0097], thus the motor speed of the second state at 80pwm is greater than the first speed at 50pwm; when the count of the sensor per pull-out length (e.g., 10) from the first point 601 to the second point 603 is 1000, an unsettled motor speed section (e.g., 50 through 90) corresponding to a section corresponding to the pull-out distance (e.g., 10) may be divided by 1000. In this example, a motor speed of a section between 0 and 250 may be set to 60, a motor speed of a section between 251 and 500 may be set to 70, and a motor speed of a section between 501 and 750 may be set to 80, fig.6 and [0108]). With respect to claim 3, Choi teaches further wherein the instructions that, when executed by the one or more of the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: map, based on the input for driving the motor being received while each of a plurality of applications is being executed, the number of driving times of the motor being driven in response to the input, and identification information of an application being executed at a time the input is received from among the plurality of applications, and store the mapping information in the memory (the front surface area of the flexible display may be expanded or reduced by the user or based on a command of an applica tion [0070]; interpolating a motor speed between set values of the motor speed by generating a spline curve using a spline (e.g., a Hermite spline and a cubic spline) that passes a control point (e.g., a point of a set motor speed) and mapping a value on the spline curve to the motor speed based on a resolution of the motor, FIG. 6, [0099]; when the count of the sensor per pull-out length (e.g., 10) from the first point 601 to the second point 603 is 1000, an unsettled motor speed section (e.g., 50 through 90) corresponding to a section corresponding to the pull-out distance (e.g., 10) may be divided by 1000. In this example, a motor speed of a section between 0 and 250 may be set to 60, a motor speed of a section between 251 and 500 may be set to 70, and a motor speed of a section between 501 and 750 may be set to 80, fig.6 and [0108]; when the event information includes information on the execution of the predetermined application, the processor 730 may identify a size of the screen corresponding to the predetermined application. The processor 730 may control the motor 710 to change the size of the exposed display 720 based on an operation pattern corresponding to the identified size. At this time, the size of the screen corresponding to the predetermined application may be designated in association with the predetermined application in advance, [0142]; The controller 180 may process a signal, data, information, and the like input or output through the aforementioned components or run the application program stor ed in the memory 170, [0057]). With respect to claim 4, Choi teaches further wherein the instructions that, when executed by the one or more of the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: in response to receiving the input, identify the application being executed at the time the input is received from among the plurality of applications; identify the number of driving times, which is mapped onto the identification information of the identified application in the memory; and determine the reference value based on the identified number of driving times (identify event information associated with the size change of the exposed display 720. Specifically, the processor 730 may ident ify (receive or obtain) information about an event for which the size change of the exposed portion of the display 720 is required [0122], event information may be information associated with at least one of, for example, execution of a predetermined application [0123], identification of the event information…based on an acquisition (e.g., reception of information indicating that an input to a predetermined area of a screen is acquired)…while the processor 730 controls the overall operation of the electronic device 700, and may also be performed based on direct identification (e.g., detection of execution of a predetermined application) [0124], when the event information is identified, the processor 730 may identify a state of the electronic device 700 [0125]). With respect to claim 5, Choi teaches further wherein the instructions that, when executed by the one or more of the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: determine the reference value as a first value based on the identified number of driving times being less than a designated value; and determine the reference value as a second value less than the first value based on the identified number of driving times being greater than or equal to the designated value (fig.5 teaches a first state where pull-out length is at 0%(closed) and the motor speed is at 50pwm [0097], and teaches a second state where the pull-out length is at 17mm and the motor speed is at 80pwm [0097], thus the motor speed of the second state at 80pwm is greater than the first speed at 50pwm; when the count of the sensor per pull-out length (e.g., 10) from the first point 601 to the second point 603 is 1000, an unsettled motor speed section (e.g., 50 through 90) corresponding to a section corresponding to the pull-out distance (e.g., 10) may be divided by 1000. In this example, a motor speed of a section between 0 and 250 may be set to 60 , a motor speed of a section between 251 and 500 may be set to 70 , and a motor speed of a section between 501 and 750 may be set to 80 , fig.6 and [0108]). With respect to claim 6, Choi teaches further wherein the driving pattern includes a plurality of duration times of the motor being driven at a plurality of time points, wherein the plurality of duration times include a first duration time in which the motor is driven in response to an input for the change of the state at a first time point and a second duration time in which the motor is driven in response to an input for the change of the state at a second time point (a control of the motor speed may be implemented through a control of pwm, more specifically, a control of pwm duty cycle. The pwm duty cycle may indicate a ratio of a total duration of a pulse to a total time within a predetermined period of time during which a continuous operation is performed. Through the control of the pwm duty cycle, a voltage applied to the motor may be adjusted and accordingly, the motor speed may be controlled, fig.6 and [0109]) , wherein the instructions that, when executed by the one or more of the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: calculate a difference value between the first duration time and the second duration time; and change the number of driving times of driving the motor based on the difference value (a pwm duty cycle for each motor speed when the motor speed is 5, 30, 50, and 100. As illustrated, when the motor speed is 5, a proportion of a value against 100 in the pwm duty cycle may be 5%. In addition, when the motor speed is 30, a proportion of a value against 100 in the pwm duty cycle may be 30%. Also, when the motor speed is 50, a proportion of a value against 100 in the pwm duty cycle may be 50%. Further, when the motor speed is 100, a proportion of a value against 100 in the pwm duty cycle may be 100%, fig.6 and [0111]). With respect to claim 7, Choi teaches further wherein the instructions that, when executed by the one or more of the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: reduce the number of driving times of driving the motor based on the difference value being greater than or equal to a designated value (fig.5 teaches reducing the speed of the motor from 80pwm to 20pwm based on the pull-out length between 17% to 50%, [0096-0108]). With respect to claims 9 and 14, Choi teaches further wherein the instructions that, when executed by the one or more of the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: wherein the driving pattern includes a plurality of duration times which the motor being driven at a plurality of time points, wherein the plurality of duration times include a first duration time in which the motor is driven in response to an input for the change of the state at a first time point and a second duration time in which the motor is driven in response to an input for the change of the state at a second time point (when the count of the sensor per pull-out length (e.g., 10) from the first point 601 to the second point 603 is 1000, an unsettled motor speed section (e.g., 50 through 90) corresponding to a section corresponding to the pull-out distance (e.g., 10) may be divided by 1000. In this example, a motor speed of a section between 0 and 250 may be set to 60, a motor speed of a section between 251 and 500 may be set to 70, and a motor speed of a section between 501 and 750 may be set to 80, fig.6 and [0108]; a control of the motor speed may be implemented through a control of pwm, more specifically, a control of pwm duty cycle. The pwm duty cycle may indicate a ratio of a total duration of a pulse to a total time within a predetermined period of time during which a continuous operation is performed. Through the control of the pwm duty cycle, a voltage applied to the motor may be adjusted and accordingly, the motor speed may be controlled, fig.6 and [0109]), calculate a difference value between the first duration time and the second duration time; determine the driving speed of the motor as a first speed based on the difference value being greater than or equal to a reference value (a pwm duty cycle for each motor speed when the motor speed is 5, 30, 50, and 100. As illustrated, when the motor speed is 5, a proportion of a value against 100 in the pwm duty cycle may be 5%. In addition, when the motor speed is 30, a proportion of a value against 100 in the pwm duty cycle may be 30%. Also, when the motor speed is 50, a proportion of a value against 100 in the pwm duty cycle may be 50%. Further, when the motor speed is 100, a proportion of a value against 100 in the pwm duty cycle may be 100%, fig.6 and [0111]) ; and determine the driving speed of the motor as a second speed greater than the first speed based on the difference value being less than the reference value (fig.5 teaches a first state where pull-out length is at 0%(closed) and the motor speed is at 50pwm [0097], and teaches a second state where the pull-out length is at 17mm and the motor speed is at 80pwm [0097], thus the motor speed of the second state at 80pwm is greater than the first speed at 50pwm). With respect to claims 10 and 15, Choi teaches further wherein the driving pattern includes a plurality of driving directions of the motor, wherein the instructions that, when executed by the one or more of the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: determine the driving speed of the motor as a first speed based on a driving direction of the motor being a direction that causes the flexible display to be changed from the first state to the second state; and determine the driving speed of the motor as a second speed greater than the first speed based on the driving direction of the motor being a direction that causes the flexible display to be changed from the second state to the first state (A direction in which the front surface area 151F of the display 151 is expanded may be defined as a first direction. In this case, as the front surface area 151F is expanded, a winding area 151C of the display 151 may move in the first direction. Also, as the front surface area 151F of the display 151 is reduced, the wound area 210 of the display 151 may move in a direction opposite to the first direction, [0075]; when a user input indicating the speed of the motor 710 for each of a first length and a second length {the number of counts per pull-out distance fig.6 and [0107-0108]} of the display 720 is applied, the processor 730 may determine an operation pattern greater than or equal to the first length and less than or equal to the second length by determining the speed of the motor 710 for the first length to the second length based on the spline interpolation, [0136]; fig.5 teaches a first state where pull-out length is at 0%(closed) and the motor speed is at 50pwm [0097], and teaches a second state where the pull-out length is at 17mm and the motor speed is at 80pwm [0097], thus the motor speed of the second state at 80pwm is greater than the first speed at 50pwm; when the count of the sensor per pull-out length (e.g., 10) from the first point 601 to the second point 603 is 1000, an unsettled motor speed section (e.g., 50 through 90) corresponding to a section corresponding to the pull-out distance (e.g., 10) may be divided by 1000. In this example, a motor speed of a section between 0 and 250 may be set to 60, a motor speed of a section between 251 and 500 may be set to 70, and a motor speed of a section between 501 and 750 may be set to 80, fig.6 and [0108]) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 8 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious, which makes the following claims allowable over the prior art: With respect to claims 8 and 13, Choi teaches of wherein the electronic device further comprising a temperature sensor (thermometer of sensing part 140 of electronic device 100, fig.1 and [0050]). However, Choi does not appear to teach wherein the instructions that, when executed by the one or more of the at one processor, further cause the electronic device to: determine the driving speed of the motor as the second speed based on a temperature of the electronic device measured through the temperature sensor being greater than or equal to a designated value . Conclusion The additional prior arts made of record and have not been relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as follows: US-20230283697. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HIEN (CINDY) D KHUU whose telephone number is (571)272-8585. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9am-5:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ken Lo can be reached on 571-272-9774. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /HIEN D KHUU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116 March 18, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/589,740 Page 2 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/589,740 Page 3 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/589,740 Page 4 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/589,740 Page 5 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/589,740 Page 6 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/589,740 Page 7 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/589,740 Page 8 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/589,740 Page 9 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/589,740 Page 10 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/589,740 Page 11 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/589,740 Page 12 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/589,740 Page 13 Art Unit: 2116 1 IDS reference filed on 01/15/2025. 2 US-2023/0029563-A1 is applied for element-to-element mapping.