Status of Claims/Response to Amendment
Claims 1-15 are currently pending in response to the claim amendments filed on June 15, 2026. Claims 1-15 are currently amended and overcame the 102 rejections as presented in the office action mailed on March 25, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (WO-2021085658-A1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) with publication date 05/06/2021 and US-2023/0029563-A1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) with earliest priority date 10/28/2019)1 in view of Park (WO-2020246814-A12, Publication Date: 12/20/2020).
With respect to claim 1, Choi teaches of an electronic device (an electronic device 100 of fig.1 or an electronic device 700 of fig.7) comprising:
a housing including a first housing part and a second housing part configured to movably engage with the first housing part between a retracted position and an extended position (the front surface area 151F of the display 151, an area constantly maintained irrespective of an expansion and a reduction may be defined as a fixed area 151U. Also, an area selectively exposed on the front surface in accordance with the expansion and the reduction may be defined as a variable area 151X. Based on a state in which the front surface area 151F of the display 151 is expanded, the fixed area 151U of the display 151 may be located in the first frame 1001 and the variable area 151X of the display 151 may be located in the second frame 1002, figs.2a-b and [0077]);
a flexible display coupled to the first housing part and the second housing part such that a size of an area of the flexible display that is visible from a front side of the housing changes as the housing is moved between the retracted position and the extended position (When the second frame 1002 slides in the first direction and extends from the first frame 1001, the front surface area 151F of the display 151 may be expanded, so that the fixed area 151U and the variable area 151X are exposed on the front surface. When the second frame 1002 slides in the direction opposite to the first direction and contracted from the first frame 1001, the front surface area 151F of the display 151 may be reduced, so that only the fixed area 151U remains, figs.2a-b and [0078]);
an actuator configured to move the second housing part with respect to the first housing part to change state of the electronic device between a first state and a second state, wherein the first state corresponds to the retracted position and the second state corresponds to the extended position (An expansion support 200 may be expanded or contracted by a driver 310. The driver 310 may be provided in a form of an actuator including a motor 311 and driven based on an expansion signal or a contraction signal generated by a controller. The expansion signal may correspond to an expansion of the display front surface area 151F and the contraction signal may correspond to a reduction of the display front surface area 151F, figs.4a-b and [0084]);
a sensor (sensing part 140, fig.1 and [0050]);
memory storing instructions (memory 170 of the electronic device 100, fig.1; memory 170 may store application programs (or applications) run in the electronic device 100, data for operation of the electronic device 100, and instructions, [0056]); and
at least one processor comprising processing circuitry (controller 180 of the electronic device 100, fig.1), wherein the instructions, when executed by one or more of the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively (The application program may be stored in the memory 170, installed in the electronic device 100, and run by the controller 180 to perform an operation (or function) of the mobile terminal, [0056-0057]), cause the electronic device to:
determine a driving speed of the actuator based on a driving pattern of the actuator (an operation pattern obtained when a motor (e.g., the driver 310 of FIG. 4) is driven at a driving speed corresponding to a size of a display exposed, [0093]) based on an input for driving the actuator being received for the change of the state (the predetermined user input may include an input related to setting of an operation pattern of the motor, for example, an input of a user setting an operation pattern of a motor through a setting window, [0123]; determine the operation pattern to correspond to a user input that indicates a speed of the motor 710 based on a length of the display 720 which is changed in response to the display 720 being exposed, [0135]), wherein the driving pattern comprises at least one of a number of times of driving the actuator and/or a driving direction of the actuator (The electronic device 100 may adjust a moving direction of the winding area 151C of the display 151 using the motor, thereby changing the size of the display 151, [0082]; To move the sub-member 220 and the second frame 1002 in the first direction, the gear rack 313 may extend in the first direction. Specifically, the gear rack 313 may be located around a center of the expansion support 200 based on a second direction, so as to evenly transfer a force to the sub-member 220, [0090]; an operation pattern of a motor of an electronic device…an operation pattern obtained when a motor (e.g., the driver 310 of FIG. 4) is driven at a driving speed corresponding to a size of a display exposed [0093]; an operation pattern of the motor may be defined based on a motor speed (or a motor driving speed) according to a pull-out length of the display. The pull-out length of the display may be the size of the display exposed (or extended) based on a default state of the display, fig.5 and [0094]), and drive the actuator based on the driving speed of the actuator (The processor 730 may change the size of the display 720 using the identified operation pattern. The processor 730 may identify motor speed information corresponding to the identified operation pattern and drive the motor based on the motor speed information, thereby changing an exposure size of one side of the display 720, [0138]).
With respect to claim 1, Choi teaches of a sensor (Choi: sensing part 140, fig.1 and [0050]) and determine a driving speed of the actuator based on a driving pattern of the actuator (Choi: an operation pattern obtained when a motor (e.g., the driver 310 of FIG. 4) is driven at a driving speed corresponding to a size of a display exposed, [0093]).
Choi does not teach that the sensor is configured to detect a temperature of the electronic device and determine the driving speed of the actuator based on the temperature of the electronic device.
However, it is known by Park to teach of a method to control an electronic device (Park: method for moving a part of an electronic device 101, figs.1-2), comprising: a sensor configured to detect a temperature of the electronic device (Park: The sensor module 176 detects an operating state (eg, power or temperature) of the electronic device 101, page 6) and determine the driving speed of the actuator based on the temperature of the electronic device (Park: the processor 120 may check the driving frequency of the driving motor 510 corresponding to the temperature of the electronic device 101… the driving frequency of the driving motor 510 may be differently specified according to the temperature of the electronic device 101. For example, a first driving frequency of the driving motor 510 is designated at a first temperature of the electronic device 101, and a second driving frequency different from the first driving frequency is designated at a second temperature different from the first temperature… when the time (t=0) means the time at which the second housing 204 is located at the first position P1, when the time (t=t3) is the time when the second housing 204 is positioned at the second position… during the time period from time (t=0) to time (t=t1), the driving frequency of the driving motor 510 is… about 2343 pps… and t1 may be about 30 ms… about 20 pps may correspond to one rotation of the driving shaft of the driving motor 510, page 19).
Because Park’s teaching is also directed to an electronic device (Park: figs.1-2; Choi: fig.7 and [0062;0084;0093]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of a sensor configured to detect a temperature of the electronic device and determine the driving speed of the actuator based on the temperature of the electronic device as taught by Park with the electronic device as taught by Choi so as to prevent an erroneous operation of the second housing caused by a decrease in thrust of the driving unit according to the temperature of surrounding conditions (Park: abstract).
With respect to claim 2, Choi and Park combined teaches further wherein the driving pattern includes a number of driving times of the actuator being driven for the change of the state (Choi: an operation pattern of the motor may be defined based on a motor speed (or a motor driving speed) according to a pull-out length of the display. The pull-out length of the display may be the size of the display exposed (or extended) based on a default state of the display [0094]; identifying a number of counts of the sensor per pull-out distance and determining a motor speed for each count number range of the sensor, fig.6 and [0107-0108]), and wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more of the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: in case that the number of driving times is less than a reference value, determine the driving speed of the actuator as a first speed, and in case that the number of driving times is greater than or equal to the reference value, determine the driving speed of the actuator as a second speed greater than the first speed (Choi: when a user input indicating the speed of the motor 710 for each of a first length and a second length {the number of counts per pull-out distance fig.6 and [0107-0108]} of the display 720 is applied, the processor 730 may determine an operation pattern greater than or equal to the first length and less than or equal to the second length by determining the speed of the motor 710 for the first length to the second length based on the spline interpolation, [0136]; fig.5 teaches a first state where pull-out length is at 0%(closed) and the motor speed is at 50pwm [0097], and teaches a second state where the pull-out length is at 17mm and the motor speed is at 80pwm [0097], thus the motor speed of the second state at 80pwm is greater than the first speed at 50pwm; when the count of the sensor per pull-out length (e.g., 10) from the first point 601 to the second point 603 is 1000, an unsettled motor speed section (e.g., 50 through 90) corresponding to a section corresponding to the pull-out distance (e.g., 10) may be divided by 1000. In this example, a motor speed of a section between 0 and 250 may be set to 60, a motor speed of a section between 251 and 500 may be set to 70, and a motor speed of a section between 501 and 750 may be set to 80, fig.6 and [0108]).
With respect to claim 3, Choi and Park combined teaches further wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more of the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, further cause the electronic device to: map, based on the input for driving the actuator being received while each of a plurality of applications is being executed, the number of driving times of the actuator being driven in response to the input, and identification information of an application being executed at a time the input is received from among the plurality of applications, and store the mapping information in the memory (Choi: the front surface area of the flexible display may be expanded or reduced by the user or based on a command of an application [0070]; interpolating a motor speed between set values of the motor speed by generating a spline curve using a spline (e.g., a Hermite spline and a cubic spline) that passes a control point (e.g., a point of a set motor speed) and mapping a value on the spline curve to the motor speed based on a resolution of the motor, FIG. 6, [0099]; when the count of the sensor per pull-out length (e.g., 10) from the first point 601 to the second point 603 is 1000, an unsettled motor speed section (e.g., 50 through 90) corresponding to a section corresponding to the pull-out distance (e.g., 10) may be divided by 1000. In this example, a motor speed of a section between 0 and 250 may be set to 60, a motor speed of a section between 251 and 500 may be set to 70, and a motor speed of a section between 501 and 750 may be set to 80, fig.6 and [0108]; when the event information includes information on the execution of the predetermined application, the processor 730 may identify a size of the screen corresponding to the predetermined application. The processor 730 may control the motor 710 to change the size of the exposed display 720 based on an operation pattern corresponding to the identified size. At this time, the size of the screen corresponding to the predetermined application may be designated in association with the predetermined application in advance, [0142]; The controller 180 may process a signal, data, information, and the like input or output through the aforementioned components or run the application program stored in the memory 170, [0057]).
With respect to claim 4, Choi and Park combined teaches further wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more of the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, further cause the electronic device to: in response to receiving the input, identify the application being executed at the time the input is received from among the plurality of applications; identify the number of driving times, which is mapped onto the identification information of the identified application in the memory; and determine the reference value based on the identified number of driving times (Choi: identify event information associated with the size change of the exposed display 720. Specifically, the processor 730 may identify (receive or obtain) information about an event for which the size change of the exposed portion of the display 720 is required [0122], event information may be information associated with at least one of, for example, execution of a predetermined application [0123], identification of the event information…based on an acquisition (e.g., reception of information indicating that an input to a predetermined area of a screen is acquired)…while the processor 730 controls the overall operation of the electronic device 700, and may also be performed based on direct identification (e.g., detection of execution of a predetermined application) [0124], when the event information is identified, the processor 730 may identify a state of the electronic device 700 [0125]).
With respect to claim 5, Choi and Park combined teaches further wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more of the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, further cause the electronic device to: determine the reference value as a first value based on the identified number of driving times being less than a designated value; and determine the reference value as a second value less than the first value based on the identified number of driving times being greater than or equal to the designated value (Choi: fig.5 teaches a first state where pull-out length is at 0%(closed) and the motor speed is at 50pwm [0097], and teaches a second state where the pull-out length is at 17mm and the motor speed is at 80pwm [0097], thus the motor speed of the second state at 80pwm is greater than the first speed at 50pwm; when the count of the sensor per pull-out length (e.g., 10) from the first point 601 to the second point 603 is 1000, an unsettled motor speed section (e.g., 50 through 90) corresponding to a section corresponding to the pull-out distance (e.g., 10) may be divided by 1000. In this example, a motor speed of a section between 0 and 250 may be set to 60, a motor speed of a section between 251 and 500 may be set to 70, and a motor speed of a section between 501 and 750 may be set to 80, fig.6 and [0108]).
With respect to claim 6, Choi and Park combined teaches further wherein the driving pattern includes a plurality of duration times of the actuator being driven at a plurality of time points, wherein the plurality of duration times include a first duration time in which the actuator is driven in response to an input for the change of the state at a first time point and a second duration time in which the actuator is driven in response to an input for the change of the state at a second time point (Choi: a control of the motor speed may be implemented through a control of pwm, more specifically, a control of pwm duty cycle. The pwm duty cycle may indicate a ratio of a total duration of a pulse to a total time within a predetermined period of time during which a continuous operation is performed. Through the control of the pwm duty cycle, a voltage applied to the motor may be adjusted and accordingly, the motor speed may be controlled, fig.6 and [0109]), wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more of the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, further cause the electronic device to: calculate a difference value between the first duration time and the second duration time; and change the number of driving times of driving the motor based on the difference value (Choi: a pwm duty cycle for each motor speed when the motor speed is 5, 30, 50, and 100. As illustrated, when the motor speed is 5, a proportion of a value against 100 in the pwm duty cycle may be 5%. In addition, when the motor speed is 30, a proportion of a value against 100 in the pwm duty cycle may be 30%. Also, when the motor speed is 50, a proportion of a value against 100 in the pwm duty cycle may be 50%. Further, when the motor speed is 100, a proportion of a value against 100 in the pwm duty cycle may be 100%, fig.6 and [0111]).
With respect to claim 7, Choi and Park combined teaches further wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more of the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, further cause the electronic device to: reduce the number of driving times of driving the actuator based on the difference value being greater than or equal to a designated value (Choi: fig.5 teaches reducing the speed of the motor from 80pwm to 20pwm based on the pull-out length between 17% to 50%, [0096-0108]).
With respect to claim 9, Choi and Park combined teaches further wherein the driving pattern includes a plurality of duration times which the actuator being driven at a plurality of time points, wherein the plurality of duration times include a first duration time in which the actuator is driven in response to an input for the change of the state at a first time point and a second duration time in which the actuator is driven in response to an input for the change of the state at a second time point (Choi: when the count of the sensor per pull-out length (e.g., 10) from the first point 601 to the second point 603 is 1000, an unsettled motor speed section (e.g., 50 through 90) corresponding to a section corresponding to the pull-out distance (e.g., 10) may be divided by 1000. In this example, a motor speed of a section between 0 and 250 may be set to 60, a motor speed of a section between 251 and 500 may be set to 70, and a motor speed of a section between 501 and 750 may be set to 80, fig.6 and [0108]; a control of the motor speed may be implemented through a control of pwm, more specifically, a control of pwm duty cycle. The pwm duty cycle may indicate a ratio of a total duration of a pulse to a total time within a predetermined period of time during which a continuous operation is performed. Through the control of the pwm duty cycle, a voltage applied to the motor may be adjusted and accordingly, the motor speed may be controlled, fig.6 and [0109]), wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more of the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, further cause the electronic device to: calculate a difference value between the first duration time and the second duration time; determine the driving speed of the actuator as a first speed based on the difference value being greater than or equal to a reference value (Choi: a pwm duty cycle for each motor speed when the motor speed is 5, 30, 50, and 100. As illustrated, when the motor speed is 5, a proportion of a value against 100 in the pwm duty cycle may be 5%. In addition, when the motor speed is 30, a proportion of a value against 100 in the pwm duty cycle may be 30%. Also, when the motor speed is 50, a proportion of a value against 100 in the pwm duty cycle may be 50%. Further, when the motor speed is 100, a proportion of a value against 100 in the pwm duty cycle may be 100%, fig.6 and [0111]); and determine the driving speed of the actuator as a second speed greater than the first speed based on the difference value being less than the reference value (fig.5 teaches a first state where pull-out length is at 0%(closed) and the motor speed is at 50pwm [0097], and teaches a second state where the pull-out length is at 17mm and the motor speed is at 80pwm [0097], thus the motor speed of the second state at 80pwm is greater than the first speed at 50pwm).
With respect to claim 10, Choi and Park combined teaches further wherein the driving pattern includes a plurality of driving directions of the actuator, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more of the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, further cause the electronic device to: determine the driving speed of the actuator as a first speed based on a driving direction of the actuator being a direction that causes the electronic device to be changed from the first state to the second state; and determine the driving speed of the actuator as a second speed greater than the first speed based on the driving direction of the actuator being a direction that causes the electronic device to be changed from the second state to the first state (Choi: A direction in which the front surface area 151F of the display 151 is expanded may be defined as a first direction. In this case, as the front surface area 151F is expanded, a winding area 151C of the display 151 may move in the first direction. Also, as the front surface area 151F of the display 151 is reduced, the wound area 210 of the display 151 may move in a direction opposite to the first direction, [0075]; when a user input indicating the speed of the motor 710 for each of a first length and a second length {the number of counts per pull-out distance fig.6 and [0107-0108]} of the display 720 is applied, the processor 730 may determine an operation pattern greater than or equal to the first length and less than or equal to the second length by determining the speed of the motor 710 for the first length to the second length based on the spline interpolation, [0136]; fig.5 teaches a first state where pull-out length is at 0%(closed) and the motor speed is at 50pwm [0097], and teaches a second state where the pull-out length is at 17mm and the motor speed is at 80pwm [0097], thus the motor speed of the second state at 80pwm is greater than the first speed at 50pwm; when the count of the sensor per pull-out length (e.g., 10) from the first point 601 to the second point 603 is 1000, an unsettled motor speed section (e.g., 50 through 90) corresponding to a section corresponding to the pull-out distance (e.g., 10) may be divided by 1000. In this example, a motor speed of a section between 0 and 250 may be set to 60, a motor speed of a section between 251 and 500 may be set to 70, and a motor speed of a section between 501 and 750 may be set to 80, fig.6 and [0108]).
Claims 11-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (WO-2020246814-A13, Publication Date: 12/20/2020) in view of Choi et al. (WO-2021085658-A1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) with publication date 05/06/2021 and US-2023/0029563-A1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) with earliest priority date 10/28/2019)4.
With respect to claim 11, Park (WO-2020246814-A1) teaches a method of controlling an electronic device (method for moving a part of an electronic device 101, figs.1-2), the method comprising:
receiving an input (The sensor module 176 [of the electronic device 101, fig.1] detects an operating state (eg, power or temperature) of the electronic device 101, or an external environmental state (eg, a user state), and generates an electrical signal or data value corresponding to the detected state…the sensor module 176 is, for example, a gesture sensor, a gyro sensor, an atmospheric pressure sensor, a magnetic sensor, an acceleration sensor, a grip sensor, a proximity sensor, a color sensor, an infrared (IR) sensor, a biometric sensor…a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, or an illuminance sensor, page 6) for driving a actuator (the driving unit 501 is disposed in the first housing 210, and a driving motor 510 (eg, a step motor), a frame nut 520, and a drive A frame 531, a drive shaft 530, a bearing 533, and a flexible printed circuit board (FPCB) 511… the drive motor 510 may receive power from the FPCB 511 and rotate the drive shaft 530, fig.5 and page 13) driven to change a state of an electronic device between a first state and a second state, wherein the first state corresponds to a retracted position of a housing of the electronic device, and the second state corresponds to an extended position of the housing (the processor 120 may detect an input for moving the second housing 204 in the first direction L1…the input for moving the second housing 204 in the first direction L1 is input while the second housing 204 is accommodated (or retracted) in the first housing 210… an input for executing a function for recognizing the user's iris or the user's face… the input for moving the second housing 204 in the first direction L1 is that the second housing 204 (or slide body) is accommodated (or retracted) in the first housing 210, page 18); determining a driving [[speed]] of the actuator based on a driving pattern of the actuator and a temperature of the electronic device based on the input for driving the actuator being received for the change of the state, wherein the driving pattern comprises at least one of a number of times of driving the actuator and/or a driving direction of the actuator; and driving the actuator based on the driving [[speed]] of the actuator (the processor 120 may check the driving frequency of the driving motor 510 corresponding to the temperature of the electronic device 101… the driving frequency of the driving motor 510 may be differently specified according to the temperature of the electronic device 101. For example, a first driving frequency of the driving motor 510 is designated at a first temperature of the electronic device 101, and a second driving frequency different from the first driving frequency is designated at a second temperature different from the first temperature… when the time (t=0) means the time at which the second housing 204 is located at the first position P1, when the time (t=t3) is the time when the second housing 204 is positioned at the second position… during the time period from time (t=0) to time (t=t1), the driving frequency of the driving motor 510 is… about 2343 pps… and t1 may be about 30 ms… about 20 pps may correspond to one rotation of the driving shaft of the driving motor 510, page 19, when a constant power (or uniform) is applied to the driving motor 510, the thrust may be decreased when the driving frequency is increased, and the thrust may be increased when the driving frequency is decreased. have. For example, when a constant power is applied to the driving motor 510, the driving frequency and the thrust may be in inverse proportional relationship linearly or nonlinearly. Hereinafter, an increase in the driving frequency may mean a decrease in thrust, and a decrease in the driving frequency may mean an increase in thrust, page 20; a time interval from time (t=0) to time (t=t1) and a time interval from time (t=t2) to time (t=t3) The driving frequency specified in may be lower than the driving frequency specified in a time interval from time (t=t1) to time (t=t2). For example, the second housing 204 starts moving in the first direction (L1) from time (t=0) to time (t=t1) and a time interval from time (t=t2) to the second housing The frictional force (e.g., frictional force or static friction force between the first housing 210 and the second housing 204) generated in the time period until the time (t=t3) at which the 204 is positioned at the second position P2 is , Considering a point greater than the frictional force generated in the time interval from time (t=t1) to time (t=t2) (eg, frictional force or kinetic frictional force between the first housing 210 and the second housing 204) , As shown in the graph 810, a driving frequency may be designated. As another example, the second housing 204 starts to move in the first direction L1 in the time interval from time (t=0) to time (t=t1) and time (t=t2) to the second The effect of the mechanical structure occurring in the time interval from the time when the housing 204 is located in the second position P2 (t=t3) is the time from time (t=t1) to time (t=t2) In consideration of a point greater than the influence of the mechanical structure occurring in the section, page 20).
With respect to claim 11, Park teaches determining the driving frequency of the actuator but Park does not teach determining the driving speed of the actuator.
However, it is known by Choi to teach of an electronic device (an electronic device 100 of fig.1 or an electronic device 700 of fig.7), comprising: a flexible display (a flexible display of the electronic device 100, [0062]); an actuator configured to be driven to change the state of the flexible display (driver 310 may be provided in a form of an actuator including a motor 311 and driven based on an expansion signal or a contraction signal generated by a controller, [0084]); the electronic device to: determine a driving speed of the motor based on a driving pattern of the motor (an operation pattern obtained when a motor (e.g., the driver 310 of FIG. 4) is driven at a driving speed corresponding to a size of a display exposed, [0093]) based on an input for driving the motor being received for the change of the state (the predetermined user input may include an input related to setting of an operation pattern of the motor, for example, an input of a user setting an operation pattern of a motor through a setting window, [0123]; determine the operation pattern to correspond to a user input that indicates a speed of the motor 710 based on a length of the display 720 which is changed in response to the display 720 being exposed, [0135]), and drive the motor based on the driving speed of the motor (The processor 730 may change the size of the display 720 using the identified operation pattern. The processor 730 may identify motor speed information corresponding to the identified operation pattern and drive the motor based on the motor speed information, thereby changing an exposure size of one side of the display 720, [0138]).
Because Choi’s teaching is also directed to an electronic device with a flexible display and actuator configured to be driven to change the state of the flexible display (Choi: fig.7 and [0062;0084;0093]; Park: figs.1-2), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of determining the driving speed of the actuator as taught by Choi with the electronic device with a flexible display as taught by Park for the purpose of controlling the speed of the motor/actuator to control the size of the display to change more smoothly without interruption (Choi: [0100]).
With respect to claim 12, Park and Choi combined teaches further wherein the driving pattern includes a number of driving times of the actuator being driven for the change of the state (Choi: an operation pattern of the motor may be defined based on a motor speed (or a motor driving speed) according to a pull-out length of the display. The pull-out length of the display may be the size of the display exposed (or extended) based on a default state of the display [0094]; identifying a number of counts of the sensor per pull-out distance and determining a motor speed for each count number range of the sensor, fig.6 and [0107-0108]), and wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more of the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: in case that the number of driving times is less than a reference value, determine the driving speed of the actuator as a first speed, and in case that the number of driving times is greater than or equal to the reference value, determine the driving speed of the actuator as a second speed greater than the first speed (Choi: when a user input indicating the speed of the motor 710 for each of a first length and a second length {the number of counts per pull-out distance fig.6 and [0107-0108]} of the display 720 is applied, the processor 730 may determine an operation pattern greater than or equal to the first length and less than or equal to the second length by determining the speed of the motor 710 for the first length to the second length based on the spline interpolation, [0136]; fig.5 teaches a first state where pull-out length is at 0%(closed) and the motor speed is at 50pwm [0097], and teaches a second state where the pull-out length is at 17mm and the motor speed is at 80pwm [0097], thus the motor speed of the second state at 80pwm is greater than the first speed at 50pwm; when the count of the sensor per pull-out length (e.g., 10) from the first point 601 to the second point 603 is 1000, an unsettled motor speed section (e.g., 50 through 90) corresponding to a section corresponding to the pull-out distance (e.g., 10) may be divided by 1000. In this example, a motor speed of a section between 0 and 250 may be set to 60, a motor speed of a section between 251 and 500 may be set to 70, and a motor speed of a section between 501 and 750 may be set to 80, fig.6 and [0108]).
With respect to claim 14, Park and Choi combined teaches further wherein the driving pattern includes a plurality of duration times which the actuator being driven at a plurality of time points, wherein the plurality of duration times include a first duration time in which the actuator is driven in response to an input for the change of the state at a first time point and a second duration time in which the actuator is driven in response to an input for the change of the state at a second time point (Choi: when the count of the sensor per pull-out length (e.g., 10) from the first point 601 to the second point 603 is 1000, an unsettled motor speed section (e.g., 50 through 90) corresponding to a section corresponding to the pull-out distance (e.g., 10) may be divided by 1000. In this example, a motor speed of a section between 0 and 250 may be set to 60, a motor speed of a section between 251 and 500 may be set to 70, and a motor speed of a section between 501 and 750 may be set to 80, fig.6 and [0108]; a control of the motor speed may be implemented through a control of pwm, more specifically, a control of pwm duty cycle. The pwm duty cycle may indicate a ratio of a total duration of a pulse to a total time within a predetermined period of time during which a continuous operation is performed. Through the control of the pwm duty cycle, a voltage applied to the motor may be adjusted and accordingly, the motor speed may be controlled, fig.6 and [0109]), wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more of the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, further cause the electronic device to: calculate a difference value between the first duration time and the second duration time; determine the driving speed of the actuator as a first speed based on the difference value being greater than or equal to a reference value (Choi: a pwm duty cycle for each motor speed when the motor speed is 5, 30, 50, and 100. As illustrated, when the motor speed is 5, a proportion of a value against 100 in the pwm duty cycle may be 5%. In addition, when the motor speed is 30, a proportion of a value against 100 in the pwm duty cycle may be 30%. Also, when the motor speed is 50, a proportion of a value against 100 in the pwm duty cycle may be 50%. Further, when the motor speed is 100, a proportion of a value against 100 in the pwm duty cycle may be 100%, fig.6 and [0111]); and determine the driving speed of the actuator as a second speed greater than the first speed based on the difference value being less than the reference value (fig.5 teaches a first state where pull-out length is at 0%(closed) and the motor speed is at 50pwm [0097], and teaches a second state where the pull-out length is at 17mm and the motor speed is at 80pwm [0097], thus the motor speed of the second state at 80pwm is greater than the first speed at 50pwm).
With respect to claim 15, Park and Choi combined teaches further wherein the driving pattern includes a plurality of driving directions of the actuator, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more of the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, further cause the electronic device to: determine the driving speed of the actuator as a first speed based on a driving direction of the actuator being a direction that causes the electronic device to be changed from the first state to the second state; and determine the driving speed of the actuator as a second speed greater than the first speed based on the driving direction of the actuator being a direction that causes the electronic device to be changed from the second state to the first state (Choi: A direction in which the front surface area 151F of the display 151 is expanded may be defined as a first direction. In this case, as the front surface area 151F is expanded, a winding area 151C of the display 151 may move in the first direction. Also, as the front surface area 151F of the display 151 is reduced, the wound area 210 of the display 151 may move in a direction opposite to the first direction, [0075]; when a user input indicating the speed of the motor 710 for each of a first length and a second length {the number of counts per pull-out distance fig.6 and [0107-0108]} of the display 720 is applied, the processor 730 may determine an operation pattern greater than or equal to the first length and less than or equal to the second length by determining the speed of the motor 710 for the first length to the second length based on the spline interpolation, [0136]; fig.5 teaches a first state where pull-out length is at 0%(closed) and the motor speed is at 50pwm [0097], and teaches a second state where the pull-out length is at 17mm and the motor speed is at 80pwm [0097], thus the motor speed of the second state at 80pwm is greater than the first speed at 50pwm; when the count of the sensor per pull-out length (e.g., 10) from the first point 601 to the second point 603 is 1000, an unsettled motor speed section (e.g., 50 through 90) corresponding to a section corresponding to the pull-out distance (e.g., 10) may be divided by 1000. In this example, a motor speed of a section between 0 and 250 may be set to 60, a motor speed of a section between 251 and 500 may be set to 70, and a motor speed of a section between 501 and 750 may be set to 80, fig.6 and [0108]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious, which makes the following claims allowable over the prior art:
With respect to claims 8 and 13, Choi teaches of wherein the electronic device further comprising a temperature sensor (thermometer of sensing part 140 of electronic device 100, fig.1 and [0050]). However, Choi does not appear to teach wherein the instructions that, when executed by the one or more of the at one processor, further cause the electronic device to: determine the driving speed of the motor as the second speed based on a temperature of the electronic device measured through the temperature sensor being greater than or equal to a designated value.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HIEN D KHUU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116 August 8, 2026
1 US-2023/0029563-A1 is applied for element-to-element mapping.
2 Reference shares common assignee with pending application but with different inventor(s).
3 Reference shares common assignee with pending application but with different inventor(s).
4 US-2023/0029563-A1 is applied for element-to-element mapping.