DETAILED ACTION
In response to communications filed 06/12/2024.
Claims NNN are amended.
Claims NNN are added.
Claims NNN are canceled.
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Claims NNN stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 teaches a communication apparatus (line 1) and further teaches a terminal (line 7). It is unclear and/or indefinite as to whether the claimed terminal is in reference to the communication apparatus since the terminal device itself is the element which sends indication information (to a network node) and further receives an RRC message for configuring an SRB2 throughout the instant specification (Figs. 3-11). For the sake of compact prosecution, Examiner assumes the terminal is in reference to the communication apparatus however requests further explanation and/or amendments in a future response to overcome the current rejection. Claims 14-18 are also rejected based on their dependency of rejected claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 2024/0214457 A1) hereinafter “Li.”
Regarding Claim 1, Li teaches A communication method, wherein the method comprises:
sending, indication information (Li: paragraphs 0078-0079 & Fig. 5, transmitting a first message used to generate first configuration information), wherein the indication information indicates at least one of the following: positioning (Li: paragraphs 0075, 0079-0080 & Figs. 4-5, positioning related information), a terminal type (Li: paragraphs 0082 & 0087-0088, transmission mode), or signaling transmission (Li: paragraphs 0078-0081 & Fig. 5, configuration for a Signaling Radio Bearer (SRB) or a Data Radio Bearer (DRB)); and
receiving, a radio resource control (RRC) message (Li: paragraph 0081 & Fig. 5, receiving first configuration by RRC Message), wherein the RRC message is used for configuring a signaling radio bearer (SRB) 2 (Li: paragraphs 0081-0081 & Fig. 5, Signaling Radio Bearer (SRB2) based on if the radio bearer for transmitting the first message is an SRB) for a terminal (Li: paragraph 0078 & Fig. 5, user equipment (UE); see also paragraph 0230 & Fig. 13, user equipment) and not configuring a data radio bearer (DRB) (Li: paragraphs 0081-0081 & Fig. 5, said receiving of SRB configuration only (instead of DRB), thus configuring SRB based on the first message indicating SRB and not DRB; see also paragraphs 0081-0081 & Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 2, Li teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein when the indication information indicates positioning, the indication information comprises at least one of the following: positioning, positioning-signaling, a positioning service, or positioning service signaling (Li: paragraph 0082, positioning related information).
Regarding Claim 3, Li teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the terminal type comprises a positioning terminal and when the indication information indicates that the terminal type is the positioning terminal, the indication information further comprises at least one of the following: a positioning-node indication or a positioning indication (Li: paragraph 0082, positioning related information).
Regarding Claim 4, Li teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the terminal type comprises a terminal performing signaling transmission and when the indication information indicates that the terminal type is the terminal performing signaling transmission, the indication information further comprises at least one of the following: a signaling node indication or a signaling only-node indication (Li: paragraphs 0081-0081 & Fig. 5, Signaling Radio Bearer (SRB2) based on if the radio bearer for transmitting the first message is an SRB)
Regarding Claim 5, Li teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein, when the indication information indicates signaling transmission, the indication information comprises at least one of the following: signaling, signaling-only, or control-signaling (Li: paragraphs 0082 & 0087-0088, transmission mode (i.e. SRBx to indicate positioning SRB, SRB-Pos and/or pos-SRB)),
Regarding Claim 6. The method according to claim 1, wherein the indication information is comprised in an RRC setup request message (Li: paragraph 0081, the RRC message may be an RRC setup message), and the indication information is an establishment (Li: paragraph 0081, configuration information used to establish a bearer) cause;
the indication information is comprised in an RRC resume request message (Li: paragraph 0081, RRC resume message), and the indication information is a resume cause (Li: paragraph 0123, resume cause);
the indication information is comprised in an RRC setup complete message; or the indication information is comprised in an RRC resume complete message (Li: paragraph 0068, RRC resume complete message).
Regarding Claim 7, Li teaches A communication method, wherein the method comprises:
receiving indication information (Li: paragraphs 0078-0079 & Fig. 5, receiving a first message used to generate first configuration information), wherein the indication information indicates at least one of the following: positioning (Li: paragraphs 0075, 0079-0080 & Figs. 4-5, positioning related information), a terminal type (Li: paragraphs 0082 & 0087-0088, transmission mode), or signaling transmission (Li: paragraphs 0078-0081 & Fig. 5, configuration for a Signaling Radio Bearer (SRB) or a Data Radio Bearer (DRB)); and
sending a radio resource control (RRC) message (Li: paragraph 0081 & Fig. 5, sending first configuration by RRC Message), wherein the RRC message is used for configuring a signaling radio bearer (SRB) 2 (Li: paragraphs 0081-0081 & Fig. 5, Signaling Radio Bearer (SRB2) based on if the radio bearer for transmitting the first message is an SRB) for a terminal (Li: paragraph 0078 & Fig. 5, user equipment (UE); see also paragraph 0230 & Fig. 13, user equipment) and not configuring a data radio bearer (DRB) (Li: paragraphs 0081-0081 & Fig. 5, said receiving of SRB configuration only (instead of DRB), thus configuring SRB based on the first message indicating SRB and not DRB; see also paragraphs 0081-0081 & Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 8, Li teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein when the indication information indicates positioning, the indication information comprises at least one of the following: positioning, positioning-signaling, a positioning service, or positioning service signaling (Li: paragraph 0082, positioning related information).
Regarding Claim 9, Li teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the terminal type comprises a positioning terminal and when the indication information indicates that the terminal type is the positioning terminal, the indication information further comprises at least one of the following: a positioning-node indication or a positioning indication (Li: paragraph 0082, positioning related information).
Regarding Claim 10, Li teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the terminal type comprises a terminal performing signaling transmission and when the indication information indicates that the terminal type is a terminal performing signaling transmission, the indication information comprises at least one of the following: a signaling node indication or a signaling only-node indication (Li: paragraphs 0081-0081 & Fig. 5, Signaling Radio Bearer (SRB2) based on if the radio bearer for transmitting the first message is an SRB).
Regarding Claim 11, Li teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein when the indication information indicates signaling transmission, the indication information comprises at least one of the following: signaling, signaling-only, or control-signaling (Li: paragraphs 0082 & 0087-0088, transmission mode (i.e. SRBx to indicate positioning SRB, SRB-Pos and/or pos-SRB)),
Regarding Claim 12, Li teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein, the indication information is comprised in an RRC setup request message (Li: paragraph 0081, the RRC message may be an RRC setup message), and the indication information is an establishment (Li: paragraph 0081, configuration information used to establish a bearer) cause;
the indication information is comprised in an RRC resume request message (Li: paragraph 0081, RRC resume message), and the indication information is a resume cause (Li: paragraph 0123, resume cause);
the indication information is comprised in an RRC setup complete message; or the indication information is comprised in an RRC resume complete message (Li: paragraph 0068, RRC resume complete message).
Regarding Claim 13, Li teaches A communication apparatus (Li: paragraph 0078 & Fig. 5, user equipment (UE); see also paragraph 0230 & Fig. 13, user equipment), wherein the apparatus comprises a transceiver (Li: paragraph 0230 & Fig. 13, transceiver), wherein
the transceiver is configured to send indication information (Li: paragraphs 0078-0079 & Fig. 5, UE transmitting a first message used to generate first configuration information), wherein the indication information indicates at least one of the following: positioning (Li: paragraphs 0075, 0079-0080 & Figs. 4-5, positioning related information), a terminal type (Li: paragraphs 0082 & 0087-0088, transmission mode), or signaling transmission (Li: paragraphs 0078-0081 & Fig. 5, configuration for a Signaling Radio Bearer (SRB) or a Data Radio Bearer (DRB)); and
the transceiver is further configured to receive a radio resource control (RRC) message (Li: paragraph 0081 & Fig. 5, UE receiving first configuration by RRC Message), wherein the RRC message is used for configuring a signaling radio bearer (SRB) 2 (Li: paragraphs 0081-0081 & Fig. 5, Signaling Radio Bearer (SRB2) based on if the radio bearer for transmitting the first message is an SRB) for a terminal (Li: paragraph 0078 & Fig. 5, user equipment (UE); see also paragraph 0230 & Fig. 13, user equipment) and not configuring a data radio bearer (DRB) (Li: paragraphs 0081-0081 & Fig. 5, said receiving of SRB configuration only (instead of DRB), thus configuring SRB based on the first message indicating SRB and not DRB; see also paragraphs 0081-0081 & Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 14, Li teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein when the indication information indicates positioning, the indication information comprises at least one of the following: positioning, positioning-signaling, a positioning service, or positioning service signaling (Li: paragraph 0082, positioning related information).
Regarding Claim 15, Li teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the terminal type comprises a positioning terminal and when the indication information indicates that the terminal type is the positioning terminal, the indication information further comprises at least one of the following: a positioning-node indication or a positioning indication (Li: paragraph 0082, positioning related information).
Regarding Claim 16, Li teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the terminal type comprises a terminal performing signaling transmission and when the indication information indicates that the terminal type is the terminal performing signaling transmission, the indication information further comprises at least one of the following: a signaling node indication or a signaling only-node indication (Li: paragraphs 0081-0081 & Fig. 5, Signaling Radio Bearer (SRB2) based on if the radio bearer for transmitting the first message is an SRB).
Regarding Claim 17, Li teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein when the indication information indicates signaling transmission, the indication information comprises at least one of the following: signaling, signaling-only, or control-signaling (Li: paragraphs 0082 & 0087-0088, transmission mode (i.e. SRBx to indicate positioning SRB, SRB-Pos and/or pos-SRB)).
Regarding Claim 18, Li teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein, the indication information is comprised in an RRC setup request message (Li: paragraph 0081, the RRC message may be an RRC setup message), and the indication information is an establishment (Li: paragraph 0081, configuration information used to establish a bearer) cause;
the indication information is comprised in an RRC resume request message (Li: paragraph 0081, RRC resume message), and the indication information is a resume cause (Li: paragraph 0123, resume cause);
the indication information is comprised in an RRC setup complete message; or the indication information is comprised in an RRC resume complete message (Li: paragraph 0068, RRC resume complete message).
Regarding Claim 19, Li teaches A communication apparatus (Li: paragraph 0078 & Fig. 5, first node; see also paragraph 0228 & Fig. 12, node), wherein the apparatus comprises a transceiver (Li: paragraph 0228 & Fig. 12, transceiver), wherein
the transceiver is configured to receive indication information (Li: paragraphs 0078-0079 & Fig. 5, receiving a first message used to generate first configuration information), wherein the indication information indicates at least one of the following: positioning (Li: paragraphs 0075, 0079-0080 & Figs. 4-5, positioning related information), a terminal type (Li: paragraphs 0082 & 0087-0088, transmission mode), or signaling transmission (Li: paragraphs 0078-0081 & Fig. 5, configuration for a Signaling Radio Bearer (SRB) or a Data Radio Bearer (DRB)); and
the transceiver is further configured to send a radio resource control (RRC) message (Li: paragraph 0081 & Fig. 5, sending first configuration by RRC Message), wherein the RRC message is used for configuring a signaling radio bearer (SRB) 2 (Li: paragraphs 0081-0081 & Fig. 5, Signaling Radio Bearer (SRB2) based on if the radio bearer for transmitting the first message is an SRB) for a terminal (Li: paragraph 0078 & Fig. 5, user equipment (UE); see also paragraph 0230 & Fig. 13, user equipment) and not configuring a data radio bearer (DRB) (Li: paragraphs 0081-0081 & Fig. 5, said receiving of SRB configuration only (instead of DRB), thus configuring SRB based on the first message indicating SRB and not DRB; see also paragraphs 0081-0081 & Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 20, Li teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein, the indication information is comprised in an RRC setup request message (Li: paragraph 0081, the RRC message may be an RRC setup message), and the indication information is an establishment (Li: paragraph 0081, configuration information used to establish a bearer) cause;
the indication information is comprised in an RRC resume request message (Li: paragraph 0081, RRC resume message), and the indication information is a resume cause (Li: paragraph 0123, resume cause);
the indication information is comprised in an RRC setup complete message; or the indication information is comprised in an RRC resume complete message (Li: paragraph 0068, RRC resume complete message).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wu (US 2022/0201645 A1) teaches supporting location services at a base station (paragraphs 0046-0048).
/NAJEEB ANSARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/SYED ALI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463