DETAILED ACTION
In response to communications filed 04/21/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 7 , 13 and 19 have been amended to similarly recite sending/receiving indication information “to not configure a data radio bearer (DBR)…” Examiner is unable to find corresponding support in the instant specification that teaches sending/receiving indication information explicitly indicating to “not configure” a data radio bearer as claimed. Although the instant specification teaches there may be no data transmission during the current access of the terminal (paragraph 0082) or that the RRC reconfiguration message is used for configuring the SRB2 and not a DBR, Examiner notes this does not necessarily teach the sending/receiving indication information itself specifically comprises an indication to “not configure” the data radio bearer as recited in amended claims 1, 7, 13 and 19. Examiner requests clarification or amendments in a future response to overcome the current rejection. Claims 2-6, 8-12, 14-18 and 20 are also rejected based on their dependency of rejected claims 1, 7, 13 and 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 2024/0214457 A1) hereinafter “Li.”
Regarding Claim 1, Li teaches A communication method, wherein the method comprises:
sending, indication information (Li: paragraphs 0078-0079 & Fig. 5, first configuration information), wherein the indication information indicates to not configure a data radio bearer (DBR) (Li: paragraph 0098, supported radio bearer used for transmission, therefore teaching an indication not to configure a DBR in at least one embodiment), and the indication information indicates at least one of the following: positioning (Li: paragraphs 0075, 0079-0080 & Figs. 4-5, positioning related information), a terminal type (Li: paragraphs 0082 & 0087-0088, transmission mode), or signaling transmission (Li: paragraphs 0078-0081 & Fig. 5, configuration for a Signaling Radio Bearer (SRB) or a Data Radio Bearer (DRB)); and
receiving, a radio resource control (RRC) message based on the indication information (Li: paragraph 0081 & Fig. 5, receiving first configuration by RRC Message), wherein the RRC message is used for configuring a signaling radio bearer (SRB) 2 (Li: paragraphs 0081-0081 & Fig. 5, Signaling Radio Bearer (SRB2) based on if the radio bearer for transmitting the first message is an SRB) for a terminal (Li: paragraph 0078 & Fig. 5, user equipment (UE); see also paragraph 0230 & Fig. 13, user equipment) and not configuring the DRB (Li: paragraphs 0081-0081 & Fig. 5, said receiving of SRB configuration only (instead of DRB), thus configuring SRB based on the first message indicating SRB and not DRB; see also paragraphs 0081-0081 & Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 2, Li teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein when the indication information indicates positioning, the indication information comprises at least one of the following: positioning, positioning-signaling, a positioning service, or positioning service signaling (Li: paragraph 0082, positioning related information).
Regarding Claim 3, Li teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the terminal type comprises a positioning terminal and when the indication information indicates that the terminal type is the positioning terminal, the indication information further comprises at least one of the following: a positioning-node indication or a positioning indication (Li: paragraph 0082, positioning related information).
Regarding Claim 4, Li teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the terminal type comprises a terminal performing signaling transmission and when the indication information indicates that the terminal type is the terminal performing signaling transmission, the indication information further comprises at least one of the following: a signaling node indication or a signaling only-node indication (Li: paragraphs 0081-0081 & Fig. 5, Signaling Radio Bearer (SRB2) based on if the radio bearer for transmitting the first message is an SRB)
Regarding Claim 5, Li teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein, when the indication information indicates signaling transmission, the indication information comprises at least one of the following: signaling, signaling-only, or control-signaling (Li: paragraphs 0082 & 0087-0088, transmission mode (i.e. SRBx to indicate positioning SRB, SRB-Pos and/or pos-SRB)),
Regarding Claim 6. The method according to claim 1, wherein the indication information is comprised in an RRC setup request message (Li: paragraph 0081, the RRC message may be an RRC setup message), and the indication information is an establishment (Li: paragraph 0081, configuration information used to establish a bearer) cause;
the indication information is comprised in an RRC resume request message (Li: paragraph 0081, RRC resume message), and the indication information is a resume cause (Li: paragraph 0123, resume cause);
the indication information is comprised in an RRC setup complete message; or the indication information is comprised in an RRC resume complete message (Li: paragraph 0068, RRC resume complete message).
Regarding Claim 7, Li teaches A communication method, wherein the method comprises:
receiving indication information (Li: paragraphs 0078-0079 & Fig. 5, first configuration information), wherein the indication information indicates to not configure a data radio bearer (DBR) (Li: paragraph 0098, supported radio bearer used for transmission, therefore teaching an indication not to configure a DBR in at least one embodiment), and the indication information indicates at least one of the following: positioning (Li: paragraphs 0075, 0079-0080 & Figs. 4-5, positioning related information), a terminal type (Li: paragraphs 0082 & 0087-0088, transmission mode), or signaling transmission (Li: paragraphs 0078-0081 & Fig. 5, configuration for a Signaling Radio Bearer (SRB) or a Data Radio Bearer (DRB)); and
sending a radio resource control (RRC) message based on the indication information (Li: paragraph 0081 & Fig. 5, sending first configuration by RRC Message), wherein the RRC message is used for configuring a signaling radio bearer (SRB) 2 (Li: paragraphs 0081-0081 & Fig. 5, Signaling Radio Bearer (SRB2) based on if the radio bearer for transmitting the first message is an SRB) for a terminal (Li: paragraph 0078 & Fig. 5, user equipment (UE); see also paragraph 0230 & Fig. 13, user equipment) and not configuring a DBR (Li: paragraphs 0081-0081 & Fig. 5, said receiving of SRB configuration only (instead of DRB), thus configuring SRB based on the first message indicating SRB and not DRB; see also paragraphs 0081-0081 & Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 8, Li teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein when the indication information indicates positioning, the indication information comprises at least one of the following: positioning, positioning-signaling, a positioning service, or positioning service signaling (Li: paragraph 0082, positioning related information).
Regarding Claim 9, Li teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the terminal type comprises a positioning terminal and when the indication information indicates that the terminal type is the positioning terminal, the indication information further comprises at least one of the following: a positioning-node indication or a positioning indication (Li: paragraph 0082, positioning related information).
Regarding Claim 10, Li teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the terminal type comprises a terminal performing signaling transmission and when the indication information indicates that the terminal type is a terminal performing signaling transmission, the indication information comprises at least one of the following: a signaling node indication or a signaling only-node indication (Li: paragraphs 0081-0081 & Fig. 5, Signaling Radio Bearer (SRB2) based on if the radio bearer for transmitting the first message is an SRB).
Regarding Claim 11, Li teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein when the indication information indicates signaling transmission, the indication information comprises at least one of the following: signaling, signaling-only, or control-signaling (Li: paragraphs 0082 & 0087-0088, transmission mode (i.e. SRBx to indicate positioning SRB, SRB-Pos and/or pos-SRB)),
Regarding Claim 12, Li teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein, the indication information is comprised in an RRC setup request message (Li: paragraph 0081, the RRC message may be an RRC setup message), and the indication information is an establishment (Li: paragraph 0081, configuration information used to establish a bearer) cause;
the indication information is comprised in an RRC resume request message (Li: paragraph 0081, RRC resume message), and the indication information is a resume cause (Li: paragraph 0123, resume cause);
the indication information is comprised in an RRC setup complete message; or the indication information is comprised in an RRC resume complete message (Li: paragraph 0068, RRC resume complete message).
Regarding Claim 13, Li teaches A communication apparatus (Li: paragraph 0078 & Fig. 5, user equipment (UE); see also paragraph 0230 & Fig. 13, user equipment), wherein the apparatus comprises a transceiver (Li: paragraph 0230 & Fig. 13, transceiver), wherein
the transceiver is configured to send indication information (Li: paragraphs 0078-0079 & Fig. 5, configuration information), wherein the indication information indicates to not configure a data radio bearer (DBR) (Li: paragraph 0098, supported radio bearer used for transmission, therefore teaching an indication not to configure a DBR in at least one embodiment), and the indication information indicates at least one of the following: positioning (Li: paragraphs 0075, 0079-0080 & Figs. 4-5, positioning related information), a terminal type (Li: paragraphs 0082 & 0087-0088, transmission mode), or signaling transmission (Li: paragraphs 0078-0081 & Fig. 5, configuration for a Signaling Radio Bearer (SRB) or a Data Radio Bearer (DRB)); and
the transceiver is further configured to receive a radio resource control (RRC) message based on the indication information (Li: paragraph 0081 & Fig. 5, UE receiving first configuration by RRC Message), wherein the RRC message is used for configuring a signaling radio bearer (SRB) 2 (Li: paragraphs 0081-0081 & Fig. 5, Signaling Radio Bearer (SRB2) based on if the radio bearer for transmitting the first message is an SRB) for the apparatus (Li: paragraph 0078 & Fig. 5, user equipment (UE); see also paragraph 0230 & Fig. 13, user equipment) and not configuring the DRB (Li: paragraphs 0081-0081 & Fig. 5, said receiving of SRB configuration only (instead of DRB), thus configuring SRB based on the first message indicating SRB and not DRB; see also paragraphs 0081-0081 & Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 14, Li teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein when the indication information indicates positioning, the indication information comprises at least one of the following: positioning, positioning-signaling, a positioning service, or positioning service signaling (Li: paragraph 0082, positioning related information).
Regarding Claim 15, Li teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the terminal type comprises a positioning terminal and when the indication information indicates that the terminal type is the positioning terminal, the indication information further comprises at least one of the following: a positioning-node indication or a positioning indication (Li: paragraph 0082, positioning related information).
Regarding Claim 16, Li teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the terminal type comprises a terminal performing signaling transmission and when the indication information indicates that the terminal type is the terminal performing signaling transmission, the indication information further comprises at least one of the following: a signaling node indication or a signaling only-node indication (Li: paragraphs 0081-0081 & Fig. 5, Signaling Radio Bearer (SRB2) based on if the radio bearer for transmitting the first message is an SRB).
Regarding Claim 17, Li teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein when the indication information indicates signaling transmission, the indication information comprises at least one of the following: signaling, signaling-only, or control-signaling (Li: paragraphs 0082 & 0087-0088, transmission mode (i.e. SRBx to indicate positioning SRB, SRB-Pos and/or pos-SRB)).
Regarding Claim 18, Li teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein, the indication information is comprised in an RRC setup request message (Li: paragraph 0081, the RRC message may be an RRC setup message), and the indication information is an establishment (Li: paragraph 0081, configuration information used to establish a bearer) cause;
the indication information is comprised in an RRC resume request message (Li: paragraph 0081, RRC resume message), and the indication information is a resume cause (Li: paragraph 0123, resume cause);
the indication information is comprised in an RRC setup complete message; or the indication information is comprised in an RRC resume complete message (Li: paragraph 0068, RRC resume complete message).
Regarding Claim 19, Li teaches A communication apparatus (Li: paragraph 0078 & Fig. 5, first node; see also paragraph 0228 & Fig. 12, node), wherein the apparatus comprises a transceiver (Li: paragraph 0228 & Fig. 12, transceiver), wherein
the transceiver is configured to receive indication information (Li: paragraphs 0078-0079 & Fig. 5, first configuration information), wherein the indication information indicates to not configure a data radio bearer (DBR) (Li: paragraph 0098, supported radio bearer used for transmission, therefore teaching an indication not to configure a DBR in at least one embodiment), and the indication information indicates at least one of the following: positioning (Li: paragraphs 0075, 0079-0080 & Figs. 4-5, positioning related information), a terminal type (Li: paragraphs 0082 & 0087-0088, transmission mode), or signaling transmission (Li: paragraphs 0078-0081 & Fig. 5, configuration for a Signaling Radio Bearer (SRB) or a Data Radio Bearer (DRB)); and
the transceiver is further configured to send a radio resource control (RRC) message based on the indication information (Li: paragraph 0081 & Fig. 5, sending first configuration by RRC Message), wherein the RRC message is used for configuring a signaling radio bearer (SRB) 2 (Li: paragraphs 0081-0081 & Fig. 5, Signaling Radio Bearer (SRB2) based on if the radio bearer for transmitting the first message is an SRB) for a terminal (Li: paragraph 0078 & Fig. 5, user equipment (UE); see also paragraph 0230 & Fig. 13, user equipment) and not configuring a DBR (Li: paragraphs 0081-0081 & Fig. 5, said receiving of SRB configuration only (instead of DRB), thus configuring SRB based on the first message indicating SRB and not DRB; see also paragraphs 0081-0081 & Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 20, Li teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein, the indication information is comprised in an RRC setup request message (Li: paragraph 0081, the RRC message may be an RRC setup message), and the indication information is an establishment (Li: paragraph 0081, configuration information used to establish a bearer) cause;
the indication information is comprised in an RRC resume request message (Li: paragraph 0081, RRC resume message), and the indication information is a resume cause (Li: paragraph 0123, resume cause);
the indication information is comprised in an RRC setup complete message; or the indication information is comprised in an RRC resume complete message (Li: paragraph 0068, RRC resume complete message).
Response to Amendment
Regarding claims 13-18, in view of amendments, previous rejection(s) under 35 USC § 112 has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicants' arguments:
a) Although the first message in Li is transmitted using a signal radio bearer, such transmission does not imply that a data radio bearer is not configured. Therefore Li fails to teach sending an indication to not configure a data radio bearer (pages 8-9).
Examiner’s response:
Applicant's arguments filed 04/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As previously presented, Li teaches the first node establishes a bearer for the UE to transmit a first message. The radio bearer supporting transmission of the first message may be either an SRB2 or a DRB (Li: paragraphs 0081-0082 & Fig. 5). Li additionally teaches the first node sends a first indication that may comprise multiple indications indicating whether a cell supports transmission of the first message. For example, if a value for one mode is true, it means that the mode is supported to be used for transmission of the first message; otherwise, it means that the mode is not supported to be used for transmission of the first message (Li: paragraph 0098 & Fig. 5). Examiner notes since Li teaches different modes of transmission for sending the first message (i.e. DRB or SRB2) and further teaches sending a value that indicates which bearers are supported for transmission of the first message, Li similarly teaches sending an indication to only configure a SRB2 and not configure a DRB based on the supported transmission in at least one embodiment.
Therefore the rejection of claims 1, 7, 13 and 19 is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAJEEB ANSARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463