DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. (US Pub. 2022/0015191) in view of Terazaki et al. (US Pub. 2017/0161786).
Regarding claims 1 and 18, Yuan teaches a wireless communication device comprising: a communication unit configured to periodically communicate with wireless devices in first periods (see “connection interval” in Figure 2 and Figure 3); and a processor configured to (1) determine whether a first wireless device of the wireless devices is connected to the wireless communication device; (2) when the processor determines that the first wireless device is not connected to the wireless communication device, scan (“conducting the scan operation to identify a new wireless connection. The conducting the connection operation within the connection window may further include: adding the new wireless connection. The new wireless connection may be added by: conducting a new link operation corresponding to the new wireless connection at one of the plurality of link positions that is not occupied” in [0009]) in a second period having a length equal to a length of each of the first periods (see “the scan interval may equal to the connection interval” in [0007] and “the scan interval for consecutive scan windows (“base scan interval” in FIG. 2) may equal to the connection interval for consecutive connection windows (“base connection interval” in FIG. 2)” in [0038]) and (3) restart periodic communication with the wireless devices by the communication unit in the first periods consecutive to the second period (“the scan operations and the connection operations may be conducted alternately. That is, a scan window, in which a scan operation is conducted may be followed by a connection window, in which a connection operation is conducted. The connection window may be further followed by another scan window, which is followed by yet another connection window, so on and so forth” in [0038]). Yuan, however, does not teach scan by switching a reception frequency of the communication unit among frequencies in a second period and restart periodic communication with the wireless devices by the communication unit when the communication unit receives an advertising signal transmitted from the first wireless device in the second period, wherein: the frequency comprises m frequencies, the processor is configured to set a reception frequency of each of m sub-periods included in the second period to one of the m frequencies, and a number of the sub-periods is k x m, where k is an arbitrary positive integer greater than or equal to one. Terazaki teaches scan by switching a reception frequency of the communication unit among frequencies (“When the scan window and scan interval are equal, successive scanning is performed. The BLE specification recommends scanning only one channel in each scan window and changing a scanning channel every scan window” in [0065], see also 37ch, 38ch and 39ch in Figure 4A) in a second period (“scan interval” in [0065]) and restart periodic communication with the wireless devices by the communication unit (see “completes establishment of connection to the second radio communication apparatus 100b (Step S50). From then on, the first radio communication apparatus 100a performs data communication” in [0089] and “completes establishment of connection to the first radio communication apparatus 100a (Step S51). From then on, the second radio communication apparatus 100b performs data communication” in [0090]) when the communication unit receives an advertising signal transmitted from the first wireless device (see Advertise(S41) before COMPLETION(S50) and COMPLETION(S51) in Figure 5) in the second period (“scan interval” in [0065]) wherein: the frequency comprises m frequencies (m=3 in “scans the three advertising channels 37 to 39 in the order of 37, 38, 39, 37, 38, 39, . . . at an equal frequency as shown in FIG. 4A” in [0065]), the processor is configured to set a reception frequency of each of m sub-periods included in the second period to one of the m frequencies (m=3, see sub-periods “37CH”, “38CH” and “39CH” in Figure 4A), and a number of the sub-periods is k x m (m=3 in Figure 4A) , where k is an arbitrary positive integer greater than or equal to one (Since k is an positive integer greater than or equal to one, k could be 1). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yuan to have scan by switching a reception frequency of the communication unit among frequencies in a second period and restart periodic communication with the wireless devices by the communication unit when the communication unit receives an advertising signal transmitted from the first wireless device in the second period, wherein: the frequency comprises m frequencies, the processor is configured to set a reception frequency of each of m sub-periods included in the second period to one of the m frequencies, and a number of the sub-periods is k x m, where k is an arbitrary positive integer greater than or equal to one as taught by Terazaki in order to follow BLE specification [0065].
Regarding claim 2, Terazaki teaches a memory configured to store respective identifiers of the wireless devices (“identification information for notifying another radio communication apparatus of its own presence” in [0060]).
Regarding claim 3, Terazaki teaches the processor is configured not to perform communication with the wireless devices other than the first wireless device by the communication unit until the communication unit receives the advertising signal (see “completes establishment of connection to the second radio communication apparatus 100b (Step S50). From then on, the first radio communication apparatus 100a performs data communication” in [0089] and “completes establishment of connection to the first radio communication apparatus 100a (Step S51). From then on, the second radio communication apparatus 100b performs data communication” in [0090], see also Advertise(S41) before COMPLETION(S50) and COMPLETION(S51) in Figure 5).
Regarding claim 4, Terazaki teaches the processor is configured to transmit a connection request signal (“CONNECT_REQ(S49)” in Figure 5) to the first wireless device by the communication unit after receiving the advertising signal (“Advertise(S41)” in Figure 5).
Regarding claim 6, Terazaki teaches a time length of each of the sub-periods is one-mth of the second period (“scans the three advertising channels 37 to 39 in the order of 37, 38, 39, 37, 38, 39, . . . at an equal frequency as shown in FIG. 4A” in [0065]) and Yuan teaches a second period having a length equal to a length of the first periods (see “the scan interval may equal to the connection interval” in [0007] and “the scan interval for consecutive scan windows (“base scan interval” in FIG. 2) may equal to the connection interval for consecutive connection windows (“base connection interval” in FIG. 2)” in [0038]). Therefore, Yuan in view of Terazaki teaches a time length of each of the sub-periods is one-mth of the first period.
Regarding claim 7, Terazaki teaches time lengths of the m sub-periods are different from each other (S1 for 38ch is longer than S0 for 37ch in Figure 8, see also [0126]).
Regarding claim 11, Terazaki teaches the processor is configured to determine that the first wireless device is not connected to the wireless communication device when a disconnection request signal from the first wireless device is received (see “ORDER TO DISCONNECT(S31) and “TERMINATE_IND(S32)” in Figure 5).
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. in view of Terazaki et al. and further in view of Hsiao et al. (US Pub. 2022/0304094).
Regarding claim 10, Yuan in view of Terazaki teaches the limitations in claim 1 as shown above. Yuan in view of Terazaki, however, does not teach the processor is configured to determine that the first wireless device is not connected to the wireless communication device when a response from the first wireless device is not received for a certain period. Hsiao teaches the processor is configured to determine that the first wireless device is not connected to the wireless communication device when a response from the first wireless device is not received for a certain period (“when a Bluetooth connection is disconnected includes: … an error code indicating connection timeout connection timeout is received” in [0010]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yuan in view of Terazaki to have the processor is configured to determine that the first wireless device is not connected to the wireless communication device when a response from the first wireless device is not received for a certain period as taught by Hsiao in order to reduce power consumption of the central device [0206].
Regarding claim 12, Hsiao teaches the processor is configured to determine that the first wireless device is not connected to the wireless communication device when an error is detected (“when a Bluetooth connection is disconnected includes: … an error code indicating connection timeout connection timeout is received” in [0010]).
Claims 13, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. in view of Terazaki et al. and further in view of Moloney et al. (US Pub. 2020/0329356).
Regarding claim 13, Yuan in view of Terazaki teaches the limitations in claim 1 as shown above. Yuan in view of Terazaki, however, does not teach the wireless communication device receives data and the advertising signal from the wireless devices. Moloney teaches the wireless communication device receives data and the advertising signal from the wireless devices (“The advertisement may include data for transmission” in [0024], see also “Advertisement (with or without data)” in Figure 1). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yuan in view of Terazaki to have the wireless communication device receives data and the advertising signal from the wireless devices as taught by Moloney in order to provide for rapid data transmission [0027].
Regarding claim 16, Moloney teaches a wireless communication system comprising: wireless devices (see multiple “Peripheral Mode” in Figure 8); and the wireless communication device (see “Central Mode” in Figure 8) of claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, Terazaki teaches when one of the wireless devices is configured to determine that the one of the wireless devices is not connected to the wireless communication device (see “ORDER TO DISCONNECT(S31) and “TERMINATE_IND(S32)” in Figure 5), the one of the wireless devices is configured to transmit the advertising signal (“Advertise(S41)” in Figure 5) to the wireless communication device by one of the frequencies (“the advertising channel indices are 37, 38, and 39” in [0061]), and the processor is configured to set a frequency of the communication unit to a frequency other than the frequencies after the communication unit receives an advertising signal transmitted from the first wireless device (“The other 37 data communication channels (of which the data channel indices are 0 to 36) are used for data communication after connection between a master and slave is established” in [0061]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. in view of Terazaki et al. and further in view of Baik et al. (US Pub. 2020/0178339).
Regarding claim 14, Yuan in view of Terazaki teaches the limitations in claim 1 as shown above. Yuan in view of Terazaki, however, does not teach the communication unit is configured to transmit information related to the frequencies to the first wireless device. Baik teaches the communication unit is configured to transmit information related to the frequencies to the first wireless device (“The scanning device transmits a scan request to the advertising device via an advertising physical channel” in [0184]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yuan in view of Terazaki to have the communication unit is configured to transmit information related to the frequencies to the first wireless device as taught by Baik in order to transmit responses with respect to the scan requests to the devices which have transmitted the scan requests, through the same advertising physical channels as the advertising physical channels in which the scan requests have been received [0179].
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. in view of Terazaki et al. and further in view of Golsch (US Pub. 2019/0306711).
Regarding claim 15, Yuan in view of Terazaki teaches the limitations in claim 1 as shown above. Yuan, also, teaches when the processor determines that a single wireless device are not connected to the wireless communication device, the processor is configured to scan (“conducting the scan operation to identify a new wireless connection. The conducting the connection operation within the connection window may further include: adding the new wireless connection. The new wireless connection may be added by: conducting a new link operation corresponding to the new wireless connection at one of the plurality of link positions that is not occupied” in [0009]) in a second period having a length equal to a length of the first periods (see “the scan interval may equal to the connection interval” in [0007] and “the scan interval for consecutive scan windows (“base scan interval” in FIG. 2) may equal to the connection interval for consecutive connection windows (“base connection interval” in FIG. 2)” in [0038]) and Terazaki, also teaches the processor is configured to scan by switching the reception frequency of the communication unit among the frequencies (“When the scan window and scan interval are equal, successive scanning is performed. The BLE specification recommends scanning only one channel in each scan window and changing a scanning channel every scan window” in [0065], see also 37ch, 38ch and 39ch in Figure 4A) in the second period (“scan interval” in [0065]), and to restart periodic communication with the single wireless devices by the communication unit (see “completes establishment of connection to the second radio communication apparatus 100b (Step S50). From then on, the first radio communication apparatus 100a performs data communication” in [0089] and “completes establishment of connection to the first radio communication apparatus 100a (Step S51). From then on, the second radio communication apparatus 100b performs data communication” in [0090]) after the communication unit receives the advertising signal transmitted from the single wireless device (see Advertise(S41) before COMPLETION(S50) and COMPLETION(S51) in Figure 5). In other word, Yuan in view of Terazaki teaches the single wireless device connected to the wireless communication device. Yuan in view of Terazaki, however, does not teach the multiple wireless devices connected to the wireless communication device. Golsch teaches the multiple wireless devices connected to the wireless communication device (“multiple advertising devices that have established a trust relationship with a single scanner the capability of wirelessly exchanging data between the advertising devices and the scanner” in [0022], see also multiple advertising devices 20a, 20b … 20n and a scanner 30 in Figure 2B). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yuan in view of Terazaki to have the multiple wireless devices connected to the wireless communication device as taught by Golsch in order to provide multiple advertising devices a trust relationship with a scanner [0022].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CLEMENCE S HAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414