DETAILED ACTION
In the amendment filed April 28, 2026, claims 18, 20, 26, 27, 31, and 32 have been amended, claims 1-17 and 19 have been cancelled, claim 37 is added and claims 18 and 20-37 are currently pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 103 applicant’s arguments, see page 8 paragraphs 2 – 9, filed April 28, 2026, with respect to claims 18, 20-29 and 31-36 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 18, 26 and 31, the applicant argued that, see page 9, “…There is no mention anywhere in Lou of a scheduling data amount of a terminal device. Lou's threshold comparisons are exclusively in the domain of signal quality measurement (SNR/SINR), not scheduling data amount. As such, the Office Action's mapping of Lou's SNR thresholds onto the claimed "scheduling data amount" is improper.
Moreover, Lou fails to disclose sending first indication information to a terminal device in response to the terminal device meeting a second preset condition, wherein the second preset condition comprises a scheduling data amount of the terminal device is greater than or equal to a first threshold in the context of claim 18. As discussed above, the mapped SNR thresholds of Lou is merely used to determine best/worst beams/beam pairs, and Lou is silent regarding sending indication information to a terminal device in response to the meeting any present conditions involving the SNR thresholds.”
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above. See Section 4 below.
Examiner Note: Per instant specification, paragraph 0009 of published specification, “[0009] Based on the foregoing solution, the network device determines, by using the scheduling data amount of the terminal device, and/or the signal quality for the communication with the network device, a terminal device that participates in measurement. This avoids a case in which all terminal devices within a coverage area of the network device participate in the measurement, and can further reduce measurement overheads.” Clearly the terminals are scheduled base on the signal quality {good vs worst/bad} for the communication with the network device.
Further, although the specification, paragraphs 0094, 0141, 0142, 0158, 0159, recites the claim language, “a scheduling data amount of the terminal device is greater than or equal to a first threshold…”. No other details are providing regarding “a scheduling data amount of the terminal device”. How is the “a scheduling data amount” determine? What is meant by “a scheduling data amount”? What data are being schedule, and what calculations are used to determine “data amount? How is data “amount” determine or measured? Is there a unit for data “amount”? Clearly, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Regarding amended claim 18, Lou clearly teaches, sending, by a network device (see Fig.16A, AP 52, 16B, RAN 103) in response to the terminal device meeting a second preset condition (see para. 0089-0090, comparison of the measurements with thresholds / a second preset condition, a scheduling data amount of the terminal device, see also para. 0135, Fig.12, a setup frame requesting feedback for beamformed transmissions), first indication information to a terminal device (see Fig.16A, UE 58, 16B, UE 102a), wherein the first indication information indicates the terminal device to feedback signal quality a first signal (see Fig.12, para. 0135, an access point / a network device transmitting/sending setup frame requesting feedback / measure signal quality, for beamformed transmissions of a signal, see also para. 0139, 0140, 0142, feedback measurements included SNR/SINR value, or an average of SNR/SINR values), wherein the second preset condition comprises a scheduling data amount of the terminal device is greater than or equal to a first threshold (see para. 0089-0090, comparison of the measurements with thresholds, a scheduling data amount of the terminal device is greater than or equal to a first threshold, see also para. 0064, 0071, 0077-0078, the grouping or separation of stations (e.g., stations associated with users) are performed in various ways for different transmissions, the characterization of a beam(s)/signal includes a good beam (e.g., best beams) and/or a bad beam (e.g., worst beams));
sending, by the network device, the first signal to the terminal device through N analog beams, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (see Fig.9, para. 0088, the signal to be measured is being sent by the network device and a certain number of analog TXbeams {N analog beams of the first signal} are measured by the station, STA), and the N analog beams selected to send the first signal in response to the N analog beams meeting a first preset condition (see para. 0089-0090, comparison of the measurements with thresholds / a first preset condition, to verify that the beams {the N analog beams} meet certain conditions); and receiving, by the network device, a measurement result from the terminal device, wherein the measurement result is the signal quality of the first signal (see Fig.9, para. 0092, feedback in terms of e.g. SNR, sending the measurement result to the network device); the Examiner further states that Fan teaches sending, by a network device, first indication information to a terminal device, wherein the first indication information indicates the terminal device to “measure” signal quality of a first signal (see para. 0003, 0070-0075, see also para. 0086-0090, 0295-0302, a network device sends measurement signals to a terminal device by means of measurement resources, the terminal device receives the measurement signals sent by the network device by means of the measurement resources, the network device sends, to the terminal device according to resource configuration information, a measurement signal corresponding to a measurement resource configured by the resource configuration information, the measurement signal is a CSI-RS or an SSB) and receiving, by the network device, a measurement result from the terminal device, wherein the measurement result is the signal quality of the first signal (see para. 0070-0075, 0086-0090, 0295-0302, the terminal device measures the corresponding measurement signal according to the measurement configuration information, and reports the measurement result to the network device, wherein the measurement result comprises indexes of the N channel resources and indexes of M interference resources of each of the N channel resources).
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the combination of the systems as disclosed buy Lou and Fan reads upon “sending, by a network device, first indication information to a terminal device in response to the terminal device meeting a second preset condition, wherein the first indication information indicates the terminal device to measure signal quality of a first signal, wherein the second preset condition comprises a scheduling data amount of the terminal device is greater than or equal to a first threshold; sending, by the network device, the first signal to the terminal device through N analog beams, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and the N analog beams selected to send the first signal in response to the N analog beams meeting a first preset condition; and receiving, by the network device, a measurement result from the terminal device, wherein the measurement result is the signal quality of the first signal” as recites in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18 and 20-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 18 has been amended to recite in lines 2-4,”… sending, by a network device, first indication information to a terminal device in response to the terminal device meeting a second preset condition, wherein the first indication information indicates the terminal device to measure signal quality of a first signal,…”, (step A) and lines 7-9 recites, “sending, by the network device, the first signal to the terminal device through N analog beams, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and the N analog beams selected to send the first signal in response to the N analog beams meeting a first preset condition” (step B). In view of step A, it is unclear whether the network device sends the first signal to the terminal device through N analog beams, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and the N analog beams selected to send the first signal in response to the N analog beams meeting a first preset condition”, since in step A, the network device already send an indication to measure signal quality of a first signal (meeting a second preset condition). It is also unclear, whether the “second preset condition” occurs before the “first preset condition”. The claim is indefinite.
Claims 26 and 31 are also rejected for the same reason as set forth above for claim 18.
Claims 20-25, 27-30 and 32-36 are also rejected since they are dependent on the respective independent claims 18, 26, and 31, respectively as set forth above.
For purpose of examination, the examiner interprets the limitation as best understood.
The term “scheduling data amount” in claims 8, 26 and 21 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “wherein the second preset condition comprises a scheduling data amount of the terminal device” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18, 20-23, 25-28, 31-34 and 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou et al. (US Pub. No.: 2021/0028831), and further in view of Fan et al. (CN 111510946A).
As per claim 18, Lou disclose A method, comprising:
sending, by a network device (see Fig.16A, AP 52, 16B, RAN 103) in response to the terminal device meeting a second preset condition (see para. 0089-0090, comparison of the measurements with thresholds / a second preset condition, a scheduling data amount of the terminal device, see also para. 0135, Fig.12, a setup frame requesting feedback for beamformed transmissions), first indication information to a terminal device (see Fig.16A, UE 58, 16B, UE 102a), wherein the first indication information indicates the terminal device to feedback signal quality a first signal (see Fig.12, para. 0135, an access point / a network device transmitting/sending setup frame requesting feedback / measure signal quality, for beamformed transmissions of a signal, see also para. 0139, 0140, 0142, feedback measurements included SNR/SINR value, or an average of SNR/SINR values), wherein the second preset condition comprises a scheduling data amount of the terminal device is greater than or equal to a first threshold (see para. 0089-0090, comparison of the measurements with thresholds, a scheduling data amount of the terminal device is greater than or equal to a first threshold, see also para. 0064, 0071, 0077-0078, the grouping or separation of stations (e.g., stations associated with users) are performed in various ways for different transmissions, the characterization of a beam(s)/signal includes a good beam (e.g., best beams) and/or a bad beam (e.g., worst beams));
sending, by the network device, the first signal to the terminal device through N analog beams, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (see Fig.9, para. 0088, the signal to be measured is being sent by the network device and a certain number of analog TXbeams {N analog beams of the first signal} are measured by the station, STA), and the N analog beams selected to send the first signal in response to the N analog beams meeting a first preset condition (see para. 0089-0090, comparison of the measurements with thresholds / a first preset condition, to verify that the beams {the N analog beams} meet certain conditions); and
receiving, by the network device, a measurement result from the terminal device, wherein the measurement result is the signal quality of the first signal (see Fig.9, para. 0092, feedback in terms of e.g. SNR, sending the measurement result to the network device).
Although Lou disclose sending, by a network device, first indication information to a terminal device, wherein the first indication information indicates the terminal device to feedback signal quality of a first signal;
Lou however does not explicitly disclose sending, by a network device, first indication information to a terminal device, wherein the first indication information indicates the terminal device to “measure” signal quality of a first signal;
Fan however disclose sending, by a network device, first indication information to a terminal device, wherein the first indication information indicates the terminal device to “measure” signal quality of a first signal (see para. 0003, 0070-0075, see also para. 0086-0090, 0295-0302, a network device sends measurement signals to a terminal device by means of measurement resources, the terminal device receives the measurement signals sent by the network device by means of the measurement resources, the network device sends, to the terminal device according to resource configuration information, a measurement signal corresponding to a measurement resource configured by the resource configuration information, the measurement signal is a CSI-RS or an SSB) and receiving, by the network device, a measurement result from the terminal device, wherein the measurement result is the signal quality of the first signal (see para. 0070-0075, 0086-0090, 0295-0302, the terminal device measures the corresponding measurement signal according to the measurement configuration information, and reports the measurement result to the network device, wherein the measurement result comprises indexes of the N channel resources and indexes of M interference resources of each of the N channel resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of disclose sending, by a network device, first indication information to a terminal device, wherein the first indication information indicates the terminal device to “measure” signal quality of a first signal, as taught by Fan, in the system of Lou, so that a terminal equipment reports the channel resources and the interference resources of the channel resources to the network equipment, so that the network equipment obtains the more accurate interference condition between the beams, thereby effectively avoiding the transmission by adopting the beams with stronger mutual interference in the multi-user transmission, and further improving the efficiency of the multi-user transmission, see Fan, Abstract.
As per claim 20, the combination of Lou and Fan disclose the method according to claim 18.
Lou further disclose wherein the second preset condition further comprises: signal quality for communication between the terminal device and the network device is greater than or equal to a second threshold (see para. 0089-0090, comparison of the measurements with thresholds, signal quality is greater than or equal to a second threshold).
As per claim 21, the combination of Lou and Fan disclose the method according to claim 18.
Lou further disclose wherein the first preset condition comprises: signal quality of a signal transmitted through the N analog beams is greater than or equal to a third threshold (see Fig.9, para. 0088-0090, a certain number of analog TX where beams comparison of the measurements with thresholds, the N analog beams is greater than or equal to a third threshold).
As per claim 22, the combination of Lou and Fan disclose the method according to claim 18.
Lou further disclose wherein the first preset condition comprises: the N analog beams include a serving beam of the terminal device (see Fig.9, para. 0088-0090, Fig.12 para. 0135, one or more reception beams, N analog beams include a serving beam of the terminal device, see also para. 0057) and
Fan further disclose wherein the first preset condition comprises: the N analog beams include a serving beam of the terminal device (see para. 0070-0075, 0086-0090, 0295-0302, the network device simultaneously sends a beam 1 and a beam 2. The beam 1 may be referred to as a
serving beam of a terminal device 120a, and the beam 2 may be referred to as a serving beam of a
terminal device 120b).
As per claim 23, the combination of Lou and Fan disclose the method according to claim 18.
Lou further disclose wherein the method further comprises: determining, by the network device, the terminal device or a to-be-measured analog beam set, wherein the N analog beams belong to the to-be-measured analog beam set (see para. 0088-0090, 0135, the to be measured set is signaled, and determined at the network device).
As per claim 25, Lou disclose the method according to claim 18.
Lou further disclose wherein the measurement result comprises reference signal received power (see para. 0004, 0005, 0073, 0079-0080, 0088-0090, 0150, the measurement result comprises reference signal received power) and
Fan further disclose the measurement result comprises reference signal received power (see page 8, the terminal measure reference signal received power (RSRP) of each wave beam and reports indexes and the RSRP of the resources to the network equipment).
As per claim 26, Lou disclose A method, comprising:
receiving, by a terminal device, first indication information from a network device, wherein the first indication information indicates the terminal device to feedback signal quality of a first signal (see Fig.12, para. 0135, a terminal device receiving setup frame requesting feedback / measure signal quality from an access point/a network device, for beamformed transmissions of a signal, see also para. 0139, 0140, 0142, feedback measurements included SNR/SINR value, or an average of SNR/SINR values), wherein the first indication information is sent to the terminal device in response to the terminal device meeting a second preset condition (see para. 0089-0090, comparison of the measurements with thresholds / a second preset condition, a scheduling data amount of the terminal device, see also para. 0135, Fig.12, a setup frame requesting feedback for beamformed transmissions), and wherein the second preset condition comprises a scheduling data amount of the terminal device is greater than or equal to a first threshold (see para. 0089-0090, comparison of the measurements with thresholds, a scheduling data amount of the terminal device is greater than or equal to a first threshold, see also para. 0064, 0071, 0077-0078, the grouping or separation of stations (e.g., stations associated with users) are performed in various ways for different transmissions, the characterization of a beam(s)/signal includes a good beam (e.g., best beams) and/or a bad beam (e.g., worst beams));
receiving, by the terminal device, the first signal sent by the network device through N analog beams, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (see Fig.9, para. 0088, a certain number of analog TX beams {N analog beams of the first signal} are measured by the station, STA, the signal being sent by the network device), and the N analog beams meet a first preset condition (see para. 0089-0090, comparison of the measurements with thresholds / a first preset condition, to verify that the beams {the N analog beams} meet certain conditions); and
sending, by the terminal device, a measurement result to the network device, wherein the measurement result is the signal quality of the first signal (see Fig.9, para. 0092, feedback in terms of e.g. SNR, sending the measurement result to the network device).
Although Lou disclose receiving, by a terminal device, first indication information from a network device, wherein the first indication information indicates the terminal device to feedback signal quality of a first signal;
Lou however does not explicitly disclose receiving, by a terminal device, first indication information from a network device, wherein the first indication information indicates the terminal device to “measure” signal quality of a first signal;
Fan however disclose receiving, by a terminal device, first indication information from a network device, wherein the first indication information indicates the terminal device to “measure” signal quality of a first signal (see para. 0003, 0070-0075, see also para. 0086-0090, 0295-0302, a network device sends measurement signals to a terminal device by means of measurement resources, the terminal device receives the measurement signals sent by the network device by means of the measurement resources, the network device sends, to the terminal device according to resource configuration information, a measurement signal corresponding to a measurement resource configured by the resource configuration information, the measurement signal is a CSI-RS or an SSB) and sending, by the terminal device, a measurement result to the network device, wherein the measurement result is the signal quality of the first signal (see para. 0070-0075, 0086-0090, 0295-0302, the terminal device measures the corresponding measurement signal according to the measurement configuration information, and reports the measurement result to the network device, wherein the measurement result comprises indexes of the N channel resources and indexes of M interference resources of each of the N channel resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of disclose receiving, by a terminal device, first indication information from a network device, wherein the first indication information indicates the terminal device to “measure” signal quality of a first signal, as taught by Fan, in the system of Lou, so that a terminal equipment reports the channel resources and the interference resources of the channel resources to the network equipment, so that the network equipment obtains the more accurate interference condition between the beams, thereby effectively avoiding the transmission by adopting the beams with stronger mutual interference in the multi-user transmission, and further improving the efficiency of the multi-user transmission, see Fan, Abstract.
As per claim 27, the combination of Lou and Fan disclose the method according to claim 26.
Lou further disclose the second preset condition further comprises: signal quality for communication between the terminal device and the network device is greater than or equal to a second threshold (see para. 0089-0090, comparison of the measurements with thresholds, a scheduling data amount of the terminal device is greater than or equal to a first threshold); or signal quality for communication between the terminal device and the network device is greater than or equal to a second threshold (see para. 0089-0090, comparison of the measurements with thresholds, signal quality is greater than or equal to a second threshold).
As per claim 28, the combination of Lou and Fan disclose the method according to claim 26.
Lou further disclose wherein the first preset condition comprises: signal quality of a signal transmitted through the N analog beams is greater than or equal to a third threshold (see Fig.9, para. 0088-0090, a certain number of analog TX where beams comparison of the measurements with thresholds, the N analog beams is greater than or equal to a third threshold); or the N analog beams include a serving beam of the terminal device (see Fig.9, para. 0088-0090, Fig.12 para. 0135, one or more reception beams, N analog beams include a serving beam of the terminal device, see also para. 0057).
As per claim 31, claim 31 is rejected the same way as claim 18. Lou also disclose An apparatus (see Fig.16A, AP 52, 16B, RAN 103), comprising: one or more processors (see Fig.16A, AP 52, with a processor, see para. 0171); and a memory (see Fig.16A, AP 52, with a memory, see para. 0171), wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the one or more processors is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory (see para. 0171, the processer is configured to execute computer readable instructions stored in the memory, execution of the instructions cause the device to perform one or more of the functions).
As per claim 32, the combination of Lou and Fan disclose the apparatus according to claim 31.
Lou further disclose a scheduling data amount of the terminal device is greater than or equal to a first threshold (see para. 0089-0090, comparison of the measurements with thresholds, a scheduling data amount of the terminal device is greater than or equal to a first threshold); or signal quality for communication between the terminal device and the apparatus is greater than or equal to a second threshold (see para. 0089-0090, comparison of the measurements with thresholds, signal quality is greater than or equal to a second threshold).
As per claim 33, the combination of Lou and Fan disclose the apparatus according to claim 31.
Lou further disclose wherein the first preset condition comprises: signal quality of a signal transmitted through the N analog beams is greater than or equal to a third threshold (see Fig.9, para. 0088-0090, a certain number of analog TX where beams comparison of the measurements with thresholds, the N analog beams is greater than or equal to a third threshold); or the N analog beams include a serving beam of the terminal device (see Fig.9, para. 0088-0090, Fig.12 para. 0135, one or more reception beams, N analog beams include a serving beam of the terminal device, see also para. 0057).
As per claim 34, the combination of Lou and Fan disclose the apparatus according to claim 31.
Lou further disclose wherein the computer program further instructs the one or more processors to: determine the terminal device or a to-be-measured analog beam set, wherein the N analog beams belong to the to-be-measured analog beam set (see para. 0088-0090, 0135, the to be measured set is signaled, and determined at the network device).
As per claim 36, the combination of Lou and Fan disclose the apparatus according to claim 31.
Lou further disclose wherein the measurement result comprises reference signal received power(see para. 0004, 0005, 0073, 0079-0080, 0088-0090, 0150, the measurement result comprises reference signal received power) and
Fan further disclose the measurement result comprises reference signal received power (see page 8, the terminal measure reference signal received power (RSRP) of each wave beam and reports indexes and the RSRP of the resources to the network equipment).
As per claim 37, the combination of Lou and Fan disclose the method according to claim 18.
Lou further disclose not sending, by the network device, the first indication information to a second terminal device in response to the second terminal device not meeting the second preset condition (see para. 0093, 0094, not sending the signal/ the first indication information to a second terminal device in response to the second terminal device not meeting the second preset condition/worst signal based on measurement, see also para. 0064, 0071, 0077-0078, the grouping or separation of stations (e.g., stations associated with users) are performed in various ways for different transmissions, the characterization of a beam(s)/signal includes a good beam (e.g., best beams) and/or a bad beam (e.g., worst beams / not sending in response to the second terminal device not meeting the second preset condition)).
Claims 24, 29 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou et al. (US Pub. No.: 2021/0028831), in view of Fan et al. (CN 111510946A) and further in view of Kurras et al (US Pub. No.:2019/0364390).
As per claim 24, the combination of Lou and Fan disclose the method according to claim 18.
Lou further disclose wherein sending, by the network device, the first signal to the terminal device through N analog beams comprises: repeatedly sending, by the network device, the first signal to the terminal device on a plurality of symbols through the N analog beams, wherein: the plurality of symbols comprises a first symbol and a second symbol, the first symbol comprises an extended cyclic prefix of the second symbol, and the first symbol and the second symbol are adjacent; (see para. 0058, applying different cyclic shift to a (e.g., each) transmitted signal with a cyclic prefix (CP)-OFDM transmission(s) / a plurality of symbols through the N analog beams).
The combination of Lou and Fan however does not explicitly disclose the plurality of symbols comprises a third symbol, a fourth symbol, and a fifth symbol, the third symbol or the fifth symbol comprises an extended cyclic prefix of the fourth symbol, the fourth symbol is located between the third symbol and the fifth symbol, and the third symbol, the fourth symbol and the fifth symbol are adjacent; and the method further comprises receiving, by the terminal device, second indication information from the network device, wherein the second indication information indicates the terminal device to measure the signal quality of the first signal carried on the second symbol or the fourth symbol.
Kurras however disclose a plurality of symbols comprises a third symbol, a fourth symbol, and a fifth symbol, the third symbol or the fifth symbol comprises an extended cyclic prefix of the fourth symbol, the fourth symbol is located between the third symbol and the fifth symbol, and the third symbol, the fourth symbol and the fifth symbol are adjacent; and the method further comprises receiving, by the terminal device, second indication information from the network device, wherein the second indication information indicates the terminal device to measure the signal quality of the first signal carried on the second symbol or the fourth symbol (see Fig.2a para. 0041-0043, each slot includes 7 OFDM symbols, e.g. in the slot 0 OFDM symbols 0 to 6 and in slot 1 OFDM symbols 7 to 13, a plurality of symbols comprises a third symbol, a fourth symbol, and a fifth symbol, the third symbol or the fifth symbol comprises an extended cyclic prefix, the OFDM symbols {the third symbol or the fifth symbol} configured for positioning reference uses extended cyclic prefix length).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a plurality of symbols comprises a third symbol, a fourth symbol, and a fifth symbol, the third symbol or the fifth symbol comprises an extended cyclic prefix of the fourth symbol, the fourth symbol is located between the third symbol and the fifth symbol, and the third symbol, the fourth symbol and the fifth symbol are adjacent; and the method further comprises receiving, by the terminal device, second indication information from the network device, wherein the second indication information indicates the terminal device to measure the signal quality of the first signal carried on the second symbol or the fourth symbol, as taught by Kurras, in the system of Lou and Fan, so that a terminal equipment reports the channel resources and the interference resources of the channel resources to the network equipment, so as to improve the position estimation for a specific user equipment in the mobile communications network such as an LTE system, based on downlink observed time difference of arrival (OTDoA) measurements, see Kurras, see para. 0060.
As per claim 29, the combination of Lou and Fan disclose the method according to claim 26.
Lou further disclose wherein receiving, by the terminal device, the first signal sent by the network device through N analog beams comprises: receiving, by the terminal device, the first signal repeatedly sent by the network device on a plurality of symbols through the N analog beams, wherein: the plurality of symbols comprises a first symbol and a second symbol, the first symbol comprises an extended cyclic prefix of the second symbol, and the first symbol and the second symbol are adjacent (see para. 0058, applying different cyclic shift to a (e.g., each) transmitted signal with a cyclic prefix (CP)-OFDM transmission(s) / a plurality of symbols through the N analog beams).
The combination of Lou and Fan however does not explicitly disclose the plurality of symbols comprises a third symbol, a fourth symbol, and a fifth symbol, the third symbol or the fifth symbol comprises an extended cyclic prefix of the fourth symbol, the fourth symbol is located between the third symbol and the fifth symbol, and the third symbol, the fourth symbol and the fifth symbol are adjacent; and the method further comprises receiving, by the terminal device, second indication information from the network device, wherein the second indication information indicates the terminal device to measure the signal quality of the first signal carried on the second symbol or the fourth symbol.
Kurras however disclose a plurality of symbols comprises a third symbol, a fourth symbol, and a fifth symbol, the third symbol or the fifth symbol comprises an extended cyclic prefix of the fourth symbol, the fourth symbol is located between the third symbol and the fifth symbol, and the third symbol, the fourth symbol and the fifth symbol are adjacent; and the method further comprises receiving, by the terminal device, second indication information from the network device, wherein the second indication information indicates the terminal device to measure the signal quality of the first signal carried on the second symbol or the fourth symbol (see Fig.2a para. 0041-0043, l each slot includes 7 OFDM symbols, e.g. in the slot 0 OFDM symbols 0 to 6 and in slot 1 OFDM symbols 7 to 13, a plurality of symbols comprises a third symbol, a fourth symbol, and a fifth symbol, the third symbol or the fifth symbol comprises an extended cyclic prefix, the OFDM symbols {the third symbol or the fifth symbol} configured for positioning reference uses extended cyclic prefix length).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a plurality of symbols comprises a third symbol, a fourth symbol, and a fifth symbol, the third symbol or the fifth symbol comprises an extended cyclic prefix of the fourth symbol, the fourth symbol is located between the third symbol and the fifth symbol, and the third symbol, the fourth symbol and the fifth symbol are adjacent; and the method further comprises receiving, by the terminal device, second indication information from the network device, wherein the second indication information indicates the terminal device to measure the signal quality of the first signal carried on the second symbol or the fourth symbol, as taught by Kurras, in the system of Lou and Fan, so that a terminal equipment reports the channel resources and the interference resources of the channel resources to the network equipment, so as to improve the position estimation for a specific user equipment in the mobile communications network such as an LTE system, based on downlink observed time difference of arrival (OTDoA) measurements, see Kurras, see para. 0060.
As per claim 35, the combination of Lou and Fan disclose the apparatus according to claim 31.
Lou further disclose wherein that the computer program instructs the one or more processors to send, the first signal to the terminal device through N analog beams comprises instructions to: repeatedly send, the first signal to the terminal device on a plurality of symbols through the N analog beams, wherein: the plurality of symbols comprises a first symbol and a second symbol, the first symbol comprises an extended cyclic prefix of the second symbol, and the first symbol and the second symbol are adjacent; (see para. 0058, applying different cyclic shift to a (e.g., each) transmitted signal with a cyclic prefix (CP)-OFDM transmission(s) / a plurality of symbols through the N analog beams).
The combination of Lou and Fan however does not explicitly disclose the plurality of symbols comprises a third symbol, a fourth symbol, and a fifth symbol, the third symbol or the fifth symbol comprises an extended cyclic prefix of the fourth symbol, the fourth symbol is located between the third symbol and the fifth symbol, and the third symbol, the fourth symbol and the fifth symbol are adjacent; and the method further comprises receiving, by the terminal device, second indication information from the network device, wherein the second indication information indicates the terminal device to measure the signal quality of the first signal carried on the second symbol or the fourth symbol.
Kurras however disclose a plurality of symbols comprises a third symbol, a fourth symbol, and a fifth symbol, the third symbol or the fifth symbol comprises an extended cyclic prefix of the fourth symbol, the fourth symbol is located between the third symbol and the fifth symbol, and the third symbol, the fourth symbol and the fifth symbol are adjacent; and the method further comprises receiving, by the terminal device, second indication information from the network device, wherein the second indication information indicates the terminal device to measure the signal quality of the first signal carried on the second symbol or the fourth symbol (see Fig.2a para. 0041-0043, l each slot includes 7 OFDM symbols, e.g. in the slot 0 OFDM symbols 0 to 6 and in slot 1 OFDM symbols 7 to 13, a plurality of symbols comprises a third symbol, a fourth symbol, and a fifth symbol, the third symbol or the fifth symbol comprises an extended cyclic prefix, the OFDM symbols {the third symbol or the fifth symbol} configured for positioning reference uses extended cyclic prefix length).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a plurality of symbols comprises a third symbol, a fourth symbol, and a fifth symbol, the third symbol or the fifth symbol comprises an extended cyclic prefix of the fourth symbol, the fourth symbol is located between the third symbol and the fifth symbol, and the third symbol, the fourth symbol and the fifth symbol are adjacent; and the method further comprises receiving, by the terminal device, second indication information from the network device, wherein the second indication information indicates the terminal device to measure the signal quality of the first signal carried on the second symbol or the fourth symbol, as taught by Kurras, in the system of Lou and Fan, so that a terminal equipment reports the channel resources and the interference resources of the channel resources to the network equipment, so as to improve the position estimation for a specific user equipment in the mobile communications network such as an LTE system, based on downlink observed time difference of arrival (OTDoA) measurements, see Kurras, see para. 0060.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 30 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee (US Pub. No.:2019/0058558) - a terminal receives a signal using the first reception beam during the first duration of 3.3 us (hereinafter, it will be referred to as sub-symbol duration) after a CP within a symbol duration which is allocated for a BRS/BRRS, receives a signal using the second reception beam during the second duration of 3.3 us, receives a signal using the third reception beam during the third duration of 3.3 us, and receives a signal using the fourth reception beam during the last duration of 3.3 us. Thereafter, a 512-point FFT is performed on a received signal of the first sub-symbol duration and channel information for the first reception beam is output. Next, a 512-point FFT is performed on a received signal of the second sub-symbol duration and channel information for the second reception beam is output, a 512-point FFT is performed on a received signal of the third sub-symbol duration and channel information for the third reception beam is output, and a 512-point FFT is performed on a received signal of the last sub-symbol duration and channel information for the last reception beam is output.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469