DETAILED ACTION
Claims 18-36 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of CHINA 202111012315.4 filed 08/31/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 11/25/2024, 2/3/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-23, 25-28, 30-34 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou et al. (US Pub. No.: 2021/0028831), and further in view of Fan et al. (CN 111510946A).
As per claim 18, Lou disclose A method, comprising:
sending, by a network device (see Fig.16A, AP 52, 16B, RAN 103), first indication information to a terminal device (see Fig.16A, UE 58, 16B, UE 102a), wherein the first indication information indicates the terminal device to feedback signal quality a first signal (see Fig.12, para. 0135, an access point / a network device transmitting/sending setup frame requesting feedback / measure signal quality, for beamformed transmissions of a signal, see also para. 0139, 0140, 0142, feedback measurements included SNR/SINR value, or an average of SNR/SINR values);
sending, by the network device, the first signal to the terminal device through N analog beams, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (see Fig.9, para. 0088, the signal to be measured is being sent by the network device and a certain number of analog TXbeams {N analog beams of the first signal} are measured by the station, STA), and the N analog beams selected to send the first signal in response to the N analog beams meeting a first preset condition (see para. 0089-0090, comparison of the measurements with thresholds / a first preset condition, to verify that the beams {the N analog beams} meet certain conditions); and
receiving, by the network device, a measurement result from the terminal device, wherein the measurement result is the signal quality of the first signal (see Fig.9, para. 0092, feedback in terms of e.g. SNR, sending the measurement result to the network device).
Although Lou disclose sending, by a network device, first indication information to a terminal device, wherein the first indication information indicates the terminal device to feedback signal quality of a first signal;
Lou however does not explicitly disclose sending, by a network device, first indication information to a terminal device, wherein the first indication information indicates the terminal device to “measure” signal quality of a first signal;
Fan however disclose sending, by a network device, first indication information to a terminal device, wherein the first indication information indicates the terminal device to “measure” signal quality of a first signal (see para. 0003, 0070-0075, see also para. 0086-0090, 0295-0302, a network device sends measurement signals to a terminal device by means of measurement resources, the terminal device receives the measurement signals sent by the network device by means of the measurement resources, the network device sends, to the terminal device according to resource configuration information, a measurement signal corresponding to a measurement resource configured by the resource configuration information, the measurement signal is a CSI-RS or an SSB) and receiving, by the network device, a measurement result from the terminal device, wherein the measurement result is the signal quality of the first signal (see para. 0070-0075, 0086-0090, 0295-0302, the terminal device measures the corresponding measurement signal according to the measurement configuration information, and reports the measurement result to the network device, wherein the measurement result comprises indexes of the N channel resources and indexes of M interference resources of each of the N channel resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of disclose sending, by a network device, first indication information to a terminal device, wherein the first indication information indicates the terminal device to “measure” signal quality of a first signal, as taught by Fan, in the system of Lou, so that a terminal equipment reports the channel resources and the interference resources of the channel resources to the network equipment, so that the network equipment obtains the more accurate interference condition between the beams, thereby effectively avoiding the transmission by adopting the beams with stronger mutual interference in the multi-user transmission, and further improving the efficiency of the multi-user transmission, see Fan, Abstract.
As per claim 19, the combination of Lou and Fan disclose the method according to claim 18.
Lou further disclose wherein the terminal device meets a second preset condition, and the second preset condition comprises: a scheduling data amount of the terminal device is greater than or equal to a first threshold (see para. 0089-0090, comparison of the measurements with thresholds, a scheduling data amount of the terminal device is greater than or equal to a first threshold).
As per claim 20, the combination of Lou and Fan disclose the method according to claim 18.
Lou further disclose wherein the terminal device meets a second preset condition, and the second preset condition comprises: signal quality for communication between the terminal device and the network device is greater than or equal to a second threshold (see para. 0089-0090, comparison of the measurements with thresholds, signal quality is greater than or equal to a second threshold).
As per claim 21, the combination of Lou and Fan disclose the method according to claim 18.
Lou further disclose wherein the first preset condition comprises: signal quality of a signal transmitted through the N analog beams is greater than or equal to a third threshold (see Fig.9, para. 0088-0090, a certain number of analog TX where beams comparison of the measurements with thresholds, the N analog beams is greater than or equal to a third threshold).
As per claim 22, the combination of Lou and Fan disclose the method according to claim 18.
Lou further disclose wherein the first preset condition comprises: the N analog beams include a serving beam of the terminal device (see Fig.9, para. 0088-0090, Fig.12 para. 0135, one or more reception beams, N analog beams include a serving beam of the terminal device, see also para. 0057) and
Fan further disclose wherein the first preset condition comprises: the N analog beams include a serving beam of the terminal device (see para. 0070-0075, 0086-0090, 0295-0302, the network device simultaneously sends a beam 1 and a beam 2. The beam 1 may be referred to as a
serving beam of a terminal device 120a, and the beam 2 may be referred to as a serving beam of a
terminal device 120b).
As per claim 23, the combination of Lou and Fan disclose the method according to claim 18.
Lou further disclose wherein the method further comprises: determining, by the network device, the terminal device or a to-be-measured analog beam set, wherein the N analog beams belong to the to-be-measured analog beam set (see para. 0088-0090, 0135, the to be measured set is signaled, and determined at the network device).
As per claim 25, Lou disclose the method according to claim 18.
Lou further disclose wherein the measurement result comprises reference signal received power (see para. 0004, 0005, 0073, 0079-0080, 0088-0090, 0150, the measurement result comprises reference signal received power) and
Fan further disclose the measurement result comprises reference signal received power (see page 8, the terminal measure reference signal received power (RSRP) of each wave beam and reports indexes and the RSRP of the resources to the network equipment).
As per claim 26, Lou disclose A method, comprising:
receiving, by a terminal device, first indication information from a network device, wherein the first indication information indicates the terminal device to feedback signal quality of a first signal (see Fig.12, para. 0135, a terminal device receiving setup frame requesting feedback / measure signal quality from an access point/a network device, for beamformed transmissions of a signal, see also para. 0139, 0140, 0142, feedback measurements included SNR/SINR value, or an average of SNR/SINR values);
receiving, by the terminal device, the first signal sent by the network device through N analog beams, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (see Fig.9, para. 0088, a certain number of analog TX beams {N analog beams of the first signal} are measured by the station, STA, the signal being sent by the network device), and the N analog beams meet a first preset condition (see para. 0089-0090, comparison of the measurements with thresholds / a first preset condition, to verify that the beams {the N analog beams} meet certain conditions); and
sending, by the terminal device, a measurement result to the network device, wherein the measurement result is the signal quality of the first signal (see Fig.9, para. 0092, feedback in terms of e.g. SNR, sending the measurement result to the network device).
Although Lou disclose receiving, by a terminal device, first indication information from a network device, wherein the first indication information indicates the terminal device to feedback signal quality of a first signal;
Lou however does not explicitly disclose receiving, by a terminal device, first indication information from a network device, wherein the first indication information indicates the terminal device to “measure” signal quality of a first signal;
Fan however disclose receiving, by a terminal device, first indication information from a network device, wherein the first indication information indicates the terminal device to “measure” signal quality of a first signal (see para. 0003, 0070-0075, see also para. 0086-0090, 0295-0302, a network device sends measurement signals to a terminal device by means of measurement resources, the terminal device receives the measurement signals sent by the network device by means of the measurement resources, the network device sends, to the terminal device according to resource configuration information, a measurement signal corresponding to a measurement resource configured by the resource configuration information, the measurement signal is a CSI-RS or an SSB) and sending, by the terminal device, a measurement result to the network device, wherein the measurement result is the signal quality of the first signal (see para. 0070-0075, 0086-0090, 0295-0302, the terminal device measures the corresponding measurement signal according to the measurement configuration information, and reports the measurement result to the network device, wherein the measurement result comprises indexes of the N channel resources and indexes of M interference resources of each of the N channel resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of disclose receiving, by a terminal device, first indication information from a network device, wherein the first indication information indicates the terminal device to “measure” signal quality of a first signal, as taught by Fan, in the system of Lou, so that a terminal equipment reports the channel resources and the interference resources of the channel resources to the network equipment, so that the network equipment obtains the more accurate interference condition between the beams, thereby effectively avoiding the transmission by adopting the beams with stronger mutual interference in the multi-user transmission, and further improving the efficiency of the multi-user transmission, see Fan, Abstract.
As per claim 27, the combination of Lou and Fan disclose the method according to claim 26.
Lou further disclose wherein the terminal device meets a second preset condition, and the second preset condition comprises: a scheduling data amount of the terminal device is greater than or equal to a first threshold (see para. 0089-0090, comparison of the measurements with thresholds, a scheduling data amount of the terminal device is greater than or equal to a first threshold); or signal quality for communication between the terminal device and the network device is greater than or equal to a second threshold (see para. 0089-0090, comparison of the measurements with thresholds, signal quality is greater than or equal to a second threshold).
As per claim 28, the combination of Lou and Fan disclose the method according to claim 26.
Lou further disclose wherein the first preset condition comprises: signal quality of a signal transmitted through the N analog beams is greater than or equal to a third threshold (see Fig.9, para. 0088-0090, a certain number of analog TX where beams comparison of the measurements with thresholds, the N analog beams is greater than or equal to a third threshold); or the N analog beams include a serving beam of the terminal device (see Fig.9, para. 0088-0090, Fig.12 para. 0135, one or more reception beams, N analog beams include a serving beam of the terminal device, see also para. 0057).
As per claim 30, the combination of Lou and Fan disclose the method according to claim 24.
Lou further disclose wherein the measurement result comprises reference signal received power (see para. 0004, 0005, 0073, 0079-0080, 0088-0090, 0150, the measurement result comprises reference signal received power) and
Fan further disclose the measurement result comprises reference signal received power (see page 8, the terminal measure reference signal received power (RSRP) of each wave beam and reports indexes and the RSRP of the resources to the network equipment).
As per claim 31, claim 31 is rejected the same way as claim 18. Lou also disclose An apparatus (see Fig.16A, AP 52, 16B, RAN 103), comprising: one or more processors (see Fig.16A, AP 52, with a processor, see para. 0171); and a memory (see Fig.16A, AP 52, with a memory, see para. 0171), wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the one or more processors is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory (see para. 0171, the processer is configured to execute computer readable instructions stored in the memory, execution of the instructions cause the device to perform one or more of the functions).
As per claim 32, the combination of Lou and Fan disclose the apparatus according to claim 31.
Lou further disclose wherein the terminal device meets a second preset condition, and the second preset condition comprises: a scheduling data amount of the terminal device is greater than or equal to a first threshold (see para. 0089-0090, comparison of the measurements with thresholds, a scheduling data amount of the terminal device is greater than or equal to a first threshold); or signal quality for communication between the terminal device and the apparatus is greater than or equal to a second threshold (see para. 0089-0090, comparison of the measurements with thresholds, signal quality is greater than or equal to a second threshold).
As per claim 33, the combination of Lou and Fan disclose the apparatus according to claim 31.
Lou further disclose wherein the first preset condition comprises: signal quality of a signal transmitted through the N analog beams is greater than or equal to a third threshold (see Fig.9, para. 0088-0090, a certain number of analog TX where beams comparison of the measurements with thresholds, the N analog beams is greater than or equal to a third threshold); or the N analog beams include a serving beam of the terminal device (see Fig.9, para. 0088-0090, Fig.12 para. 0135, one or more reception beams, N analog beams include a serving beam of the terminal device, see also para. 0057).
As per claim 34, the combination of Lou and Fan disclose the apparatus according to claim 31.
Lou further disclose wherein the computer program further instructs the one or more processors to: determine the terminal device or a to-be-measured analog beam set, wherein the N analog beams belong to the to-be-measured analog beam set (see para. 0088-0090, 0135, the to be measured set is signaled, and determined at the network device).
As per claim 36, the combination of Lou and Fan disclose the apparatus according to claim 31.
Lou further disclose wherein the measurement result comprises reference signal received power(see para. 0004, 0005, 0073, 0079-0080, 0088-0090, 0150, the measurement result comprises reference signal received power) and
Fan further disclose the measurement result comprises reference signal received power (see page 8, the terminal measure reference signal received power (RSRP) of each wave beam and reports indexes and the RSRP of the resources to the network equipment).
Claims 24, 29 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou et al. (US Pub. No.: 2021/0028831), in view of Fan et al. (CN 111510946A) and further in view of Kurras et al (US Pub. No.:2019/0364390).
As per claim 24, the combination of Lou and Fan disclose the method according to claim 18.
Lou further disclose wherein sending, by the network device, the first signal to the terminal device through N analog beams comprises: repeatedly sending, by the network device, the first signal to the terminal device on a plurality of symbols through the N analog beams, wherein: the plurality of symbols comprises a first symbol and a second symbol, the first symbol comprises an extended cyclic prefix of the second symbol, and the first symbol and the second symbol are adjacent; (see para. 0058, applying different cyclic shift to a (e.g., each) transmitted signal with a cyclic prefix (CP)-OFDM transmission(s) / a plurality of symbols through the N analog beams).
The combination of Lou and Fan however does not explicitly disclose the plurality of symbols comprises a third symbol, a fourth symbol, and a fifth symbol, the third symbol or the fifth symbol comprises an extended cyclic prefix of the fourth symbol, the fourth symbol is located between the third symbol and the fifth symbol, and the third symbol, the fourth symbol and the fifth symbol are adjacent; and the method further comprises receiving, by the terminal device, second indication information from the network device, wherein the second indication information indicates the terminal device to measure the signal quality of the first signal carried on the second symbol or the fourth symbol.
Kurras however disclose a plurality of symbols comprises a third symbol, a fourth symbol, and a fifth symbol, the third symbol or the fifth symbol comprises an extended cyclic prefix of the fourth symbol, the fourth symbol is located between the third symbol and the fifth symbol, and the third symbol, the fourth symbol and the fifth symbol are adjacent; and the method further comprises receiving, by the terminal device, second indication information from the network device, wherein the second indication information indicates the terminal device to measure the signal quality of the first signal carried on the second symbol or the fourth symbol (see Fig.2a para. 0041-0043, each slot includes 7 OFDM symbols, e.g. in the slot 0 OFDM symbols 0 to 6 and in slot 1 OFDM symbols 7 to 13, a plurality of symbols comprises a third symbol, a fourth symbol, and a fifth symbol, the third symbol or the fifth symbol comprises an extended cyclic prefix, the OFDM symbols {the third symbol or the fifth symbol} configured for positioning reference uses extended cyclic prefix length).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a plurality of symbols comprises a third symbol, a fourth symbol, and a fifth symbol, the third symbol or the fifth symbol comprises an extended cyclic prefix of the fourth symbol, the fourth symbol is located between the third symbol and the fifth symbol, and the third symbol, the fourth symbol and the fifth symbol are adjacent; and the method further comprises receiving, by the terminal device, second indication information from the network device, wherein the second indication information indicates the terminal device to measure the signal quality of the first signal carried on the second symbol or the fourth symbol, as taught by Kurras, in the system of Lou and Fan, so that a terminal equipment reports the channel resources and the interference resources of the channel resources to the network equipment, so as to improve the position estimation for a specific user equipment in the mobile communications network such as an LTE system, based on downlink observed time difference of arrival (OTDoA) measurements, see Kurras, see para. 0060.
As per claim 29, the combination of Lou and Fan disclose the method according to claim 26.
Lou further disclose wherein receiving, by the terminal device, the first signal sent by the network device through N analog beams comprises: receiving, by the terminal device, the first signal repeatedly sent by the network device on a plurality of symbols through the N analog beams, wherein: the plurality of symbols comprises a first symbol and a second symbol, the first symbol comprises an extended cyclic prefix of the second symbol, and the first symbol and the second symbol are adjacent (see para. 0058, applying different cyclic shift to a (e.g., each) transmitted signal with a cyclic prefix (CP)-OFDM transmission(s) / a plurality of symbols through the N analog beams).
The combination of Lou and Fan however does not explicitly disclose the plurality of symbols comprises a third symbol, a fourth symbol, and a fifth symbol, the third symbol or the fifth symbol comprises an extended cyclic prefix of the fourth symbol, the fourth symbol is located between the third symbol and the fifth symbol, and the third symbol, the fourth symbol and the fifth symbol are adjacent; and the method further comprises receiving, by the terminal device, second indication information from the network device, wherein the second indication information indicates the terminal device to measure the signal quality of the first signal carried on the second symbol or the fourth symbol.
Kurras however disclose a plurality of symbols comprises a third symbol, a fourth symbol, and a fifth symbol, the third symbol or the fifth symbol comprises an extended cyclic prefix of the fourth symbol, the fourth symbol is located between the third symbol and the fifth symbol, and the third symbol, the fourth symbol and the fifth symbol are adjacent; and the method further comprises receiving, by the terminal device, second indication information from the network device, wherein the second indication information indicates the terminal device to measure the signal quality of the first signal carried on the second symbol or the fourth symbol (see Fig.2a para. 0041-0043, l each slot includes 7 OFDM symbols, e.g. in the slot 0 OFDM symbols 0 to 6 and in slot 1 OFDM symbols 7 to 13, a plurality of symbols comprises a third symbol, a fourth symbol, and a fifth symbol, the third symbol or the fifth symbol comprises an extended cyclic prefix, the OFDM symbols {the third symbol or the fifth symbol} configured for positioning reference uses extended cyclic prefix length).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a plurality of symbols comprises a third symbol, a fourth symbol, and a fifth symbol, the third symbol or the fifth symbol comprises an extended cyclic prefix of the fourth symbol, the fourth symbol is located between the third symbol and the fifth symbol, and the third symbol, the fourth symbol and the fifth symbol are adjacent; and the method further comprises receiving, by the terminal device, second indication information from the network device, wherein the second indication information indicates the terminal device to measure the signal quality of the first signal carried on the second symbol or the fourth symbol, as taught by Kurras, in the system of Lou and Fan, so that a terminal equipment reports the channel resources and the interference resources of the channel resources to the network equipment, so as to improve the position estimation for a specific user equipment in the mobile communications network such as an LTE system, based on downlink observed time difference of arrival (OTDoA) measurements, see Kurras, see para. 0060.
As per claim 35, the combination of Lou and Fan disclose the apparatus according to claim 31.
Lou further disclose wherein that the computer program instructs the one or more processors to send, the first signal to the terminal device through N analog beams comprises instructions to: repeatedly send, the first signal to the terminal device on a plurality of symbols through the N analog beams, wherein: the plurality of symbols comprises a first symbol and a second symbol, the first symbol comprises an extended cyclic prefix of the second symbol, and the first symbol and the second symbol are adjacent; (see para. 0058, applying different cyclic shift to a (e.g., each) transmitted signal with a cyclic prefix (CP)-OFDM transmission(s) / a plurality of symbols through the N analog beams).
The combination of Lou and Fan however does not explicitly disclose the plurality of symbols comprises a third symbol, a fourth symbol, and a fifth symbol, the third symbol or the fifth symbol comprises an extended cyclic prefix of the fourth symbol, the fourth symbol is located between the third symbol and the fifth symbol, and the third symbol, the fourth symbol and the fifth symbol are adjacent; and the method further comprises receiving, by the terminal device, second indication information from the network device, wherein the second indication information indicates the terminal device to measure the signal quality of the first signal carried on the second symbol or the fourth symbol.
Kurras however disclose a plurality of symbols comprises a third symbol, a fourth symbol, and a fifth symbol, the third symbol or the fifth symbol comprises an extended cyclic prefix of the fourth symbol, the fourth symbol is located between the third symbol and the fifth symbol, and the third symbol, the fourth symbol and the fifth symbol are adjacent; and the method further comprises receiving, by the terminal device, second indication information from the network device, wherein the second indication information indicates the terminal device to measure the signal quality of the first signal carried on the second symbol or the fourth symbol (see Fig.2a para. 0041-0043, l each slot includes 7 OFDM symbols, e.g. in the slot 0 OFDM symbols 0 to 6 and in slot 1 OFDM symbols 7 to 13, a plurality of symbols comprises a third symbol, a fourth symbol, and a fifth symbol, the third symbol or the fifth symbol comprises an extended cyclic prefix, the OFDM symbols {the third symbol or the fifth symbol} configured for positioning reference uses extended cyclic prefix length).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a plurality of symbols comprises a third symbol, a fourth symbol, and a fifth symbol, the third symbol or the fifth symbol comprises an extended cyclic prefix of the fourth symbol, the fourth symbol is located between the third symbol and the fifth symbol, and the third symbol, the fourth symbol and the fifth symbol are adjacent; and the method further comprises receiving, by the terminal device, second indication information from the network device, wherein the second indication information indicates the terminal device to measure the signal quality of the first signal carried on the second symbol or the fourth symbol, as taught by Kurras, in the system of Lou and Fan, so that a terminal equipment reports the channel resources and the interference resources of the channel resources to the network equipment, so as to improve the position estimation for a specific user equipment in the mobile communications network such as an LTE system, based on downlink observed time difference of arrival (OTDoA) measurements, see Kurras, see para. 0060.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee (US Pub. No.:2019/0058558) - a terminal receives a signal using the first reception beam during the first duration of 3.3 us (hereinafter, it will be referred to as sub-symbol duration) after a CP within a symbol duration which is allocated for a BRS/BRRS, receives a signal using the second reception beam during the second duration of 3.3 us, receives a signal using the third reception beam during the third duration of 3.3 us, and receives a signal using the fourth reception beam during the last duration of 3.3 us. Thereafter, a 512-point FFT is performed on a received signal of the first sub-symbol duration and channel information for the first reception beam is output. Next, a 512-point FFT is performed on a received signal of the second sub-symbol duration and channel information for the second reception beam is output, a 512-point FFT is performed on a received signal of the third sub-symbol duration and channel information for the third reception beam is output, and a 512-point FFT is performed on a received signal of the last sub-symbol duration and channel information for the last reception beam is output.
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469