DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 6 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kohls (3,948,302). In regard to claim 1, Kohls discloses a ski protection device that is configured to inhibit debris from contacting a ski during transport wherein the ski protection device comprises a body, said body having a wall member wherein said wall member is constructed to form an interior volume, said body having a first end and a second end, said second end of said body having an opening providing access to said interior volume of said body, said body being comprised of a first portion and a second portion, said first portion and said second portion of said body being contiguously formed (Fig. 8, items 12 and 22), an end portion, said end portion being contiguously formed at said second end of said body, said end portion being movable from a first position to a second position (Figs. 8 and 10, item 41), and a strap member, said strap member being secured to said end portion, said strap member configured to surroundably mount said end portion, said strap member operable to maintain said end portion in said second position (Fig. 8, item 42a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohls (3,948,302) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of McKay (4,191,233). In regard to claim 3, Kohls discloses wherein in said second position said end portion is folded over against said body proximate said second end thereof wherein said end portion is adjacent said body (column 2, lines 54 – 58).
In regard to claim 4, Kohls discloses wherein said second portion of said body has a width that is greater than a width of said first portion of said body (Fig. 8).
In regard to claim 6, Kohls discloses wherein the ski protection device facilitates an ability to transport a ski stored in the ski protection device on a conventional roof rack while a ski is disposed within the ski protection device (column 2, lines 8 – 11).
Kohls does not disclose the use of thicker material in end portions. In regard to claim 2, McKay discloses a ski protection device comprising an end member, said end member being integrally formed on said first end of said body, said end member being manufactured from a heavier material than said body (Fig. 6, item 26).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the thicker end material, as taught by McKay, to the ski protection device of Kohls, in order to reinforce the area which would come in contact with the pointed ski tips. This would extend the usable life of the device by strengthening the area of sharp/pointed contact to minimize damage from said contact.
Kohls in view of McKay does not disclose the use of a specific material. In regard to claim 5, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manufacture the device from nylon, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Welsh (3,336,961) discloses a ski case;
Horne (4,715,416) discloses a ski cover;
McConnell (5,207,323) discloses a ski sock;
Smith (6,736,263) discloses elastic coverings for skis and snowboards;
Cordeau (2025/0242228) discloses ski and snowboard tip protection socks.
/JOHN D WALTERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613