Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9- 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Arnault (US 2022/0294319) and in view of Hubert (US 20210021180).
As to claim 1, Arnault discloses a brush assembly (Fig. 3) comprising: a brush including a support and a plurality of conductive fibers fitted within the support (Fig. 3); and a brush fitting plate connected with the support of the brush and including a radial portion supported axially against the support of the brush (Fig. 3 and 4), a plurality of retention tongues configured to axially retain the support and an annular axial centering portion configured to radially center the support of the brush and extending from the radial portion (Fig. 4), the axial centering portion of the fitting plate being supported radially against the support of the brush and the retention tongues extending from the axial centering portion (Fig. 3 and 4).
Arnault fails to disclose a grounding brush assembly, an annular axial centering portion configured extending continuously around the entire perimeter of the support of the brush, and the axial centering portion of the fitting plate radially surrounding the support.
Hubert, however, discloses a grounding brush assembly (Para 0023), an annular axial centering portion configured extending continuously around the entire perimeter of the support of the brush, and the axial centering portion of the fitting plate radially surrounding the support (Fig. 3 and 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assembly of Arnault with a grounding brush assembly, an annular axial centering portion configured extending continuously around the entire perimeter of the support of the brush, and the axial centering portion of the fitting plate radially surrounding the support, as disclosed by Hubert, in order to better secure the support.
As to claim 2, the combination of Arnault and Hubert discloses the assembly according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of retention tongues extend axially from a side of the annular axial centering portion opposite to the radial portion (Fig. 4 of Arnault).
As to claim 3, the combination of Arnault and Hubert disclose the assembly according to claim 1, wherein the support of the brush includes a fitting portion and two lateral flanks extending radially inwardly from the fitting portion and axially enclosing the conductive fibers (Fig. 4 of Arnault), the radial portion of the fitting plate being supported axially against one of the lateral flanks of the support and the annular axial centering portion being supported radially against the fitting portion of the support (Fig. 4 of Arnault).
As to claim 4, the combination of Arnault and Hubert discloses the assembly according to claim 3, wherein each one of the plurality of retention tongues includes an axial portion supported radially against the fitting portion of the support of the brush (Fig. 4 of Arnault) and a radial portion extending radially inwardly from the axial portion and axially contacting the support (Fig. 4 of Arnault).
As to claim 5, the combination of Arnault and Hubert discloses the assembly according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of retention tongues are circumferentially spaced apart (Fig. 3 of Arnault).
As to claim 6, the combination of Arnault and Hubert discloses the assembly according to claim 1, wherein the fitting plate further includes a fitting portion which is offset radially outwardly with respect to the annular axial centering portion and with respect to the retention tongues (Fig. 3 of Arnault), the fitting portion having an outer surface defining the outer diameter of the fitting plate (Fig. 3 of Arnault).
As to claim 7, the combination of Arnault and Hubert discloses the assembly according to claim 6, wherein the fitting portion of the fitting plate includes an annular flange (Fig. 2 of Arnault).
As to claim 9, the combination of Arnault and Hubert discloses the assembly according to claim 6, wherein the fitting plate further includes at least one connection portion extending from the annular axial centering portion and connected to the fitting portion (Fig. 2 and 4 of Arnault).
As to claim 10, the combination of Arnault and Hubert discloses the assembly according to claim 9, wherein the connection portion of the fitting plate is disposed on one axial side of the support of the brush and the radial portion of the fitting plate is disposed on an opposing axial side of the support of the brush (Fig. 4 of Arnault).
As to claim 11, the combination of Arnault and Hubert discloses an electric motor (Para 0003 of Arnault) comprising: a housing (Para 0003 of Arnault); a shaft (Para 003 of Arnault); and at least one grounding brush assembly according to claim 1, the grounding brush assembly being fitted radially between the housing and the shaft (Fig. 1, Para 0039 of Arnault), the conductive fibers of the brush of the assembly being in contact with the shaft (Fig. 1 of Arnault).
As to claim 12, Arnault discloses a brush assembly comprising: a grounding brush including a support and a plurality of conductive fibers fitted within the support (Fig. 3); and a brush fitting plate connected with the support of the brush and including a radial portion supported axially against the support of the brush (Fig. 3 and 4), a plurality of retention tongues configured to axially retain the support (Fig. 4), an annular axial centering portion configured to radially center the support of the brush and extending from the radial portion (Fig. 4), the axial centering portion of the fitting plate being supported radially against the support of the brush and the retention tongues extending from the axial centering portion (Fig. 3 and 4), an annular fitting portion for fitting and centering the fitting plate within a bore of a housing (Fig. 3), the annular fitting portion being offset radially outwardly with respect to and radially surrounding the annular axial centering portion and the retention tongues and having an outer surface defining the outer diameter of the fitting plate (Fig. 3), and at least one radial connection portion extending radially outwardly from an axial side of the annular axial centering portion opposite to the radial portion of the fitting plate and connected to the fitting portion (Fig. 2).
Arnault fails to discloses a grounding brush assembly.
Hubert, however, discloses a grounding brush assembly (Para 0023).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assembly of Arnault with a grounding brush assembly, as disclosed by Hubert, in order to provide a return path for faulty currents.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Arnault, Hubert, and in view of Leisinger (US 2021/0234436).
As to claim 8, the combination of Arnault and Hubert discloses the assembly according to claim 6, wherein the fitting portion of the fitting plate includes a flange and a circumferential direction (Fig. 2 of Arnault).
Arnault fails to disclose a plurality of fitting lugs.
Leisinger, however, discloses a plurality of fitting lugs (Para 0023).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assembly of Arnault with a plurality of fitting lugs, as
disclosed by Leisinger, to properly secure the plate.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to ETHAN N VO whose telephone number is (571)270-7593. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:30am - 5pm.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Christopher M Koehler can be reached on 571 272 3560. The fax phone number for the organization
where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To
file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199
(IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ETHAN NGUYEN VO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834