DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 14 and 15, in the reply filed on March 30, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-13 and 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 30, 2026.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Objections
Claims 14 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: “the obtained particles” in the last limitation lacks antecedent basis. Also these claims depend from a withdrawn claim and should be rewritten in independent form. The abbreviation “API” should be written out in the first instance. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “small molecular API” in claims 14 and 15 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “small molecular API” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The disclosure uses the term “small molecular API” throughout, but without any definition or elaboration. The only “small molecular API” disclosed are “cisplatin, carboplatin, topotecan, paclitaxel, erlotinib, and combinations thereof” (para.0244, pre-grant publication US 2024/0197628). However these are but several examples of a presumably vast class of pharmaceutical active agents. While various scientists/authors and entities circumscribe a “small molecule” drug as having a molecular weight or size within some defined range, there appears no single, established range across the field of pharmaceutical industry.
For the purposes of examination now this claim term is construed as any non-macromolecular active agent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brudnicki (US 2020/0022917).
Brudnicki teaches preparing therapeutic agent in powder form, e.g., aflibercept, or a “small molecule VEGF antagonist” (paras.0076, 0082, 0098, 0104; see entire document including title; abstract; paras.0001, 0008-09, 0019, 0055-56, 0061-63, 0083-84, 0102, 0104-05, 0120-22, 0131). “In one aspect, the invention provides a method of manufacturing the subject formulated pharmaceutical powder by ‘spray drying’ the precursor aqueous solution containing the subject protein and any additional excipients” (para. 0112). The inlet and the outlet temperatures for the spray dryer chamber, and the spray or drying gas, are such that the feedstock solution forms a powder (para.0113; see paras.0138, 0142, 0144, Examples 1, 3, 4). “[T]he formulated pharmaceutical powder is formed by subjecting the subject feedstock to atomization to form a mist of atomized droplets, and then applying heat to the mist of atomized droplets to form the formulated pharmaceutical powder comprising the protein.” (Para.0114). The formulations “remain stable and biologically active at ambient and physiological temperatures for an extended period of time” (para.0001).
For the small molecular active pharmaceutical ingredient, Brudnicki expressly teaches using stabilizers of “small molecules (≤ 200 grams per mole)”, including inositol, tryptophan, etc. (para.0061; see paras.0059) which are therapeutic active pharmaceutical ingredients. Furthermore suitable active agents include “small molecules that inhibit VEGF - stimulated tyrosine kinases , including for example lapatinib , sunitinib , sorafenib , axitinib , and paxopanib” (para.0098; see para.0104).
For the stabilizing agent, Brudnicki teaches the specific combination of mannitol with isoleucine or proline (claims 9, 22, 36). Applicant describes as a mannitol as a “stabilizer” and isoleucine as a “dispersant”, respectively (paras.0174, 0182, pre-grant publication US 2024/0197628).
Brudnicki does not specifically disclose a specific process wherein the feedstock solution comprises both the angiogenesis inhibitor protein such as aflibercept in combination with a small molecule VEGF- inhibitor, or inositol or tryptophan, as in claim 14, or preparing separate solutions of an angiogenesis inhibitor protein and a small molecular active agent as in claim 15.
However it would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to do so. The skilled person would have been motivated to do so. “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” MPEP §2144.06 (I) (citations omitted). Here Brudnicki expressly teaches using multiple stabilizers, including combinations of mannitol and isoleucine or proline, as well as other “small molecule” stabilizers such as trehalose, inositol, and tryptophan, which are therapeutic agents.
Regarding claim 15 it is noted that making separable what was known in the prior art where removability or access was desirable, has been held to be obvious. See MPEP § 2144.04 (V)(C) (citations omitted). Here the skilled person would have recognize that “small molecules … for example lapatinib , sunitinib , sorafenib , axitinib , and paxopanib” and “[m]acromolecular inhibitors …bevacizumab , the Fab fragment ranibizumab , the trap aflibercept[sic] , and the PEGylated aptamer pegaptanib” could require different solvents for optimal feedstock solution for spray drying. Therefore preparing separate spray drying solutions by dissolution of the small active agent in a first solvent and another solution by dissolution of the angiogenesis inhibitor would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Double Patenting
Claims 14 and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 34 and 35 (03/20/2026) of copending Application No. 18/253,190 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to identical spray drying process comprising steps (a) through (d). The difference is that the ‘190 application’s claims require bevacizumab, trehalose, and L-leucine as the angiogenesis inhibitor, the stabilizer and the dispersant, each at respective concentration ranges. Therefore the ‘190 application’s claims anticipate the present claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/H. SARAH PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614