Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 02/06/2026 has been entered. Claims 5-7 and 17-19 are cancelled, and claims 1-4, 8-16, and 20-23 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 08/11/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that “Ishihara does not disclose or even suggest a "first sub-aperture" and a "second sub-aperture" that "are spatially intermittent in the lateral direction." Instead, Ishihara disclosed intermittent transducer elements or channels associated with the same aperture” (see pg. 11, para. 6 of applicant’s remarks), and the examiner disagrees.
Ishihara teaches the limitation “wherein the first sub-array and the second sub-array each comprise non-consecutive groups of ultrasound transducers, such that the first sub-aperture and the second sub-aperture are spatially intermittent in the lateral direction” (see Fig. 16B-16C, where activating different non-consecutive, spatially intermittent groups of channels/transducers 31 during different transmissions is considered different sub-arrays/sub-apertures).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-16, and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robert et al. (US 20240277317 A1, published August 22, 2024 with a priority date of May 5, 2022) in view of Ishihara et al. (US 20130331699 A1, published December 12, 2013), hereinafter referred to as Robert and Ishihara, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, and similarly for claims 11 and 14, Robert teaches an aperture compounding method (Fig. 11) for reducing speckle in ultrasound data corresponding to ultrasound waves received by an array of ultrasound transducers (Fig. 1, transducer array 112), distributed in a lateral direction (see para. 0030- "In some instances, the transducer array 112 may include an array of acoustic elements with any number of acoustic elements in any suitable configuration, such as ... a two-dimensional (2D) array. The array of acoustic elements (e.g., one or more rows, one or more columns, and/or one or more orientations) can be uniformly or independently controlled and activated.")., the method comprising:
obtaining a beamformed first sub-aperture signa I and a beamformed second sub-aperture signal, each corresponding to a focaI point (see para. 0056 - "In any case, the data corresponding to the set of subframes may be beamformed at the beamformer610." Where a subframe inherently includes a focal point),
wherein the first sub-aperture signal corresponds to a first sub-aperture defined by a first sub array of the ultrasound transducers, and the second sub-aperture signal corresponds to a second sub aperture defined by a second sub-array of the ultrasound transducers (see para. 0055-"In particular, the data corresponding to the set of subframes may be associated with echoes associated with ultrasound energy transmitted by a set of sub-apertures and/or at a set of different angles ... "); and
generating an average signaI, corresponding to the focaI point, wherein the generating comprises:
generating a full aperture signal by coherently adding the first sub-aperture signal and the second sub-aperture signal (see para. 0079 - "The coherent combination module 920 may be configured to coherently combine (e.g., compound) the data corresponding to the set of subframes. For instance, the coherent combination module 920 may sum (e.g., average) data corresponding to a first subframe of the set of subframes and data corresponding to a second subframe of the set of subframes to coherently combine the data corresponding to the set of subframes.");
generating a first sub-aperture logarithmic signal by logarithmically detecting the first sub aperture signal; generating a second sub-aperture logarithmic signal by logarithmically detecting the second sub-aperture signal (see para. 0059 - "The signal pathway 600 may further include a log compression module 630 configured to perform log compression on the data corresponding to the set of subframes.");
generating a full aperture logarithmic signal by logarithmically detecting the full aperture signal (see para. 0082 - "The signal pathway 900 may further include a log compression module 630 configured to perform log compression on the data corresponding to the set of subframes."); and
averaging the first sub-aperture logarithmic signal, the second sub-aperture logarithmic signal, and the full aperture logarithmic signal to produce the average signal corresponding to the focal point (see para. 0094 - "The first image data and the second image data may be received at the image generation module 1150, which may combine [which can include averaging] the first image data and the second image data to generate a compounded ultrasound image.").
Robert teaches a first sub-array and a second sub-array, but does not explicitly teach the first sub-array and the second sub-array each comprise non-consecutive groups of ultrasound transducers, such that the first sub-aperture and the second sub-aperture are spatially intermittent.
Whereas, Ishihara, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches wherein the first sub-array and the second sub-array each comprise non-consecutive groups of ultrasound transducers, such that the first sub-aperture and the second sub-aperture are spatially intermittent in the lateral direction (see Fig. 16B-16C, where activating different non-consecutive, spatially intermittent groups of channels/transducers 31 during different transmissions is considered different sub-arrays/sub-apertures).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a first sub-array and a second sub-array, as disclosed in Robert, by having the first sub-array and the second sub-array each comprise non-consecutive groups of ultrasound transducers, such that the first sub-aperture and the second sub-aperture are spatially intermittent, as disclosed in Ishihara. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to obtain a tissue harmonic imaging (THI) image using the nonlinear signal with a high S/N ratio, as taught in Ishihara (Fig. 15; see para. 0153).
Furthermore, regarding claim 2, Robert further teaches:
converting ultrasound waves, that are incident upon the first sub-aperture, to a first set of ultrasound signals, and converting ultrasound waves, that are incident upon the second sub-aperture, to a second set of ultrasound signaIs (see para. 0055 - "In particular, the data corresponding to the set of subframes may be associated with echoes associated with ultrasound energy transmitted by a set of sub apertures and/or at a set of different angles, as described herein."); and generating, by beamforming the first set of ultrasound signals, the first sub-aperture signal that corresponds to the focal point; and
generating, by beamforming the second set of ultrasound signals, the second sub-aperture signal that corresponds to the focal point (see para. 0056- "In any case, the data corresponding to the set of subframes may be beamformed at the beamformer610. For instance, the beamformer610 may perform a coherent delay-and-sum operation on the data to provide Page 5 beamformed signals").
Furthermore, regarding claims 3, 12, and 15 Robert further teaches generating an ultrasound image by at least one selected from a group consisting of: iteratively repeating the generating of the average signal at multiple different focaI points; and generating, in parallel, the average signa I at multiple different focal points (see para. 0094- "The first image data and the second image data may be received at the image generation module 1150, which may combine the first image data and the second image data to generate a compounded ultrasound image.").
Furthermore, regarding claims 4, 13, and 16, Robert further teaches:
transmitting, from the first sub-aperture, a transmitted first sub-aperture signal; transmitting, from the second sub-aperture, a transmitted second sub-aperture signal (see para. 0055 - "In particular, the data corresponding tot he set of subframes may be associated with echoes associated with ultrasound energy transmitted by a set of sub-apertures and/or at a set of different angles, as described herein.");
generating a transmitted full aperture signal by coherently adding the transmitted first sub aperture signal and the transmitted second sub-aperture signal (see para. 0079 - "The coherent combination module 920 may be configured to coherently combine (e.g., compound) the data corresponding to the set of subframes. For instance, the coherent combination module 920 may sum (e.g., average) data corresponding to a first subframe of the set of subframes and data corresponding to a second subframe of the set of subframes to coherently combine the data corresponding to the set of subframes."),
wherein the obtaining of the beamformed first sub-aperture signaI and the beamformed second sub-aperture signal is performed for both the transmitted first sub-aperture signal and transmitted second sub-aperture signal (see para. 0056- "In any case, the data corresponding to the set of subframes may be beamformed at the beamformer 610."), and
the generating of the average signal is performed for each of the transmitted first sub-aperture signal, the transmitted second sub-aperture signal, and the transmitted full aperture signal (see para. 0094 -"The first image data and the second image data may be received at the image generation module 1150, which may combine the first image data and the second image data to generate a compounded ultrasound image.").
Furthermore, regarding claims 8 and 20, Ishihara further teaches wherein the non-consecutive groups of the first sub-array and the non-consecutive groups of the second sub-array are interleaved such that the spatially intermittent first sub- aperture and the spatially intermittent second sub-aperture overlap in the lateral direction (see para. 0154-"FIG. 16(8) and FIG. 16(() illustrate that those drive channels are arranged alternately two by two, and three by three, respectively.").
Furthermore, regarding claims 9 and 21, Robert further teaches wherein each of the ultrasound transducers is at least one selected from a group consisting of a capacitive micromachined ultrasound transducer (CM UT) and a piezoelectric micromachined ultrasonic transducer (PMUT) (see para. 0030-"In some embodiments, the transducer array 112 may include a piezoelectric micromachined ultrasound transducer (PMUT), capacitive micromachined ultrasonic transducer (CMUT) ... ").
Furthermore, regarding claims 10 and 22, Robert further teaches wherein the array of ultrasound transducers is a two-dimensional array comprising rows of ultrasound transducers, the rows being distributed in the lateral direction (see para. 0030 - "In some instances, the transducer array 112 may include an array of acoustic elements with any number of acoustic elements in any suitable configuration, such as ... a two-dimensional (2D) array. The array of acoustic elements (e.g., one or more rows, one or more columns, and/or one or more orientations) can be uniformly or independently controlled and activated.").
Furthermore, regarding claim 23, Robert further teaches:
a handheld ultrasound probe (Fig. 1; see para. 0027 - "In some embodiments, the probe 110 is an external ultrasound imaging device including a housing 111 configured for handheld operation by a user."), comprising: the array of ultrasound transducers (transducer array 112), and the electronic circuitry (includes processor 116 of probe 110); and
a processing device (host 130), being one selected from a group consisting of a computer, a tablet, and a smartphone (see para. 0036 - "The host 130 may be any suitable computing and display device, such as a workstation, a personal computer (PC), a laptop, a tablet, or a mobile phone."), the processing device comprising: the processor (processor 134 of host 130).
The motivation for claims 8 and 20 was shown previously in claims 1 and 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Pan et al. (US 20090227872 A1, published September 10, 2009) discloses a first pulse turns on all of the N elements, or turns on all of the elements within the aperture. A second pulse turns on the first sub-aperture that is one-half of the N elements, and a third pulse turns on the second sub-aperture is the other one-half of the N elements that were not turned on in the second pulse.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/PASCAL M BUI PHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798