DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the three battery modules" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For the purposes of compact prosecution, the limitation will be interpreted as any three modules from the plurality of battery modules in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamagishi et al. (US20190319319A1, hereby referred to as Yamagichi ‘319) in view of Ohkuma (US20200076026A1) and Greber et al. (US20220013841A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yamagichi ‘319 discloses a battery pack to be mounted on a vehicle ([0036] battery pack 11 mounted on vehicle), the battery pack (See annotated Fig. 1 below, battery pack 11) comprising: a battery case (Fig. 1, battery case 12);
a plurality of battery modules (Fig. 1, battery modules 13) placed on the battery case such that at least two battery modules being arranged side by side in a vehicle width direction (See Fig. 1, modules arranged side by side perpendicular to the front), and at least two battery modules being arranged side by side in the front-rear direction (See Fig. 1, modules arranged side by side in the front direction);
a plurality of battery cooling portions (See annotated Fig. 4 below, cooling medium supply passages 14a, cooling medium discharge passages 14b, and cooling medium jackets 14. Note Fig. 4 is a sectional view of line 4 of Fig. 1), through which a refrigerant flows ([0046] cooling medium supplied from cooling medium supply piping 15), arranged below the at least two battery modules arranged side by side in the front-rear direction (See Fig. 1, each of the modules having cooling portions below);
a distribution pipe (Fig. 1, distribution pipe 15’) configured to distribute the refrigerant to the plurality of battery cooling portions ([0046] cooling medium supplied from cooling medium supply piping 15); and
an aggregation pipe (Fig. 1, aggregation pipe 16’) configured to aggregate the refrigerant discharged from the plurality of battery cooling portions ([0046] cooling medium is returned to cooling medium discharge piping 16),
wherein each of the plurality of battery cooling portions includes: a refrigerant jacket (Fig. 1, cooling medium jackets 14) configured to cool the at least two battery modules arranged side by side in the front-rear direction (See Fig. 1, cooling medium jackets 14 configured on modules);
a supply pipe (Fig. 1, cooling medium supply piping 15) connected to the refrigerant jacket (See Fig. 4, cooling medium supply piping 15 in the cooling medium supply passages 14a connected to cooling medium jackets 14) and the distribution pipe (Fig. 1, distribution pipe 15’), and configured to supply the refrigerant to the refrigerant jacket ([0046] cooling medium supplied from cooling medium supply piping 15); and
a discharge pipe (Fig. 1, cooling medium discharge piping 16) connected to the refrigerant jacket (See Fig. 4, cooling medium discharge piping 16 in the cooling medium discharge passages 14b connected to cooling medium jackets 14) and the aggregation pipe (Fig. 1, aggregation pipe 16’), and configured to discharge the refrigerant from the refrigerant jacket ([0046] cooling medium is returned to cooling medium discharge piping 16),
wherein the refrigerant jacket (14), the supply pipe (15), and the discharge pipe (16) each have a flat shape that is short in an upper-lower direction (See Fig. 4. Note jacket and pipes as shown shaped similar to applicants’ definition of flat in Fig. 5 of instant application).
wherein the supply pipe is arranged below the refrigerant jacket (See Fig. 4, cooling medium supply passages 14a below cooling medium jackets 14), and is connected to a supply port (See annotated Fig. 9 below, medium inlet 20. Note Fig. 9 is a detailed diagram corresponding to Fig. 1) provided in a central portion of the refrigerant jacket in the front-rear direction (See Fig. 9. Note port as shown arranged similar to applicants’ definition of central portion in Fig. 4 of instant application), and
wherein the discharge pipe is arranged below the refrigerant jacket (See Fig. 4, cooling medium discharge passages 14b below cooling medium jackets 14), and is connected to a discharge port (Fig. 9, medium outlet 21) provided in the central portion of the refrigerant jacket (See Fig. 9. Note port as shown arranged similar to applicants’ definition of central portion in Fig. 4 of instant application)
Yamagichi ‘319 does not disclose that the distribution pipe is arranged on one side in the front-rear direction with respect to the plurality of battery modules;
and the aggregation pipe is arranged on other side in the front-rear direction with respect to the plurality of battery modules; and
a plurality of battery modules placed on the battery case such that a longitudinal direction of each of the battery modules is a front-rear direction of the vehicle.
Ohkuma discloses battery modules in a vehicle ([0036]) in which the plurality of battery modules placed on the battery case such that a longitudinal direction of each of the battery modules is a front-rear direction of the vehicle ([0036] battery modules longitudinal direction coincides with the fore-and-aft direction).
Yamagichi ‘319 and Ohkuma are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely batteries modules in vehicles.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the arrangement of the plurality of the battery modules of modified Yamagichi ‘319 such plurality of battery modules placed on the battery case such that a longitudinal direction of each of the battery modules is a front-rear direction of the vehicle as taught by Ohkuma because there are a finite number of identified predictable battery module directions (front-rear, side-to-side) and choosing a direction to improve space efficiency without changing the operation of the device is well within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2141(III)E choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Greber discloses battery modules (See annotated Fig. 4’ below, battery modules 3) in which the distribution pipe ([0119] distribution manifold 81) is arranged on one side in the front-rear direction with respect to the plurality of battery modules (See Fig. 4’, distribution manifold 81 on front-side) and the aggregation pipe ([0120] discharge manifold 83) is arranged on the other side in the front-rear direction with respect to the plurality of battery modules (See Fig. 4’, discharge manifold 83 on rear-side).
Greber is analogous prior art to the current invention because it is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely batteries with cooling pipes.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the arrangement of the aggregation pipe and the distribution pipe of modified Yamagichi ‘319 such that the distribution pipe is arranged on one side in the front-rear direction with respect to the plurality of battery modules and the aggregation pipe is arranged on the other side in the front-rear direction with respect to the plurality of battery modules as shown by Greber because there are a finite number of identified predictable aggregation and distribution pipe directions (pipes on the front, rear, or side direction where they are opposing-side or same-side) and choosing a direction to improve space efficiency without changing the operation of the device is well within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2141(III)E choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, modified Yamagichi ‘319 discloses the battery pack according to claim 1, wherein the refrigerant jacket includes:
a front flow path (See annotated Fig. 9 above, medium supply passages 14a and medium discharge passages 14b) configured to allow the refrigerant introduced from the supply port (20) provided in the central portion to flow ([0050] cooling medium supplied from cooling medium inlet 20) to a front end portion (See Fig. 9, front end portion), and allow the refrigerant to return at the front end portion ([0054] cooling medium supply passages 14a and cooling medium discharge passages 14b communicated with each other via linking passages 14k) and to flow from the front end portion to the discharge port (21) provided in the central portion ([0050] cooling medium discharged from cooling medium outlet 21); and
a rear flow path (See annotated Fig. 9 above, medium supply passages 14a and medium discharge passages 14b) configured to allow the refrigerant introduced from the supply port (20) provided in the central portion to flow ([0050] cooling medium supplied from cooling medium inlet 20) to a rear end portion (See Fig. 9, rear end portion), and allow the refrigerant to return at the rear end portion ([0054] cooling medium supply passages 14a and cooling medium discharge passages 14b communicated with each other via linking passages 14k) and to flow from the rear end portion to the discharge port (21) provided in the central portion ([0050] cooling medium discharged from cooling medium outlet 21).
Regarding claim 3, modified Yamagichi ‘319 discloses the battery pack according to claim 2, wherein the three battery modules are arranged side by side in the front-rear direction (See annotated Fig. 1 above, three battery modules 13’. Note for orientation of modified Yamagichi ‘319 as taught by Ohkuma, the three modules are arranged similar to applicants’ modules in Fig. 2 of instant application),
wherein the front flow path (See annotated Fig. 9 above, medium supply passages 14a and medium discharge passages 14b to the front end portion) of the refrigerant jacket (14) is configured to cool a front battery module (Fig. 1, battery module 13a) and a central battery module (Fig. 1, battery module 13b) among the three battery modules (13’) arranged side by side in the front-rear direction (See Fig. 9 and [0046], cooling medium supply passage supply cooling medium to the modules), and
wherein the rear flow path (See annotated Fig. 9 above, medium supply passages 14a and medium discharge passages 14b to the rear end portion) of the refrigerant jacket (14) is configured to cool the central battery module (13b) and a rear battery module (Fig. 1, battery module 13c) among the three battery modules (13’) arranged side by side in the front-rear direction (See Fig. 9 and [0046], cooling medium supply passage supply cooling medium to the modules).
Regarding claim 4, modified Yamagichi ‘319 discloses the battery pack according to claim 1, wherein the supply piping is connected ([0046] cooling medium supply piping branches) from a supply port ([0046] cooling medium inlet 20) and the refrigerant jacket ([0046] cooling medium jackets 14).
Modified Yamagichi ‘319 does not disclose wherein the supply port of the refrigerant jacket is open downward, and wherein the supply pipe is provided with an opening, which is open upward and is connected to the supply port of the refrigerant jacket, on an upper surface of the supply pipe.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the supply port and supply pipe of modified Yamagichi ‘319 such that the supply port of the refrigerant jacket is open downward, and wherein the supply pipe is provided with an opening, which is open upward and is connected to the supply port of the refrigerant jacket, on an upper surface of the supply pipe because there are a finite number of identified predictable port and pipe directions and choosing a direction without changing the operation of the device is well within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2141(III)E choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 5, modified Yamagichi ‘319 discloses the battery pack according to claim 1, wherein the discharge piping is connected ([0046] flows from the cooling medium jackets to the cooling medium outlet and returned to the cooling medium discharge piping) from a discharge port ([0046] cooling medium outlet 21) and the refrigerant jacket ([0046] cooling medium jackets 14).
Modified Yamagichi ‘319 does not disclose wherein the discharge port of the refrigerant jacket is opened downward, and wherein the discharge pipe is provided with an opening, which is open upward and is connected to the discharge port of the refrigerant jacket, on an upper surface of the discharge pipe.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the discharge port and discharge pipe of modified Yamagichi ‘319 such that the discharge port of the refrigerant jacket is opened downward, and wherein the discharge pipe is provided with an opening, which is open upward and is connected to the discharge port of the refrigerant jacket, on an upper surface of the discharge pipe because there are a finite number of identified predictable port and pipe directions and choosing a direction without changing the operation of the device is well within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2141(III)E choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamagishi ‘319. (US20190319319A1), Ohkuma (US20200076026A1), and Greber et al. (US20220013841A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (KR20220080760A English Machine Translation provided with this Office Action).
Regarding claim 6, modified Yamagichi ‘319 discloses the battery pack according to claim 1 but does not disclose wherein a gap is formed between the refrigerant jacket and the supply pipe.
Kim discloses a battery ([0050]) in which a refrigerant jacket ([0050] jacket part 142) contains a gap ([0050] spaced apart by a predetermined interval). Kim also discloses that the gap is formed to minimize heat exchange between the other parts ([0050]).
Kim is analogous prior art to the current invention because it is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely batteries with cooling jackets.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the refrigerant jacket of modified Yamagichi ‘319 such that a gap is formed between the refrigerant jacket and the supply pipe as taught by Kim in order to minimize heat exchange between the jacket and the supply pipe.
Regarding claim 7, modified Yamagichi ‘319 discloses the battery pack according to claim 1 but does not disclose wherein a gap is formed between the refrigerant jacket and the discharge pipe.
Kim discloses a battery ([0050]) in which a refrigerant jacket ([0050] jacket part 142) contains a gap ([0050] spaced apart by a predetermined interval). Kim also discloses that the gap is formed to minimize heat exchange between the other parts ([0050]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the refrigerant jacket of modified Yamagichi ‘319 such that a gap is formed between the refrigerant jacket and the discharge pipe as taught by Kim in order to minimize heat exchange between the jacket and the discharge pipe.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Matsumoto et al. (US20220311075A1) discloses a battery module cooled with a refrigerant inlet pipe and a refrigerant outlet pipe ([0032]).
Ito et al. (US20160355100A1) discloses a vehicle power device with battery modules cooling with internal piping that discharges coolant ([0079]).
Yamagishi et al. (US20200361289A1, hereby referred to as Yamagichi ‘289) discloses a battery module in which the distribution pipe and aggregation pipe serve to connect all the supply pipes and discharge pipes ([0040]) and that in the front-rear direction, the space efficiency in the battery case is improved ([0047]).
/DAN NGUYEN TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754