DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 6, 10, 11, 13, 15, 17, 18, and 19 have been amended. Claim 2 has been canceled. Claim 21 has been added. Claims 1, 3-21 have been examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 06/24/2026, with respect to the previous 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) claim interpretation is not persuasive.
With respect to the claim interpretation of claim 17’s “portable user device”, the examiner disagrees. Given Merriam-Webster’s broad definition of “portable”: capable of being carried or moved about, “Portable user device” can be construed at least as a laptop, a desktop, a tablet, the vehicle’s display, an indicator light on a dashboard, a pager, a Raspberry Pi, a PDA, smart glasses, smartwatch, gaming console, VR headset, external navigator, etc. The previous 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim interpretation has not been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 9, filed 06/24/2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of specifically claim 9, is not persuasive.
Specifically regarding: “Regarding claim 9, while Dellock discloses conductive polymer materials comprising carbon nanotubes and graphene as a heater element, this disclosure is made in the context of blade heating, not wear detection, and its combination with Chun's warpage-detection system does not yield the present invention.”
The reference of Dellock was solely used to demonstrate the use of graphene/ carbon nanotubes are also used as a conductive material by those with knowledge in the art. The rest of the claim limitations are already taught by the previous references.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 7-10, filed 06/24/2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the claims have been amended and the new grounds of rejection do not rely on the reference or combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “Chun's system does not measure any continuously varying electrical parameter - it detects binary circuit continuity or discontinuity.”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHUN (US 20200114878 A1), Swinderman (US 20030230466 A1), and Manara (US 6243077 B1).
Referring to claim 1: CHUN teaches a wiper blade (10 Fig. 1) comprising:
a frame structure (11 Figs. 1 and 2);
a squeegee (12 Figs. 1-4) coupled to the frame structure (11 Figs. 1 and 2), wherein the squeegee (12 Figs. 1-4) comprises a wiping lip (wiping lip of 12 Figs. 1-4);
a conductive strip (20 Fig. 2 “The structure 20 includes a plurality of flexible printed circuit boards (FPCBs) 21, each having conductive contacts 22 at opposite ends thereof, which are connected together through the contacts 22” [0036]) formed on a side wall (side wall of 12 shown in Figs. 2-4) of the wiping lip (wiping lip of 12 Figs. 1-4), wherein the conductive strip extends along a length (length of 12 shown in Fig. 2) of the wiping lip (wiping lip of 12 Figs. 1-4); an indicator (See Fig. 6; “The controller is configured to determine if there is warpage in the wiper strip based on a signal from the warpage detection circuit and cause the wiper motor to operate for a predetermined time period such that the wiper blade moves to its parking position when the warpage of the wiper strip is detected by the warpage detection circuit” [0029]; [0056])
configured to indicate damage (shown in Fig. 4; “the warpage detector 53 may detect the warpage of the wiper strip 12, based on applied voltage (e.g., 12 V)” [0051]) of the wiping lip based on a value (“when warpage does not occur in the wiper strip 12, 0 V is detected” [0052]) of the conductive strip (20 Fig. 2).
But is silent on indicating damage specifically of wear of the wiping lip based on a resistance value of the conductive strip.
Wear as defined by Merriam-Webster is “4: the result of wearing or use: diminution or impairment due to use”.
Strain as defined by Merriam-Webster is “d: deformation of a material body under the action of applied forces”.
Swinderman in an analogous wiping blade (120 “scraper blade for cleaning” Abstract) teaches a similar configuration conductive strip (196A-B “strain gauges”; “The strain detection sensors 196A-B measure the strain of the scraper blade 120 due to the flexure of the scraper blade 120, which corresponds to the magnitude of the scraping force with which the scraper blade 120 is biased against the conveyor belt.” [0073]) to indicate wear of the similar configuration wiping lip (122).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the indicator of CHUN with the strain gauge as taught by Swinderman for the purpose of accessing the effectiveness of the wiping blade.
Manara teaches the use of a similar configuration strain gauge with measurements based on a resistance value (“By measuring the voltage drop across the resistor placed in series with the one axis, the strain applied in the Z direction to the strain gauge resistors 41, 42, 43, 44 can be determined.” Col. 7, lines 1-4)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the strain detector of CHUN as modified with
strain detector connection and calculation method as taught by Manara for the purpose of, as it is well known in the art, having the suitable circuitry necessary for using and calculating the effects of the strain gauge.
Referring to claim 3: CHUN as modified teaches the wiper blade of claim 1, further comprising a power source (see positive/ negative terminals shown in Fig. 2 of CHUN) configured to pass power through the conductive strip (20 Fig. 2 of CHUN).
Referring to claim 6: CHUN as modified teaches the wiper blade of claim 2, but is silent on wherein the indicator comprises a light emitting diode (LED).
Swinderman in an analogous wiping blade (120 “scraper blade for cleaning” Abstract) teaches the similar configuration indicator comprises a light emitting diode (LED) (“LED” [0103, 0105]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wiper blade of CHUN as modified with the light emitting diode as taught by Swinderman for the purpose of having an alternate type of visual signal to notify the user.
Referring to claim 7: CHUN as modified teaches the wiper blade of claim 1, comprising a power source (see positive/ negative terminals shown in Fig. 2), but is silent on further comprising a resistor connected electrically in series with the conductive strip to form a voltage divider with the power source.
Manara teaches comprising a resistor (“a resistor in series with either the X axis strain gauges 43, 44, or the Y axis strain gauges 41, 42, and applying a voltage to both axes. One of the resistors 77, 79, 81, 83 may be used for this purpose. By measuring the voltage drop across the resistor placed in series with the one axis, the strain applied in the Z direction to the strain gauge resistors 41, 42, 43, 44 can be determined. For example, the resistor 77 may placed in series with the X aids strain gauges 43, 44. The voltage drop across the resistor 77 can be measured through the electrical path connecting the perimeter contact point 54 with the summer 75 (through the resistor 81).” Col. 6-7, lines 65-8) connected electrically in series with the conductive strip (“strain gauge”) to form a voltage divider (“To measure the strain in each axis (X, Y, Z), the digital input/output ports P0-P3, Q0, and Q1 of the microprocessor 71 are set to successively establish the voltage divider configurations shown in FIGS. 7A-7D.” Col. 7, lines 9-12) with the power source (“powered” Col. 10, lines 8-17).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the strain detector of CHUN as modified with
strain detector connection as taught by Manara for the purpose of, as it is well known in the art, having the suitable circuitry necessary for using and calculating the effects of the strain gauge.
Referring to claim 8: CHUN as modified teaches the wiper blade of claim 1, wherein at least the wiping lip is replaceable (“the wiper blade 10 may be removably combined with a drive wiper arm 14 by the connecting apparatus 13” [0032] of CHUN).
Referring to claim 10: CHUN teaches a blade-wear system comprising: a wiper blade (10 Fig. 1) comprising a squeegee (12 Figs. 1-4) and a conductive strip (20 Fig. 2 “The structure 20 includes a plurality of flexible printed circuit boards (FPCBs) 21, each having conductive contacts 22 at opposite ends thereof, which are connected together through the contacts 22” [0036]) formed on a wiping lip (wiping lip of 12 Figs. 1-4) of the squeegee, wherein the conductive strip (20 Fig. 2) extends along a length (length of 12 shown in Fig. 2) of the wiping lip (wiping lip of 12 Figs. 1-4);
a processor (“the controller 55 activates the warpage detector 53 to cause the warpage detector to perform detection of warpage” [0055]; “the controller 55 may be implemented with, but is not limited to, a microprocessor”) configured to determine damage of the wiping lip (wiping lip of 12 Figs. 1-4) and an indicator (See Fig. 6; “The controller is configured to determine if there is warpage in the wiper strip based on a signal from the warpage detection circuit and cause the wiper motor to operate for a predetermined time period such that the wiper blade moves to its parking position when the warpage of the wiper strip is detected by the warpage detection circuit” [0029]; [0056]) configured to indicate the damage of the wiping lip.
But is silent on a processor configured to specifically determine wear of the wiping lip as a function of a resistance value of the conductive strip, wherein the resistance value changes as a cross-sectional area of the conductive strip decreases due to abrasive wear of the wiping lip; and an indicator configured to specifically indicate the wear of the wiping lip.
Swinderman teaches a similar configuration processor (“Each strain detection sensor 198A-B transmits an electrical signal corresponding to the measured strain and the corresponding scraping force to a microprocessor, computer, or other data storage or analysis device. The temperature sensor 198C measures the temperature of the scraper blade 120 and transmits an electrical signal corresponding to the measured temperature to a microprocessor,” [0073]) configured to specifically determine wear of the wiping lip of the similar configuration conductive strip (196A-B “strain gauges”); and an indicator (“LED” [0103, 0105]) configured to specifically indicate the wear of the wiping lip.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the indicator of CHUN with the strain gauge as taught by Swinderman for the purpose of accessing the effectiveness of the wiping blade.
Manara teaches as a function (used by the similar configuration processor 105) of a resistance value (“The Z axis force can be measured by placing a resistor in series with either the X axis strain gauges 43, 44, or the Y axis strain gauges 41, 42, and applying a voltage to both axes. One of the resistors 77, 79, 81, 83 may be used for this purpose. By measuring the voltage drop across the resistor placed in series with the one axis, the strain applied in the Z direction to the strain gauge resistors 41, 42, 43, 44 can be determined. For example, the resistor 77 may placed in series with the X aids strain gauges 43, 44. The voltage drop across the resistor 77 can be measured through the electrical path connecting the perimeter contact point 54 with the summer 75 (through the resistor 81).” Cols. 6-7, lines 64-4), wherein the resistance value changes as a cross-sectional area (“Each strain gauge constitutes a variable resistor, the resistance of which changes as a function of strain applied to the portion of the substrate 23 on which the strain gauge is located. For example, a tensile strain may cause the resistance of a strain gauge to increase, while a compressive strain may cause the resistance of the strain gauge to decrease.” Col. 3, lines 34-40) of the similar configuration conductive strip (“strain gauge”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the strain detector of CHUN as modified with
strain detector connection and calculation method as taught by Manara for the purpose of, as it is well known in the art, having the suitable circuitry necessary for using and calculating the effects of the strain gauge.
Referring to claim 11: CHUN as modified teaches the blade-wear system of claim 10, wherein the processor (processor 105 of Manara) configured to determine the wear of the wiping lip (wiping lip of 12 Figs. 1-4 of CHUN) based on a change in cross-sectional area (“Each strain gauge constitutes a variable resistor, the resistance of which changes as a function of strain applied to the portion of the substrate 23 on which the strain gauge is located. For example, a tensile strain may cause the resistance of a strain gauge to increase, while a compressive strain may cause the resistance of the strain gauge to decrease.” Col. 3, lines 34-40 of Manara) of the conductive strip (“strain gauge” of Manara).
Referring to claim 14: CHUN as modified teaches the blade-wear system of claim 10, and teaches a power source (see positive/ negative terminals shown in Fig. 2), further comprising a resistor (“a resistor in series with either the X axis strain gauges 43, 44.” Cols. 6-7, lines 64-4) connected electrically in series with the conductive strip (“strain gauges 43, 44” of Manara).
But is silent on to form a voltage divider with the power source.
Manara teaches forming a voltage divider (“To measure the strain in each axis (X, Y, Z), the digital input/output ports P0-P3, Q0, and Q1 of the microprocessor 71 are set to successively establish the voltage divider configurations shown in FIGS. 7A-7D.” Col. 7, lines 9-12) with the power source (“powered” Col. 10, lines 8-17).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the strain detector of CHUN as modified with the voltage divider as taught by Manara for the purpose of, as it is well known in the art, having the suitable circuitry necessary for using and calculating the effects of the strain gauge.
Referring to claim 15: CHUN as modified teaches the blade-wear system of claim 14, wherein the indicator (“LED” [0103, 0105] of Swinderman) is configured to indicate the wear of the wiping lip in an incremental manner (“The lights 2220A-E respectively turn off when the scraper blade is twenty percent worn, forty percent worn, sixty percent worn, eight percent worn and one-hundred percent worn.” [0105] of Swinderman).
Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHUN (US 20200114878 A1), Swinderman (US 20030230466 A1), Manara (US 6243077 B1), and PAN (US 20100244712 A1).
Referring to claim 18: CHUN teaches a wiper blade (10 Fig. 1) comprising: a squeegee (12 Figs. 1-4) having a wiping lip (wiping lip of 12 Figs. 1-4); a conductive strip (20 Fig. 2 “The structure 20 includes a plurality of flexible printed circuit boards (FPCBs) 21, each having conductive contacts 22 at opposite ends thereof, which are connected together through the contacts 22” [0036]) formed on a side wall (side wall of 12 shown in Figs. 2-4) of the wiping lip, wherein the conductive strip extends along a length (length of 12 shown in Fig. 2) of the wiping lip; and an indicator (See Fig. 6; “The controller is configured to determine if there is warpage in the wiper strip based on a signal from the warpage detection circuit and cause the wiper motor to operate for a predetermined time period such that the wiper blade moves to its parking position when the warpage of the wiper strip is detected by the warpage detection circuit” [0029]; [0056]) configured to indicate damage (shown in Fig. 4; “the warpage detector 53 may detect the warpage of the wiper strip 12, based on applied voltage (e.g., 12 V)” [0051]) of the wiping lip based on a value (“when warpage does not occur in the wiper strip 12, 0 V is detected” [0052]) of the conductive strip (20 Fig. 2).
But is silent on configured to indicate wear of the wiping lip based on a resistance value of the conductive strip; and a resistor electrically connected with the indicator.
Swinderman in an analogous wiping blade (120 “scraper blade for cleaning” Abstract) teaches a similar configuration conductive strip (196A-B “strain gauges”; “The strain detection sensors 196A-B measure the strain of the scraper blade 120 due to the flexure of the scraper blade 120, which corresponds to the magnitude of the scraping force with which the scraper blade 120 is biased against the conveyor belt.” [0073]) to indicate wear of the similar configuration wiping lip (122).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the indicator of CHUN with the strain gauge as taught by Swinderman for the purpose of accessing the effectiveness of the wiping blade.
Manara teaches the use of a similar configuration strain gauge with measurements based on a resistance value (“By measuring the voltage drop across the resistor placed in series with the one axis, the strain applied in the Z direction to the strain gauge resistors 41, 42, 43, 44 can be determined.” Col. 7, lines 1-4)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the strain detector of CHUN as modified with
strain detector connection and calculation method as taught by Manara for the purpose of, as it is well known in the art, having the suitable circuitry necessary for using and calculating the effects of the strain gauge.
PAN teaches a resistor (20) electrically connected (“a resistor 20 in a series connection with the LEDs” [0018]) with the similar configuration indicator (10/12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wiper blade of CHUN with the resistor as taught by PAN for the purpose of, as it is well known in the art, using a resistor to prevent overloading the LED.
Referring to claim 20: CHUN as modified teaches the wiper blade of claim 18, wherein the indicator comprises a light emitting diode (LED) (“a resistor 20 in a series connection with the LEDs” [0018] of PAN).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHUN (US 20200114878 A1), Swinderman (US 20030230466 A1), and Manara (US 6243077 B1), as applied above in claim 3, and in further view of PAN (US 20100244712 A1) and KOLBERG (WO 9744218 A1).
Referring to claim 4: CHUN as modified teaches the wiper blade of claim 3, teaches the indicator (See Fig. 6; “signal” [0029]; [0056]), the powers source (see positive/ negative terminals shown in Fig. 2), and the conductive strip (20 Fig. 2).
But is silent on further comprising a resistor (R1) connected electrically in series with the indicator, the indicator and the resistor (R1) being connected electrically in parallel with each of the power source and the conductive strip.
PAN teaches a resistor (20) electrically connected (“a resistor 20 in a series connection with the LEDs” [0018]) with the similar configuration indicator (10/12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wiper blade of CHUN with the resistor as taught by PAN for the purpose of, as it is well known in the art, using a resistor to prevent overloading the LED.
Per MEPE 2143-E, choosing from a finite number of identified predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success supports a conclusion of obviousness. In the instant case, the finite number of identified predictable solutions are: series or parallel circuit; further, the prior art teaches both a series and a parallel circuit (“series” [0026]; “parallel” [0030] KOLBERG (WO 9744218 A1).
Therefore, modifying the blade-wear system of CHUN as modified to have both a resistor connected electrically in series with the indicator and the indicator and the resistor being connected electrically in parallel with each of the power source and the conductive strip, can easily be made without any change in the operation of the blade-wear system of CHUN with reasonable expectations of success.
It would have been obvious to have modified the blade-wear system of CHUN by having circuitry in both series and in parallel for the purpose of having the adequate voltage, resistance, and amps necessary for operating the necessary components.
Referring to claim 5: CHUN as modified teaches the wiper blade of claim 4, teaches the conductive strip (20 Fig. 2 of CHUN), indicator (“wiper blade moves to its parking position when the warpage of the wiper strip is detected by the warpage detection circuit” [0029] of CHUN; 14 and 15 Fig. 1 of KOLBERG), and resistor (20 of PAN).
But is silent on the conductive strip is arranged to shunt the indicator and the resistor.
Per MEPE 2143-E, choosing from a finite number of identified predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success supports a conclusion of obviousness. In the instant case, the finite number of identified predictable solutions are: shunt or non-shunt; further, the prior art teaches a shunt (“shunt” [0030] KOLBERG (WO 9744218 A1).
Therefore, modifying the wiper blade of CHUN to have a shunt, can easily be made without any change in the operation of the wiper blade of CHUN with reasonable expectations of success.
It would have been obvious to have modified the wiper blade of CHUN by having the conductive strip arranged to shunt the indicator and the resistor for the purpose of having an alternate path for the current to flow to protect the circuit from overcurrent.
Claims 12, 13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHUN (US 20200114878 A1), Swinderman (US 20030230466 A1), and Manara (US 6243077 B1), as applied above in claim 10, and in further view of KOLBERG (WO 9744218 A1).
Referring to claim 12: CHUN as modified teaches the blade-wear system of claim 10, teaches a power source (see positive/ negative terminals shown in Fig. 2 of CHUN), and further teaches the indicator (“LED” [0103, 0105] of Swinderman), power source (2 and 3 Fig. 1; The electric motor 1 has two terminals 2 and 3, to which the positive terminal of the vehicle battery is connected when the wiper blade drive is switched on. [0026] of CHUN) and a conductive strip (20 Fig. 2 of CHUN; 196A-B “strain gauges” of Swinderman; “strain gauge” Col. 3, lines 34-40 of Manara).
But is silent on further comprising a resistor specifically connected electrically in series with the indicator, the indicator and the resistor specifically being connected electrically in parallel with each of the power source and the conductive strip.
Manara teaches a resistor (“a resistor in series with either the X axis strain gauges 43, 44” Col. 6, lines 64-65).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the strain detector of CHUN as modified with
strain detector connection and calculation method as taught by Manara for the purpose of, as it is well known in the art, having the suitable circuitry necessary for using and calculating the effects of the strain gauge.
Per MEPE 2143-E, choosing from a finite number of identified predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success supports a conclusion of obviousness. In the instant case, the finite number of identified predictable solutions are: series or parallel circuit; further, the prior art teaches both a series and a parallel circuit (“series” [0026]; “parallel” [0030] KOLBERG (WO 9744218 A1).
Therefore, modifying the wiper blade of CHUN to have both a resistor connected electrically in series with the indicator and the indicator and the resistor being connected electrically in parallel with each of the power source and the conductive strip, can easily be made without any change in the operation of the wiper blade of CHUN as modified with reasonable expectations of success.
Referring to claim 13: CHUN as modified teaches the blade-wear system of claim 12, wherein the indicator (“LED” [0103, 0105] of Swinderman) is configured to indicate the wear of the wiping lip in a binary manner (“The "service required" indicator is turned ON (and "blades OK" turned OFF)” [0103] of Swinderman).
Referring to claim 17: CHUN as modified teaches the blade-wear system of claim 10, but is silent on wherein the processor is configured to communicate, via a wireless device, an indication of the wear to a portable user device.
KOLBERG in an analogous device [0003] teaches wherein the processor (“The electronic system of Figure 2 wirelessly” [0036]) is configured to communicate, via a wireless device, an indication of the physical condition (“invention further relates to a device for determining the condition of a wiper blade of a motor vehicle,” [0013]) to a portable user device (“motor vehicle,” [0013]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blade-wear system of CHUN as modified with the wireless capability as taught by KOLBERG for the purpose of minimizing the required wiring and to simplify the installation process.
Claims 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHUN (US 20200114878 A1), Swinderman (US 20030230466 A1), Manara (US 6243077 B1), and PAN (US 20100244712 A1), as applied above in claim 18, and in further view of KOLBERG (WO 9744218 A1).
Referring to claim 19: CHUN as modified teaches the wiper blade of claim 18,
wherein the resistor (20 of PAN) is connected in series (“a resistor 20 in a series connection with the LEDs” [0018] of PAN) with the indicator (10/12 of PAN); and further teaches a power source (see positive/ negative terminals shown in Fig. 2 of CHUN).
But is silent on the indicator and the resistor
Per MEPE 2143-E, choosing from a finite number of identified predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success supports a conclusion of obviousness. In the instant case, the finite number of identified predictable solutions are: series or parallel circuit; further, the prior art teaches both a series and a parallel circuit (“series” [0026]; “parallel” [0030] KOLBERG WO 9744218 A1).
Therefore, modifying the blade-wear system of CHUN as modified to have both a resistor connected electrically in series with the indicator and the indicator and the resistor being connected electrically in parallel with each of the power source and the conductive strip, can easily be made without any change in the operation of the blade-wear system of CHUN with reasonable expectations of success.
It would have been obvious to have modified the blade-wear system of CHUN by having circuitry in both series and in parallel for the purpose of having the adequate voltage, resistance, and amps necessary for operating the necessary components.
Referring to claim 21: CHUN as modified teaches the wiper blade of claim 18, teaches a power source (see positive/ negative terminals shown in Fig. 2 of CHUN), but is silent on wherein the resistor is connected in series with the conductive strip to form a voltage divider with a power source.
Manara teaches comprising a similar configuration resistor (“a resistor in series with either the X axis strain gauges 43, 44, or the Y axis strain gauges 41, 42, and applying a voltage to both axes. One of the resistors 77, 79, 81, 83 may be used for this purpose. By measuring the voltage drop across the resistor placed in series with the one axis, the strain applied in the Z direction to the strain gauge resistors 41, 42, 43, 44 can be determined. For example, the resistor 77 may placed in series with the X aids strain gauges 43, 44. The voltage drop across the resistor 77 can be measured through the electrical path connecting the perimeter contact point 54 with the summer 75 (through the resistor 81).” Col. 6-7, lines 65-8) connected electrically in series with the conductive strip (“strain gauge”) to form a voltage divider (“To measure the strain in each axis (X, Y, Z), the digital input/output ports P0-P3, Q0, and Q1 of the microprocessor 71 are set to successively establish the voltage divider configurations shown in FIGS. 7A-7D.” Col. 7, lines 9-12) with the similar configuration power source (“powered” Col. 10, lines 8-17).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the strain detector of CHUN as modified with
strain detector connection as taught by Manara for the purpose of, as it is well known in the art, having the suitable circuitry necessary for using and calculating the effects of the strain gauge.
Per MEPE 2143-E, choosing from a finite number of identified predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success supports a conclusion of obviousness. In the instant case, the finite number of identified predictable solutions are: series or parallel circuit; further, the prior art teaches both a series and a parallel circuit (“series” [0026]; “parallel” [0030] KOLBERG (WO 9744218 A1).
Therefore, modifying the blade-wear system of CHUN as modified to have both a resistor connected electrically in series with the indicator and the indicator and the resistor being connected electrically in parallel with each of the power source and the conductive strip, can easily be made without any change in the operation of the blade-wear system of CHUN with reasonable expectations of success.
It would have been obvious to have modified the blade-wear system of CHUN by having circuitry in both series and in parallel for the purpose of having the adequate voltage, resistance, and amps necessary for operating the necessary components.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHUN (US 20200114878 A1), Swinderman (US 20030230466 A1), and Manara (US 6243077 B1), as applied above in claim 1, and in further view of Dellock (US 11254291 B2).
Referring to claim 9: CHUN discloses the wiper blade of claim 1, but is silent on wherein the conductive strip comprises a conductive material comprising at least one of carbon, graphene, or carbon nanotube.
Dellock in an analogous wiper blade (22 Figs. 2-4) wherein the similar configuration conductive strip (42 Figs. 3 and 4) comprises a conductive material (“electrically conductive polymer” Col. 5, lines 30-46) comprising at least one of carbon, graphene, or carbon nanotube (“graphene” “carbon nanotubes” Col. 5, lines 30-46).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wiper blade of CHUN with the conductive material as taught by Dellock for the purpose of having a material which is both flexible and conductive.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHUN (US 20200114878 A1), Swinderman (US 20030230466 A1), and Manara (US 6243077 B1), as applied above in claim 14, and in further view of BOSCH (DE 10235566 A1).
Referring to claim 16: CHUN as modified teaches the blade-wear system of claim 14, but is silent on wherein the wiper blade specifically comprises the indicator.
BOSCH in an analogous blade-wear system teaches wherein the wiper blade specifically comprises the similar configuration indicator (“The LED display is arranged on the wiper blade in such a way that it can be easily recognized by the driver during travel.” [0008]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blade-wear system of CHUN as modified with the indicator placed specifically on the wiper blade for the purpose of the driver to easily see the indicator during travel [0008 of BOSCH], and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHRISTOPHER SOTO
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/CHRISTOPHER SOTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723