DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “portable user device” in claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CHUN (US 20200114878 A1).
Referring to claim 1: CHUN discloses a wiper blade (10 Fig. 1) comprising: a frame structure (11 Figs. 1 and 2); a squeegee (12 Figs. 1-4) coupled to the frame structure (11 Figs. 1 and 2), wherein the squeegee (12 Figs. 1-4) comprises a wiping lip (wiping lip of 12 Figs. 1-4); and a conductive strip (20 Fig. 2 “The structure 20 includes a plurality of flexible printed circuit boards (FPCBs) 21, each having conductive contacts 22 at opposite ends thereof, which are connected together through the contacts 22” [0036]) formed on a side wall (side wall of 12 shown in Figs. 2-4) of the wiping lip (wiping lip of 12 Figs. 1-4), wherein the conductive strip extends along a length (length of 12 shown in Fig. 2) of the wiping lip (wiping lip of 12 Figs. 1-4).
Referring to claim 2: CHUN discloses the wiper blade of claim 1, further comprising an indicator (See Fig. 6; “The controller is configured to determine if there is warpage in the wiper strip based on a signal from the warpage detection circuit and cause the wiper motor to operate for a predetermined time period such that the wiper blade moves to its parking position when the warpage of the wiper strip is detected by the warpage detection circuit” [0029]; [0056]) configured to indicate a physical condition of the wiping lip (wiping lip of 12 Figs. 1-4).
Referring to claim 3: CHUN discloses the wiper blade of claim 2, further comprising a power source (see positive/ negative terminals shown in Fig. 2) configured to pass power through the conductive strip (20 Fig. 2).
Referring to claim 8: CHUN discloses the wiper blade of claim 1, wherein at least the wiping lip is replaceable (“the wiper blade 10 may be removably combined with a drive wiper arm 14 by the connecting apparatus 13” [0032]).
Referring to claim 18: CHUN discloses a wiper blade (10 Fig. 1) comprising: a squeegee (12 Figs. 1-4) having a wiping lip (wiping lip of 12 Figs. 1-4); a conductive strip (20 Fig. 2 “The structure 20 includes a plurality of flexible printed circuit boards (FPCBs) 21, each having conductive contacts 22 at opposite ends thereof, which are connected together through the contacts 22” [0036]) formed on a side wall (side wall of 12 shown in Figs. 2-4) of the wiping lip, wherein the conductive strip extends along a length (length of 12 shown in Fig. 2) of the wiping lip; and an indicator (See Fig. 6; “The controller is configured to determine if there is warpage in the wiper strip based on a signal from the warpage detection circuit and cause the wiper motor to operate for a predetermined time period such that the wiper blade moves to its parking position when the warpage of the wiper strip is detected by the warpage detection circuit” [0029]; [0056]) configured to indicate a physical condition of the wiping lip.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHUN (US 20200114878 A1)
Referring to claim 10: CHUN discloses a blade-wear system comprising: a wiper blade (10 Fig. 1) comprising a squeegee (12 Figs. 1-4) and a conductive strip (20 Fig. 2 “The structure 20 includes a plurality of flexible printed circuit boards (FPCBs) 21, each having conductive contacts 22 at opposite ends thereof, which are connected together through the contacts 22” [0036]) formed on a wiping lip (wiping lip of 12 Figs. 1-4) of the squeegee, wherein the conductive strip (20 Fig. 2) extends along a length (length of 12 shown in Fig. 2) of the wiping lip; a processor (“the controller 55 activates the warpage detector 53 to cause the warpage detector to perform detection of warpage” [0055]; “the controller 55 may be implemented with, but is not limited to, a microprocessor”) configured to determine a physical condition (“a detector that is connected to a contact at one end of the first FPCB and a contact at an opposite end of the last FPCB and that detects warpage of the wiper strip, based on voltage” [0016]) of the wiping lip of the conductive strip; and an indicator (See Fig. 6; “The controller is configured to determine if there is warpage in the wiper strip based on a signal from the warpage detection circuit and cause the wiper motor to operate for a predetermined time period such that the wiper blade moves to its parking position when the warpage of the wiper strip is detected by the warpage detection circuit” [0029]; [0056]) configured to indicate the physical condition of the wiping lip.
But is silent on the physical condition of the wiping lip is specifically based as a function of a resistance value of the conductive strip.
Per MEPE 2143-E, choosing from a finite number of identified predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success supports a conclusion of obviousness. In the instant case, the finite number of identified predictable solutions are: a function of voltage, amps, or resistance; further, the prior art teaches the detection is based on voltage (“voltage” [0051] CHUN (US 20200114878 A1).
Therefore, modifying the blade-wear system of CHUN and with knowledge of OHM’s law to have the physical condition of the wiping lip is specifically based as a function of a resistance value of the conductive strip, can easily be made without any change in the operation of the wiper blade of CHUN with reasonable expectations of success.
It would have been obvious to have modified the blade-wear system of CHUN to have a function of a resistance value for the purpose of having using voltage, resistance, and amps for measuring and operating the necessary components.
Claims 4-7, 11-17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHUN (US 20200114878 A1) and KOLBERG (WO 9744218 A1).
Referring to claim 4: CHUN discloses the wiper blade of claim 3, but is silent on further comprising a resistor connected electrically in series with the indicator, the indicator and the resistor being connected electrically in parallel with each of the power source and the conductive strip.
KOLBERG in an analogous device [0003] teaches a resistor (Rv Fig. 1) connected with a similar configuration indicator (14 and 15 Fig. 1; “a yellow LED indicates wear and the need to replace the wiper blade, while a subsequent additional illumination of a red LED indicates further wear.” [0037]) connected to a similar configuration power source (2 and 3 Fig. 1; The electric motor 1 has two terminals 2 and 3, to which the positive terminal of the vehicle battery is connected when the wiper blade drive is switched on. [0026]) and similar configuration conductive sensor [0035].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wiper blade of CHUN with the resistor as taught by KOLBERG for the purpose of having the basic electric components for completing a circuit.
Per MEPE 2143-E, choosing from a finite number of identified predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success supports a conclusion of obviousness. In the instant case, the finite number of identified predictable solutions are: series or parallel circuit; further, the prior art teaches both a series and a parallel circuit (“series” [0026]; “parallel” [0030] KOLBERG WO 9744218 A1).
Therefore, modifying the wiper blade of CHUN to have both a resistor connected electrically in series with the indicator and the indicator and the resistor being connected electrically in parallel with each of the power source and the conductive strip, can easily be made without any change in the operation of the wiper blade of CHUN with reasonable expectations of success.
It would have been obvious to have modified the wiper blade of CHUN by having circuitry in both series and in parallel for the purpose of having the adequate voltage, resistance, and amps necessary for operating the necessary components.
Referring to claim 5: CHUN as modified teaches the wiper blade of claim 4, the conductive strip (20 Fig. 2 of CHUN), indicator (“wiper blade moves to its parking position when the warpage of the wiper strip is detected by the warpage detection circuit” [0029] of CHUN; 14 and 15 Fig. 1 of KOLBERG), and resistor (Rv Fig. 1).
But is silent on the conductive strip is arranged to shunt the indicator and the resistor.
Per MEPE 2143-E, choosing from a finite number of identified predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success supports a conclusion of obviousness. In the instant case, the finite number of identified predictable solutions are: shunt or non-shunt; further, the prior art teaches a shunt (“shunt” [0030] KOLBERG WO 9744218 A1).
Therefore, modifying the wiper blade of CHUN to have a shunt, can easily be made without any change in the operation of the wiper blade of CHUN with reasonable expectations of success.
It would have been obvious to have modified the wiper blade of CHUN by having the conductive strip arranged to shunt the indicator and the resistor for the purpose of having an alternate path for the current to flow to protect the circuit from overcurrent.
Referring to claim 6: CHUN discloses the wiper blade of claim 2, but is silent on wherein the indicator comprises a light emitting diode (LED).
KOLBERG in an analogous device [0003] teaches an indicator specifically comprising of a light emitting diode (LED) (14 and 15 Fig. 1; “a yellow LED indicates wear and the need to replace the wiper blade, while a subsequent additional illumination of a red LED indicates further wear.” [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wiper blade of CHUN with the light emitting diode as taught by KOLBERG for the purpose of having an alternate type of visual signal to notify the user.
Referring to claim 7: CHUN discloses the wiper blade of claim 1, comprising a power source (see positive/ negative terminals shown in Fig. 2), but is silent on further comprising a resistor connected electrically in series with the conductive strip to form a voltage divider with the power source.
KOLBERG in an analogous device [0003] teaches a resistor (Rv Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wiper blade of CHUN with the resistor as taught by KOLBERG for the purpose of having the basic electric components for completing a circuit.
Per MEPE 2143-E, choosing from a finite number of identified predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success supports a conclusion of obviousness. In the instant case, the finite number of identified predictable solutions are: series or parallel circuit; further, the prior art teaches a series circuit (“series” [0026] of KOLBERG WO 9744218 A1).
Therefore, modifying the wiper blade of CHUN to have a resistor connected electrically in series with the conductive strip to form a voltage divider with a power source, can easily be made without any change in the operation of the wiper blade of CHUN with reasonable expectations of success.
It would have been obvious to have modified the wiper blade of CHUN by having circuitry in both series and in parallel for the purpose of having the adequate voltage, resistance, and amps necessary for operating the necessary components.
Referring to claim 11: CHUN as modified teaches the blade-wear system of claim 10, but is silent on wherein the processor configured to determine the physical condition of the wiping lip in real time or near-real time.
KOLBERG in an analogous device [0003] teaches wherein the similar configuration processor (“logically linked” [0033]; “electronic circuit 6” [0031]) configured to determine the physical condition of the wiping lip in real time or near-real time (“the real-time is logically linked to the switch-on time…– in comparison with a reference value stored in the electronic circuit 6 – achieves a certain constellation, then this leads to the switching on of a light-emitting diode 14 – to the additional switching on of the light-emitting diode 15.” [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blade-wear system of CHUN as modified with the real time determination of the wiper blade for the purpose giving the user adequate time/ warning to replace the blade.
Referring to claim 12: CHUN as modified teaches the blade-wear system of claim 10, teaches a power source (see positive/ negative terminals shown in Fig. 2), but is silent on further comprising a resistor connected electrically in series with the indicator, the indicator and the resistor being connected electrically in parallel with each of the power source and the conductive strip.
KOLBERG in an analogous blade-wear system [0003] teaches a resistor (Rv Fig. 1) connected with a similar configuration indicator (14 and 15 Fig. 1; “a yellow LED indicates wear and the need to replace the wiper blade, while a subsequent additional illumination of a red LED indicates further wear.” [0037]) connected to a similar configuration power source (2 and 3 Fig. 1; The electric motor 1 has two terminals 2 and 3, to which the positive terminal of the vehicle battery is connected when the wiper blade drive is switched on. [0026]) and similar configuration conductive sensor [0035].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blade-wear system of CHUN as modified with the resistor as taught by KOLBERG for the purpose of having the basic electric components for completing a circuit.
Per MEPE 2143-E, choosing from a finite number of identified predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success supports a conclusion of obviousness. In the instant case, the finite number of identified predictable solutions are: series or parallel circuit; further, the prior art teaches both a series and a parallel circuit (“series” [0026]; “parallel” [0030] KOLBERG WO 9744218 A1).
Therefore, modifying the blade-wear system of CHUN as modified to have both a resistor connected electrically in series with the indicator and the indicator and the resistor being connected electrically in parallel with each of the power source and the conductive strip, can easily be made without any change in the operation of the blade-wear system of CHUN with reasonable expectations of success.
It would have been obvious to have modified the blade-wear system of CHUN by having circuitry in both series and in parallel for the purpose of having the adequate voltage, resistance, and amps necessary for operating the necessary components.
Referring to claim 13: CHUN as modified teaches the blade-wear system of claim 12, but is silent on wherein the indicator is configured to indicate the physical condition of the wiping lip in a binary manner.
KOLBERG in an analogous device [0003] teaches wherein the indicator is configured to indicate the physical condition (“If, as a result, a data value is obtained from the influencing factor or from the multitude of influencing factors considered, which – in comparison with a reference value stored in the electronic circuit 6 – achieves a certain constellation, then this leads to the switching on of a light-emitting diode 14, which, for example, has a yellow color, and – if the wear progresses further – to the additional switching on of the light-emitting diode 15, which, for example, has a red color.” [0033]) of the wiping lip in a binary manner (yellow and red [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blade-wear system of CHUN as modified with the binary indicator as taught by KOLBERG for the purpose of giving the user an intermediary warning prior fully exhausting the life of the wiper blade.
Referring to claim 14: CHUN as modified teaches the blade-wear system of claim 10, and teaches a power source (see positive/ negative terminals shown in Fig. 2), but is silent on further comprising a resistor connected electrically in series with the conductive strip to form a voltage divider with the power source.
KOLBERG in an analogous device [0003] teaches a resistor (Rv Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blade-wear system of CHUN with the resistor as taught by KOLBERG for the purpose of having the basic electric components for completing a circuit.
Per MEPE 2143-E, choosing from a finite number of identified predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success supports a conclusion of obviousness. In the instant case, the finite number of identified predictable solutions are: series or parallel circuit; further, the prior art teaches a series circuit (“series” [0026] of KOLBERG WO 9744218 A1).
Therefore, modifying the blade-wear system of CHUN to have a resistor connected electrically in series with the conductive strip to form a voltage divider with the power source, can easily be made without any change in the operation of the blade-wear system of CHUN with reasonable expectations of success.
It would have been obvious to have modified the blade-wear system of CHUN by having circuitry in both series and in parallel for the purpose of having the adequate voltage, resistance, and amps necessary for operating the necessary components.
Referring to claim 15: CHUN as modified teaches the blade-wear system of claim 14, but is silent on wherein the indicator is configured to indicate the physical condition of the wiping lip in an incremental manner.
KOLBERG in an analogous device [0003] teaches wherein the indicator is configured to indicate (“If, as a result, a data value is obtained from the influencing factor or from the multitude of influencing factors considered, which – in comparison with a reference value stored in the electronic circuit 6 – achieves a certain constellation, then this leads to the switching on of a light-emitting diode 14, which, for example, has a yellow color, and – if the wear progresses further – to the additional switching on of the light-emitting diode 15, which, for example, has a red color.” [0033]) the physical condition of the wiping lip in an incremental manner (yellow indicator increments to the red indicator [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blade-wear system of CHUN as modified with the binary indicator as taught by KOLBERG for the purpose of giving the user an intermediary warning prior fully exhausting the life of the wiper blade.
Referring to claim 16: CHUN as modified teaches the blade-wear system of claim 14, wherein the wiper blade (10 Fig. 1 of CHUN) comprises the indicator (See Fig. 6; “The controller is configured to determine if there is warpage in the wiper strip based on a signal from the warpage detection circuit and cause the wiper motor to operate for a predetermined time period such that the wiper blade moves to its parking position when the warpage of the wiper strip is detected by the warpage detection circuit” [0029]; [0056] of CHUN).
Referring to claim 17: CHUN as modified teaches the blade-wear system of claim 10, but is silent on wherein the processor is configured to communicate, via a wireless device, an indication of the physical condition to a portable user device.
KOLBERG in an analogous device [0003] teaches wherein the processor (“The electronic system of Figure 2 wirelessly” [0036]) is configured to communicate, via a wireless device, an indication of the physical condition (“invention further relates to a device for determining the condition of a wiper blade of a motor vehicle,” [0013]) to a portable user device (“motor vehicle,” [0013]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blade-wear system of CHUN as modified with the wireless capability as taught by KOLBERG for the purpose of minimizing the required wiring and to simplify the installation process.
Referring to claim 19: CHUN as modified teaches the wiper blade of claim 18, teaches a power source (see positive/ negative terminals shown in Fig. 2), but is silent on further comprising a resistor connected electrically in series with the indicator, the indicator and the resistor being connected electrically in parallel with each of the power source and the conductive strip.
KOLBERG in an analogous device [0003] teaches a resistor (Rv Fig. 1) connected with a similar configuration indicator (14 and 15 Fig. 1; “a yellow LED indicates wear and the need to replace the wiper blade, while a subsequent additional illumination of a red LED indicates further wear.” [0037]) connected to a similar configuration power source (2 and 3 Fig. 1; The electric motor 1 has two terminals 2 and 3, to which the positive terminal of the vehicle battery is connected when the wiper blade drive is switched on. [0026]) and similar configuration conductive sensor [0035].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wiper blade of CHUN with the resistor as taught by KOLBERG for the purpose of having the basic electric components for completing a circuit.
Per MEPE 2143-E, choosing from a finite number of identified predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success supports a conclusion of obviousness. In the instant case, the finite number of identified predictable solutions are: series or parallel circuit or both; further, the prior art teaches both a series and a parallel circuit (“series” [0026]; “parallel” [0030] KOLBERG WO 9744218 A1).
Therefore, modifying the wiper blade of CHUN to have both a resistor connected electrically in series with the indicator and the indicator and the resistor being connected electrically in parallel with each of the power source and the conductive strip, can easily be made without any change in the operation of the wiper blade of CHUN with reasonable expectations of success.
It would have been obvious to have modified the wiper blade of CHUN by having circuitry in both series and in parallel for the purpose of having the adequate voltage, resistance, and amps necessary for operating the necessary components.
Referring to claim 20: CHUN as modified teaches the wiper blade of claim 18, but is silent on wherein the indicator comprises a light emitting diode (LED).
KOLBERG in an analogous device [0003] teaches an indicator specifically comprising of a light emitting diode (LED) (14 and 15 Fig. 1; “a yellow LED indicates wear and the need to replace the wiper blade, while a subsequent additional illumination of a red LED indicates further wear.” [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wiper blade of CHUN with the light emitting diode as taught by KOLBERG for the purpose of having an alternate type of visual signal to notify the user.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHUN (US 20200114878 A1) and Dellock (US 11254291 B2).
Referring to claim 9: CHUN discloses the wiper blade of claim 1, but is silent on wherein the conductive strip comprises a conductive material comprising at least one of carbon, graphene, or carbon nanotube.
Dellock in an analogous wiper blade (22 Figs. 2-4) wherein the similar configuration conductive strip (42 Figs. 3 and 4) comprises a conductive material (“electrically conductive polymer” Col. 5, lines 30-46) comprising at least one of carbon, graphene, or carbon nanotube (“graphene” “carbon nanotubes” Col. 5, lines 30-46).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wiper blade of CHUN with the conductive material as taught by Dellock for the purpose of having a material which is both flexible and conductive.
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER SOTO
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/CHRISTOPHER SOTO/ Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723