DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 10, 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harrod (US Pub. 2018/0027435).
Regarding claims 1 and 20, Harrod teaches a device comprising: a memory; and one or more processors in communication with the memory and configured to: obtain instructions that cause the device to operate as a synthetic client device and to simulate a roaming instance (“The DUT 2 is also set up to be able to communicate wirelessly via the 802.11 compliant wireless protocol or other communication protocol whose roam characteristics are to be tested” in [0023]); and send data associated with the roaming instance to a network management system, wherein the data is indicative of a performance of the roaming instance (see “roaming performance” in [0016], “The DUT log records” in [0025] and “the WPA_CLI event log (or other DUT wireless communication log) is read (operation 40)” in [0027]).
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Harrod teaches the device comprises one of a network access server (NAS) device or a client device (“wireless medical device under test (DUT)” in [0008]).
Regarding claim 5, Harrod teaches the one or more processors are further configured to: determine the performance of the roaming instance (“transmit power, communication frequency, or other settings of the wireless communication interface of the DUT 2, strength of the AP signal at the DUT 2, data rate for test data communication” in [0023]), wherein sending data associated with the roaming instance to the network management system comprises sending data indicative of the performance of the roaming instance (see “roaming performance” in [0016], “The DUT log records” in [0025] and “the WPA_CLI event log (or other DUT wireless communication log) is read (operation 40)” in [0027]).
Regarding claim 10, Harrod teaches a network management system comprising: a memory; and one or more processors in communication with the memory and configured to: send instructions that cause a device of a site to operate as a synthetic client device and to simulate a roaming instance (“The DUT 2 is also set up to be able to communicate wirelessly via the 802.11 compliant wireless protocol or other communication protocol whose roam characteristics are to be tested” in [0023]); obtain data associated with the roaming instance (see “The DUT log records” in [0025] and “the WPA_CLI event log (or other DUT wireless communication log) is read (operation 40)” in [0027]); and determine, based on the data associated with the roaming instance, a performance of the roaming instance (“roaming performance” in [0016]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrod in view of Jain et al. (US Pub. 2016/0373944).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Harrod teaches the limitations in claims 1 and 10 as shown above. Harrod, however, does not teach the instructions comprise an identifier of the synthetic client device and a schedule to implement the roaming instance. Jain teaches the instructions comprise an identifier of the synthetic client device (“AP ID” and “unit ID” in [0103]) and a schedule to implement the roaming instance (see “schedule test” in [0106] and “testing may include roaming tests” in [0208]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Harrod to have the instructions comprise an identifier of the synthetic client device and a schedule to implement the roaming instance as taught by Jain in order to perform scheduled tests [0209].
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Jain teaches the instructions further comprise cryptographic information for the roaming instance (“authentication and security testing” in [0208]).
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrod in view of Ketonen et al. (US Pub. 2018/0338278).
Regarding claim 14, Harrod teaches the limitations in claim 10 as shown above. Harrod, however, does not teach the one or more processors are further configured to: perform an action based on identifying an issue with the roaming instance. Ketonen teaches the one or more processors are further configured to: perform an action based on identifying an issue with the roaming instance (“reports an error is the roaming testing device connects to an unauthorized wireless access point outside of the region” in [0009]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Harrod to have the one or more processors are further configured to: perform an action based on identifying an issue with the roaming instance as taught by Ketonen in order to ensure that the roaming testing device uses wireless access points within a specific region [0009].
Regarding claim 15, Ketonen teaches to perform the action, the one or more processors are configured to perform one of: generate a notification indicating the issue with the roaming instance; or configure the device of the site to remedy the issue with the roaming instance (see “reports an error is the roaming testing device connects to an unauthorized wireless access point outside of the region” in [0009] and “trigger notification” in step 305 in Figure 3).
Regarding claim 16, Ketonen teaches to determine the performance of the roaming instance, the one or more processors are configured to one or more of: determine whether there is an issue in obtaining cryptographic information for the roaming instance; determine whether there is an issue in sharing cryptographic information for the roaming instance; determine whether there is an issue with configuration of one or more devices associated with the roaming instance; determine whether there is an issue with network connectivity of the roaming instance (“reports an error is the roaming testing device connects to an unauthorized wireless access point outside of the region” in [0009]); or determine whether there is an issue in communicating network traffic in response to performing the roaming instance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CLEMENCE S HAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414