DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment, filed 07/27/2026, has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 11, filed 07/27/2026, with respect to the objection to the specification have been fully considered and are persuasive. The applicant has amended the specification to resolve the objection. The objection to the specification has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 11, filed 07/27/2026, with respect to the claim objection to claim 25 has been fully considered and is persuasive. The applicant has amended the claim to resolve the claim objection. The objection to claim 25 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 11, filed 07/27/2026, with respect to the 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claim 50 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The applicant has amended the claim to resolve the 35 USC 112(b) rejection. The 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claim 50 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 11-16, filed 07/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-6, 9, 11, 18, 21-23, 25, 36-37, 44-48, and 50-51 under 35 USC 102/103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Mahadevan (US 10935695 B2).
In response to the applicant’s argument that Kam fails to teach a transparent transdermal window, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner contends the substrate being “attached” to the base ends of the microneedles [see Kam claim 1] is being interpreted as being a part of the base of the microneedles. Further, the microneedles are disclosed as being “…constructed from materials that are optically invisible and do not interfere with the optical detection of target analytes” [col. 8 lns. 40-42]. Thus, under BRI, the examiner notes that a transparent “window” is formed from the “optically invisible” microneedles through the “optically transparent substrate”. Also, Kam col. 5 lns. 50-52 discloses the “components of the skin-mountable device 110 may be transparent to the incident light 160 and the light 162 emitted by the nanosensors in response to the incident light 160”, which, under BRI, includes the microneedles [see also Fig. 1].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 9, 11, 36, 44-48, and 50-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kam (US 9974471 B1) in view of Dias (US 20080306455 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kam teaches an analyte-sensing system comprising a microneedle assembly comprising:
a substrate [Fig. 2B Item 210];
at least one microneedle [Fig. 2B Item 220] disposed on a skin-facing surface of the substrate [see Fig. 2B] such that upon placement of the skin-facing surface on an individual, the at least one microneedle extends a distance sufficient into at least one layer of skin such that it is immersed in an interstitial fluid [col. 4 lns. 22-25 “…the micro-needles can penetrate into subsurface skin tissue, i.e. the epidermis, intradermis, or dermis. In this way, the micro-needles may have direct contact with interstitial fluid”]; and
a biocompatible polymer cooperative with the at least one microneedle [col. 9 lns. 64-67 “…nanosensors encapsulated in a polymer gel can be coated onto the external surface of hollow or solid micro-needles, distributed within the pores of porous micro-needles, or line or fill the bore(s) of hollow micro-needles”, see also col. 6 lns. 27-29 “The transdermal patch can be fabricated from or coated with FDA-approved biocompatible material to mitigate any inflammatory response”, col. 12 ln. 1 “…the polymer is biocompatible”], wherein the at least the microneedle is optically transparent to form a transdermal window [col. 6 lns. 30-32 “…the patch material can also be optically transparent to avoid interference with detection of the response signal by a photodetector”], the biocompatible polymer comprising an analyte-sensing chromophore [col. 11 lns. 7-15 “…the nanosensor can be a sensor material comprised of a (i) quantum dot or a fluorescent dye as a signal source that fluoresces at a first wavelength, (ii) a chromophore that absorbs photons of a first wavelength in one state and does not absorb photons of the first wavelength in a second state, and (iii) an ionophore which selectively associates with specific ions or groups of ions, all which are embedded in a polymer including a plasticizer”] and configured such that at least a portion of an analyte present in the interstitial fluid diffuses into the biocompatible polymer whereby upon the introduction of a light signal to the transdermal window [col. 16 lns. 32-35 “Potassium from the interstitial fluid can diffuse on or through the micro-needles 225 and reversibly bind to the ionophore, resulting in an optical change that can be measured by a photodetector”], the presence of the diffused analyte in the biocompatible polymer causes a change to at least one photophysical property of the analyte- sensing chromophore that can be optically detected and converted into indicia of the analyte that is present in the interstitial fluid [col. 5 lns. 14-16 “The optical properties of the detectable label undergo a detectable change (e.g., a change in fluorescence) when the nanosensor interacts with the target analyte”].
Kam teaches the chromophore is bound to the biocompatible polymer, but fails to explicitly teach the chromophore is chemically bound to the biocompatible polymer.
Dias teaches the chromophore is chemically bound to the biocompatible polymer [0179 “…he functional polymer (in this case PVP chains) were actually covalently crosslinked to the supporting polymer network (in this case PEG4000DA) via the network bound chromophore derived from the Norrish type I photoinitiator”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the teachings of Kam and incorporate the teachings of Dias to include the chromophore is chemically bound to the biocompatible polymer. Doing so bonds the chromophore in a way that provides improved bonding strength with a polymer and resists desorption, creating a stable, functional polymer network.
Regarding claim 2, Kam and Dias teach the analyte-sensing system of claim 1, wherein the at least one microneedle comprises a plurality of microneedles [Kam Fig. 2B Item 220].
Regarding claim 3, Kam and Dias teach the analyte-sensing system of claim 2, wherein the biocompatible polymer is deposited on at least one of the plurality of microneedles as a coating [Kam col. 9 lns. 64-67 “…nanosensors encapsulated in a polymer gel can be coated onto the external surface of hollow or solid micro-needles, distributed within the pores of porous micro-needles, or line or fill the bore(s) of hollow micro-needles”, see also Kam col. 6 lns. 27-29 “The transdermal patch can be fabricated from or coated with FDA-approved biocompatible material to mitigate any inflammatory response”, col. 12 ln. 1 “…the polymer is biocompatible”].
Regarding claim 4, Kam and Dias teach the analyte-sensing system of claim 3, wherein the coating defines a localized pattern on the surface of the at least one of the plurality of microneedles [Kam col. 9 lns. 64-67 “…nanosensors encapsulated in a polymer gel can be coated onto the external surface of hollow or solid micro-needles, distributed within the pores of porous micro-needles, or line or fill the bore(s) of hollow micro-needles”].
Regarding claim 6, Kam and Dias teach the analyte-sensing system of claim 1, wherein the biocompatible polymer comprises at least one of an acrylate-based polymer, a urethane-based polymer [Kam col. 8 lns. 30-36 “polyurethane”], a polyetherimine, an ester-based polymer [Kam col. 8 lns. 30-36 “poly(ortho)esters”] and a polyethylene glycol [Kam col. 8 lns. 30-36 “PEG”].
Regarding claim 9, Kam and Dias teach the analyte-sensing system of claim 1, wherein the analyte comprises at least one of dissolved oxygen, carbon dioxide, an electrolyte [Kam col. 4 lns. 27-34], pH [Kam col. 12 ln. 40 “the measured pH change”], a stress marker, a fatigue marker, lactate, a neurotransmitter, a hormone, a neuropeptide, urea, creatinine [Kam col. 4 lns. 27-34] and glucose [Kam col. 4 lns. 27-34].
Regarding claim 11, Kam and Dias teach the analyte-sensing system of claim 949, wherein the electrolyte comprises dissolved ions that comprise at least one of sodium [Kam col. 10 lns. 46-48], potassium [Kam col. 10 lns. 46-48], calcium [Kam col. 10 lns. 46-48], chloride [Kam col. 10 lns. 46-48] and magnesium.
Regarding claim 36, Kam and Dias teach the analyte-sensing system of claim 1, wherein the microneedle and biocompatible polymer are coated with a selectively permeable material [Kam col. 16 lns. 15-20 “A sensitizing layer or coating can be located proximal to the nanosensor 225 of assay component 230. The sensitizing layer can include elements other than elements that selectively interact with the analyte; for example, the sensitizing layer could include a polymer that is permeable to the analyte”].
Regarding claim 44, Kam and Dias teach the analyte-sensing system of claim 1, further comprising:
a reader cooperative with the microneedle assembly to at least receive optical signals through the transdermal window [Kam col. 5 lns. 32-35 “…the reader device 180 can include a light source 188 configured to transmit incident light 160 to the skin-mountable device 110 and a photodetector 190 configured to receive light 162 from the skin-mountable device 110”]; and
a computer system cooperative with the reader [Kam col. 4 lns. 45-51 “The analyte concentration information can be sent from the reader to a display device. The display device could be, for example, a wearable, laptop, desktop, handheld, or tablet computer, a mobile phone, or a subsystem of such a device. In some embodiments, the reader is also the display device. The display device can include a processing system; e.g., a central processing unit (CPU)…”] such that upon delivery to the reader of at least a portion of an altered optical signal that corresponds to a change to at least one of the photophysical properties of the analyte-sensing chromophore, at least one of the reader and the computer system converts the altered optical signal into indicia of the analyte that is present in the interstitial fluid [Kam col. 4 lns. 41-44 “The reader may detect the target analyte (and may determine the concentration of the target analyte in the interstitial fluid) based on the fluorescence light”].
Regarding claim 45, Kam and Dias teach the analyte-sensing system of claim 44, wherein at least one of the reader and the computer system comprises a wearable form factor [Kam col. 4 lns. 53-54 “One example of a wearable computer is a head-mountable display (HMD)”].
Regarding claim 46, Kam and Dias teach the analyte-sensing system of claim 44, wherein at least one of the reader and the computer system is configured to perform at least one of lifetime sensing, intensity sensing [Kam col. 5 lns. 46-49 “…an intensity, wavelength, or other characteristic of the received light 162 may be indicative of the concentration of the target analyte in the interstitial fluid”], ratiometric sensing and colorimetric sensing on the altered optical signal.
Regarding claim 47, Kam and Dias teach the analyte-sensing system of claim 44, wherein the reader comprises an optical exciter and an optical receiver [Kam col. 5 lns. 32-35 “…the reader device 180 can include a light source 188 configured to transmit incident light 160 to the skin-mountable device 110 and a photodetector 190 configured to receive light 162 from the skin-mountable device 110”].
Regarding claim 48, Kam and Dias teach the analyte-sensing system of claim 44, wherein the reader comprises at least one of an optical exciter [Kam col. 5 lns. 32-35 “…the reader device 180 can include a light source 188 configured to transmit incident light 160 to the skin-mountable device 110 and a photodetector 190 configured to receive light 162 from the skin-mountable device 110”], an optical receiver [Kam col. 5 lns. 32-35] and a filter.
Regarding claim 50, Kam and Dias teach the analyte-sensing system of claim 44, wherein the reader is formed as a portion of the computer system [Kam col. 4 lns. 49-50 “…the reader is also the display device. The display device can include a processing system”].
Regarding claim 51, Kam teaches a method of transdermally analyzing an interstitial fluid, the method comprising:
receiving a light signal into a transdermal window [col. 6 lns. 30-32 “…the patch material can also be optically transparent to avoid interference with detection of the response signal by a photodetector”] that is placed into a plurality of layers of skin of an individual [col. 4 lns. 22-24 “…the micro-needles can penetrate into subsurface skin tissue, i.e. the epidermis, intradermis, or dermis”], the transdermal window comprising a plurality of optically transparent microneedles [Fig. 2B Item 220] and a biocompatible polymer that contains an analyte-sensing chromophore [col. 11 lns. 7-15 “…the nanosensor can be a sensor material comprised of a (i) quantum dot or a fluorescent dye as a signal source that fluoresces at a first wavelength, (ii) a chromophore that absorbs photons of a first wavelength in one state and does not absorb photons of the first wavelength in a second state, and (iii) an ionophore which selectively associates with specific ions or groups of ions, all which are embedded in a polymer including a plasticizer”];
upon having at least a portion of an analyte present in the interstitial fluid diffuse into a portion of the transdermal window, using the diffused analyte to cause a change to at least one photophysical property of the analyte-sensing chromophore that takes place in response to an interaction between the diffused analyte and the analyte-sensing chromophore that received the light signal [col. 5 lns. 14-16 “The optical properties of the detectable label undergo a detectable change (e.g., a change in fluorescence) when the nanosensor interacts with the target analyte”]; and
sensing, with a reader that is in optical communication with the transdermal window [col. 5 lns. 32-35 “…the reader device 180 can include a light source 188 configured to transmit incident light 160 to the skin-mountable device 110 and a photodetector 190 configured to receive light 162 from the skin-mountable device 110”], at least a portion of a returned light signal that contains indicia of the change to the at least one photophysical property [col. 5 lns. 46-49 “…an intensity, wavelength, or other characteristic of the received light 162 may be indicative of the concentration of the target analyte in the interstitial fluid”].
Kam teaches the chromophore is bound to the biocompatible polymer, but fails to explicitly teach the chromophore is chemically bound to the biocompatible polymer.
Dias teaches the chromophore is chemically bound to the biocompatible polymer [0179 “…he functional polymer (in this case PVP chains) were actually covalently crosslinked to the supporting polymer network (in this case PEG4000DA) via the network bound chromophore derived from the Norrish type I photoinitiator”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the teachings of Kam and incorporate the teachings of Dias to include the chromophore is chemically bound to the biocompatible polymer. Doing so bonds the chromophore in a way that provides improved bonding strength with a polymer and resists desorption, creating a stable, functional polymer network.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kam and Dias as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Kim (US 20180015272 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Kam and Dias teach the analyte-sensing system of claim 3, wherein the microneedles comprise a coating [Kam col. 9 lns. 64-67], but fail to teach the coating comprises a hydrogel.
Kim teaches the coating comprises a hydrogel [claim 1 “A microneedle coated with a porous coating layer (…), wherein the coating layer is made of a soft material comprising at least one of biocompatible polymer and biocompatible hydrogel…”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the teachings of Kam and Dias and incorporate the teachings of Kim to include the coating comprises a hydrogel. Doing so configures the system to enhance drug delivery by forming a continuous conduit through the skin, minimize pain associated with microneedle application, and reducing the risk of adverse reactions by being more biocompatible that traditional microneedle materials.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kam and Dias as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Park (US 20020082543 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Kam and Dias teach the analyte-sensing system of claim 1, wherein the at least one microneedle defines a pyramidal shape with a square base that has a width between 0.3 and 0.7 millimeters and a height that is between 0.4 and 1.5 millimeters [Kam col. 9 lns. 3-4 “The length of the micro-needles can be typically between about 10 μm and 1 mm”] and that the microneedles can contain “…various lengths, outer diameters, inner diameters, cross-sectional shapes, and spacings between the micro-needles”, but fails to specifically teach the microneedle defines a pyramidal shape with a square base that has a width between 0.3 and 0.7 millimeters.
Park teaches the microneedle defines a pyramidal shape with a square base [0055 “…the tapered tip portion is in the shape of a pyramid on a shaft portion having a square cross-section, such that the microneedle is in the shape of an obelisk”] that has a width between 0.3 and 0.7 millimeters [0056 “The microneedles preferably have a width or cross-sectional dimension between about 1 µm and 500 µm…”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the teachings of Kam and Dias and incorporate the teachings of Park to include the microneedle defines a pyramidal shape with a square base that has a width between 0.3 and 0.7 millimeters. Doing so configures the system to minimize patient discomfort by keeping a low needle profile while also maximizing the structural integrity of the system so the components do not break off, resulting in improper function and/or injury.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kam and Dias as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mahmood (US 20140287942 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Kam and Dias teach the analyte-sensing system of claim 1, wherein the analyte-sensing chromophore comprises a luminescent chromophore [Kam col. 17 lns. 22-26 “…the nanosensors can include an autofluorescent or luminescent marker, such as a fluorophore, that will automatically emit a response signal indicative of the binding of the clinically-relevant analyte to the nanosensors…”], but fails to teach a biorecognition element attached to a luminescent chromophore.
Mahmood teaches a biorecognition element attached to a luminescent chromophore [0126 “an RNA aptamer that binds fluorophores”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the teachings of Kam and Dias and incorporate the teachings of Mahmood to include a biorecognition element attached to a luminescent chromophore. Doing so configures the system to emit an optical signal that spans the visible spectrum when hybridized to a biomarker, as recognized by Mahmood para. 0126.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kam, Dias, and Mahmood as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Schwartz (US 20160278638 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Kam, Dias, and Mahmood teach the analyte-sensing system of claim 21, wherein the luminescent chromophore comprises a fluorescent chromophore [Mahmood 0126 “fluorophore”] and the biorecognition element comprises a forced intercalation aptamer [Mahmood 0126 “RNA aptamer “]. However, Kam, Dias, and Mahmood fail to teach the fluorescent chromophore is a cyanine fluorophore.
Schwartz teaches the fluorescent chromophore is a cyanine fluorophore [0095 “Fluorophores for use in the present invention include (…), cyanine…”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the teachings of Kam, Dias, and Mahmood and incorporate the teachings of Schwartz to include the fluorescent chromophore is a cyanine fluorophore. Doing so configures the system to a desired fluorophore that will determine the absorption and fluorescence emission properties of the aptamer conjugate, as recognized by Schwartz para. 0095.
Claims 23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kam and Dias as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang (US 20200316605 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Kam and Dias teach the analyte-sensing system of claim 1, wherein the system comprises the analyte-sensing chromophore [Kam col. 11 lns. 7-15], but fails to teach wherein the analyte-sensing chromophore comprises at least one of a luminescent boron dipyrromethene analyte-sensing chromophore, a luminescent quinolinium chromophore, a luminescent quinolinium-containing chromophore, a luminescent acridinium chromophore, a luminescent acridinium-containing chromophore, a phosphorescent organometallic complex, a phosphorescent palladium porphyrin, a phosphorescent platinum porphyrin, a colorimetric chromophore, a colorimetric bromothymol blue chromophore, a colorimetric phenol red chromophore, a colorimetric cresol red chromophore, a colorimetric neutral red chromophore, a colorimetric a-naphtholphthalein chromophore and a colorimetric m-cresol purple chromophore.
Wang teaches the analyte sensing chromophore comprises a luminescent boron dipyrromethene analyte-sensing chromophore [0195 “BODIPY”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the teachings of Kam and Dias and incorporate the teachings of Wang to include the analyte sensing chromophore comprises a luminescent boron dipyrromethene analyte-sensing chromophore. Doing so configures the system to use a dye with high photostability for prolonged excitation, low background interference, and flexible chemical modification to tailor the use to a desired substance.
Regarding claim 25, Kam, Dias, and Wang teach the analyte-sensing system of claim 23, wherein the analyte-sensing chromophore comprises a luminescent boron dipyrromethene analyte-sensing chromophore that comprises at least one of an aza-15-crown-5 ether, an aza-18-crown-6 ether, a triazacryptand, 1,2-bis(o-aminophenoxy)ethane-N,N,N',N'-tetraacetic acid, N- phenylazabis(ethoxy)acetic acid, and boronic acid [0195 “boronic acid-functionalized azaBODIPY dye”].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN M HANEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3791 /ALEX M VALVIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791