NON-FINAL REJECTION
DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed April 30, 2026has been entered. Claims 1-13 and 15-21 remain pending in the application. Applicant's amendments to the claims have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejections previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed December 31, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 12-13, 15-17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghaly (US 2023/0409217) and Aso et al. (US 2022/0114147).
Regarding claim 1, Ghaly discloses:
A memory system, comprising:
a non-volatile memory including a plurality of blocks, each of the plurality of blocks being a data erase unit, each of the plurality of blocks including a plurality of pages (FIG. 1 NAND Flash Memory 106; [0012] the NAND flash memory 106 may include one or more dies 108, each die may include one or more planes 110, each plane 110 may include one or more blocks 112, and each block 112 may include one or more pages 114, on which data may be stored; [0089] the old data blocks in the previous physical location may be erased via a garbage collection process); and
a memory controller (FIG. 1 SSD Controller 102) configured to write a plurality of data portions into the non-volatile memory (FIG. 2 Data Groups 118), wherein the data portions are specified based on a plurality of write commands received from a host (FIG. 2 Host 202; [0010] a host device that can read, write, delete, and/or modify data to and from a storage device; [0028] the host to identify the data group 118 for contiguous storage, assign a group ID to the data group 118, tag the data blocks 116 in the data group 118 with the group ID, and command the storage controller to contiguously write the data blocks 116 in the physical media in a one-step write operation without defragmenting; [0065] requests from the host), respectively, wherein
the host assigns same setting information ([0083] The metadata may include any information that can be used to manage the storage of the data blocks. For example, the metadata may include the group ID, the LBAs of the data blocks, the size of the data group, the maximum size and/or minimum size of the data group, the number of data blocks in the data group, the size of the data blocks, the sequential ordering of the data blocks, an indicator that the data group is new or an update, the number of data groups, and/or the sizes of other data groups, etc.) to the plurality of write commands (FIG. 6 step 606, performed by the host, Send data blocks with group ID to storage; [0083] Act 606 may also involve sending metadata either along with or separately from the data blocks. The metadata may include any information that can be used to manage the storage of the data blocks. For example, the metadata may include the group ID, the LBAs of the data blocks, the size of the data group, the maximum size and/or minimum size of the data group, the number of data blocks in the data group, the size of the data blocks, the sequential ordering of the data blocks, an indicator that the data group is new or an update, the number of data groups, and/or the sizes of other data groups, etc.), and the memory controller is further configured to write the plurality of data portions to the plurality of pages in one block of the plurality of blocks based on the same setting information,…and wherein a first data portion of the plurality of data portions corresponds to a first page of the plurality of pages, a second data portion of the plurality of data portions corresponds to a second page of the plurality of pages, the first page and the second page correspond to a plurality of continuous addresses among the plurality of pages in the one block (FIG. 6 step 610, performed by Storage Controller, Contiguously store data blocks with the same group ID; [0049] the storage controller 210 may receive the data blocks as well as the block metadata and/or group metadata. The storage controller 210 may use the group metadata and/or the block metadata to find available space, find the optimal space, and/or make room in the storage media 212 for writing the data blocks contiguously in the first instance so as to avoid the need for defragmenting after the initial write operations; [0027] Depending on the storage media, media divisions, and file system formatting, the correspondence between a page and a data block may be one-to-one or one-to-many (i.e., one to any number); [0050] Contiguous storage of the data blocks in the same data group may span multiple media divisions (e.g., multiple pages, blocks, planes, dies, sectors, clusters, tracks, sides, and platters) in the storage media 212; FIG. 1 shows data (data group 118(1)) written contiguously (i.e., continuous addresses) in a page 114 of a block 112).
Ghaly does not appear to explicitly teach “wherein the same setting information includes a first flag having 2 bits which correspond to a plurality of operation.” However, Aso et al. disclose:
wherein the same setting information includes a first flag having 2 bits which correspond to a plurality of operation (Fig. 5 Bit0 and Bit1; [0075]),
Ghaly and Aso et al. are analogous art because Ghaly teach contiguous data storage using group identifiers and Aso et al. teach metadata for indicating contiguous data.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Ghaly and Aso et al. before him/her, to modify the teachings of Ghaly with the Aso et al. teachings of assigning a flag to indicate contiguous data because doing so would provide information that data of a write command in continuous with previous data ([0070]).
Regarding claim 2, Ghaly further discloses:
The memory system according to claim 1, wherein
the first flag is assigned to the second data an indication indicating that the second data is continuous to the first data ([0082] the data group may be acquired in act 602 in chunks, such as data blocks; [0083] Act 606 may also involve sending metadata either along with or separately from the data blocks. The metadata may include any information that can be used to manage the storage of the data blocks…For example, the metadata may include…the sequential ordering of the data blocks).
Regarding claim 3, Ghaly further discloses:
The memory system according to claim 2, wherein the plurality of data portions further include a third data portion (FIG. 2 Data Groups 118 include a plurality of blocks), and
the first flag is assigned to the third data portion an indication indicating that the third data portion is continuous to the second data portion and the third data portion is a last data portion ([0082] the data group may be acquired in act 602 in chunks, such as data blocks; [0083] Act 606 may also involve sending metadata either along with or separately from the data blocks. The metadata may include any information that can be used to manage the storage of the data blocks. For example, the metadata may include the group ID, the LBAs of the data blocks, the size of the data group, the maximum size and/or minimum size of the data group, the number of data blocks in the data group, the size of the data blocks, the sequential ordering of the data blocks, an indicator that the data group is new or an update, the number of data groups, and/or the sizes of other data groups, etc.).
Regarding claim 4, Ghaly further discloses:
The memory system according to claim 1, wherein, after collecting garbage, the memory controller is configured to executes a process of writing into the plurality of pages corresponding to the plurality of continuous addresses ([0089] If an update to an existing data group is later received, then the G2P table and/or the L2P table may be referenced to identify the LBAs and/or the PBAs that correspond to the group ID associated with the updated data blocks. Accordingly, the updated data blocks may also be written contiguously with the old data blocks. If, however, there is not enough free space next to the old data blocks to write the new data blocks in a contiguous manner, then the old data blocks may be moved to another physical location with large enough free space to write the old data blocks and the new data blocks contiguously with each other. Where the storage media includes an SSD, the old data blocks in the previous physical location may be erased via a garbage collection process).
Regarding claim 5, Ghaly further discloses:
The memory system according to claim 1, wherein
the same setting information includes a second flag ([0026] a group identifier (ID); FIG. 6 step 604, performed by Host, Assign group ID to data group; [0043] the host 202 may assign group IDs to the data groups. That is, each data group may be assigned a unique group ID to distinguish each data group from one another. Following the above example, the first data group including the game may be assigned a first group ID, the second data group including the movie may be assigned a second group ID, and the third data group including the spreadsheet file may be assigned a third group ID),
the second flag includes setting information indicating that the plurality of data portions belong to a same group ([0028] the host to identify the data group 118 for contiguous storage, assign a group ID to the data group 118, tag the data blocks 116 in the data group 118 with the group ID, and command the storage controller to contiguously write the data blocks 116 in the physical media in a one-step write operation without defragmenting. Consistent with the present concepts, the group ID may enable the storage controller to be aware of which data blocks 116 belong together), and
the second flag is assigned to the second data portion an indication indicating that the second data portion is continuous to the first data portion ([0028] the storage controller may organize the physical storage locations of the data blocks 116, such that the data blocks 116 that share the common group ID (i.e., belong to the same data group 118) are written contiguously for fast read performance. This implementation may avoid fragmentation of the data blocks 116, and thus render defragmentation unnecessary).
Regarding claim 6, Ghaly further discloses:
The memory system according to claim 5, wherein the second flag includes setting information indicating an order of reading the plurality of data portions from the non-volatile memory ([0028] the storage controller may organize the physical storage locations of the data blocks 116, such that the data blocks 116 that share the common group ID (i.e., belong to the same data group 118) are written contiguously for fast read performance; [0042] each group of associated data would be read from storage together. For instance, a game that would be read from storage and played may constitute a first data group, an application that may be read from storage and executed may constitute a second data group, and a spreadsheet file that may be read from storage and opened may constitute a third data group. One data group may include any number, type, and/or format of files, folders, databases, structures, etc., that the host 202 may logically group together for contiguous storage to enhance read performance).
Regarding claim 8, Ghaly further discloses:
The memory system according to claim 7, wherein the start address of the first data portion is smaller than the start address of the second data portion (FIG. 5 group-to-physical (G2P) table 500), and
the memory controller is configured to write the first data portion before the second data portion ([0070] the storage controller may keep track of the correspondence between the group IDs and PBAs of data groups using the G2P table 500, which would be much smaller than the G2L table. Because the data blocks belonging to the same data group are stored contiguously in the physical storage media and thus correspond to consecutive PBAs, the G2P table 500 need not include an entry for the PBA of every data block. Instead, as shown in FIG. 5, the G2P table 500 may include one column for the group IDs of data groups, two columns for the ranges of consecutive PBAs, and a row for each data group. In one implementation, the two columns for the ranges of consecutive PBAs may be identified by the starting PBAs and the total numbers of PBAs, as shown in FIG. 5. Alternatively, the two columns for the ranges of the consecutive PBAs may be identified by the starting PBAs and the ending PBAs. With either setup, not every PBA of every data block needs an entry in the G2P table 500. Rather, the G2P table 500 may include an entry (or a row) for each group ID), and read the first data portion before the second data portion ([0020] Data blocks may belong together (i.e., be associated with or related to each other) if they are likely to be read together, for example, because they are part of a logical grouping of data; [0042] each group of associated data would be read from storage together. For instance, a game that would be read from storage and played may constitute a first data group, an application that may be read from storage and executed may constitute a second data group, and a spreadsheet file that may be read from storage and opened may constitute a third data group. One data group may include any number, type, and/or format of files, folders, databases, structures, etc., that the host 202 may logically group together for contiguous storage to enhance read performance; It would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to read data that is stored contiguously for enhanced read performance, to read the first data portion prior to reading the second data portion).
Regarding claim 12, Ghaly discloses:
A method, comprising:
executing a write operation that includes writing a plurality of data portions (FIG. 2 Data Groups 118) into a non-volatile memory including a plurality of blocks, each of the plurality of blocks being a data erase unit, each of the plurality of blocks including a plurality of pages (FIG. 1 NAND Flash Memory 106; [0012] the NAND flash memory 106 may include one or more dies 108, each die may include one or more planes 110, each plane 110 may include one or more blocks 112, and each block 112 may include one or more pages 114, on which data may be stored; [0089] the old data blocks in the previous physical location may be erased via a garbage collection process), wherein the data portions are specified by a plurality of write commands received from a host, respectively (FIG. 2 Host 202; [0010] a host device that can read, write, delete, and/or modify data to and from a storage device; [0028] the host to identify the data group 118 for contiguous storage, assign a group ID to the data group 118, tag the data blocks 116 in the data group 118 with the group ID, and command the storage controller to contiguously write the data blocks 116 in the physical media in a one-step write operation without defragmenting; [0065] requests from the host), wherein
same setting information ([0083] The metadata may include any information that can be used to manage the storage of the data blocks. For example, the metadata may include the group ID, the LBAs of the data blocks, the size of the data group, the maximum size and/or minimum size of the data group, the number of data blocks in the data group, the size of the data blocks, the sequential ordering of the data blocks, an indicator that the data group is new or an update, the number of data groups, and/or the sizes of other data groups, etc.) is assigned to each of the plurality of write commands (FIG. 6 step 606, performed by the host, Send data blocks with group ID to storage; [0083] Act 606 may also involve sending metadata either along with or separately from the data blocks. The metadata may include any information that can be used to manage the storage of the data blocks. For example, the metadata may include the group ID, the LBAs of the data blocks, the size of the data group, the maximum size and/or minimum size of the data group, the number of data blocks in the data group, the size of the data blocks, the sequential ordering of the data blocks, an indicator that the data group is new or an update, the number of data groups, and/or the sizes of other data groups, etc.), and the write operation further includes writing the plurality of data portions to the plurality of pages in one block of the plurality of blocks based on the same setting information, wherein…and wherein a first data portion of the plurality of data portions corresponds to a first page of the plurality of pages, a second data portion of the plurality of data portions corresponds to a second page of the plurality of pages, the first page and the second page correspond to a plurality of continuous addresses among the plurality of pages in the one block (FIG. 6 step 610, performed by Storage Controller, Contiguously store data blocks with the same group ID; [0049] the storage controller 210 may receive the data blocks as well as the block metadata and/or group metadata. The storage controller 210 may use the group metadata and/or the block metadata to find available space, find the optimal space, and/or make room in the storage media 212 for writing the data blocks contiguously in the first instance so as to avoid the need for defragmenting after the initial write operations; [0027] Depending on the storage media, media divisions, and file system formatting, the correspondence between a page and a data block may be one-to-one or one-to-many (i.e., one to any number); [0050] Contiguous storage of the data blocks in the same data group may span multiple media divisions (e.g., multiple pages, blocks, planes, dies, sectors, clusters, tracks, sides, and platters) in the storage media 212; FIG. 1 shows data (data group 118(1)) written contiguously (i.e., continuous addresses) in a page 114 of a block 112).
Ghaly does not appear to explicitly teach “wherein the same setting information includes a first flag having 2 bits which correspond to a plurality of operation.” However, Aso et al. disclose:
wherein the same setting information includes a first flag having 2 bits which correspond to a plurality of operation (Fig. 5 Bit0 and Bit1; [0075]),
The motivation for combining is based on the same rational presented for rejection of independent claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Ghaly further discloses:
The method according to claim 12, wherein
the first flag is assigned to the second data an indication indicating that the second data is continuous to the first data ([0082] the data group may be acquired in act 602 in chunks, such as data blocks; [0083] Act 606 may also involve sending metadata either along with or separately from the data blocks. The metadata may include any information that can be used to manage the storage of the data blocks…For example, the metadata may include…the sequential ordering of the data blocks).
Regarding claim 15, Ghaly further discloses:
The method according to claim 12, wherein, after collecting garbage, the memory controller is configured to executes a process of writing into the plurality of pages corresponding to the plurality of continuous addresses ([0089] If an update to an existing data group is later received, then the G2P table and/or the L2P table may be referenced to identify the LBAs and/or the PBAs that correspond to the group ID associated with the updated data blocks. Accordingly, the updated data blocks may also be written contiguously with the old data blocks. If, however, there is not enough free space next to the old data blocks to write the new data blocks in a contiguous manner, then the old data blocks may be moved to another physical location with large enough free space to write the old data blocks and the new data blocks contiguously with each other. Where the storage media includes an SSD, the old data blocks in the previous physical location may be erased via a garbage collection process).
Regarding claim 16, Ghaly further discloses:
The method according to claim 12, wherein
the same setting information includes a second flag ([0026] a group identifier (ID); FIG. 6 step 604, performed by Host, Assign group ID to data group; [0043] the host 202 may assign group IDs to the data groups. That is, each data group may be assigned a unique group ID to distinguish each data group from one another. Following the above example, the first data group including the game may be assigned a first group ID, the second data group including the movie may be assigned a second group ID, and the third data group including the spreadsheet file may be assigned a third group ID),
the second flag includes setting information indicating that the plurality of data portions belong to a same group ([0028] the host to identify the data group 118 for contiguous storage, assign a group ID to the data group 118, tag the data blocks 116 in the data group 118 with the group ID, and command the storage controller to contiguously write the data blocks 116 in the physical media in a one-step write operation without defragmenting. Consistent with the present concepts, the group ID may enable the storage controller to be aware of which data blocks 116 belong together), and
the second flag is assigned to the second data portion an indication indicating that the second data portion is continuous to the first data portion ([0028] the storage controller may organize the physical storage locations of the data blocks 116, such that the data blocks 116 that share the common group ID (i.e., belong to the same data group 118) are written contiguously for fast read performance. This implementation may avoid fragmentation of the data blocks 116, and thus render defragmentation unnecessary).
Regarding claim 17, Ghaly further discloses:
The method according to claim 16, wherein the second flag includes setting information indicating an order of reading the plurality of data portions from the non-volatile memory ([0028] the storage controller may organize the physical storage locations of the data blocks 116, such that the data blocks 116 that share the common group ID (i.e., belong to the same data group 118) are written contiguously for fast read performance; [0042] each group of associated data would be read from storage together. For instance, a game that would be read from storage and played may constitute a first data group, an application that may be read from storage and executed may constitute a second data group, and a spreadsheet file that may be read from storage and opened may constitute a third data group. One data group may include any number, type, and/or format of files, folders, databases, structures, etc., that the host 202 may logically group together for contiguous storage to enhance read performance).
Regarding claim 19, Ghaly further discloses:
The method according to claim 18, wherein the start address of the first data portion is smaller than the start address of the second data portion (FIG. 5 group-to-physical (G2P) table 500), and
the memory controller is configured to write the first data portion before the second data portion ([0070] the storage controller may keep track of the correspondence between the group IDs and PBAs of data groups using the G2P table 500, which would be much smaller than the G2L table. Because the data blocks belonging to the same data group are stored contiguously in the physical storage media and thus correspond to consecutive PBAs, the G2P table 500 need not include an entry for the PBA of every data block. Instead, as shown in FIG. 5, the G2P table 500 may include one column for the group IDs of data groups, two columns for the ranges of consecutive PBAs, and a row for each data group. In one implementation, the two columns for the ranges of consecutive PBAs may be identified by the starting PBAs and the total numbers of PBAs, as shown in FIG. 5. Alternatively, the two columns for the ranges of the consecutive PBAs may be identified by the starting PBAs and the ending PBAs. With either setup, not every PBA of every data block needs an entry in the G2P table 500. Rather, the G2P table 500 may include an entry (or a row) for each group ID), and read the first data portion before the second data portion ([0020] Data blocks may belong together (i.e., be associated with or related to each other) if they are likely to be read together, for example, because they are part of a logical grouping of data; [0042] each group of associated data would be read from storage together. For instance, a game that would be read from storage and played may constitute a first data group, an application that may be read from storage and executed may constitute a second data group, and a spreadsheet file that may be read from storage and opened may constitute a third data group. One data group may include any number, type, and/or format of files, folders, databases, structures, etc., that the host 202 may logically group together for contiguous storage to enhance read performance; It would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to read data that is stored contiguously for enhanced read performance, to read the first data portion prior to reading the second data portion).
Regarding claim 20, Ghaly further discloses:
The memory system according to claim 8, wherein the memory controller is configured to generate an application-specific L2P table (FIG. 4; [0063] a storage controller may keep track of the correspondence between the LBAs and the PBAs of data blocks. In one implementation, the storage controller may create and maintain the L2P table 400; [0064] [0064] The LBAs may be created and used by an OS (and applications) in a host; FIG. 2 application 218).
Regarding claim 21, Ghaly further discloses:
The method according to claim 19, further comprising generating an application-specific L2P table (FIG. 4; [0063] a storage controller may keep track of the correspondence between the LBAs and the PBAs of data blocks. In one implementation, the storage controller may create and maintain the L2P table 400; [0064] [0064] The LBAs may be created and used by an OS (and applications) in a host; FIG. 2 application 218).
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghaly and Aso et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park et al. (US 2019/0294376).
Regarding claim 7, Ghaly further discloses:
The memory system according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of data portions include at least a first data portion and a second data portion (FIG. 2 Data Groups 118 include a plurality of blocks), and
the same setting information includes…indicating that the first data portion and the second data portion are concatenated, a start address of the first data portion, and a start address of the second data portion ([0083] Act 606 may also involve sending metadata either along with or separately from the data blocks. The metadata may include any information that can be used to manage the storage of the data blocks. For example, the metadata may include the group ID, the LBAs of the data blocks, the size of the data group, the maximum size and/or minimum size of the data group, the number of data blocks in the data group, the size of the data blocks, the sequential ordering of the data blocks, an indicator that the data group is new or an update, the number of data groups, and/or the sizes of other data groups, etc.).
Ghaly and Aso et al. do not appear to explicitly teach “an operation code.” However, Park et al. disclose:
an operation code ([0054] The operation code OC, which is a plurality of bits indicating the type of command, may indicate a certain command of a plurality of commands that may be executed by storage device 100. For example, when the operation code OC is 1; [0055] The flag bits FBS may include various mode information. In an embodiment, when the command CMD is a write command CMDW, at least one bit of the flag bits FBS may be a sequential write flag bit indicating whether write data corresponding to the write command CMDW is sequential data. For example, the sequential write flag bit may be set (e.g., a value of 1) to indicate that the write data corresponding to the write command CMDW is sequential data)
Ghaly, Aso et al., and Park et al. are analogous art because Ghaly teach contiguous data storage using group identifiers; Aso et al. teach metadata for indicating contiguous data; and Park et al. teach sequentially storing data.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Ghaly, Aso et al., and Park et al. before him/her, to modify the combined teachings Ghaly and Aso et al. of sending metadata either along with or separately from the data blocks with the Park et al. teachings of conveying metadata in operation codes because such a modification would have amounted to little more than combining “familiar elements according to known methods” and would have been obvious because it would have done “no more than yield predictable results.” (MPEP 2143 I.A.) Including the metadata in the operation code would have yielded the predictable result of conveying the metadata in the write command.
Regarding claim 18, Ghaly further discloses:
The method according to claim 12, wherein the plurality of data portions include at least a first data portion and a second data portion (FIG. 2 Data Groups 118 include a plurality of blocks), and
the same setting information includes…indicating that the first data portion and the second data portion are concatenated, a start address of the first data portion, and a start address of the second data portion ([0083] Act 606 may also involve sending metadata either along with or separately from the data blocks. The metadata may include any information that can be used to manage the storage of the data blocks. For example, the metadata may include the group ID, the LBAs of the data blocks, the size of the data group, the maximum size and/or minimum size of the data group, the number of data blocks in the data group, the size of the data blocks, the sequential ordering of the data blocks, an indicator that the data group is new or an update, the number of data groups, and/or the sizes of other data groups, etc.).
Ghaly and Aso et al. do not appear to explicitly teach “an operation code.” However, Park et al. disclose:
an operation code ([0054] The operation code OC, which is a plurality of bits indicating the type of command, may indicate a certain command of a plurality of commands that may be executed by storage device 100. For example, when the operation code OC is 1; [0055] The flag bits FBS may include various mode information. In an embodiment, when the command CMD is a write command CMDW, at least one bit of the flag bits FBS may be a sequential write flag bit indicating whether write data corresponding to the write command CMDW is sequential data. For example, the sequential write flag bit may be set (e.g., a value of 1) to indicate that the write data corresponding to the write command CMDW is sequential data)
The motivation for combining is based on the same rational presented for rejection of claim 7.
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghaly and Aso et al., and further in view of Kanteti (US 2022/0244869).
Regarding claim 9, Ghaly and Aso et al. not appear to explicitly teach while Kanteti discloses:
The memory system according to claim 1,
the memory controller is further configured to:
after writing the plurality of data portions, read a file system stored in the non-volatile memory, analyze the file system, and acquire a time stamp included in the file system ([0060] Write request component 310 can enable the file system to analyze write requests and make determinations on how the write requests should be processed. The determinations can be based on an analysis of data associated with the write requests 342, file system 124, zones 232A-Z, host system 120, memory sub-system 110, memory devices 130A-Z, other portion of computer system 100, or a combination thereof. Each of the write requests 342 can correspond to one or more commands (e.g., operations, instructions, opcodes) and the commands can be for a write, append copy, move, modify, update, delete, erase, reset, remove, other command, or a combination thereof. A write request can be represented as a data structure that includes file system data 224 discussed above and can include or be associated with one or more attributes (e.g., linked with metadata). The attributes can be updated as the write request is processed and can include attributes based on time (e.g., incoming time stamps), size (e.g., write sizes), state (e.g., received, processing, applied), data type (e.g., type of data to be stored), zone (e.g., zone associated with the data), other attribute, or a combination thereof).
Ghaly, Aso et al., and Kanteti are analogous art because Ghaly teach contiguous data storage using group identifiers; Aso et al. metadata for indicating contiguous data; and Kanteti teach storing data in zones.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Ghaly, Aso et al., and Kanteti before him/her, to modify the combined teachings of Ghaly and Aso et al. with Kanteti’s teachings of reading time stamps because time stamps are an indicator of the order that data should be processed.
Regarding claim 10, Kanteti further discloses:
The memory system according to claim 9, wherein, in response to determining that the time stamp included in the file system is a newly recorded time stamp or an updated time stamp ([0041] The object metadata can indicate attributes of the object such as a…time (e.g., creation time, modification time, access time)), the memory controller is configured to store time information corresponding to the time stamp in the non-volatile memory (FIG. 3 Main Memory 223 stores File System Data 224; [0106] a main memory 704…flash memory).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Ghaly and Aso et al. in view of Kanteti further discloses:
The memory system according to claim 10, wherein the memory controller is configured to read the time information (as taught by Kanteti in claim 11) and check updated data among the plurality of data portions and a page in which the updated data is written ([0072] when the host sends a data group to the storage controller, the host may indicate to the storage controller whether the data group (and the associated group ID) is new or an update. Because the host maintains a list or a table of group IDs and corresponding data groups, the host may know whether a particular data group (and the corresponding group ID) is being sent to the storage controller for the first time or not. For example, the host may send a flag to the storage controller indicating whether the data group is being stored in the storage media for the first time or alternatively that this is an update to an old data group that is already stored in the storage media).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed April 30, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ghaly and Aso et al. based on applicant’s amendment to the claims.
Conclusion
/TRACY A WARREN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2137