DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/1/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Notice to Applicant
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9, 11-13, 15-16 and 19 are presently amended.
Claim 20 is cancelled.
Claim 21 is newly added.
Claims 1-19 and 21 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments are acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s arguments filed 4/9/2026 have been fully considered in view of further consideration of statutory law, Office policy, precedential common law, and the cited prior art as necessitated by the amendments to the claims, and are not persuasive for the reasons set forth below.
35 USC § 101 Rejections
First, Applicant argues that “Claim 1 now positively recites, in part, "an aircraft including controls and a position sensor," thereby reciting structural limitations, which are not abstract ideas. Claim 11 has been similarly amended. For at least these reasons, the Applicant respectfully requests
reconsideration of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101…
Additionally, claim 2 recites, in part, "wherein the aircraft is operated according to one of
the different schedule options." Claim 12 recites similar limitations. As such, claims 2 and 12
recite practical applications…
Next, claim 6 recites, in part, "wherein the control unit is further configured to
automatically operate one or more of the controls of the aircraft to automatically operate the
aircraft according to one of the different schedule options." Claim 16 recites similar limitations.
Such limitations are not abstract ideas…” [Arguments, pages 7-8].
In response, Applicant’s arguments are considered but are not persuasive. With regard to the assertion that “Claim 1 now positively recites, in part, "an aircraft including controls and a position sensor," thereby reciting structural limitations, which are not abstract ideas”, Examiner respectfully disagrees and maintains that the recited components of the aircraft do not change the general thrust of the invention. Particularly, Examiner observes that, when considered as a whole, the claimed invention describes a system and process for determining scheduling options for an aircraft based on fuel consumption and average holding times at an airport. Examiner maintains that these concepts set forth certain methods of organizing human activity, particular managing interactions between people. Thus, claims 1 and 11 recite concepts identified as abstract ideas.
Further, with respect to claims 2 and 12, Examiner observes that operating aircraft according to one of the different scheduling options is considered to merely narrow the abstract idea. Examiner observes that, in order to demonstrate a practical application, the claims should recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Claims 2 and 12 do not recite any additional elements and thus do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Further still, and with regard to claims 6 and 16, Examiner observes that the claims do not sufficiently describe the functionality of the unit, and only claim in a cursory manner that the unit automatically operates the aircraft according to scheduling options. These limitations are not described at a level of specificity considered to demonstrate significantly more than the abstract idea. As such, Examiner remains unpersuaded.
35 USC § 102/103 Rejections
First, Applicant argues that “Claim 1 has been clarified to recite, in part, a control unit configured to "determine an average holding time for multiple other aircraft that have previously landed and are awaiting to land at an arrival airport where the aircraft is scheduled to arrive; determine average fuel consumption for the average holding time; and determine different schedule options for the aircraft based on the average holding time, wherein each of the different schedule options differs
in at least one respect from an original schedule for the aircraft."…
While Sharma discloses revising a speed advisory based on a determined holding time,
Sharma does not expressly or necessarily describe, teach, or suggest determining an average fuel
consumption for an average holding time, or determining multiple different schedule options
based on an average holding time. Sharma does not expressly or necessarily describe, teach, or
suggest a control unit configured to "determine an average holding time for multiple other
aircraft that have previously landed and are awaiting to land at an arrival airport where the
aircraft is scheduled to arrive; determine average fuel consumption for the average holding time; and determine different schedule options for the aircraft based on the average holding time,
wherein each of the different schedule options differs in at least one respect from an original
schedule for the aircraft," as recited in claim 1…” [Arguments, pages 8-9].
In response, Applicant’s arguments are considered but are not persuasive. With regard to the fuel consumption elements, Applicant’s arguments with regard to the determination of an average fuel consumption have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Examiner relies upon the newly cited Irrgang reference as detailed below.
Further, with regard to the determination of an average holding time for multiple other
aircraft that have previously landed and are awaiting to land at an arrival airport where the
aircraft is scheduled to arrive, Examiner maintains that Sharma discloses these elements and directs the Applicant to (Sharma, ¶ 45, FIG. 2 is a block diagram depicting example input data sources for determining the holding time and revised speed advisory for an aircraft. The input data sources may provide real-time data associated with the aircrafts in and around the airport, the real-time weather information at the airport, runway unavailability at the airport, and historical data to a ground-based system 200. For example, the ATC 202, ADS-B 204, aircraft sensors 206, and/or radar 208 may provide real-time data associated with the aircrafts in and around the airport. MET 210, ATC 202, and aircraft sensors 206 may provide real-time weather related information at the airport. NOTAM 212 may provide runway unavailability information at the airport. Navigation charts 214, historical database 216, airline information 218 and airport information 220 may provide pre-stored historical data such as schedule, approach, departure information, and arrival route (e.g., STAR) of the aircrafts flying in and out of the airport, historical data associated with weather related disturbances, and/or historical data associated with runway unavailability. Other data sources 222 can provide information related to holiday data, trade fairs, airshows, and flooding at the airports), and to (Id., ¶ 68, a holding time for one aircraft is determined as seen by the ADS-B receiver in the ATC airspace. Determine a moving average of the holding time (discloses determining an average holding time) if there is more than one aircraft. [0069] 7. Cross check for weather (e.g., bad visibility and rain) from METAR weather report and/or any available weather information reported by aircrafts (e.g., ADS-B/AMDAR (aircraft meteorological data relay)) to check for persistence. [0070] 8. The average delay seen during a particular time/event for the aircraft on same STAR route is what needs to be compensated for the trailing aircraft to prevent wasting time and fuel, and time/speed compensation reduction may be transmitted into the flight plan modification for the trailing aircraft. This can be performed either on-board of an aircraft (e.g., using flight management system, tablet or ipad) or can be calculated and transmitted to the aircraft from a ground-based computer. [0071] 9. The average time of hold may be used to calculate a new speed for the aircraft on the same STAR route behind holding aircraft, i.e., saving fuel in descent and also saving fuel and time spent in holding pattern).
Here, Sharma relies upon a historical database and on aircraft in and around the airport to determine an average holding time for an aircraft. Further, Sharma discloses adjusting the speed an altitude of an aircraft to minimize the amount of time the aircraft would be required to fly in a holding pattern, in accordance with the present invention. Thus, Examiner respectfully maintains that the combination of Sharma and the newly relied upon Irrgang reference render the above-argued limitations obvious. As such, Examiner remains unpersuaded.
Second, Applicant argues that “For similar reasons, Sharma does not expressly or necessarily describe, teach, or suggest "wherein the control unit is configured to present the different schedule options on the display, and wherein for each of the original schedule and the different schedule options, the control unit is configured to show a scheduled departure time from a departure airport, a scheduled arrival time at the arrival airport, the average holding time for a given arrival time, the average fuel
consumption during the average holding time, an average fuel burn for an entire trip, and an
expected new arrival time given the average holding time," as recited in claim 3.” [Arguments, page 9].
In response, Applicant’s arguments are considered but are not persuasive. With regard to the fuel consumption elements, Applicant’s arguments with regard to the determination of an average fuel consumption have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Examiner relies upon the newly cited Irrgang reference as detailed below.
With regard to the remainder of the interface display elements, Examiner directs the Applicant to (Sharma, ¶ 26, Examples described herein may update airlines on traffic congestion and delay time durations to help manage aircraft movements (e.g., take off time (discloses scheduled departure time) or aircraft usage) using real-time big data and to minimise delays in longer term), (Id., ¶ 15, a method for controlling a speed of an aircraft approaching an airport is disclosed. Real-time data (e.g., an altitude, speed, direction, and position) associated with aircrafts in and around an airport (e.g., using ADS-B transmissions from aircrafts), real-time weather information and/or runway unavailability at the airport may be obtained. Further, a holding time associated with an aircraft that is approaching the airport for landing on a particular standard terminal arrival route (discloses scheduled arrival time and holding time) (STAR)/route is measured by analyzing the real-time data associated with the aircrafts, the real-time weather information and/or the runway unavailability. Furthermore, when holding is detected in that route, a revised speed advisory is determined for the aircraft based on the holding time and the revised speed advisory is sent to a computer (e.g., class 2 navigation calculator (IPad)) and a flight management system on-board the aircraft. The speed of the aircraft is controlled based on the revised speed advisory taking into account the surrounding aircraft spacing for safety separation using ADS-B positions), and to (Id., ¶ 23, When holding is detected in that route, a target speed to fly (i.e., revised speed advisory) for an inbound aircraft is computed to absorb/avoid the delay by reducing the inbound aircraft's speed into the vicinity or by speeding up and/or requesting an alternate standard terminal arrival route (STAR)/runway based on availability. Then, the target speed to fly may be communicated to the inbound aircraft's computing system (e.g., flight performance and navigation computer). When ATC/other aircraft clearances permit then the target speed to fly is transferred into flight management system to fly the aircraft based on the target speed to fly and hence may optimise the arrival time (discloses updated arrival time based on the holding time) away from the periods of congestion at the airport. For example, services for air traffic management (ATM)/Runway/airport capacity assessment can be performed using open data and ADS-B data).
Here, Sharma discloses departure/arrival and holding times according to the original schedule and optimized new schedule. Thus, Examiner maintains that the combination of Sharma and Irrgang render the above-argued limitations obvious. As such, Examiner remains unpersuaded.
Third, Applicant argues that “Next, Sharma does not expressly or necessarily describe, teach, or suggest "wherein the control unit is further configured to automatically select one of the different schedule options for the aircraft," as recited in claim 5. Claim 15 recites similar limitations. Sharma does not expressly or necessarily describe, teach, or suggest automatically selection among multiple
different schedule options. For at least these additional reasons, Sharma does not anticipate
claims 5 and 15.
Additionally, Sharma does not expressly or necessarily describe, teach, or suggest
"wherein the control unit is further configured to present an indicator on a display, wherein the
indicator shows the one or more alterations, a suggested airspeed range showing an upper limit
and a lower limit, a current airspeed, and a recommended airspeed," as recited in claim 9. Claim
19 recites similar limitations. For at least these additional reasons, Sharma does not anticipate
claims 9 and 19”” [Arguments, page 9].
In response, Applicant’s arguments are considered but are not persuasive. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Examiner respectfully maintains that Sharma renders the above claims obvious for the reasons set forth in the rejection below. As such, Examiner remains unpersuaded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-19 and 21 are directed to statutory categories, namely a machine (claims 1-10 and 21), and a process (claims 11-19).
Step 2A, Prong 1: Claims 1 and 11, in part, recite the following abstract idea:
…configured to: determine an average holding time for multiple other aircraft that have previously landed and are awaiting to land at an arrival airport where the aircraft is scheduled to arrive; determine an average fuel consumption for the average holding time; and determine different schedule options for the aircraft based on the average holding time, wherein each of the one or more different schedule options differs in at least one respect from an original schedule for the aircraft [Claim 1],
…A method comprising: operating… according to an original schedule; determining, by…, an average holding time for multiple other aircraft that have previously landed or are awaiting to land at an arrival airport where an aircraft is scheduled to arrive; determining, by… average fuel consumption for the average holding time; and determining, by… one or more different schedule options for the aircraft based on the average holding time, wherein each of the different schedule options differs in at least one respect from the original schedule [Claim 11].
These concepts are not meaningfully different than the following concepts identified by the MPEP:
Concepts relating to certain methods of organizing human activity. The aforementioned limitations describe steps for managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions. Specifically, determining scheduling options for an aircraft based on average holding times at an airport is considered to be steps for managing interactions between people. As such, claims 1 and 11 recite concepts identified as abstract ideas.
The dependent claims recite limitations relative to the independent claims, including, for example:
…wherein the aircraft is operated according to the one or more different schedule options [Claim 2],
…further comprising …including a display, wherein the control unit is configured to present the one or more different schedule options on the display [Claim 3],
…wherein … is onboard the aircraft [Claim 4],
…wherein … is further configured to automatically select the one or more different schedule options for the aircraft [Claim 5].
The limitations of these dependent claims are merely narrowing the abstract idea identified in the independent claims, and thus, the dependent claims also recite abstract ideas.
Step 2A, Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claims 1 and 11 only recite the following additional elements –
A system comprising: an aircraft including controls and a position sensor; and a control unit… [Claim 1],
… an aircraft including controls and a position sensor…; …a control unit…; …the control unit…; …the control unit… [Claim 11].
The dependent claims recite the following new additional elements
… a user interface… [Claim 3],
….an artificial intelligence or machine learning system [Claim 10].
The apparatus and executable instructions are recited at a high-level of generality (see MPEP § 2106.05(a)), like the following MPEP example:
iii. Gathering and analyzing information using conventional techniques and displaying the result, TLI Communications, 823 F.3d at 612-13, 118 USPQ2d at 1747-48;
Furthermore, the computer implemented element is considered to amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (see MPEP 2106.05(f)), like the following MPEP example:
i. A commonplace business method or mathematical algorithm being applied on a general purpose computer, Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. V. CLS Bank Int’l, 573 U.S. 208, 223, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1983 (2014); Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 64, 175 USPQ 673, 674 (1972); Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015);
Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The remaining dependent claims do not recite any new additional elements, and thus do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B: Claims 1 and 11 and their underlying limitations, steps, features and terms, considered both individually and as a whole, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the following reasons:
Independent claims 1 and 11 only recite the following additional elements –
A system comprising: an aircraft including controls and a position sensor; and a control unit… [Claim 1],
… an aircraft including controls and a position sensor…; …a control unit…; …the control unit…; …the control unit… [Claim 11].
These elements do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea for the reasons discussed in 2A prong 2 with regard to MPEP 2106.05(a) and MPEP 2106.05(f). By the failure of the elements to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application there, the additional elements likewise fail to amount to an inventive concept that is significantly more than an abstract idea here, in Step 2B.
As such, both individually or in combination, these limitations do not add significantly more to the judicial exception.
The remaining dependent claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the dependent claims do not recite any new additional elements other than those mentioned in the independent claims, which amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). As such, these claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma, U.S. Publication No. 2018/0107227 [hereinafter Sharma] in view of Irrgang et al., U.S. Publication No. 2015/0279218 [hereinafter Irrgang].
Regarding Claim 1, Sharma anticipates …A system comprising: an aircraft including controls and a position sensor (Sharma, ¶ 15, a method for controlling a speed of an aircraft approaching an airport is disclosed. Real-time data (e.g., an altitude, speed, direction, and position) associated with aircrafts in and around an airport (e.g., using ADS-B transmissions from aircrafts), real-time weather information and/or runway unavailability at the airport may be obtained. Further, a holding time associated with an aircraft that is approaching the airport for landing on a particular standard terminal arrival route (STAR)/route is measured by analyzing the real-time data associated with the aircrafts, the real-time weather information and/or the runway unavailability. Furthermore, when holding is detected in that route, a revised speed advisory is determined for the aircraft based on the holding time and the revised speed advisory is sent to a computer (e.g., class 2 navigation calculator (IPad)) and a flight management system on-board the aircraft. The speed of the aircraft is controlled based on the revised speed advisory taking into account the surrounding aircraft spacing for safety separation using ADS-B positions (discloses aircraft controls and position sensor)), (Id., ¶ 32, The ground-based system 100 may receive information from a plurality of input sources to measure holding time for the aircraft 112 that is approaching the airport for landing. In one example, the aircraft speed recommending engine 106 may obtain real-time data 116 associated with the aircrafts in and around an airport, real-time weather information 118, and runaway unavailability 120 at the airport. For example, the aircraft speed recommending engine 106 may obtain the real-time data associated with the aircrafts in and around the airport using ADS-B transmissions from the aircrafts/aircraft sensors. The real-time data 116 may include ADS-B data such as an altitude, speed, direction, intent (e.g., flight plans) and position (e.g., latitude and longitude) of the aircrafts in and around the airport. The ground-based system 100 may include receivers to receive the ADS-B signals from the aircrafts in and around the airport. Alternately, real-time data 116 can also be obtained from radar, ATC and the like);
and a control unit configured to: determine an average holding time for multiple other aircraft that have previously landed and are awaiting to land at an arrival airport where the aircraft is scheduled to arrive (Sharma, ¶ 45, FIG. 2 is a block diagram depicting example input data sources for determining the holding time and revised speed advisory for an aircraft. The input data sources may provide real-time data associated with the aircrafts in and around the airport, the real-time weather information at the airport, runway unavailability at the airport, and historical data to a ground-based system 200. For example, the ATC 202, ADS-B 204, aircraft sensors 206, and/or radar 208 may provide real-time data associated with the aircrafts in and around the airport. MET 210, ATC 202, and aircraft sensors 206 may provide real-time weather related information at the airport. NOTAM 212 may provide runway unavailability information at the airport. Navigation charts 214, historical database 216, airline information 218 and airport information 220 may provide pre-stored historical data such as schedule, approach, departure information, and arrival route (e.g., STAR) of the aircrafts flying in and out of the airport, historical data associated with weather related disturbances, and/or historical data associated with runway unavailability. Other data sources 222 can provide information related to holiday data, trade fairs, airshows, and flooding at the airports), (Id., ¶ 68, a holding time for one aircraft is determined as seen by the ADS-B receiver in the ATC airspace. Determine a moving average of the holding time (discloses determining an average holding time) if there is more than one aircraft. [0069] 7. Cross check for weather (e.g., bad visibility and rain) from METAR weather report and/or any available weather information reported by aircrafts (e.g., ADS-B/AMDAR (aircraft meteorological data relay)) to check for persistence. [0070] 8. The average delay seen during a particular time/event for the aircraft on same STAR route is what needs to be compensated for the trailing aircraft to prevent wasting time and fuel, and time/speed compensation reduction may be transmitted into the flight plan modification for the trailing aircraft. This can be performed either on-board of an aircraft (e.g., using flight management system, tablet or ipad) or can be calculated and transmitted to the aircraft from a ground-based computer. [0071] 9. The average time of hold may be used to calculate a new speed for the aircraft on the same STAR route behind holding aircraft, i.e., saving fuel in descent and also saving fuel and time spent in holding pattern), (Id., ¶ 80, The flight management system 522 may consist of a computer unit (discloses control unit) and a control display unit. The computer unit can be a standalone unit providing both the computing platform and various interfaces to other avionics. The control display unit may provide the primary human/machine interface for data entry and information display. On-board computing system 512 may include any computing device such as personal computers (PCs), tablet computers, ipads, mobile computers and the like);
and determine different schedule options for the aircraft based on the average holding time, wherein each of the different schedule options differs in at least one respect from an original schedule for the aircraft (Id., ¶ 91, The aircraft speed recommending engine 518 may determine whether the revised speed advisory can be flown taking into account real-time traffic substantially around the aircraft 510 for safety separation and send the revised speed advisory to the flight management system 522 on-board the aircraft 510 based on the determination, i.e., when there is no obstruction in a flight path associated with the aircraft 510. In another example, the revised speed advisory and/or trajectory of the aircraft 510 may be negotiated with ATC considering adjacent aircraft intent/plans and revised speed advisory or trajectory may be sent to the aircraft's flight management system 522 to fly at the revised speed to avoid the congestion upon accepting the revised speed advisory by the pilot. In one example, when ATC/other aircraft clearances permit, the revised speed advisory may be provided into flight management system 522 to fly the aircraft 510 based on the revised speed advisory), (Id., ¶ 93, In one example, the revised speed advisory can be accepted by a pilot flying the aircraft 510 to arrive at the congested airspace slower and burn less fuel at a lower throttle setting. Further, a long period of circling by entering the congested airspace at an original speed, can be avoided, as previous aircrafts would have been cleared due to time added to an arrival time of the aircraft 510 (discloses determining different schedule options based on an average holding time). In some examples, the aircraft 510 can fly faster to reach the airport before congestion increases (e.g., to avoid significant circling) when the situation is predicted to worsen (e.g., local weather/visibility conditions likely to worsen making landing difficult and/or many scheduled arrivals during or after that time). Conditions of the airspace around the airport can be tracked at regular intervals of time to assess the congestion and to further revise speed advisory, if needed), (Id., ¶ 80, The flight management system 522 may consist of a computer unit (discloses control unit) and a control display unit. The computer unit can be a standalone unit providing both the computing platform and various interfaces to other avionics. The control display unit may provide the primary human/machine interface for data entry and information display. On-board computing system 512 may include any computing device such as personal computers (PCs), tablet computers, ipads, mobile computers and the like).
While suggested in at least Fig. 1 and related text, Sharma does not explicitly disclose …determine average fuel consumption for the average holding time.
However, Irrgang discloses … determine average fuel consumption for the average holding time (Irrgang, ¶ 40, FIG. 11A illustrates an exemplary process that embodiments of an airline fuel profiler may use to determine whether a operator-provided flight plan includes a hold fuel burn rate buffer), (Id., ¶ 112, Referring now to FIG. 11A, the airline fuel profiler 1 can implement a process 354 to determine whether the baseline flight plan 120 includes a hold fuel burn rate buffer 168. As described above, aircraft are often required to carry enough fuel to fly a holding pattern at the arrival airport for a certain period of time (e.g., 30 minutes). The amount of fuel that an aircraft needs to carry to perform the holding maneuvers can be calculated by multiplying the hold time by the fuel burn rate while flying the holding pattern. The holding pattern is often flown at a substantially constant altitude. However, the fuel burn rate may be different than the fuel burn rate during other phases of flight, such as cruise, because the holding pattern is often flown at a lower altitude than cruise. In block 356 of the process 354, the airline fuel profiler 1 can determine the hold fuel burn rate (discloses determining average fuel consumption for the holding time) in the flight plan. In block 358, the airline fuel profiler 1 can compare the fuel burn rate for holding in the flight plan to manufacturer data for hold fuel burn rate. If the hold fuel burn rate in the flight plan matches the hold fuel burn rate in the manufacturing data, then no change is made to the flight plan, as indicated in block 360. However, if the hold fuel burn rate in the flight plan exceeds the hold fuel burn rates in the manufacturing data, then the airline fuel profiler 1 changes the hold fuel burn rate in the flight plan to match the hold fuel burn rates in the manufacturer data. In this process 322, the buffer criteria can include a manufacturer-provided holding fuel burn rate), (Id., ¶ 161, As another example, the airline fuel profiler 1 can examine the aircraft sensor data to analyze and update the criteria used to determine whether a flight plan includes a hold time buffer 166, and/or a hold fuel burn rate buffer 168. As discussed above, aircraft are typically put in a holding pattern at an altitude below cruising altitude and at an airspeed below cruising speed. In various embodiments, the airline fuel profiler 1 can analyze the aircraft sensor data to recognize periods of time in an actual aircraft flight where the aircraft remains at a relatively constant altitude and a constant airspeed that are below, the cruising altitude and cruising airspeed, respectively, of the flight. By measuring these times over multiple flights, the airline fuel profiler 1 can determine whether the criteria used for hold time buffer 166 can be updated. Similarly, by measuring fuel usage during the time period for holding, the airline fuel profiler 1 can calculate an average fuel burn rate for flying a holding pattern for a particular aircraft (e.g., total fuel used during holding divided by time elapsed for holding pattern). Again, the airline fuel profiler 1 can update the criteria for determining whether a flight plan includes a hold time buffer 166, and/or a hold fuel burn rate buffer 168 based on changes to the detective hold time and/or the calculated fuel burn rate).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the aircraft scheduling elements of Sharma to include the average fuel consumption elements of Irrgang in the analogous art of aircraft fuel optimization analytics.
The motivation for doing so would have been to “provide more accurate criteria for flight planning” [Irrgang, ¶ 174], wherein such improvements would benefit Sharma’s method which seeks to “save fuel burn and cost, reduce emissions, and improve environmental performance” [Sharma, ¶ 26].
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Sharma and Irrgang discloses …The system of claim 1…
Sharma further discloses …wherein the aircraft is operated according to the one or more different schedule options (Id., ¶ 92, The flight management system 522 on-board the aircraft 510 may control a speed of the aircraft 510 based on the revised speed advisory towards an end of a cruise phase and/or during a descent phase. The revised speed advisory may include an instruction to either reduce the aircraft speed, or increase the aircraft speed to avoid congestion. For example, the speed of the aircraft 510 is reduced to absorb at least some part of the holding time of the aircraft 510 by saving fuel. Alternately, the speed of the aircraft 510 can be increased to reach the airport before congestion increases, thereby saving flight time).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Sharma and Irrgang discloses …The system of claim 1…
Sharma further discloses …further comprising a user interface including a display, wherein the control unit is configured to present the different schedule options on the display, and wherein for each of the original schedule and the different schedule options, the control unit is configured to show a scheduled departure time from a departure airport, a scheduled arrival time at the arrival airport, the average holding time for a given arrival time… and an expected new arrival time given the average holding time (Id., ¶ 79, FIG. 5 is a block diagram of an example system for determining a revised speed advisory on-board an aircraft 510 based on holding time. The system includes the aircraft 510, a ground-based system 500, and a historical database 502. The aircraft 510 may be communicatively connected to the ground-based system 500 via a communication link 520. The aircraft 510 may include an on-board computing system 512 (e.g., flight performance and navigation computer) and a flight management system 522. The flight management system 522 may provide the primary navigation, flight planning, optimized route determination and en route guidance for the aircraft 510 and may include interrelated functions such as navigation, flight planning, trajectory prediction, performance computations, and/or guidance), (Id., ¶ 80, The flight management system 522 may consist of a computer unit and a control display unit. (discloses control unit) The computer unit can be a standalone unit providing both the computing platform and various interfaces to other avionics. The control display unit may provide the primary human/machine interface for data entry and information display. On-board computing system 512 may include any computing device such as personal computers (PCs), tablet computers, ipads, mobile computers and the like), (Id., ¶ 26, Examples described herein may update airlines on traffic congestion and delay time durations to help manage aircraft movements (e.g., take off time (discloses scheduled departure time) or aircraft usage) using real-time big data and to minimise delays in longer term), (Id., ¶ 15, a method for controlling a speed of an aircraft approaching an airport is disclosed. Real-time data (e.g., an altitude, speed, direction, and position) associated with aircrafts in and around an airport (e.g., using ADS-B transmissions from aircrafts), real-time weather information and/or runway unavailability at the airport may be obtained. Further, a holding time associated with an aircraft that is approaching the airport for landing on a particular standard terminal arrival route (discloses scheduled arrival time and holding time) (STAR)/route is measured by analyzing the real-time data associated with the aircrafts, the real-time weather information and/or the runway unavailability. Furthermore, when holding is detected in that route, a revised speed advisory is determined for the aircraft based on the holding time and the revised speed advisory is sent to a computer (e.g., class 2 navigation calculator (IPad)) and a flight management system on-board the aircraft. The speed of the aircraft is controlled based on the revised speed advisory taking into account the surrounding aircraft spacing for safety separation using ADS-B positions), (Id., ¶ 23, When holding is detected in that route, a target speed to fly (i.e., revised speed advisory) for an inbound aircraft is computed to absorb/avoid the delay by reducing the inbound aircraft's speed into the vicinity or by speeding up and/or requesting an alternate standard terminal arrival route (STAR)/runway based on availability. Then, the target speed to fly may be communicated to the inbound aircraft's computing system (e.g., flight performance and navigation computer). When ATC/other aircraft clearances permit then the target speed to fly is transferred into flight management system to fly the aircraft based on the target speed to fly and hence may optimise the arrival time (discloses updated arrival time based on the holding time) away from the periods of congestion at the airport. For example, services for air traffic management (ATM)/Runway/airport capacity assessment can be performed using open data and ADS-B data).
While suggested in at least Fig. 1 and related text, Sharma does not explicitly disclose …the average fuel consumption during the average holding time, an average fuel burn for an entire trip…
However, Irrgang discloses …the average fuel consumption during the average holding time, an average fuel burn for an entire trip… (Irrgang, ¶ 40, FIG. 11A illustrates an exemplary process that embodiments of an airline fuel profiler may use to determine whether a operator-provided flight plan includes a hold fuel burn rate buffer), (Id., ¶ 112, Referring now to FIG. 11A, the airline fuel profiler 1 can implement a process 354 to determine whether the baseline flight plan 120 includes a hold fuel burn rate buffer 168. As described above, aircraft are often required to carry enough fuel to fly a holding pattern at the arrival airport for a certain period of time (e.g., 30 minutes). The amount of fuel that an aircraft needs to carry to perform the holding maneuvers can be calculated by multiplying the hold time by the fuel burn rate while flying the holding pattern. The holding pattern is often flown at a substantially constant altitude. However, the fuel burn rate may be different than the fuel burn rate during other phases of flight, such as cruise, because the holding pattern is often flown at a lower altitude than cruise. In block 356 of the process 354, the airline fuel profiler 1 can determine the hold fuel burn rate (discloses determining average fuel consumption for the holding time) in the flight plan. In block 358, the airline fuel profiler 1 can compare the fuel burn rate for holding in the flight plan to manufacturer data for hold fuel burn rate. If the hold fuel burn rate in the flight plan matches the hold fuel burn rate in the manufacturing data, then no change is made to the flight plan, as indicated in block 360. However, if the hold fuel burn rate in the flight plan exceeds the hold fuel burn rates in the manufacturing data, then the airline fuel profiler 1 changes the hold fuel burn rate in the flight plan to match the hold fuel burn rates in the manufacturer data. In this process 322, the buffer criteria can include a manufacturer-provided holding fuel burn rate), (Id., ¶ 161, As another example, the airline fuel profiler 1 can examine the aircraft sensor data to analyze and update the criteria used to determine whether a flight plan includes a hold time buffer 166, and/or a hold fuel burn rate buffer 168. As discussed above, aircraft are typically put in a holding pattern at an altitude below cruising altitude and at an airspeed below cruising speed. In various embodiments, the airline fuel profiler 1 can analyze the aircraft sensor data to recognize periods of time in an actual aircraft flight where the aircraft remains at a relatively constant altitude and a constant airspeed that are below, the cruising altitude and cruising airspeed, respectively, of the flight. By measuring these times over multiple flights, the airline fuel profiler 1 can determine whether the criteria used for hold time buffer 166 can be updated. Similarly, by measuring fuel usage during the time period for holding, the airline fuel profiler 1 can calculate an average fuel burn rate for flying a holding pattern for a particular aircraft (e.g., total fuel used during holding divided by time elapsed for holding pattern). Again, the airline fuel profiler 1 can update the criteria for determining whether a flight plan includes a hold time buffer 166, and/or a hold fuel burn rate buffer 168 based on changes to the detective hold time and/or the calculated fuel burn rate), (Id., ¶ 5, Embodiments described herein provide a system for analyzing a flight planning model to identify buffers contained therein and to remove them. As a result, the model can provide a more accurate estimate of the amount of fuel that will be used in a given flight. (discloses average fuel burn for a trip) In various embodiments, the identification and removal of these buffers can include providing a cost analysis of what these buffers cost in terms of fuel load carried by the aircraft).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the aircraft scheduling elements of Sharma to include the average fuel consumption elements of Irrgang in the analogous art of aircraft fuel optimization analytics for the same reasons as stated for claim 1.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Sharma and Irrgang discloses …The system of claim 3…
Sharma further discloses …wherein the user interface is onboard the aircraft (Id., ¶ 80, The flight management system 522 may consist of a computer unit and a control display unit. The computer unit can be a standalone unit providing both the computing platform and various interfaces to other avionics. The control display unit may provide the primary human/machine interface for data entry and information display. On-board computing system 512 (discloses onboard interface) may include any computing device such as personal computers (PCs), tablet computers, ipads, mobile computers and the like).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Sharma and Irrgang discloses …The system of claim 1…
Sharma further discloses …wherein the control unit is further configured to automatically select one of the different schedule options for the aircraft (Id., ¶ 19, Furthermore, the holding time may be communicated to an on-board computing system of the aircraft via a ground to air communication link. Furthermore, when holding is detected in that route, a revised speed advisory for the aircraft may be determined based on the holding time by a speed recommending engine residing in memory of the on-board computing system. The revised speed advisory is communicated to a flight management system on-board the aircraft. Furthermore, a speed of the aircraft is controlled based on the revised speed advisory by the flight management system. The speed of the aircraft is controlled based on the revised speed advisory taking into account the surrounding aircraft spacing for safety separation using ADS-B positions), (Id., ¶ 20, In another example, an aircraft that is approaching an airport for landing may include an on-board computing system and a flight management system communicatively coupled to the on-board computing system. The on-board computing system may include a processor, and memory coupled to the processor. The memory may include an aircraft speed recommending engine to obtain a holding time associated with the aircraft that is approaching the airport for landing from at least one ground-based system via a ground to air communication link and determine a revised speed advisory for the aircraft based on the holding time. The flight management system may modify a speed of the aircraft based on the revised speed advisory), (Id., ¶ 21, In yet another example, an aircraft that is approaching an airport for landing may include an on-board computing system. The on-board computing system may include a speed recommending engine to obtain real time data associated with aircrafts in vicinity of the aircraft and the airport using ADS-B transmission from the aircrafts. Further, the aircraft speed recommending engine may obtain real time weather information at the airport using at least one of the ADS-B transmission from the aircrafts and a ground to air communication link from at least one ground-based system. The speed recommending engine may obtain runway unavailability at the airport from at least one ground-based system via a ground to air communication link. The speed recommending engine may measure a holding time associated with the aircraft that is approaching the airport for landing based on the analysis of the real-time data associated with the aircrafts, the real-time weather information and/or the runway unavailability. The speed recommending engine may determine a revised speed advisory for the aircraft based on the holding time. Further, the flight management system may modify a speed of the aircraft based on the revised speed advisory).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Sharma and Irrgang discloses …The system of claim 1…
Sharma further discloses …wherein the control unit is further configured to automatically operate one or more controls of the aircraft to automatically operate the aircraft according to one of the different schedule options (Id., ¶ 19, Furthermore, the holding time may be communicated to an on-board computing system of the aircraft via a ground to air communication link. Furthermore, when holding is detected in that route, a revised speed advisory for the aircraft may be determined based on the holding time by a speed recommending engine residing in memory of the on-board computing system. The revised speed advisory is communicated to a flight management system on-board the aircraft. Furthermore, a speed of the aircraft is controlled based on the revised speed advisory by the flight management system. The speed of the aircraft is controlled based on the revised speed advisory taking into account the surrounding aircraft spacing for safety separation using ADS-B positions), (Id., ¶ 80, The flight management system 522 may consist of a computer unit and a control display unit. The computer unit can be a standalone unit providing both the computing platform and various interfaces to other avionics. The control display unit may provide the primary human/machine interface for data entry and information display. On-board computing system 512 may include any computing device such as personal computers (PCs), tablet computers, ipads, mobile computers and the like), (Id., ¶ 4, The on-board computing system includes: a processor; and memory coupled to the processor. The memory comprises computer executable instructions that, when executed by the processor when the aircraft is approaching an airport for landing, cause the on-board computing system to: obtain a holding time associated with the aircraft from at least one ground-based system via a ground to air communication link, wherein the holding time associated with the aircraft is computed based on at least one of traffic congestion in and around the airport, real time weather information at the airport, and runway unavailability at the airport; and determine a revised speed advisory for the aircraft based on the holding time. The flight management system is to modify a speed of the aircraft based on the revised speed advisory (discloses automatically operating aircraft controls)).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Sharma and Irrgang discloses …The system of claim 1…
Sharma further discloses …wherein the control unit is further configured to determine one or more alterations to one or more aspects of the aircraft during flight based on the average holding time (Id., ¶ 19, Furthermore, the holding time may be communicated to an on-board computing system of the aircraft via a ground to air communication link. Furthermore, when holding is detected in that route, a revised speed advisory for the aircraft may be determined based on the holding time by a speed recommending engine residing in memory of the on-board computing system. The revised speed advisory is communicated to a flight management system on-board the aircraft. Furthermore, a speed of the aircraft is controlled based on the revised speed advisory by the flight management system. The speed of the aircraft is controlled based on the revised speed advisory taking into account the surrounding aircraft spacing for safety separation using ADS-B positions), (Id., ¶ 80, The flight management system 522 may consist of a computer unit and a control display unit. The computer unit can be a standalone unit providing both the computing platform and various interfaces to other avionics. The control display unit may provide the primary human/machine interface for data entry and information display. On-board computing system 512 may include any computing device such as personal computers (PCs), tablet computers, ipads, mobile computers and the like).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Sharma and Irrgang discloses …The system of claim 7…
Sharma further discloses … wherein the one or more aspects comprise airspeed (Id., ¶ 19, Furthermore, the holding time may be communicated to an on-board computing system of the aircraft via a ground to air communication link. Furthermore, when holding is detected in that route, a revised speed advisory for the aircraft may be determined based on the holding time by a speed recommending engine residing in memory of the on-board computing system. The revised speed advisory is communicated to a flight management system on-board the aircraft. Furthermore, a speed of the aircraft is controlled based on the revised speed advisory by the flight management system. The speed of the aircraft is controlled based on the revised speed advisory taking into account the surrounding aircraft spacing for safety separation using ADS-B positions), (Id., ¶ 80, The flight management system 522 may consist of a computer unit and a control display unit. The computer unit can be a standalone unit providing both the computing platform and various interfaces to other avionics. The control display unit may provide the primary human/machine interface for data entry and information display. On-board computing system 512 may include any computing device such as personal computers (PCs), tablet computers, ipads, mobile computers and the like).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Sharma and Irrgang discloses …The system of claim 7…
Sharma further discloses …wherein the control unit is further configured to present an indicator on a display, wherein the indicator shows the one or more alterations, a suggested airspeed range showing an upper limit and a lower limit, a current airspeed, and a recommended airspeed. (Id., ¶ 80, The flight management system 522 may consist of a computer unit and a control display unit. (discloses display) The computer unit can be a standalone unit providing both the computing platform and various interfaces to other avionics. The control display unit may provide the primary human/machine interface for data entry and information display. On-board computing system 512 may include any computing device such as personal computers (PCs), tablet computers, ipads, mobile computers and the like), (Id., ¶ 73, In one example, the revised speed advisory may be sent to the flight navigation and performance computer on-board the aircraft by determining whether the revised speed advisory can be flown taking into account real-time traffic substantially around the aircraft for safety separation and sending the revised speed advisory to the flight navigation and performance computer on-board the aircraft when there is no obstruction in a flight path associated with the aircraft. The speed of the aircraft may be controlled towards an end of a cruise phase and/or during a descent phase), (Id., ¶ 57, For example, detecting holds/loops associated with the detected flights may be as follows: [0058] 1. Consider a holding period per circle is ˜4 minutes (e.g., range of 3-5 minutes) at a speed in the range of 220-280 Knots. (disclose suggested airspeed range) [0059] 2. A closed loop may be identified, when two reported coordinates are found to be closer than 1 KM, for example, within the time interval), (Id., ¶ 61, At 308, a revised speed advisory for the aircraft may be determined (discloses recommended airspeed) based on the holding time. In one example, the revised speed advisory may be determined by converting the measured holding time associated with the aircraft into fuel savings or time savings along a flight path associated with the aircraft. The revised speed advisory may reduce the speed of the aircraft to absorb at least some part of the holding time of the aircraft by saving fuel or increase the speed of the aircraft to reach the airport before congestion increases by saving flight time), (Id., ¶ 82, The real-time data 504 may include ADS-B data such as an altitude, speed, (discloses current speed) direction, intent (e.g., flight plans) and position (e.g., latitude and longitude) of the aircrafts in and around the airport. The ground-based system 500 may include receivers to receive the ADS-B signals from the aircrafts in and around the airport. Alternately, real-time data 504 can also be obtained from radar, ATC and the like).
Regarding Claim 10, Sharma anticipates …The system of claim 1…
While suggested in at least Fig. 1 and related text, Sharma does not explicitly disclose …wherein the control unit is an artificial intelligence or machine learning system.
However, Irrgang discloses …wherein the control unit is an artificial intelligence or machine learning system (Irrgang, ¶ 89, The airline fuel profiler 1 can also analyze aircraft sensor data (e.g., high-sample-rate aircraft data retrieved from a Quick Access Recorder (“QAR”)) from cumulative flights of an aircraft. The airline fuel profiler 1 can analyze portions of the Aircraft sensor data captured at steady-state cruise phases of flight. Through statistical analysis techniques, such as linear regression, non-linear regression, and/or machine learning, the airline fuel profiler 1 can provide an indication of whether fuel economy (nautical miles per hour divided by fuel flow (in pounds per hour)) is decreasing over time and how much of a decrease is due to engine wear, airframe drag, and/or weight variance (e.g., the passengers getting heavier). The engine wear, airframe drag, and/or weight variances can be fed back into the aggregated observed distribution of flight operations data 8 of the airline fuel profiler 1 to update the flight planning model for particular aircraft)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the holding time and schedule determination elements of Sharma to include the machine learning elements of Irrgang in the analogous art of aircraft fuel optimization analytics for the same reasons as stated for claim 1.
Regarding Claim 11, Sharma discloses …A method comprising: operating an aircraft including controls and a position sensor according to an original schedule (Sharma, ¶ 15, a method for controlling a speed of an aircraft approaching an airport is disclosed. Real-time data (e.g., an altitude, speed, direction, and position) associated with aircrafts in and around an airport (e.g., using ADS-B transmissions from aircrafts), real-time weather information and/or runway unavailability at the airport may be obtained. Further, a holding time associated with an aircraft that is approaching the airport for landing on a particular standard terminal arrival route (STAR)/route is measured by analyzing the real-time data associated with the aircrafts, the real-time weather information and/or the runway unavailability. Furthermore, when holding is detected in that route, a revised speed advisory is determined for the aircraft based on the holding time and the revised speed advisory is sent to a computer (e.g., class 2 navigation calculator (IPad)) and a flight management system on-board the aircraft. The speed of the aircraft is controlled based on the revised speed advisory taking into account the surrounding aircraft spacing for safety separation using ADS-B positions (discloses aircraft controls and position sensor)), (Id., ¶ 32, The ground-based system 100 may receive information from a plurality of input sources to measure holding time for the aircraft 112 that is approaching the airport for landing. In one example, the aircraft speed recommending engine 106 may obtain real-time data 116 associated with the aircrafts in and around an airport, real-time weather information 118, and runaway unavailability 120 at the airport. For example, the aircraft speed recommending engine 106 may obtain the real-time data associated with the aircrafts in and around the airport using ADS-B transmissions from the aircrafts/aircraft sensors. The real-time data 116 may include ADS-B data such as an altitude, speed, direction, intent (e.g., flight plans) and position (e.g., latitude and longitude) of the aircrafts in and around the airport. The ground-based system 100 may include receivers to receive the ADS-B signals from the aircrafts in and around the airport. Alternately, real-time data 116 can also be obtained from radar, ATC and the like);
determining, by a control unit, an average holding time for multiple other aircraft that have previously landed and are awaiting to land at an arrival airport where the aircraft is scheduled to arrive (Sharma, ¶ 45, FIG. 2 is a block diagram depicting example input data sources for determining the holding time and revised speed advisory for an aircraft. The input data sources may provide real-time data associated with the aircrafts in and around the airport, the real-time weather information at the airport, runway unavailability at the airport, and historical data to a ground-based system 200. For example, the ATC 202, ADS-B 204, aircraft sensors 206, and/or radar 208 may provide real-time data associated with the aircrafts in and around the airport. MET 210, ATC 202, and aircraft sensors 206 may provide real-time weather related information at the airport. NOTAM 212 may provide runway unavailability information at the airport. Navigation charts 214, historical database 216, airline information 218 and airport information 220 may provide pre-stored historical data such as schedule, approach, departure information, and arrival route (e.g., STAR) of the aircrafts flying in and out of the airport, historical data associated with weather related disturbances, and/or historical data associated with runway unavailability. Other data sources 222 can provide information related to holiday data, trade fairs, airshows, and flooding at the airports), (Id., ¶ 68, a holding time for one aircraft is determined as seen by the ADS-B receiver in the ATC airspace. Determine a moving average of the holding time (discloses determining an average holding time) if there is more than one aircraft. [0069] 7. Cross check for weather (e.g., bad visibility and rain) from METAR weather report and/or any available weather information reported by aircrafts (e.g., ADS-B/AMDAR (aircraft meteorological data relay)) to check for persistence. [0070] 8. The average delay seen during a particular time/event for the aircraft on same STAR route is what needs to be compensated for the trailing aircraft to prevent wasting time and fuel, and time/speed compensation reduction may be transmitted into the flight plan modification for the trailing aircraft. This can be performed either on-board of an aircraft (e.g., using flight management system, tablet or ipad) or can be calculated and transmitted to the aircraft from a ground-based computer. [0071] 9. The average time of hold may be used to calculate a new speed for the aircraft on the same STAR route behind holding aircraft, i.e., saving fuel in descent and also saving fuel and time spent in holding pattern), (Id., ¶ 80, The flight management system 522 may consist of a computer unit (discloses control unit) and a control display unit. The computer unit can be a standalone unit providing both the computing platform and various interfaces to other avionics. The control display unit may provide the primary human/machine interface for data entry and information display. On-board computing system 512 may include any computing device such as personal computers (PCs), tablet computers, ipads, mobile computers and the like);
and determining, by the control unit, different schedule options for the aircraft based on the average holding time, wherein each of the different schedule options differs in at least one respect from the original schedule (Id., ¶ 91, The aircraft speed recommending engine 518 may determine whether the revised speed advisory can be flown taking into account real-time traffic substantially around the aircraft 510 for safety separation and send the revised speed advisory to the flight management system 522 on-board the aircraft 510 based on the determination, i.e., when there is no obstruction in a flight path associated with the aircraft 510. In another example, the revised speed advisory and/or trajectory of the aircraft 510 may be negotiated with ATC considering adjacent aircraft intent/plans and revised speed advisory or trajectory may be sent to the aircraft's flight management system 522 to fly at the revised speed to avoid the congestion upon accepting the revised speed advisory by the pilot. In one example, when ATC/other aircraft clearances permit, the revised speed advisory may be provided into flight management system 522 to fly the aircraft 510 based on the revised speed advisory), (Id., ¶ 93, In one example, the revised speed advisory can be accepted by a pilot flying the aircraft 510 to arrive at the congested airspace slower and burn less fuel at a lower throttle setting. Further, a long period of circling by entering the congested airspace at an original speed, can be avoided, as previous aircrafts would have been cleared due to time added to an arrival time of the aircraft 510 (discloses determining different schedule options based on an average holding time). In some examples, the aircraft 510 can fly faster to reach the airport before congestion increases (e.g., to avoid significant circling) when the situation is predicted to worsen (e.g., local weather/visibility conditions likely to worsen making landing difficult and/or many scheduled arrivals during or after that time). Conditions of the airspace around the airport can be tracked at regular intervals of time to assess the congestion and to further revise speed advisory, if needed), (Id., ¶ 80, The flight management system 522 may consist of a computer unit (discloses control unit) and a control display unit. The computer unit can be a standalone unit providing both the computing platform and various interfaces to other avionics. The control display unit may provide the primary human/machine interface for data entry and information display. On-board computing system 512 may include any computing device such as personal computers (PCs), tablet computers, ipads, mobile computers and the like).
While suggested in at least Fig. 1 and related text, Sharma does not explicitly disclose …determining, by the control unit, average fuel consumption for the average holding time.
However, Irrgang discloses … determining, by the control unit, average fuel consumption for the average holding time (Irrgang, ¶ 40, FIG. 11A illustrates an exemplary process that embodiments of an airline fuel profiler may use to determine whether a operator-provided flight plan includes a hold fuel burn rate buffer), (Id., ¶ 112, Referring now to FIG. 11A, the airline fuel profiler 1 can implement a process 354 to determine whether the baseline flight plan 120 includes a hold fuel burn rate buffer 168. As described above, aircraft are often required to carry enough fuel to fly a holding pattern at the arrival airport for a certain period of time (e.g., 30 minutes). The amount of fuel that an aircraft needs to carry to perform the holding maneuvers can be calculated by multiplying the hold time by the fuel burn rate while flying the holding pattern. The holding pattern is often flown at a substantially constant altitude. However, the fuel burn rate may be different than the fuel burn rate during other phases of flight, such as cruise, because the holding pattern is often flown at a lower altitude than cruise. In block 356 of the process 354, the airline fuel profiler 1 can determine the hold fuel burn rate (discloses determining average fuel consumption for the holding time) in the flight plan. In block 358, the airline fuel profiler 1 can compare the fuel burn rate for holding in the flight plan to manufacturer data for hold fuel burn rate. If the hold fuel burn rate in the flight plan matches the hold fuel burn rate in the manufacturing data, then no change is made to the flight plan, as indicated in block 360. However, if the hold fuel burn rate in the flight plan exceeds the hold fuel burn rates in the manufacturing data, then the airline fuel profiler 1 (discloses control unit) changes the hold fuel burn rate in the flight plan to match the hold fuel burn rates in the manufacturer data. In this process 322, the buffer criteria can include a manufacturer-provided holding fuel burn rate), (Id., ¶ 161, As another example, the airline fuel profiler 1 can examine the aircraft sensor data to analyze and update the criteria used to determine whether a flight plan includes a hold time buffer 166, and/or a hold fuel burn rate buffer 168. As discussed above, aircraft are typically put in a holding pattern at an altitude below cruising altitude and at an airspeed below cruising speed. In various embodiments, the airline fuel profiler 1 can analyze the aircraft sensor data to recognize periods of time in an actual aircraft flight where the aircraft remains at a relatively constant altitude and a constant airspeed that are below, the cruising altitude and cruising airspeed, respectively, of the flight. By measuring these times over multiple flights, the airline fuel profiler 1 can determine whether the criteria used for hold time buffer 166 can be updated. Similarly, by measuring fuel usage during the time period for holding, the airline fuel profiler 1 can calculate an average fuel burn rate for flying a holding pattern for a particular aircraft (e.g., total fuel used during holding divided by time elapsed for holding pattern). Again, the airline fuel profiler 1 can update the criteria for determining whether a flight plan includes a hold time buffer 166, and/or a hold fuel burn rate buffer 168 based on changes to the detective hold time and/or the calculated fuel burn rate).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the aircraft scheduling elements of Sharma to include the average fuel consumption elements of Irrgang in the analogous art of aircraft fuel optimization analytics.
Regarding Claims 12-19, these claims recite limitations substantially similar to those in claims 2-9, respectively, and are rejected for the same reasons as stated above.
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Sharma and Irrgang discloses …The system of claim 1…
Sharma further discloses …wherein each of the different schedule options differs in relation to three or more of departure time, arrival time, holding time, airspeed during one or more phases of flight, altitude during the one or more phases of flight, or a flight path during the one or more phases of flight (Id., ¶ 39, The flight management system 110 on-board the aircraft 112 may control a speed of the aircraft 112 based on the revised speed advisory towards an end of a cruise phase and/or during a descent phase. The revised speed advisory may include an instruction to either reduce the aircraft speed, or increase the aircraft speed to avoid congestion. For example, the speed of the aircraft 112 is reduced to absorb at least some part of the holding time (discloses differing airspeed, holding time and arrival time) of the aircraft 112 by saving fuel. Alternately, the speed of the aircraft 112 can be increased to reach the airport before congestion increases, thereby saving flight time).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Schwartz et al., U.S. Publication No. 2018/0286257 discloses an aircraft flight path holding pattern system and method.
Kneuper et al., U.S. Patent No. 10,019,905 discloses an aircraft holding pattern analysis system and method.
/NICHOLAS D BOLEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3624
/PATRICIA H MUNSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3624