Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: processing units in claims 1,3-8 & base unit(s) in claims 4-5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2,6-7,9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lill (US 9,818,633) in view of Hofmeister (8,602,706).
Re claims 1,9, Lill teaches a semiconductor manufacturing apparatus 10, comprising: a front end module 100 with a load port 130 to which a conveyance container 135 is connected; and a plurality of processing units 160,190, configured to process a semiconductor substrate, disposed around the front end module in a plan view from a normal direction of the upper surface of the front end module, and each connected to the front end module from at least two directions (figures 2,7,etc.) in the plan view, wherein the semiconductor substrate is conveyed between the conveyance container and the processing units via the front end module.
Lill teaches movable robot 180 that moves between rows of chambers but not each of the plurality of processing units includes at least one conveyance device configured to convey the semiconductor substrate along two rows of chambers within the processing unit. However, Lill in paragraph 33 and elsewhere states that other types of process unit arrangements may be used. Hofmeister (see figures such as 7,2-6,etc.) teaches a similar semiconductor manufacturing apparatus with a plurality of processing units 18A,18B, etc. including at least one conveyance device 22,122,406 configured to convey the semiconductor substrate along two rows of chambers 20,301,302 within the processing unit. It would have been obvious to have modified Lill in view of Hofmeister as claimed in order to allow greater variation in process chamber numbers, types and layouts of processing units to meet the needs of varied given situations, available space and other given requirements.
Re claim 2, Lill & Lill as already modified teaches the processing units include a plurality of processing chambers (200,205; 20,301,302) each configured to process semiconductor substrate.
Re claim 6, Lill teaches the conveyance container includes a front opening unified pod 135.
Re claim 7, Lill teaches the conveyance container is configured to transfer the substrate.
Claims 3,8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lill (US 9,818,633) in view of Hofmeister (8,602,706) & Jeong (KR10-2018-0045316).
Re claims 3,8, Lill teaches (see claim 1 rejection above & included herein this claim rejection) the processing units are connected to the front end module from two (front / back) rather than four directions orthogonal to each other in the plan view. Jeong teaches a similar semiconductor manufacturing apparatus with a top loading (figure 2, FOUPs10 enter/exit via 143) front end module 100 with processing units 230 on left / right sides as well as front (back) sides. Also duplication and rearrangement of parts is an obvious modification (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960); In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to have modified Lill in view of Jeong as claimed in order to have the processing units connected to the front end module from four directions orthogonal to each other in the plan view as claimed in order to allow greater processing, layout and handling capabilities to fit the needs of a varied space limitations and processing needs.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lill (US 9,818,633) in view of Hofmeister (8,602,706) & Chen (US 8,944,739).
Re claim 4, Lill does not teach a plurality of base units connected to each other while sharing one of the processing units, wherein the plurality of processing units are connected to the front end module as a base unit. Chen teaches multiple base unit front end modules (EFEMs) (see figures, not numbered) connected & sharing processing units (see figures) with FOUPs 50 transferring overhead. Also duplication and rearrangement of parts is an obvious modification (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960); In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to have modified Lill in view of Chen as claimed in order to allow greater processing, layout and handling capabilities to fit the needs of a varied space limitations and processing needs.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lill (US 9,818,633) in view of Hofmeister (8,602,706), Chen (US 8,944,739) and Bachrach (US 6,698,991).
Re claim 5, Lill teaches a controller 156 with a method for monitoring & designating paths for the wafers to be moved through the semiconductor manufacturing apparatus & communicating with other EFEMs, load ports, etc. (columns 9-12). Bachrach teaches a semiconductor manufacturing apparatus with multiple base unit front end modules & load ports LP with a method of monitoring operation that can detect abnormalities (need for repair, maintenance, etc.) and reroute to non-abnormal units with shared connections (figures 1-5, column 3 lines 23-32, column 4 lines 38-colunm 5 line 15) to give a fault tolerant system and backup ability to allow continuous production. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to have modified Lill as claimed in order to have a fault tolerant system and backup ability to allow continuous production.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hofmeister (US 7,959,395) teaches (abstract, cover) a similar semiconductor apparatus with conveyances devices.
Bonora (US 8,851,817) teaches (abstract, cover) a similar semiconductor apparatus with conveyances devices.
Janakiraman (US 10,056,279) teaches (abstract, cover, figures 3C,5A) a similar semiconductor apparatus with conveyances devices.
Shindo (US 11,961,758) teaches (abstract, cover, figures 1,8) a similar semiconductor apparatus with conveyances devices.
Applicant's arguments filed 3/30/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued against 112F claim interpretation of processing units in claim 1,3-8 and base unit(s) in claims 4-5. However, there are nonce terms unit(s) with functional language (unit for processing, unit for base(ing)) without sufficient modifying structure, etc. for performing the claimed function. One of ordinary skill would not have understood the terms to have sufficient definite meaning / structure.
Applicant argued that the claims as amended did not have the conveying device as claimed. As shown above Hofmeister has been added and Lill as modified teaches the claimed limitations.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MICHAEL S. LOWE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3652
/MICHAEL S LOWE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652