DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Below is the Final Action on the Merits for claims 1 – 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houssat et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0097653 A1) in view of Pieters (DE10202121009 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Houssat teaches a wiper blade (wiper, 102; Fig. 2) for a windshield (glazed surface, 2) of a vehicle (vehicle, 1; Fig. 1), the wiper blade (102) comprising: a spoiler (spoiler, 125), wherein the spoiler (125) comprises a reservoir (circulation canal, 126) configured to hold a chemical solution (Abstract); a squeegee (wiper blade, 122) coupled to the spoiler (125; Fig. 3), wherein the squeegee (122) comprises a wiping lip (Fig. 3); and a plurality of dispensing ports (plurality of orifices, 128; Fig. 3) distributed along a length of the wiper blade (102; Fig. 3), wherein the plurality of dispensing ports (128) is fluidly coupled to the reservoir (126; Abstract) and configured to dispense the chemical solution onto a surface of the windshield (2; Abstract).
Houssat does not explicitly teach a reservoir defined by the spoiler cross-section.
Pieters, however, teaches a reservoir (50) defined by the spoiler cross-section (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blade of Houssat to further include a reservoir defined by the spoiler cross-section, as taught by Pieters, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art..
Regarding Claim 2, Houssat, as modified, teaches the wiper blade (wiper, 102; Fig. 2), wherein the spoiler (125) further comprises one or more filler ports (cannula, 104) fluidly coupled to the reservoir (126; Abstract).
Regarding Claim 3, Houssat, as modified, teaches the wiper blade (wiper, 102; Fig. 2), wherein the spoiler (125) is removably coupled to the squeegee (122; Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 4, Houssat, as modified, teaches the wiper blade (wiper, 102; Fig. 2), wherein the reservoir (126) is configured to fluidly couple to a windshield washer system of the vehicle (1; Abstract).
Claims 5 – 10 and 14 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houssat et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0097653 A1) in view of Pieters (DE10202121009 A1) and Wynen (DE102008043283 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Houssat, as modified, teaches the wiper blade of claim 1 as discussed above.
Houssat does not explicitly teach each of the plurality of dispensing ports comprises a valve configured to control a release of the chemical solution therethrough.
Wynen, however, teaches the plurality of dispensing ports (ports formed in bottom wall, 38 that hold valve, 52) comprises a valve (52) configured to control a release of the chemical solution therethrough (Paragraph [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blade of Houssat to further include a valve, as taught by Wynen, to reduce strain on the washer pump by eliminating the need for the washer pump to re-prime the lines every time the fluid is sprayed.
Regarding Claim 6, Houssat, as modified, teaches the wiper blade of claim 5 as discussed above.
Houssat does not explicitly teach the valve is a pressure valve.
Wynen, however, teaches the valve is a pressure valve (Paragraph [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blade of Houssat to further include a pressure valve, as taught by Wynen, to reduce strain on the washer pump by eliminating the need for the washer pump to re-prime the lines every time the fluid is sprayed.
Regarding Claim 7, Houssat, as modified, teaches the wiper blade of claim 5 as discussed above.
Houssat as modified by Wynen does not explicitly teach the valve is a weighted valve.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blade of Houssat to further include a weighted valve, as claimed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known component on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding Claim 8, Houssat, as modified, teaches the wiper blade of claim 5 as discussed above.
Houssat as modified by Wynen does not explicitly teach the valve is a check valve.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blade of Houssat to further include a check valve, as claimed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known component on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding Claim 9, Houssat, as modified, teaches the wiper blade of claim 5 as discussed above.
Houssat does not explicitly teach wherein the valve is controlled as a function of a position of the wiping lip as the wiper blade translates across the windshield in a first direction and a second direction that is opposite that of the first direction.
Wynen, however, teaches wherein the valve (52) is controlled as a function of a position of the wiping lip as the wiper blade translates across the windshield in a first direction and a second direction that is opposite that of the first direction (Paragraph [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blade of Houssat to further include a valve, as taught by Wynen, to reduce strain on the washer pump by eliminating the need for the washer pump to re-prime the lines every time the fluid is sprayed.
Regarding Claim 10, Houssat, as modified, teaches the wiper blade of claim 9 as discussed above.
Houssat does not explicitly teach wherein the valve is open while in the first direction and is closed while in the second direction.
Wynen, however, teaches wherein the valve is open while in the first direction and is closed while in the second direction (Paragraphs [0043] and [0044].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blade of Houssat to further include a valve, as taught by Wynen, to reduce strain on the washer pump by eliminating the need for the washer pump to re-prime the lines every time the fluid is sprayed.
Claims 11 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houssat et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0097653 A1) in view of Pieters (DE10202121009 A1) and Harrington (U. S. Patent No. 1,502,821).
Regarding Claim 11, Houssat, as modified, teaches the wiper blade of claim 1 as discussed above.
Houssat does not explicitly teach wherein the chemical solution comprises a wax.
Harrington, however, teaches the chemical solution comprises a wax (Lines 42 – 47; Harrington teaches any suitable water repellant liquid; and such liquids include liquid wax based solution designed to create a hydrophobic, water-repelling barrier as taught by the art).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blade of Houssat to further include the chemical solution comprises a wax, as taught by Harrington, to improve visibility and reduce maintenance.
Regarding Claim 12, Houssat, as modified, teaches the wiper blade of claim 1 as discussed above.
Houssat does not explicitly teach wherein the chemical solution comprises a non-stick coating.
Harrington, however, teaches the chemical solution comprises a non-stick coating (Lines 42 – 47; Harrington teaches any suitable water repellant liquid; and such liquids include non-stick coating designed to create a hydrophobic, water-repelling barrier as taught by the art).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blade of Houssat to further include the chemical solution comprises a non-stick coating, as taught by Harrington, to improve visibility and reduce maintenance.
Regarding Claim 13, Houssat, as modified, teaches the wiper blade of claim 1 as discussed above.
Houssat does not explicitly teach wherein the chemical solution comprises a water repellant.
Harrington, however, teaches the chemical solution comprises a water repellant (Lines 42 – 47).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blade of Houssat to further include the chemical solution comprises a water repellent, as taught by Harrington, to improve visibility and reduce maintenance.
Claims 14 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houssat et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0097653 A1) in view Wynen (DE102008043283 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 14, Houssat teaches a wiper blade (wiper, 102; Fig. 2) for a windshield (glazed surface, 2) of a vehicle (vehicle, 1; Fig. 1), the wiper blade (102) comprising: a spoiler (spoiler, 125) having a reservoir (circulation canal, 126) configured to hold a chemical solution (Abstract); a squeegee (wiper blade, 122) removably coupled (via 120 where the squeegee is slid into) to the spoiler (125; Fig. 3; Paragraph [0048]), wherein the squeegee (122) comprises a wiping lip (Fig. 3); and a plurality of dispensing ports (plurality of orifices, 128; Fig. 3) distributed along a length of the wiper blade (102; Fig. 3), wherein the plurality of dispensing ports (128) is fluidly coupled to the reservoir (126; Abstract) and configured to dispense the chemical solution onto a surface of the windshield (2; Abstract).
Houssat does not explicitly teach each of the plurality of dispensing ports comprises a valve configured to control a release of the chemical solution therethrough.
Wynen, however, teaches the plurality of dispensing ports (ports formed in bottom wall, 38 that hold valve, 52) comprises a valve (52) configured to control a release of the chemical solution therethrough (Paragraph [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blade of Houssat to further include a valve, as taught by Wynen, to reduce strain on the washer pump by eliminating the need for the washer pump to re-prime the lines every time the fluid is sprayed.
Regarding Claim 15, Houssat, as modified, teaches the wiper blade (wiper, 102; Fig. 2), wherein the spoiler (125) further comprises one or more filler ports (cannula, 104) fluidly coupled to the reservoir (126; Abstract).
Regarding Claim 16, Houssat, as modified, teaches the wiper blade of claim 14 as discussed above.
Houssat does not teach the spoiler is partially hollow and the reservoir is defined by the spoiler cross-section.
Pieters, however, teaches the spoiler (26) is partially hollow (Fig. 2) and a reservoir (50) defined by the spoiler cross-section (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blade of Houssat to further include a reservoir defined by the spoiler cross-section, as taught by Pieters, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art..
Regarding Claim 17, Houssat, as modified, teaches the wiper blade of claim 14 as discussed above.
Houssat does not explicitly teach wherein the valve is a pressure valve, a weighted valve, or a check valve.
Wynen, however, teaches the valve is a pressure valve (Paragraph [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blade of Houssat to further include a pressure valve, as taught by Wynen, to reduce strain on the washer pump by eliminating the need for the washer pump to re-prime the lines every time the fluid is sprayed.
Claims 18 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houssat et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0097653 A1) in view of Wynen (DE102008043283 A1) and Steller (U. S. Patent Publication No 2017/0088101 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 18, Houssat teaches a wiper blade (wiper, 102; Fig. 2) for a windshield (glazed surface, 2) of a vehicle (vehicle, 1; Fig. 1), the wiper blade (102) comprising: a spoiler (spoiler, 125) having a reservoir (circulation canal, 126) configured to hold a chemical solution (Abstract); a squeegee (wiper blade, 122) coupled to the spoiler (125; Fig. 3), wherein the squeegee (122) comprises a wiping lip (Fig. 3); and a plurality of dispensing ports (plurality of orifices, 128; Fig. 3) distributed along a length of the wiper blade (102; Fig. 3), wherein the plurality of dispensing ports (128) is fluidly coupled to the reservoir (126; Abstract) and configured to dispense the chemical solution onto a surface of the windshield (2; Abstract).
Houssat does not explicitly teach each of the plurality of dispensing ports comprises a valve configured to control a release of the chemical solution.
Wynen, however, teaches each of the plurality of dispensing ports (ports formed in bottom wall, 38 that hold valve, 52) comprises a valve (52) configured to control a release of the chemical solution (Paragraph [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blade of Houssat to further include a valve, as taught by Wynen, to reduce strain on the washer pump by eliminating the need for the washer pump to re-prime the lines every time the fluid is sprayed.
Houssat does not explicitly teach the dispense ports configured to release the chemical solution only as the wiper translated across the windshield in a first direction and not in a second direction that is opposite the first direction.
Stellar, however, teaches the dispense ports (openings, 6) configured to release the chemical solution (fluid; Paragraph [0029]) only as the wiper translated across the windshield in a first direction and not in a second direction that is opposite the first direction (Paragraph [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blade of Houssat to further include a valve, as taught by Stellar, to reduce strain on the washer pump by eliminating the need for the washer pump to re-prime the lines every time the fluid is sprayed.
Regarding Claim 19, Houssat, as modified, teaches the wiper blade of claim 18 as discussed above.
Houssat does not explicitly teach wherein the valve is open while in the first direction and is closed while in the second direction.
Stellar, however, teaches wherein the valve is open while in the first direction and is closed while in the second direction (Paragraph [0029].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blade of Houssat to further include a valve, as taught by Stellar, to reduce strain on the washer pump by eliminating the need for the washer pump to re-prime the lines every time the fluid is sprayed.
Regarding Claim 20, Houssat, as modified, teaches the wiper blade of claim 18 as discussed above.
Houssat does not explicitly teach wherein the valve is a pressure valve, a weighted valve, or a check valve.
Wynen, however, teaches the valve is a pressure valve (Paragraph [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blade of Houssat to further include a pressure valve, as taught by Wynen, to reduce strain on the washer pump by eliminating the need for the washer pump to re-prime the lines every time the fluid is sprayed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants Arguments/Remarks dated May 18, 2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1 – 13 and 15 – 20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Pieters and Steller.
Regarding Applicant argument that Houssat does not teach the squeegee removably attached to the spoiler, Houssat clearly shows a wiper squeegee that is slid into the claws of 120; Fig. 3. Thus Applicants arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723