DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “122” in figure 2 has been used to designate both a "first profile metal sheet" on the exterior sides of the backrest lower portion and an indeterminate interior part of the backrest lower portion on the left-hand-side of figure 2. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 14, dependent on claim 11, introduces “a slotted guiding member” and “a journal”. It is unclear whether the stated elements are referring to entirely new elements or the elements of the same name from claim 11. For examination purposes, it is assumed that these elements are the same as the elements from claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Canteleux (FR-2714340-A1).
Canteleux discloses an adjustable seat frame where the backrest is comprising of two parts and pivot at a common point.
Claim 11 – Canteleux teaches a motor vehicle seat (in the description, “vehicle seats, in particular motor vehicles”), comprising:
a) a first seat component (element 1 in figure 1),
b) a second seat component (element 2 in figure 1) which can be pivoted about a pivot axis (the axis created along the two element 3’s in figure 1) relative to the first seat component, the second seat component having a slotted guiding member (elements 5 in figure 3),
c) a journal (element 6 in figure 3) which is movably guided in the slotted guiding member of the second seat component, and
d) an actuator (in the description, “The pinion can be controlled directly or indirectly by a wheel accessible to a seat user, or by an electric motor”) for displacing the journal within the slotted guiding member, wherein the first seat component has a slotted support member (element 4 in figure 3) in which the journal is movably guided, wherein the slotted guiding member and the slotted support member intersect with each other in an intersection region (figure 1).
Claim 12 – Canteleux teaches that by displacing the journal within the slotted guiding member, the intersection region can be displaced along the slotted guiding member, whereby a relative angular position between the first seat component and the second seat component can be adjusted (in the description, when “the upper frame 2 is in a raised position, that is to say it forms an angle less than 180 [degrees] with the lower frame 1”).
Claim 13 – Canteleux teaches the slotted guiding member and the slotted support member are arranged eccentrically relative above the pivot axis (slots are located above the axis created by elements 3 in figure 1).
Claim 14 – Canteleux teaches a slotted guiding member, at least one slotted support member and a journal are arranged in each case at each of two sides of the second seat component (in figure 3, element
2
1
has two sides, one to go on either side of element
1
1
, and each side features a slotted support member, element 5, and a journal, element 6).
Claim 15 – Canteleux teaches the first seat component and the second seat component overlap each other in an overlapping region, wherein the slotted guiding member and the slotted support member are arranged in the overlapping region (the overlap is taught in figures 1-3).
Claim 16 – Canteleux shows the journal and the slotted guiding member in at least one pivot direction forming an end stop for the pivot movement of the second seat component relative to the first seat component about the pivot axis (see the end of the slot in Fig. 3)
Claim 17 – Canteleux shows the journal and the slotted support member in at least one pivot direction form an end stop for the pivot movement of the second seat component relative to the first seat component about the pivot axis. (see the end of the slot in Fig. 3)
Claim 18 – Canteleux teaches the vehicle seat is an integrated-belt seat (in the description, “a seat belt retractor which is fixed to the support of the second frame”).
Claim 19 – Canteleux teaches a belt outlet location is integrated in the second seat component (in the description, “a seat belt retractor which is fixed to the support of the second frame”).
Claim 21 – Canteleux teaches the first seat component comprises a backrest lower portion of a backrest and the second seat component comprises a backrest upper portion (figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Canteleux (FR-2714340-A1).
Claim 20 –Canteleux teaches the first seat component has a first backrest side portion (element
1
2
in figure 1) and a second backrest side portion (element
1
1
in figure 1), wherein the second backrest side portion in a transverse direction is arranged closer to the belt outlet location (element 13 in figure 1) than the first backrest side portion, and teaches the second backrest side portion having two profiles that are connected to form a hollow profile (element
1
1
in figure 1) and having the slotted support members in the profiles (figure 3) but does not teach the profiles of the second backrest side portions being metal sheets.
(It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use metal sheets as the material of the second backrest side portion profiles since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.)
Conclusion
/T.A.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3636
/DAVID R DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3636