DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The previous objection to the drawings is withdrawn due to the amendments made.
The previous 35 USC 112 rejection has been withdrawn due to the amendments made.
Applicant's remaining arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
When the switches 11 of Takubo are turned off forward current from power source 1 is blocked while reverse current through diodes 12 is still allowed to flow.
The previous rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takubo (20160036342).
In re Claim 11, Takubo teaches a method comprising: providing power to a load (connected at 4a) with a power supply (Q1-Q6); sensing current of the power supply (via 13a, paragraph 28); and blocking, in response to the current exceeding a threshold, forward current from an electrical source (1) while simultaneously allowing reverse current to flow to the electrical source (by controlling switch 11a to open, paragraph 29. When switch 11a is opened, reverse current is still allowed to flow via diode 12a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 11, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarnago Andia et al (2019/0126037) in view of Takubo (2016/0036342).
In re Claim 1, Sarnago Andia teaches a power supply comprising: a pulse generator (2, paragraph 35) configured to receive power from an electrical source (1, paragraph 35) and control logic (3, paragraph 41).
Furthermore, Sarnago Andia teaches the pulse generator comprises a DC/AC inverter (9) with a bridge configuration (paragraph 37).
Sarnago Andia fails to teach a switch, sensor, and the control logic configured as claimed.
Takubo teaches a DC/AC inverter (2a) with a bridge configuration as seen in Figure 1. Takubo further teaches a current sensor 13a that provides feedback to a controller 6 which contains logic that opens switch 11a in the event an overly large current such as from a short circuit flows (paragraphs 27-29). When the switch 11a is in an off state, reverse current is allowed to flow via diode 12a.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the current sensor, switch, and control logic as taught by Takubo with the power supply of Sarnago Andia since it would allow the inverter to be protected from damage that would result from an overcurrent condition.
In re Claim 8, Sarnago Andia teaches that the generator is configured to apply power pulses between the first node and the second node (paragraph 15).
In re Claim 11, an alternative rejection to the 102 rejection discussed above is made in order to best address dependent claims 12, 15, and 20 below. Sarnago Andia teaches providing power to a load with a pulse generator as a power supply (2, paragraph 35) configured to receive power from an electrical source (1, paragraph 35), and a controller (3, paragraph 41).
Furthermore, Sarnago Andia teaches the pulse generator comprises a DC/AC inverter (9) with a bridge configuration (paragraph 37).
Sarnago Andia fails to teach blocking a forward current as claimed.
Takubo teaches a DC/AC inverter (2a) with a bridge configuration as seen in Figure 1. Takubo further teaches a current sensor 13a that provides feedback to a controller 6 which contains logic that opens switch 11a in the event an overly large current such as from a short circuit flows (paragraphs 27-29). When the switch 11a is in an off state, reverse current is allowed to flow via diode 12a.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the current sensor, switch, and control logic as taught by Takubo with the power supply of Sarnago Andia since it would allow the inverter to be protected from damage that would result from an overcurrent condition.
In re Claims 16 and 17, Takubo demonstrates that an inverter comprises an switch network with an H bridge (Q1-Q4) as seen in Figure 1.
Claim(s) 2, 10, 12, 15, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarnago Andia et al (2019/0126037) in view of Takubo (2016/0036342) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above and further in view of Forsyth et al (2020/0289185).
In re Claims 2 and 12, Sarnago Andia teaches that the power supply is intended for an electroporation device (paragraph 1), but does not specifically teach the electrical source is a capacitor bank or a capacitor charger.
Forsyth teaches a power supply for an electroporation device (paragraph 51) as seen in Figure 14A that comprises a capacitor bank as an electrical source as well as a charger for the capacitor bank (paragraph 125).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a capacitor bank and charger as taught by Forsyth since Forsyth teaches they can be utilized as a power source for a electroporation device such as the one taught by Sarnago Andia.
In re Claims 10, 15, 18, and 20, Sarnago Andia teaches that the power supply is intended for an electroporation device (paragraph 1), but does not specifically teach a probe as claimed.
Forsyth teaches an electroporation device (paragraph 51) wherein a probe configured with a plurality of needle electrodes as seen in Figure 10 is utilized to deliver pulses to a patient (paragraph 84). Forsyth also teaches the probe may be detachably connected via a socket (paragraph 72).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the probe as taught by Forsyth since it provides a means to carry out the act of electroporation on a patient.
Claim(s) 6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarnago Andia et al (2019/0126037) in view of Takubo (2016/0036342) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Tsukamoto et al (2020/0402738).
In re Claim 6, Takubo teaches that the switch 11a is bidirectional (paragraph 25) and that when the switch is off, it blocks current in a forward direction to turn off the inverter (and therefore the inverter 9 of pulse generator 2 when modifying Sarnago Andia).
Sarnago Andia as modified by Takubo does not teach a latch as claimed.
Tsukamoto teaches a power supply arrangement as seen in Figure 1 that involves a switch 2 being controlled by a controller 5, wherein the arrangement further comprises current feedback circuitry to monitor current through the switch for an overcurrent condition comprising resistor R1, amplifier 42, and comparator 43 (paragraph 45). Tsukamoto further teaches the current feedback circuity comprises a latch circuit 45 that receives input from the comparator and outputs logic low level signal, in the event an overcurrent is detected, to an AND gate so that the switch remains biased in an open state (paragraphs 49-50).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the current feedback circuitry including the latch as taught by Tsukamoto with the power supply of Sarnago Andia as modified by Takubo since it would provide current feedback and control logic that keeps the switch biased off in the event of an overcurrent without having to rely on an additional controller processing to make an overcurrent determination.
In re Claim 9, Takubo teaches a current sensor 13a as discussed above, but does not specifically teach a shunt resistor and amplifier as claimed.
Sarnago Andia as modified by Takubo does not teach a latch as claimed.
Tsukamoto teaches a power supply arrangement as seen in Figure 1 that involves a switch 2 being controlled by a controller 5, wherein the arrangement further comprises current feedback circuitry to monitor current through the switch for an overcurrent condition comprising shunt resistor R1, amplifier 42, and comparator 43 (paragraph 45). Tsukamoto further teaches the current feedback circuity comprises a latch circuit 45 that receives input from the comparator and outputs logic low level signal, in the event an overcurrent is detected, to an AND gate so that the switch remains biased in an open state (paragraphs 49-50).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the current feedback circuitry including the shunt resistor and amplifier as taught by Tsukamoto with the power supply of Sarnago Andia as modified by Takubo since it would provide current feedback and control logic that keeps the switch biased off in the event of an overcurrent without having to rely on an additional controller processing to make an overcurrent determination.
Claim(s) 13, 14, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takubo (2016/0036342) in view of Tsukamoto et al (2020/0402738).
In re Claim 13, Takubo teaches that the switch 11a is bidirectional (paragraph 25) and that when the switch is off, it blocks current in a forward direction to turn off the inverter (and therefore the inverter 9 of pulse generator 2 when modifying Sarnago Andia).
Takubo does not teach a latch as claimed.
Tsukamoto teaches a power supply arrangement as seen in Figure 1 that involves a switch 2 being controlled by a controller 5, wherein the arrangement further comprises current feedback circuitry to monitor current through the switch for an overcurrent condition comprising resistor R1, amplifier 42, and comparator 43 (paragraph 45). Tsukamoto further teaches the current feedback circuity comprises a latch circuit 45 that receives input from the comparator and outputs logic low level signal, in the event an overcurrent is detected, to an AND gate so that the switch remains biased in an open state (paragraphs 49-50).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the current feedback circuitry including the latch as taught by Tsukamoto with the power supply of Sarnago Andia as modified by Takubo since it would provide current feedback and control logic that keeps the switch biased off in the event of an overcurrent without having to rely on an additional controller processing to make an overcurrent determination.
In re Claim 14, when switch 11a of Takubo is open, reverse current flows through diode 12a.
In re Claim 19, Takubo teaches a current sensor 13a as discussed above, but does not specifically teach a shunt resistor and amplifier as claimed.
Sarnago Andia as modified by Takubo does not teach a latch as claimed.
Tsukamoto teaches a power supply arrangement as seen in Figure 1 that involves a switch 2 being controlled by a controller 5, wherein the arrangement further comprises current feedback circuitry to monitor current through the switch for an overcurrent condition comprising shunt resistor R1, amplifier 42, and comparator 43 (paragraph 45). Tsukamoto further teaches the current feedback circuity comprises a latch circuit 45 that receives input from the comparator and outputs logic low level signal, in the event an overcurrent is detected, to an AND gate so that the switch remains biased in an open state (paragraphs 49-50).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the current feedback circuitry including the shunt resistor and amplifier as taught by Tsukamoto with the power supply of Sarnago Andia as modified by Takubo since it would provide current feedback and control logic that keeps the switch biased off in the event of an overcurrent without having to rely on an additional controller processing to make an overcurrent determination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 4 and 5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In re Claims 3 and 7, Takubo fails to teach a reverse blocking semiconductor switch arranged in series with the forward blocking semiconductor switch 11a.
Claims 4 and 5 would be allowable due to their dependence on claim 3.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER J CLARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838