DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Claims 1, 2, 4-10, and 16-18 are allowed due to incorporating the previously indicated allowable subject matter of claim 3 into independent claim 1.
A new rejection in view of Matsuda et al (2022/0200328) has been issued to address the amendments made as seen below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsuda et al (2022/0200328).
In re Claim 11, Matsuda teaches a method comprising: providing power to a load (10 and/or 130) with a power supply (50) (as seen in Figures 2 and 6) via a switch circuit (55), wherein the switch circuit comprises a forward-blocking semiconductor switch (55B) and a reverse-blocking semiconductor switch (55A), the forward-blocking semiconductor switch arranged in series with the reverse-blocking semiconductor switch (as seen in Figure 6); sensing current of the power supply (via 53, paragraph 63); and blocking, in response to the current exceeding a threshold, forward current from an electrical source with the forward-blocking semiconductor switch while simultaneously allowing reverse current to flow to the electrical source (Paragraphs 71 and 86 teach that both semiconductor switches 55A and 55B are activated during normal operation and that when a current larger than a threshold is detected only the forward blocking semiconductor switch 55B is turned off. As such, in this state reverse current is allowed to flow via the still activated switch 55A and diode 56B).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda et al (2022/0200328).
In re Claim 12, Matsuda teaches a capacitor 41 to provide power to the load 130 (paragraph 88), but does not specifically teach a capacitor bank (i.e., a plurality of capacitors).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the single capacitor of Matsuda as a plurality of capacitors since it was known in the art that a single capacitor can be replaced with a plurality of capacitors connected in series and/or parallel to achieve an equivalent overall capacitance.
Claim(s) 13, 14, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda et al (2022/0200328) in view of Tsukamoto et al (2020/0402738).
In re Claim 13, Matsuda teaches that the forward blocking semiconductor switch 55B is switched off (paragraph 86), but does not teach a latch as claimed.
Tsukamoto teaches a power supply arrangement as seen in Figure 1 that involves a switch 2 being controlled by a controller 5, wherein the arrangement further comprises current feedback circuitry to monitor current through the switch for an overcurrent condition comprising resistor R1, amplifier 42, and comparator 43 (paragraph 45). Tsukamoto further teaches the current feedback circuity comprises a latch circuit 45 that receives input from the comparator and outputs logic low level signal, in the event an overcurrent is detected, to an AND gate 41 so that the switch remains biased in an open state (paragraphs 49-50).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the current sensor of Matsuda with the current feedback circuitry including the latch as taught by Tsukamoto since it would provide current feedback and control logic that keeps the switch biased off in the event of an overcurrent without having to rely on an additional controller processing to make an overcurrent determination.
In re Claim 14, Matsuda teaches that the forward blocking semiconductor switch is turned off (paragraph 86), while reverse current is still allowed to flow through diode 56B as seen in Figure 6.
In re Claim 19, Matsuda teaches a current sensor 53, but does not teach a specific implementation.
Tsukamoto teaches a power supply arrangement as seen in Figure 1 that involves a switch 2 being controlled by a controller 5, wherein the arrangement further comprises current feedback circuitry to monitor current through the switch for an overcurrent condition comprising resistor R1, amplifier 42, and comparator 43 (paragraph 45).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the current sensor of Matsuda with a resistor and operational amplifier as taught by Tsukamoto since Tsukamoto teaches a concrete arrangement for implementing a current sensor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 2, 4-10, and 16-18 are allowed.
Claims 15 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 1 has been amended to incorporate the previously indicated allowable subject matter of claim 3 as discussed above.
In re Claim 15, Matsuda fails to teach that the power provided is pulsed power to a patient via a probe.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER J CLARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838