DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-20 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 11,300,424. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of prior art anticipate claim 1 of instant application as follows:
US application 18/590,307
1. A metering assembly comprising: an enclosure having an interior electrical connection and an exterior electrical connection coupled to the interior electrical connection, wherein the exterior electrical connection is configured to be coupled to an electrical power distribution service; a cradle configured for housing an intelligent electronic device (IED) and for being disposed in the enclosure, the cradle including a cradle electrical connection for coupling to the interior electrical connection, the cradle electrical connection configured to be coupled to at least one component of the IED; a connection paddle configured to be disposed between the enclosure and the cradle for electrically coupling the interior electrical connection to the cradle electrical connection; and a cover configured to couple to an open end of the enclosure to enclose the IED in the enclosure.
2. The metering assembly of claim 1, wherein the IED is at least one of a Programmable Logic Controller (PLC), a Remote Terminal Units (RTU), an electric power meter, a panel meter, a protective relay, a fault recorder, a phase measurement unit, a serial switch, and a smart input/output device.
3. The metering assembly of claim 1, wherein the enclosure further includes an alignment mechanism for aligning a portion of the cradle within the enclosure , the alignment mechanism including a board having a first surface and a second surface, the first surface including at least one alignment member that aligns with at least one aperture on the cradle and at least one first connector that couples with a complementary connector on the cradle, the second surface including at least one second connector coupled to the at least one first connector, wherein the at least one second connector extends through a rear surface of the enclosure.
4. The metering assembly of claim 1, wherein the connection paddle is removable from the enclosure.
5. The metering assembly of claim 4, wherein the connection paddle includes a pivoting handle, and wherein the pivoting handle is configured to extend beyond a plane of the enclosure when disposed in the enclosure to facilitate removal.
6. The metering assembly of claim 4, wherein the connection paddle includes at least one grasping aperture configured to facilitate removal of the connection paddle when disposed in the enclosure.
7. The metering assembly of claim 1, wherein the connection paddle includes a plurality of connection strips.
8. The metering assembly of claim 7, wherein the connection strips extend from a top surface of the connection paddle to a bottom surface of the connection paddle.
9. A metering assembly comprising: an enclosure having an interior electrical connection and an exterior electrical connection coupled to the interior electrical connection, wherein the exterior electrical connection is configured to be coupled to an electrical power distribution service; a cradle configured for housing an intelligent electronic device (IED) and for being disposed in the enclosure, the cradle including a connection frame configured to form an electrical connection between the IED and the interior electrical connection, the connection frame including a plurality of frame connectors for making an electrical connection with the interior electrical connection of the enclosure; and a cover configured to couple to an open end of the enclosure to enclose the IED in the enclosure.
10. The metering assembly of claim 9, wherein the plurality of frame connectors are configured to receive a quick connector.
11. The metering assembly of claim 10, wherein the quick connector is an RJ45 plug.
12. The metering assembly of claim 9, wherein the interior electrical connection of the enclosure includes a connection board and a plurality of interior connectors positioned on the connection board, and wherein the interior connectors are configured to mate with the frame connectors.
13. The metering assembly of claim 12, wherein the frame connectors include apertures and the interior connectors include plugs.
14. The metering assembly of claim 12, wherein the connection board includes a first alignment member configured to mate with a second alignment member of the connection frame.
15. The metering assembly of claim 9, wherein the connection frame is configured to move within the cradle.
16. The metering assembly of claim 15, wherein the connection frame includes at least one spring arm that enables the connection frame to move within the cradle.
17. A metering assembly comprising: an enclosure having an interior electrical connection and an exterior electrical connection coupled to the interior electrical connection, wherein the exterior electrical connection is configured to be coupled to an electrical power distribution service; a cradle configured for housing an intelligent electronic device (IED) and for being disposed in the enclosure, the cradle including a cradle electrical connection for coupling to the interior electrical connection, the cradle electrical connection configured to be coupled to at least one component of the IED; a retaining member disposed on the cradle and configured to maintain the cradle electrical connection at an appropriate position so that when the cradle is disposed in the enclosure the cradle electrical connection does not make contact with the interior electrical connection of the enclosure; and a cover configured to couple to an open end of the enclosure to enclose the IED in the enclosure.
18. The metering assembly of claim 17, further comprising a connection paddle configured to be disposed between the enclosure and the cradle for electrically coupling the interior electrical connection to the cradle electrical connection.
19. The metering assembly of claim 17, wherein the retaining member includes a tab configured to engage a portion of the cradle electrical connection.
20. The metering assembly of claim 17, wherein the retaining member includes an alignment member for aligning the retaining member to the cradle.
US Patent 11,300,424
1. A metering assembly comprising: an enclosure having at least one first electrical connection disposed on an inner surface thereof, the at least one electrical connection coupled to at least one second electrical connection disposed on an outer surface of the enclosure, the at least one second electrical connection configured to be coupled to an electrical power distribution service; a cradle configured for housing an intelligent electronic device (IED) and for being disposed in the enclosure, the cradle including at least one third electrical connection for coupling to the at least one first electrical connection, the at least one third electrical connection being coupled to at least one component of the IED; and a cover configured to couple to an open end of the enclosure to enclose the IED in the enclosure, wherein the enclosure further includes an alignment mechanism for aligning a portion of the cradle to mate with a portion of the enclosure.
2. The metering assembly of claim 1, wherein the IED is at least one of a Programmable Logic Controller (PLC), a Remote Terminal Units (RTU), an electric power meter, a panel meter, a protective relay, a fault recorder, a phase measurement unit, a serial switch, and a smart input/output device.
3. The metering assembly of claim 1, wherein the alignment mechanism is a board having a first surface and a second surface, the first surface including at least one alignment member that aligns with at least one aperture on the cradle and at least one first connector that couples with a complementary connector on the cradle, the second surface including at least one second connector coupled to the at least one first connector, wherein the at least one second connector extending through a rear surface of the enclosure.
4. The metering assembly of claim 3, wherein the at least one first connector is a RJ45 plug.
5. The metering assembly of claim 3, wherein the at least one aperture and the complementary connector are disposed on a connection frame of the cradle, the connection frame configured to move within the cradle when the at least one alignment member interacts with the at least one aperture to align the at least one first connector to the complementary connector to thereby mate the portion of the cradle to the portion of the enclosure.
6. The metering assembly of claim 5, wherein the connection frame includes at least one spring arm that enables the connection frame to move within a plane of a surface of the cradle.
7. The metering assembly of claim 3, wherein the complimentary connector is coupled to at least one second component of the IED.
8. The metering assembly of claim 5, wherein the at least one second component of the IED includes at least one communication module disposed in the IED.
9. The metering assembly of claim 8, wherein the at least one function module is at least one of a four channel bi-directional 0-1 mA output card, a four channel 4-20 mA output card, a two relay output/two status input card, a four pulse output/four status input card, or any combination thereof.
10. The metering assembly of claim 8, wherein the at least one second component of the IED includes at least one function module disposed in the IED.
11. The metering assembly of claim 10, wherein the at least one communication module is at least one of an Ethernet card, an IEC 61850 protocol Ethernet card, a fiber optic communication card and/or a wireless transceiver card.
12. The metering assembly of claim 3, wherein the complimentary connector is coupled to at least one second component of the IED via a patch cable.
13. The metering assembly of claim 3, wherein the board of the alignment mechanism is a multi-layer printed circuit board that electrically couples the at least one first connector with the at least one second connector.
14. The metering assembly of claim 1, further comprising a connection paddle configured to be removably disposed between the inner surface of the enclosure and the cradle for electrically coupling the at least one first electrical connection to the at least one third electrical connection, wherein the connection paddle includes at least one grasping aperture configured to receive at least one member to grasp the connection paddle to facilitate removal of the connection paddle when disposed in the enclosure.
15. The metering assembly of claim 1, wherein the cradle further comprises at least one gripping member to facilitate removal of the cradle from the enclosure.
16. The metering assembly of claim 1, wherein the enclosure further comprises a plate extending from the periphery of an open end of the enclosure including a first surface and a second surface, the second surface of the plate configured to make contact and secure the enclosure to a panel after the enclosure is disposed in a cutout of the panel, the second surface includes a channel configured to receive a gasket that prevents water from reaching the enclosure when secured to the panel.
17. The metering assembly of claim 16, wherein the enclosure further comprises at least one mounting bracket coupled to a side wall of the enclosure, the at least one mounting bracket configured to receive a screw that makes contact with a rear surface of the panel causing the at least one mounting bracket and the enclosure to move away from the rear surface of the panel securing the plate to the opposite surface of the panel.
18. The metering assembly of claim 16, wherein the first surface of the plate includes a channel that surrounds the opening to the enclosure and the cover further comprises a corresponding lip configured on an inner surface of the cover so when the cover is placed on the plate the lip is disposed in the channel, wherein a gasket is disposed in the channel so when the cover is mounted on the plate, the gasket is compressed between the channel and the corresponding lip forming a water-tight seal preventing water or any other substance from entering the enclosure.
19. The metering assembly of claim 1, wherein the cover further includes a one-button release mechanism to facilitate removing the cover from the enclosure.
20. The metering assembly of claim 19, wherein the cover further comprising a sealing mechanism to prevent access to the IED disposed in the enclosure and to indicate tampering.
21. The metering assembly of claim 1, further comprising a retaining member disposed on the cradle and configured to maintain the at least one third electrical connection of the cradle at an appropriate position so that when the cradle is disposed in the enclosure the at least one third electrical connection of cradle does not make contact with the at least one first electrical connection of the enclosure.
22. The metering assembly of claim 1, wherein the at least one component of the IED is at least one of a current sensor and/or voltage sensor.
23. A metering assembly comprising: an enclosure having at least one first electrical connection disposed on an inner surface thereof, the at least one electrical connection coupled to at least one second electrical connection disposed on an outer surface of the enclosure, the at least one second electrical connection configured to be coupled to an electrical power distribution service; a cradle configured for housing an intelligent electronic device (IED) and for being disposed in the enclosure, the cradle including at least one third electrical connection for coupling to the at least one first electrical connection, the at least one third electrical connection being coupled to at least one component of the IED; a cover configured to couple to an open end of the enclosure to enclose the IED in the enclosure; and a connection paddle configured to be removably disposed between the inner surface of the enclosure and the cradle for electrically coupling the at least one first electrical connection to the at least one third electrical connection, wherein the connection paddle includes a pivoting handle, wherein the pivoting handle is configured to extend beyond a plane of the open end of the enclosure when disposed in the enclosure to facilitate removal.
24. The metering assembly of claim 23, wherein the connection paddle includes a top surface and a bottom surface with a series of contact strips configured on one end of the paddle to provide an electrical connection between the top surface and bottom surface.
25. The metering assembly of claim 24, wherein the pivoting handle includes a first end and a second end and the connection paddle further includes a slot such that when the pivoting handle pivots, the second end travels in the slot and the first end extends away from the plane of the open end of the enclosure.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,927,462. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of prior art anticipate claim 1 of instant application as follows:
US application 18/590,307
1. A metering assembly comprising: an enclosure having an interior electrical connection and an exterior electrical connection coupled to the interior electrical connection, wherein the exterior electrical connection is configured to be coupled to an electrical power distribution service; a cradle configured for housing an intelligent electronic device (IED) and for being disposed in the enclosure, the cradle including a cradle electrical connection for coupling to the interior electrical connection, the cradle electrical connection configured to be coupled to at least one component of the IED; a connection paddle configured to be disposed between the enclosure and the cradle for electrically coupling the interior electrical connection to the cradle electrical connection; and a cover configured to couple to an open end of the enclosure to enclose the IED in the enclosure.
2. The metering assembly of claim 1, wherein the IED is at least one of a Programmable Logic Controller (PLC), a Remote Terminal Units (RTU), an electric power meter, a panel meter, a protective relay, a fault recorder, a phase measurement unit, a serial switch, and a smart input/output device.
3. The metering assembly of claim 1, wherein the enclosure further includes an alignment mechanism for aligning a portion of the cradle within the enclosure , the alignment mechanism including a board having a first surface and a second surface, the first surface including at least one alignment member that aligns with at least one aperture on the cradle and at least one first connector that couples with a complementary connector on the cradle, the second surface including at least one second connector coupled to the at least one first connector, wherein the at least one second connector extends through a rear surface of the enclosure.
4. The metering assembly of claim 1, wherein the connection paddle is removable from the enclosure.
5. The metering assembly of claim 4, wherein the connection paddle includes a pivoting handle, and wherein the pivoting handle is configured to extend beyond a plane of the enclosure when disposed in the enclosure to facilitate removal.
6. The metering assembly of claim 4, wherein the connection paddle includes at least one grasping aperture configured to facilitate removal of the connection paddle when disposed in the enclosure.
7. The metering assembly of claim 1, wherein the connection paddle includes a plurality of connection strips.
8. The metering assembly of claim 7, wherein the connection strips extend from a top surface of the connection paddle to a bottom surface of the connection paddle.
9. A metering assembly comprising: an enclosure having an interior electrical connection and an exterior electrical connection coupled to the interior electrical connection, wherein the exterior electrical connection is configured to be coupled to an electrical power distribution service; a cradle configured for housing an intelligent electronic device (IED) and for being disposed in the enclosure, the cradle including a connection frame configured to form an electrical connection between the IED and the interior electrical connection, the connection frame including a plurality of frame connectors for making an electrical connection with the interior electrical connection of the enclosure; and a cover configured to couple to an open end of the enclosure to enclose the IED in the enclosure.
10. The metering assembly of claim 9, wherein the plurality of frame connectors are configured to receive a quick connector.
11. The metering assembly of claim 10, wherein the quick connector is an RJ45 plug.
12. The metering assembly of claim 9, wherein the interior electrical connection of the enclosure includes a connection board and a plurality of interior connectors positioned on the connection board, and wherein the interior connectors are configured to mate with the frame connectors.
13. The metering assembly of claim 12, wherein the frame connectors include apertures and the interior connectors include plugs.
14. The metering assembly of claim 12, wherein the connection board includes a first alignment member configured to mate with a second alignment member of the connection frame.
15. The metering assembly of claim 9, wherein the connection frame is configured to move within the cradle.
16. The metering assembly of claim 15, wherein the connection frame includes at least one spring arm that enables the connection frame to move within the cradle.
17. A metering assembly comprising: an enclosure having an interior electrical connection and an exterior electrical connection coupled to the interior electrical connection, wherein the exterior electrical connection is configured to be coupled to an electrical power distribution service; a cradle configured for housing an intelligent electronic device (IED) and for being disposed in the enclosure, the cradle including a cradle electrical connection for coupling to the interior electrical connection, the cradle electrical connection configured to be coupled to at least one component of the IED; a retaining member disposed on the cradle and configured to maintain the cradle electrical connection at an appropriate position so that when the cradle is disposed in the enclosure the cradle electrical connection does not make contact with the interior electrical connection of the enclosure; and a cover configured to couple to an open end of the enclosure to enclose the IED in the enclosure.
18. The metering assembly of claim 17, further comprising a connection paddle configured to be disposed between the enclosure and the cradle for electrically coupling the interior electrical connection to the cradle electrical connection.
19. The metering assembly of claim 17, wherein the retaining member includes a tab configured to engage a portion of the cradle electrical connection.
20. The metering assembly of claim 17, wherein the retaining member includes an alignment member for aligning the retaining member to the cradle.
US Patent 11,927,462
1. A metering assembly comprising: an enclosure having at least one first electrical connection disposed on an inner surface thereof, the at least one electrical connection coupled to at least one second electrical connection disposed on an outer surface of the enclosure, the at least one second electrical connection configured to be coupled to an electrical power distribution service; a cradle configured for housing an intelligent electronic device (IED) and for being disposed in the enclosure, the cradle including at least one third electrical connection for coupling to the at least one first electrical connection, the at least one third electrical connection being coupled to at least one component of the IED; and a cover configured to couple to an open end of the enclosure to enclose the IED in the enclosure, wherein the enclosure further comprises a plate extending from the periphery of an open end of the enclosure in a perpendicular manner, the plate including a first surface and a second surface, the first surface of the plate includes a channel that surrounds the opening to the enclosure and the cover further comprises a corresponding lip configured on an inner surface of the cover so when the cover is placed on the plate the lip is disposed in the channel, wherein a gasket is disposed in the channel so when the cover is mounted on the plate, the gasket is compressed between the channel and the corresponding lip forming a water-tight seal preventing water or any other substance from entering the enclosure.
2. The metering assembly of claim 1, wherein the IED is at least one of a Programmable Logic Controller (PLC), a Remote Terminal Units (RTU), an electric power meter, a panel meter, a protective relay, a fault recorder, a phase measurement unit, a serial switch, and a smart input/output device.
3. The metering assembly of claim 1, further comprising a connection paddle configured to be disposed between the enclosure and the cradle for electrically coupling the at least one first electrical connection to the at least one third electrical connection.
4. The metering assembly of claim 3, wherein the connection paddle includes a pivoting handle, wherein the pivoting handle is configured to extend beyond a plane of the enclosure when disposed in the enclosure to facilitate removal.
5. The metering assembly of claim 3, wherein the connection paddle includes at least one grasping aperture configured to receive at least one member to grasp the connection paddle to facilitate removal of the connection paddle when disposed in the enclosure.
6. The metering assembly of claim 1, wherein the cradle further comprises at least one gripping member to facilitate removal of the cradle from the enclosure.
7. The metering assembly of claim 1, wherein the second surface of the plate is configured to make contact and secure the enclosure to a panel after the enclosure is disposed in a cutout of the panel, the second surface includes a channel configured to receive a gasket that prevents water from reaching the enclosure when secured to the panel.
8. The metering assembly of claim 1, wherein the cover further includes a one-button release mechanism to facilitate removing the cover from the enclosure.
9. The metering assembly of claim 8, wherein the cover further comprising a sealing mechanism to prevent access to the IED disposed in the enclosure and to indicate tampering.
10. The metering assembly of claim 1, further comprising a retaining member disposed on the cradle and configured to maintain the at least one third electrical connection of the cradle at an appropriate position so that when the cradle is disposed in the enclosure the at least one third electrical connection of cradle does not make contact with the at least one first electrical connection of the enclosure.
11. A metering assembly comprising: an enclosure having at least one first electrical connection disposed on an inner surface thereof, the at least one electrical connection coupled to at least one second electrical connection disposed on an outer surface of the enclosure, the at least one second electrical connection configured to be coupled to an electrical power distribution service; a cradle configured for housing an intelligent electronic device (IED) and for being disposed in the enclosure, the cradle including at least one third electrical connection for coupling to the at least one first electrical connection, the at least one third electrical connection being coupled to at least one component of the IED; and a cover configured to couple to an open end of the enclosure to enclose the IED in the enclosure, wherein the cover further includes a one-button release mechanism to facilitate removing the cover from the enclosure.
12. The metering assembly of claim 11, wherein the enclosure further comprises a plate extending from the periphery of an open end of the enclosure including a first surface and a second surface, the second surface of the plate configured to make contact and secure the enclosure to a panel after the enclosure is disposed in a cutout of the panel, the first surface including a retaining member configured to receive a latch of the one-button release mechanism to secure the cover to the enclosure.
13. The metering assembly of claim 12, wherein the one-button release mechanism is coupled to the cover such that, upon actuating of a button portion of the one-button release mechanism, the latch pivots away from the retaining member to enable removal of the cover from the enclosure.
14. The metering assembly of claim 11, further comprising a sealing mechanism to prevent access to the IED disposed in the enclosure and to indicate tampering.
15. The metering assembly of claim 14, wherein the enclosure further comprises a plate extending from the periphery of an open end of the enclosure including a first surface and a second surface, the sealing mechanism includes at least one semi-circular member extending from the first surface and at least two semi-circular members extending from an outer surface of the cover, each semi-circular member including an aperture, when the cover is disposed over the plate, the at least one semi-circular member aligns with the at least two semi-circular members enabling a wire seal to be disposed through the apertures of the semi-circular members thereby sealing the cover to the enclosure.
16. The metering assembly of claim 11, wherein the IED is at least one of a Programmable Logic Controller (PLC), a Remote Terminal Units (RTU), an electric power meter, a panel meter, a protective relay, a fault recorder, a phase measurement unit, a serial switch, and a smart input/output device.
17. A metering assembly comprising: an enclosure having at least one first electrical connection disposed on an inner surface thereof, the at least one electrical connection coupled to at least one second electrical connection disposed on an outer surface of the enclosure, the at least one second electrical connection configured to be coupled to an electrical power distribution service; a cradle configured for housing an intelligent electronic device (IED) and for being disposed in the enclosure, the cradle including at least one third electrical connection for coupling to the at least one first electrical connection, the at least one third electrical connection being coupled to at least one component of the IED; and a cover configured to couple to an open end of the enclosure to enclose the IED in the enclosure, wherein the enclosure further comprises a plate extending from the periphery of an open end of the enclosure in a perpendicular manner, the plate including a first surface and a second surface, the first surface of the plate includes a channel that surrounds the opening to the enclosure and the cover further comprises a corresponding lip configured on an inner surface of the cover so when the cover is placed on the plate the lip is disposed in the channel, wherein the enclosure further comprises at least one mounting bracket coupled to a side wall of the enclosure, the at least one mounting bracket configured to receive a screw that makes contact with a rear surface of a panel after the enclosure is disposed in a cutout of the panel causing the at least one mounting bracket and the enclosure to move away from the rear surface of the panel securing the plate to the opposite surface of the panel.
18. The metering assembly of claim 17, wherein the second surface of the plate is configured to make contact and secure the enclosure to the panel after the enclosure is disposed in the cutout of the panel, the second surface includes a channel configured to receive a gasket that prevents water from reaching the enclosure when secured to the panel.
19. A metering assembly comprising: an enclosure having at least one first electrical connection disposed on an inner surface thereof, the at least one electrical connection coupled to at least one second electrical connection disposed on an outer surface of the enclosure, the at least one second electrical connection configured to be coupled to an electrical power distribution service; a cradle configured for housing an intelligent electronic device (IED) and for being disposed in the enclosure, the cradle including at least one third electrical connection for coupling to the at least one first electrical connection, the at least one third electrical connection being coupled to at least one component of the IED; a cover configured to couple to an open end of the enclosure to enclose the IED in the enclosure; and a plate extending from the periphery of an open end of the enclosure including a first surface and a second surface, the first surface of the plate includes a channel that surrounds the opening to the enclosure and the cover further comprises a corresponding lip configured on an inner surface of the cover so when the cover is placed on the plate the lip is disposed in the channel, wherein a gasket is disposed in the channel so when the cover is mounted on the plate, the gasket is compressed between the channel and the corresponding lip forming a water-tight seal preventing water or any other substance from entering the enclosure, wherein the cover includes a first draining channel disposed on a lower portion of the cover and the plate includes a second draining channel disposed on a lower portion of the plate, the first draining channel aligns with the second draining channel such that any condensation formed on an inner surface of the cover collects at the lower portion of the cover and drains through the first and second draining channels.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Spanier et al. (US 2016/0370204 A1, IDS record).
Regarding claim 1, Spanier et al. disclose a metering assembly comprising:
an enclosure (116) having an interior electrical connection and an exterior electrical connection coupled to the interior electrical connection, wherein the exterior electrical connection is configured to be coupled to an electrical power distribution service (see Fig.2, 2A-2D, 3, 4, para. [0125]-[0128]);
a cradle (102) configured for housing an intelligent electronic device (IED) (100) and for being disposed in the enclosure (116), the cradle including a cradle electrical connection for coupling to the interior electrical connection, the cradle electrical connection configured to be coupled to at least one component of the IED (100)(Fig.2, para. [0125]);
a connection paddle configured to be disposed between the enclosure and the cradle for electrically coupling the interior electrical connection to the cradle electrical connection (Fig.2B, para. [0124]-[0125]); and
a cover (104) configured to couple to an open end of the enclosure (1160 to enclose the IED (100) in the enclosure (see Fig.2, 2A-2D,3, 4, para. [0125]-[0128]).
Regarding claim 2, Spanier et al. disclose the IED is at least one of a Programmable Logic Controller (PLC), a Remote Terminal Units (RTU), an electric power meter, a panel meter, a protective relay, a fault recorder, a phase measurement unit, a serial switch, and a smart input/output device (para. [0102]).
Regarding claim 3, Spanier et al. disclose the enclosure further includes an alignment mechanism (155) for aligning a portion of the cradle within the enclosure (para. [0130]), the alignment mechanism is a board having a first surface and a second surface, the first surface including at least one alignment member that aligns with at least one aperture on the cradle and at least one first connector that couples with a complementary connector on the cradle, the second surface including at least one second connector coupled to the at least one first connector, wherein the at least one second connector extending through a rear surface of the enclosure (see Fig. 2B, 2C, 5, para. [0125], [0130]).
Regarding claim 4, Spanier et al. disclose wherein the connection paddle is removable from the enclosure (Figs.22, 23, para. [0144]).
Regarding claim 5, Spanier et al. disclose the connection paddle includes a pivoting handle, wherein the pivoting handle is configured to extend beyond a plane of the enclosure when disposed in the enclosure to facilitate removal (Figs.22, 23, para. [0144]).
Regarding claim 6, Spanier et al. disclose wherein the connection paddle includes at least one grasping aperture (191) configured to facilitate removal of the connection paddle when disposed in the enclosure (para. [0136]).
Regarding claim 7, Spanier et al. disclose wherein the connection paddle includes a plurality of connection strips (see Fig.22, para. [0144]-[0146]).
Regarding claim 8, Spanier et al. disclose wherein the connection strips extend from a top surface of the connection paddle to a bottom surface of the connection paddle (see Fig.22, para. [0144]-[0146]).
Regarding claim 9, Spanier et al. disclose a metering assembly comprising:
an enclosure (116) having an interior electrical connection and an exterior electrical connection coupled to the interior electrical connection, wherein the exterior electrical connection is configured to be coupled to an electrical power distribution service (see Fig.2, 2A-2D, 3, 4, para. [0125]-[0128]);
a cradle (102) configured for housing an intelligent electronic device (IED) (100) and for being disposed in the enclosure (116), the cradle including a connection frame configured to form an electrical connection between the IED and the interior electrical connection, the connection frame including a plurality of frame connectors for making an electrical connection with the interior electrical connection of the enclosure (see Fig. 2B, 2C, 5, para. [0125], [0130], [0145], [0193]); and
a cover (104) configured to couple to an open end of the enclosure (1160 to enclose the IED (100) in the enclosure (see Fig.2, 2A-2D,3, 4, para. [0125]-[0128]).
Regarding claim 10, Spanier et al. disclose wherein the plurality of frame connectors are configured to receive a quick connector (Fig.26, para. [0145]).
Regarding claim 11, Spanier et al. disclose the quick connector is an RJ45 plug (Figs.23B-23D, para. [0153]).
Regarding claim 12, Spanier et al. disclose the interior electrical connection of the enclosure includes a connection board and a plurality of interior connectors positioned on the connection board, and wherein the interior connectors are configured to mate with the frame connectors (Fig.22, para. [00144], [0148]).
Regarding claim 13, Spanier et al. disclose the frame connectors include apertures and the interior connectors include plugs (Figs.22, 23A, para. [0144], [0153]).
Regarding claim 14, Spanier et al. disclose the connection board includes a first alignment member configured to mate with a second alignment member of the connection frame (see Fig. 2B, 2C, 5, para. [0125], [0130], [0145], [0193]).
Regarding claim 15, Spanier et al. disclose wherein the connection frame is configured to move within the cradle (see Figs.2B,2C,5, pars. {0125],[0130], [0193]).
Regarding claim 16, Spanier et al. disclose the connection frame includes at least one spring arm (280) that enables the connection frame (264) to move within the cradle (see Fig.19, para. [0142]).
Regarding claim 17, Spanier et al. disclose a metering assembly comprising:
an enclosure (116) having an interior electrical connection and an exterior electrical connection coupled to the interior electrical connection, wherein the exterior electrical connection is configured to be coupled to an electrical power distribution service (see Fig.2, 2A-2D, 3, 4, para. [0125]-[0128]);
a cradle (102) configured for housing an intelligent electronic device (IED)(100) and for being disposed in the enclosure (116), the cradle including a cradle electrical connection for coupling to the interior electrical connection, the cradle electrical connection configured to be coupled to at least one component of the IED (100)(Fig.2, para. [0125]);
a retaining member disposed on the cradle and configured to maintain the cradle electrical connection at an appropriate position so that when the cradle is disposed in the enclosure the cradle electrical connection does not make contact with the interior electrical connection of the enclosure (Figs. 36A, 36B, para. [0188]); and
a cover (104) configured to couple to an open end of the enclosure (1160 to enclose the IED (100) in the enclosure (see Fig.2, 2A-2D,3, 4, para. [0125]-[0128]).
Regarding claim 18, Spanier et al. disclose a connection paddle configured to be disposed between the enclosure and the cradle for electrically coupling the interior electrical connection to the cradle electrical connection (Fig.2B, para. [0124]-[0125]).
Regarding claim 19, Spanier et al. disclose the retaining member includes a tab configured to engage a portion of the cradle electrical connection (Fig.5, para. [0130]).
Regarding claim 20, Spanier et al. disclose wherein the retaining member includes an alignment member for aligning the retaining member to the cradle (Fig.5, para. [0130]).
Contact Information
/JOHN H LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857